Rumour 2023 Rumours and Speculation (Rumours total 33!, 1 BIG FISH ALERT last October 4th) (7 confirmed! 11 Busted!)

Will Clayton Oliver join the Adelaide Crows?

mate normally on the same page but just dont see the appeal to be honest...both cant consistently make their underperforming teams and Dow is the midfielder out of the 2 with horrid disposal, esp under (finals) pressure.
Yeah, the negatives are there - I just think it's worth giving a second look at players who are still young and were highly rated picks. Sometimes it was just a bad fit.

That being said, you don't often see them turn it around in AFL.

He wasn’t drafted that high to play half forward. Petracca was tracking the same and if he’d done his ACL in his draft year like Hollands did, he wouldn’t have had the midfield minutes he did before getting drafted. Don’t forget Jones and McHenry were drafted as mids. Means squat really.
one of five AA's experienced speakers - was it Lethal this week - talked about players being developed into midfielders. We clearly have Peds and Rachele moving into this space over coming years. I still believe Shoey is AFL standard with initial burst pace, hardness, decision making and disposal - which he has shown when playing with confidence at his best. Berry I am less convinced by and know little about last years young draftee mids.

With Dawson, Peds, Rachele, and Laird for another 2-3 years (plus Soligo, Shoey, other younger guys) we are possibly only ONE truly elite mid (a Butters or Rozee) from being a very good midfield. Things arent any where near as dire as many are predicting as we already have the talent on the books - its now just developing and getting the experience and body right to stand up to a full years worth of footy.

Finally after Jones breakout season it was mentioned he played some midfield mins late last week which I admittedly missed. Is there a chance Chayce ultimately can step up into the role we all desperately wanted him to be? The burst Danger type mid? He has the pace, hardness and booming kick. Can be great defensively with manic tackling. Clearly his confidence has been low for many years until this year with his new found attitude also which I love. Perhaps his previous decision making, positioning/accumulation and disposal under pressure weaknesses are worth giving another go ....no guarantees but that one game in his first year where I thought , 'hang on have we got another Danger type here' would be the icing on the cake

Here’s all the latest AFL Draft news from around the country.

A NEW NO.1 PICK?

Since early last year, Harley Reid’s name has been strongly linked to the No.1 draft pick for 2023.

However, some recruiters now genuinely have another name ahead of him.

Allies key forward Jed Walter is considered by some clubs to be the best talent in this year’s draft pool, eclipsing Reid on the back of a strong under-18 national championships campaign.

A powerful 195cm key forward, Walter is part of the Gold Coast Suns Academy, and the Suns will therefore be able to match an early bid on him.

But if Walter was available on the open market, some sides would be picking him first if they held that selection.

“He’s something special,” one recruiter said of Walter.

“If you look back at guys that have gone pick 1 like (Tom) Boyd, he’s just so far in front of those boys. He’s a modern AFL athlete.”
Not a great year for West Coast to hold pick 1. Seems like there are 2 clear options for number 1, Walter is off the table and there is doubts as to if Reid would hang around long term. They should be pushing for a trade to split their pick 1 into 2 top 10 picks.

the point would be we've already got a handful of fringe mids that can't get a game on form/talent ahead of Sloane. Schoey, Berry, Taylor, Dowling, the other one plus guys like Murphy and Ned that would be fringe mids too if played there. How many mids at this level does a list need?

42 players on the list - if you said most lists had 3 rucks then split the rest in thirds for forwards, mids and defenders with some of the forwards and defenders capable of running though the midfield

So probably 13 dedicated mids and 3-4 capable of playing in the group? Say 16-17 all up

Not a great year for West Coast to hold pick 1. Seems like there are 2 clear options for number 1, Walter is off the table and there is doubts as to if Reid would hang around long term. They should be pushing for a trade to split their pick 1 into 2 top 10 picks.
Yep agreed, look for 2 top 10 picks with one ideally a top 5 or 6. And I defer to the experts but not much hype about the top 5 or 6 this year overall besides Reid, and now recently Walters.

hey can also possibly leverage a pick swap with Suns where both teams benefit points wise by agreeing (informally of course) to NOT pick Walters at one if they do end up holding this pick ultimately

