Autopsy 2023 Rd 2 Blues hold on to beat the reigning premier

Who played well for the Blues in Round 2 vs the Cats?

I find it strange that instead of opening with "I'm sorry but I got it wrong last week about Owies/Fisher/Acres etc" some see it more of an opportunity to have a clip at Martin.

Strange mentality.

In fairness, Fisher and Owies deserved criticism last week and responded really well. Acres I thought was solid enough last week, bar one or two unfortunate moments, but elevated in a big way against the Cats.

Martin's not getting clipped for last week. Martin is getting clipped for almost an entire career of teasing with one outstanding quarter a month, and being largely invisible in-between. As we saw last night, when we get the mix right up forward, with everyone playing at a high intensity, we're an entirely different side. Personally, I'd like to see Martin display that kind of intensity for a good block of games in the VFL before we entertain a return to the seniors, as having even one passenger up forward seems to kill any chance of locking the ball inside out forward half for any meaningful amount of time.

McGovern - He looks fit, gets to the right spots but skills are rough. Feel perhaps he's not handling the footys enough mid week? He'll get better, those drops will go from his game. He did a solid lock down job on Rohan by the look of things.
McGovern was the spare - which pretty early on became the job of just trying to drop in front of Cameron. Then they switched McGovern on Cameron with Young dropping in front. Tried a few different ways to double team him, nothing really even slowed him down

The kick in to the Cats player can be forgiven as Doc and others have been guilty of that. But the marking jitters are becoming a concern. Hopefully just a matter of dusting off the cobwebs.

There was a notable passage of play that resulted in one of his fourth quarter goals - Geelong got out on the wing and hit up a succession of uncontested marks because every time a player got the ball, there'd be a free teammate 30m ahead who would end up drawing a deeper defender. Because they were coming from so far ahead though, all they were doing was running up to man the mark, and leaving their previous opponent open 30m ahead. The final link in that chain was Cameron.

Next time we come up against them, I'd hope that the directive is that whoever is on Cameron at any given time is on Cameron. I'd rather anyone else on their list taking a running shot from 45 out than I would Cameron taking a set shot from literally anywhere.

I'm just thinking that we are still in the process of transforming transition out of defence from a more defensive (please don't let them get the ball back and kick a goal) to more offensively (how do we get the ball up our end to kick a goal). We have some really great defenders, but for me transition has been a big growth area. I've sometimes felt in the past that we get stuck too deep and looked a little compressed. Addition of Acres, Hollands and Cowan really helps, and it's only been 2 games together so far. Imagine continued growth projection, plus Walsh...
Bang - this, so this.

In fairness, Fisher and Owies deserved criticism last week and responded really well. Acres I thought was solid enough last week, bar one or two unfortunate moments, but elevated in a big way against the Cats.

Martin's not getting clipped for last week. Martin is getting clipped for almost an entire career of teasing with one outstanding quarter a month, and being largely invisible in-between. As we saw last night, when we get the mix right up forward, with everyone playing at a high intensity, we're an entirely different side. Personally, I'd like to see Martin display that kind of intensity for a good block of games in the VFL before we entertain a return to the seniors, as having even one passenger up forward seems to kill any chance of locking the ball inside out forward half for any meaningful amount of time.
Completely different style of game last week to this week. Virtually no opportunities for small to middle forwards last week and plenty this week.

My point is that Martin didn't play last night so there is no real point to discuss him in this thread (maybe list management or next week's thread) and yet some still feel the need to - and most in a derogatory manner.

I loved Hollands game. He's a ripper, reminding me of Walsh a bit already but is a better kick. Seems to play stronger than his size too which is great. Not afraid to tackle.

Also really liked Motlops first half. Didn't get a whole lot of the footy or goal reward, but his physicality over the footy was excellent. That's what I want to see more from him, he can be a little nugget in and over the footy as he's surprisingly solid. He's not the quickest so he needs to make sure he keeps the contested effort up.

Best game I've seen TDK play. I don't think he's a forward, like, at all. I don't think I've ever seen him look like one. But as a ruck his follow up efforts and physicality when the ball was on the ground was elite. I haven't seen him play with that aggression before and I like it. Always thought he was a bit "finesse" for my liking but he definitely played to hurt a couple of times and I loved it. Maybe it was because he was up against his brother something in his mind made him go a bit harder, idk.

Both Curnows were good. Charlie was very good, Ed was good. Funny that one of the only times I've seen Ed lower his eyes instead of dump kick forward out of a contest just so happened to be to Charlie on a 20m short pass... But I'm sure that was just a coincidence :moustache:

Pitto looked slow. I don't think he's quite fit still. But his strength in the ruck was there and don't underestimate what that would've done for TDK. Pitto can soften them up with the physicality then TDK can use his athleticism. TDK can be outmuscled in the ruck contest fairly easily so having the 1-2 combination worked well imo.

