Preview 2023 Rd 24 Carlton vs GWS Sunday August 27 6:10PM @ Marvel Stadium

Final Team is in ...

IN: Cerra, Fogarty, McGovern, Walsh, C. Durdin
OUT: Cripps (soreness), Docherty (soreness), E.Curnow, Marchbank, Pittonet, Motlop (illness)

Backs:Brodie KempJacob WeiteringAlex Cincotta
Half-backs:Adam SaadMitch McGovernNic Newman
Centreline:Blake AcresSam WalshOllie Hollands
Half-forwards:Jack MartinHarry McKayDavid Cuningham
Forwards:Lachie FogartyCharlie CurnowMatthew Owies
Followers:Tom De KoningAdam CerraGeorge Hewett
Interchange:Matthew CottrellPaddy DowZac Fisher
Corey Durdin
Emergencies:Ed CurnowMarc PittonetCaleb Marchbank

*Update 26th August

Let's say we have a home final locked in though before our game though, I'm conflicted about whether we go 100% to win.

Aside from possibly managing some players, if we go 100% it could be argued that, given the quirk that we might play GWS again in the first final, we are showing our hand and they get 2 weeks to come up with a counter tactic.

Should we intentionally hold something back that we can surprise them with in the finals?

Other arguement is you don't want to flirt with form and beating them will give our guys confidence to beat them again next game.
Once played the same team twice, with last round and then final locked in. Coach had the bright idea of reversing the line up in the last round to confuse them. All it did was screw up as we lost badly and didn't recover our mojo.

Don't mess with winning ways.

Sent from my Pixel 7 Pro using Tapatalk

Any news on Cripps' ribs?
Be very interesting with Crippa and maybe a few others if come Sunday PM we can't lose 5th spot.

Could we see a few late changes?............ Crippa, Charlie, Doc, Weiters and Martin come to mind. :think:

All obviously vital and not risking them in a nothing game would have to be considered IMO.
And an extra week off could be just what they need to have them jumping out of their skins first final?

Once played the same team twice, with last round and then final locked in. Coach had the bright idea of reversing the line up in the last round to confuse them. All it did was screw up as we lost badly and didn't recover our mojo.

Yep. Hopefully keep a little up your sleeve for finals.
What you can do is rest those that really need it, and trust those that come in to get the job done.

Be very interesting with Crippa and maybe a few others if come Sunday PM we can't lose 5th spot.

Could we see a few late changes?............ Crippa, Charlie, Doc, Weiters and Martin come to mind. :think:

All obviously vital and not risking them in a nothing game would have to be considered IMO.
And an extra week off could be just what they need to have them jumping out of their skins first final?
Crippa at least.

Do you think that the Club takes any notice of Champion Data.
Hodge was saying the other day on SEN I think it was about Match Committee meetings used to drive him up the wall. Majority of the back and forth was over selection numbers 21 to 23/ sub and also made reference to Champion data being disected by analysts in those meetings as well being equally tedious which I thought interesting.

Yep. Hopefully keep a little up your sleeve for finals.
What you can do is rest those that really need it, and trust those that come in to get the job done.

If we give Crippa and anyone else who is very general soreness the time off to fully recuperate and give players like Boyd, Dow, Fisher, Fogarty and Marchbank to stake their claim and put up a good fight we should have enough up our sleeves win, lose or draw round 24.

In the last 40 years this has happened 6 times in the VFL/AFL. This is going back to 1983 when we lost to Essendon both times.

4 times the same side has won the next week (ignoring bye).

The only 2 times the result was reversed were 2001 Ess v Rich and 2015 Rich v North.

Essendon were a way better side than Richmond in 2001 and just took the piss in the round 22 game. They then belted the Tigers by 70 points in the qualifying final. Richmond were a side without belief in 2015. They beat North easily in the round 23 game, before collapsing in the second half of the elimination final.

History agrees with you - don't mess with things unless you are supremely confident you are the better side. IF we know we are going to play them again, we are not in a position to flirt with our form.

Crippa will want to play if we leave blokes out and we get belted by GWS it’s just giving them a lot of confidence if we play them following game
Don’t give a sucker an even break
If he would benefit from rest, rest him. Nothing worse than Crippa injuring himself and missing out on the finals.

When you're sore or fatigued, your body moves differently to compensate, which leads to higher risk of injury.

Alright, here's my thoughts on the game.

Much as I'd love to rest players and some will say we have the luxury, our current winning mindset and culture is based on respecting the opposition, playing one week at a time and playing with the best team we have.

I cannot see a world where Cripps, Doc or anyone will willingly sit out any game. If you're fit and best 22, you play. Honestly, even if we're locked into 5th on Sunday arvo - this group is not going to want to let up or go into September with losing form. They'd want to keep the mojo going and go at 100%. The bye is there to rest and they'll have nearly 2 weeks until the next game.

So, in saying that. Some big decisions for the MC and ones I don't envy. We'll have Cez, Walshy, Gov, Fog and Kennedy fit to go. I see all five of these guys in our best 23 come finals, but gee those conversations are going to be hard. My 2c on the changes:

Ed for Kennedy (sub)
Matty has had the longest break from play and offers the broadest skill set of our possible subs, so ease him in with 30-40% game time. Ed has been good but simply won't be in our best 23 come finals.