Lastly I cant see how they gont get Powers Mitch G. They will threaten PSD and then probably give up their second rounder in the end as as sign of good faith (and that pick 19 before distortions is actually quite a valuable pick).Grab Mitch G with their second rounder then (ideally Crows offer GC second rounder (approx pick 23/24) and also a third rounder for pick 19 so we end up with picks 19 and 20. Power are forced to take pick 23 for Mitch but they have no leverage. Crows improve draft position to first rounder plus picks 19 and 20 (ANOTHER great pick swap last year from Reidy getting Kangas second rounder). Thats a seriously good draft hand then for us to trade and/or draft...

and then Weagles another decent player in the PSD like Mitch Brackets Mc G or someone better/younger even

such a 180 degree swing from subsequent series though wasnt it? series 2-4, along with a number of Fawlty Towers episodes (and many Monty Pthyon skits) still are my all time fave comedy rolled gold classics
If you have the chance, watch the league of gentlemen..absolutely brilliant british dark comedy and you will even get to know my avatar👀

Feel free to head to this thread & give this Smish idiot your thoughts on posting BS like this...

The rumour was going around well before that post.

Yep agreed, look for 2 top 10 picks with one ideally a top 5 or 6. And I defer to the experts but not much hype about the top 5 or 6 this year overall besides Reid, and now recently Walters.

hey can also possibly leverage a pick swap with Suns where both teams benefit points wise by agreeing (informally of course) to NOT pick Walters at one if they do end up holding this pick ultimately

Lastly I cant see how they gont get Powers Mitch G. They will threaten PSD and then probably give up their second rounder in the end as as sign of good faith (and that pick 19 before distortions is actually quite a valuable pick).Grab Mitch G with their second rounder then (ideally Crows offer GC second rounder (approx pick 23/24) and also a third rounder for pick 19 so we end up with picks 19 and 20. Power are forced to take pick 23 for Mitch but they have no leverage. Crows improve draft position to first rounder plus picks 19 and 20 (ANOTHER great pick swap last year from Reidy getting Kangas second rounder). Thats a seriously good draft hand then for us to trade and/or draft...

and then Weagles another decent player in the PSD like Mitch Brackets Mc G or someone better/younger even
I don't see Mitch G being that valuable. He was originally only a pick 18, and even before his ACL showed glimpses but wasn't shooting the lights out.

Mid 2nd at absolute best, especially when WCE have the bargaining power of PSD.

I don't see Mitch G being that valuable. He was originally only a pick 18, and even before his ACL showed glimpses but wasn't shooting the lights out.

After the sour taste they left in WCE mouths over the rioli trade last year, if they set their sights on georgiades i suspect there may not be any negotiation and they roll him straight through to the psd and cover it off by offering a big contract so georgiades will be happy to.play along

yes more his 'potential' which at times is pretty exciting. i would be happy to have him at the crows and from all reports Power very keen to keep him (as probably also understand if he goes they get unders).

Re Eagles with JK gone and Darling not long left, they would be stupid not to (1) leverage PSD and pick up a player, AND (2) the threat of PSD to bring in a player for unders (eg second rounder for a clear first rounder type player). So effectively, I have always thought bottom teams should end up with 2 good players in this scenario PLUS their actual number one draft pick

In hindsight Hately was underwhelming for us in the same position..

would you give up our first rounder and both seconds for this? with a Suns second or third rounder coming back next year...tempting

That's a lot of draft currency invested in the forward line. TT, Fog, Rankine and Luko is waaaaaay too much. And that's before taking into account that we're hoping Rachele ends up a high end permanent mid. Going after Luko without trading out either Fog or TT would be horrific list strategy.

42 players on the list - if you said most lists had 3 rucks then split the rest in thirds for forwards, mids and defenders with some of the forwards and defenders capable of running though the midfield

So probably 13 dedicated mids and 3-4 capable of playing in the group? Say 16-17 all up

16-17 stoppage mids, ok boomer. We play 4-5 on game day, so of the players not already in the 23, we've got 12-13 playing in the SANFL. And even if that was true, the question was, 'how many fringe quality mids that can't get a game ahead of Sloane are required'. 16-17 seems an awful lot.