Wasn't McKays night but when he needed to stand up he did. Those contested marks up field late are invaluable. It's not the first time he's done it, either. I actually think H is quite clutch, he stands up, gets into position and wants the ball in big late game moments. Unfortunately the only thing that lets him down is the last 10%, the finishing. The goal kicking and like last week slipping and dropping the mark. Last night though he was strong and held the marks.

Weiters did enough. Feel like he's just going at the moment, isn't in full rhythm. Is it just me or does he look a little slimmer this year?

In all, a good performance. We left some goals on the field, should've won by 4 or 5 goals really, but take the 8 points and run. They kept talking about Geelong missing players but didn't mention that 2 of our top 3 mids weren't playing, so I think that balances out.

[IMG alt="ESKIE"]https://www.bigfootycontent.com/avatars/m/75/75631.jpg?1675030323[/IMG]
carlton.png

ESKIE

Keeping it Cool.​

I reckon we win 10ish points

⬆️

reckon he might have been injured?

Or was he subbed out for LOB?

Solid game up forward, did a bit of the forward 50 ruckwork but wasn't required for CB duties. Missed two tough-ish snaps from general play, could have had an easy goal but passed off to Owies in the goalsquare.

Subbed out for LOB in the 4th quarter as he was probably the least likely to impact the game. Harry, Charlie, TDK and Pitto were needed to give us safe marking targets and avenues to goal. Owies was on a tear with three goals and a few really important ground ball efforts. Durdin or Mots could have been subbed, but both were still applying a lot of pressure (direct and inferred) which was always going to be critical in the final term.

If we need to drop someone for Hewett next week, I think JSOS is as good a candidate as any. He wasn't bad, but he wasn't great, and a lot of others were relatively great. Structurally, we'd probably expect more time on ground for Pitto next week, so he and TDK should be able to cover for the loss of the third dedicated tall(ish) forward.

Good on Owies really stood up last night...
Made me eat my own words, which I wanted... IMO Career best game from him...

Not a dig at Martin, just the position...

Think we are much better structurally with 2x KPF, 1x 3rd Tall and 3x smalls + Fisher/Cuningham...
IMO there is only 1 available position, Martin and JSOS are fighting for...

Still have some major upside left...

The equation becomes:

Better weapons rarely vs limited weapon constantly.

On SM-F926B using BigFooty.com mobile app
The equation has been:
Better weapons rarely vs limited weapon constantly.
The equation is becoming:
Better weapons rarely vs a growing list of better weapons more constantly.
Edit: the likes of Martin are under pressure to maintain their spot on the list...

The Good:
  • Can't play in the ruck unless you're prepared to show genuine aggression at the contest and TDK finally showed that last night. Best game so far from him.
  • Hollands and Cowan didn't look anywhere near as rushed on their 2nd outing. Both very good and very brave.
  • Durdin's aggression in the application of front-half pressure is as infectious as COVID.
  • Good to see us turn the tables on the Cats in the physical hurt stakes. Too many times we been on the receiving end from them.
  • Solid team contribution from most players even if disposal was scrappy at times.
  • Managed to keep Isaac Smith under control for once!!!
  • Good tough game played in the right spirit by both sides.
The Bad:
  • Fisher's defensive efforts are soft at best.
  • As a defender McGovern can't continue to let the ball get behind him as often as he does.
Areas To Work On:
  • Would like to see Doc in the middle late during games when we're gassed. Update your processes Vossy.

Completely different style of game last week to this week. Virtually no opportunities for small to middle forwards last week and plenty this week.

My point is that Martin didn't play last night so there is no real point to discuss him in this thread (maybe list management or next week's thread) and yet some still feel the need to - and most in a derogatory manner.

To that I'd say that the small to middle forwards created a lot more opportunities last night. The pressed up and applied pressure and forced turnovers, then worked hard to get ahead of the ball again. Martin's attracting criticism because, even though he didn't play last night, he has a body of work that indicates he doesn't seem to be built for that kind of game. He wants to loiter up forward and wait for the ball to come his way. There is a comparison being made against a game in which he did play, and as such it is a perfectly reasonable subject for this thread.

The mix last night was better than we've seen in a while, and yes, that was helped by the intent and style of play, but it stands to reason that the intent and style of play was also influenced by the blokes who took the field.

Been covered pretty well already, but I just can't get enough of Durds.

Way bigger game than his stats sheet says. Crucial smothers, pressure, spoils, tackles that stick, also saw him trying to put blocks on for H so he can get separation on a lead.

Missed him so much last week. Big reason why we were able to get forward half turnovers rather than from D50 against the Tigers, and that in turn brings in our other smalls and makes us so much more dangerous. He's a bloody gun, and has a big future. Premier small forward of the comp type future, unless he goes and becomes a mid!

Autopsy 2023 Rd 2 Blues hold on to beat the reigning premier