Resource 2023 AFL Draft Discussion...

Kobe Ryan from west Adelaide any chance?? I liked him last year and think he’s had a great first full year at Westies

Trinity v Westminster Div 2 Grand Final was played on Wednesday night at Adelaide Oval.

Taylor Goad playing for Westminster was good as you’d expect but it was the Trinity ruckman who was even more eye catching. Sudanese lad with the last name Deng, playing just his 10th ever game of footy. Match on YouTube for those interested
Second hand info but Deng didn’t go unnoticed by interstate recruiters.

Amazes me not one AFL club saw enough in Kobe to pass him over for a rookie spot at both last year's draft and again in this year's Mid Season Draft. Not much more he could do.

Would made a good wingman with good skills. Only think that he doesn’t have key of difference maybe. No weaknesses and I think could thrive in the AFL environment

I’m like a broken record on here. He’s the one we could possibly snag and reap the huge rewards that come with a game-changing small forward, doubling down on our immensely talented forward line — with the option to rotate him through the middle. Zac Butters type ceiling.
Too far on the Butters comparison Mutineer?

What’s your thoughts on him?

Very good small forward prospect but midfielder?

Can't think of too many 170cm players that spend too much time in the midfield... he's a forward at AFL level.
At 168cm… Caleb Daniel has been doing alright when thrown in the centre for the dogs this year..

But we could grab a small forward with the thought that Rankine, Rachele and pedlar will be spending more time in the mid from R1 next season..

He can replace that oxygen thief L. murphy in the forward line..

So this is where we end up, currently have pick 9 in the pool of unattached draftees. It would be expected that all the very best prospects have been taken by our pick but I'm sure the draft experts on here can enlighten us as to the most likely prospects around our pick.

Pick 9 could be pushed out further by a high PP gifted to North for being crap for years, further out if McKay leaves and some club is willing to fork out Band 1 money for two years.

Also the pool we pick from could be weakened by AFL granting special access to Sanders for North.

North (and VFL) could have a lot to answer for!

We had a lash at the draft pool cream in recent seasons landing McAsey, Jones, Tilthorpe, Rachele and Rankine but our rapid rise this year and future years towards the top means the cream of future draft pools will now be out of our reach.

Clarkson talking some absolutely crap about North, the draft and their compensation/special assistance demands for McKay/being rubbish.

Getting the #1 pick two years in a row is being assisted - plus they’ve already received additional draft picks for both 2022 and 2023.

Bugger off and sort your own crap out - or get out of the completion altogether.

(Clarkson also reckons North are “hell-bent” on beating Gold Coast this weekend. Sure, mate)

This aged well....

Very good small forward prospect but midfielder?

Can't think of too many 170cm players that spend too much time in the midfield... he's a forward at AFL level.
Agree , he’s a forward

Reckon he will be able to go into centre bounce and impact like a papley though as well , but that’s not really playing midfield perse

I’d take him if he got to our pick , he’s just that good we’d have to

Also gives us flexibility with Rankine Pedlar and Rachele

Resource 2023 AFL Draft Discussion...