That's a lot of draft currency invested in the forward line. TT, Fog, Rankine and Luko is waaaaaay too much. And that's before taking into account that we're hoping Rachele ends up a high end permanent mid. Going after Luko without trading out either Fog or TT would be horrific list strategy.

no sorry mate, wires crossed again. My response was nothing to do with Luko if you go back and check, It was saying would we give up our first rounder and 2 seconds (whilst getting back either a second or third rounder in 2024 from Suns) for Hollands AND Flanders. I specifically said Luko will not be let go by Suns as he is in a breakout year, an elite youngster and contracted for years. and agreed, we dont need him with our packed forward line. Flanders and Hollands as midfield options however...

less wires crossed, more me misreading. All G, we've got to have a crack at something like that. If we do go after Redman and Dons match, we've got to walk away.

yes or try the 2m for 2 year option (which I cant imagine they match) and then renegotiate out the additional 3 -4years at the first available opportunity to 'smooth' the 6 years overall to the agreed 700k ish figure (or whatever it is).

So perhaps one too many coffees but this morning i have got the following changes :) :

IN

Redman
HH
Flanders
Hollands
2024 second round pick (Suns)

OUT
Sloane
a bunch of other under-whelmers like Brown, Mc Asey, Seedsman (poor guy) and the rest
2023 1st round and 2 x second rounders

Max HH Worrell
Redman Murray Hinge
Jones Dawson Soligo
Rankine Walker Flanders
Fog TT Pedlar

O Brien and Rachele/Hollands/Laird (switching with Peds,Soligo and depth Shoey / other youngsters)

Whether we get these 4 INs clearly is ambitious - but its not impossible - we have the lure for some (HH family reunion, Hollands midfield time and Crows fan originally and dont say this doesnt count for anything when both Dawson and Rankine admitting how great returning to the club they grew up supporting), Redman back 'home' with old mate Jordy. Flanders more opportunities overall. AND $$$$ - we can do all of them I would think but that would max us out. HH 800-900k, Redman 700k, Flanders probably on an over inflated 400k ish and similar for Hollands

That team is a top 4 team for the next 5-7 years. Over to the great man Reidy to get if done (or at least a few parts of it done)

yes or try the 2m for 2 year option (which I cant imagine they match) and then renegotiate out the additional 3 -4years at the first available opportunity to 'smooth' the 6 years overall to the agreed 700k ish figure (or whatever it is).

So perhaps one too many coffees but this morning i have got the following changes :) :

IN

Redman
HH
Flanders
Hollands
2024 second round pick (Suns)

OUT
Sloane
a bunch of other under-whelmers like Brown, Mc Asey, Seedsman (poor guy) and the rest
2023 1st round and 2 x second rounders

Max HH Worrell
Redman Murray Hinge
Jones Dawson Soligo
Rankine Walker Flanders
Fog TT Pedlar

O Brien and Rachele/Hollands/Laird (switching with Peds,Soligo and depth Shoey / other youngsters)

Whether we get these 4 INs clearly is ambitious - but its not impossible - we have the lure for some (HH family reunion, Hollands midfield time and Crows fan originally and dont say this doesnt count for anything when both Dawson and Rankine admitting how great returning to the club they grew up supporting), Redman back 'home' with old mate Jordy. Flanders more opportunities overall. AND $$$$ - we can do all of them I would think but that would max us out. HH 800-900k, Redman 700k, Flanders probably on an over inflated 400k ish and similar for Hollands

That team is a top 4 team for the next 5-7 years. Over to the great man Reidy to get if done (or at least a few parts of it done)
Too much coffee?

You might need to lay off the meth.

crystal effects GIF

16-17 stoppage mids, ok boomer. We play 4-5 on game day, so of the players not already in the 23, we've got 12-13 playing in the SANFL. And even if that was true, the question was, 'how many fringe quality mids that can't get a game ahead of Sloane are required'. 16-17 seems an awful lot.
Should be delisting 3-4 then only acquiring pointy end elite projected ones in draft / trade

Not a great draft to do it this year so can we find another way is question

Mitch G did more in his first 2 years as a tall forward than most top 5-10 draft picks do I reckon

It was just his form tailed off in last 12 months pre ACL

Spoke to my Luko contact last night. (Dont get excited).

Mentioned to him about the rumor on here of stitching up Luko.

Dude said he'd tried heaps of times for info and gave heaps of recounts of the kinds of replies he gets and both he and I conclude that either Luko is staying up there or the links he speaks to are very aware of the media shit storm that would stir up if they gave out any info and so in order to leave the lad in peace, all they do is play straight bats to everything. Which in summary is to say I've got nothing.

Same dude said he has links to the Redmans as well apparently but hasn't seen those contacts in years and is doubtful to see them any time soon. Which is to say ive got nothing on that one as well. Cant say I don't try tho.