Marchbank for McGovern
Marchy has been building slowly and is in our long-term plans, but this is a straight upgrade in terms of the role he plays on game day and the balance we need to preserve in the starting 22. We've missed Gov and offers more. Simple.

Walsh for Hollands/Cottrell
I'm not totally sure which one of these boys will make way - my gut says young Ollie is the unlucky one but both have been outstanding in this run of form. Hollands is running out of juice so I'd stick with the more seasoned (and possibly hungry) Cotters for the defensive wing spot.

Cerra for Fisher
This one is the hardest of any proposed changes as Fish has been fantastic. But he's been drifting up the ground to chop out for the missing mids and offers the least defensively of any of our mids/half-backs so is the unlucky one to go.

Fogarty for Cuningham
I think we need at least two of Fog/Cunners/Jack come finals - all three have been so important to our change of game play. But at full fitness, I think we can only fit in 2. Mots and Owies have been performing too well to drop, and while Cunners gives us class - Fog and Jack are too important to the way we're playing, whilst Cez and Walshy back in replaces some of what we lose from Cunners. He's also never played this much footy so will likely tail off.

Round 24 Lineup
Backs

Cincotta - Kemp - McGovern
Saad - Weitering - Newman

Midfield
Acres - Cripps - Cottrell
Pittonet - Hewett - Docherty

Forwards
Martin - McKay - Owies
Motlop - Curnow - De Koning

Interchange
Dow, Cerra, Walsh, Fogarty
sub: Kennedy

Rationale
This side is as close to our best 22 as we've had all year, and offers good balance all round. The full midfield complement allows Doc to float back a bit more and gives us tons of rotation in the middle. I'd give Paddy the first half with CBAs his way to make a final statement for his spot, otherwise Kennedy has the chance to take it back for finals. If Crippa is sore and we're coasting into the fourth, take the big fella off. Otherwise, treat this like a dress rehearsal and play to win (and win big).

EDIT: I'd consider Boyd > Cincotta as well in our best 22 but 6 changes felt a little too far.

Emergencies (from)
Fisher, Hollands, Cuningham, Marchbank, Boyd, Ed

In the last 40 years this has happened 6 times in the VFL/AFL. This is going back to 1983 when we lost to Essendon both times.

The only 2 times the result was reversed were 2001 Ess v Rich and 2015 Rich v North.

Essendon were a way better side than Richmond in 2001 and just took the piss in the round 22 game. They then belted the Tigers by 70 points in the qualifying final. Richmond were a side without belief in 2015. They beat North easily in the round 23 game, before collapsing in the second half of the elimination final.

History agrees with you - don't mess with things unless you are supremely confident you are the better side. IF we know we are going to play them again, we are not in a position to flirt with our form.
North played dead in that 2015 game too.

Crippa will want to play if we leave blokes out and we get belted by GWS it’s just giving them a lot of confidence if we play them following game
We can win without Crippa. Rather have him primed for finals. I get your point though. I'm sure the right decisions will be made re selection.

If we give Crippa and anyone else who is very general soreness the time off to fully recuperate and give players like Boyd, Dow, Fisher, Fogarty and Marchbank to stake their claim and put up a good fight we should have enough up our sleeves win, lose or draw round 24.

Walshy and Cerra back hopefully.

Sando on SEN just now saying players don't forget how to play in 2 weeks, and we should rest prime movers.
Also suggesting some sneaky strategies to try out during the game, and store away for finals. Now saying rest Charlie too.

Assuming all of the possibles come through:

Cuningham> Fogarty.

Down week from Dave and I love Fog's pressure and link play. Big DC fan so I hope he comes back

Cincotta>Cerra.

Doc, Fish, Acres have all been able sweepers, Saad to play deeper. Cez rests Half-back

Marchbank>McGovern

Fairly straight role swap. Caleb's been shaky under pressure and I think Mitch has a more damaging rebound game to pair with interceptions

Ed Curnow>Walsh.

Dow into sub. Ed's a warrior, but this just the natural shift in the midfield pecking order.

B: Saad Weitering Newman

HB: Fisher McGovern Kemp

C: Hollands Cripps Acres

HF: Cottrell McKay Martin

F: Motlop Curnow Owies

R: Pittonet Cerra Walsh

I/C Hewett Fogarty Docherty De Koning

Sub: Dow

On Pixel 7 using BigFooty.com mobile app

Should Footscray beat the Cats and Dees knock off Sydney then we can play either Dogs (if we win) or Swans (if we lose) in the first final. Given that, I reckon we play to win - the Dogs (won 3 of last 8 games) will enter September from a weaker position than the Swans (won 6 of last eight, plus a draw).

Free speech is a given, but always interested in the content, reasoning and balance
With our shrinking injury list and finals approaching, game preview threads in particular are going to offer a wide variety of opinions. Whether they're balanced is just one person's perspective, and all should be encouraged.

Essendon played dead in that final round of 2001 to avoid playing us in the first final as we had already beaten them twice that year.

Richmond winning that game cost us 4th spot and the opportunity to move straight into a preliminary by beating Essendon again.

Was so happy when Brisbane beat them in the GF. On a side note, we had beaten Brisbane by 74 points earlier in that year too.