List Mgmt. 2023 Trade Thread - Part II

Lads, just want to share something with you all:

1695344884353.png 1695344911135.png

For all of you who are doubting what Shiel can do for our side in the short term, take a look at this. Although not the A-grade star he used to be, he is still a very good midfielder when he is actually played in the midfield. Gives us that dimension of speed and burst that we've desparately been crying out for. Where else are we going to get an established mid like him without destroying our draft hand? I know he is 31 next year, but that's perfect as he is the temporary player that will play in our midfield while the likes of Pou, Owens, and maybe Hotton develop and are gradually integrated into full time midfield as Shiel gradually gets phased out. Throwing them straight in won't be beneficial, we saw that in the EF when Pou lined up against Tom Green and got smashed. He will be on big money, but we don't need the money in 2024 year since we missed De Goey last year and we're about to probably free up 1 mil with a couple of Dougs/Billings/Coffield/Paton etc leaving the club.

View attachment 1810194View attachment 1810195

For all of you who are doubting what Shiel can do for our side in the short term, take a look at this. Although not the A-grade star he used to be, he is still a very good midfielder when he is actually played in the midfield. Gives us that dimension of speed and burst that we've desparately been crying out for. Where else are we going to get an established mid like him without destroying our draft hand? I know he is 31 next year, but that's perfect as he is the temporary player that will play in our midfield while the likes of Pou, Owens, and maybe Hotton develop and are gradually integrated into full time midfield as Shiel gradually gets phased out. Throwing them straight in won't be beneficial, we saw that in the EF when Pou lined up against Tom Green and got smashed. He will be on big money, but we don't need the money in 2024 year since we missed De Goey last year and we're about to probably free up 1 mil with a couple of Dougs/Billings/Coffield/Paton etc leaving the club.
What is cbas?

You guys are just excited by new toys and don't see beyond a few sleight of hand card tricks. You are sitting there dribbling while they clean out your pockets. They've ****ed up most s**t they've touched for years and are running out of tricks. Just need to keep it simple and not try to be the winners of the trade period. You were the same lot that were masturbating over winning the Hill and Howard trades.
Just drink the kool aid and enjoy it while it lasts, if our cunning plan works out that will be a first 🤣🤣

Still not enough smoke around this Shiel rumour to start getting excited

Yes, they didn’t shut down the salary dump and if this proposed Shiel situation was a straight salary dump, it would be a good comparison. But adding in the manipulation of the FA system as part of the salary dump makes it a different situation than what GC and Geelong did
You could well be right, but how would the AFL feel about a free agent not being able to go to his selected club because we match the offer? I don't believe we'll be letting Gresh go for a second round compo? That salary dump came with a very nice pick for the Cats, which is really what got the deal done.

At the end of the day, its all supposition I suppose. Be interesting to see what plays out.

I reckon the only reason you'd move up is to get to 4 to get McKercher or maybe Duursma which would probably be a good get in McKercher's case. Or a pick around 8 for Sanders which is more of a gamble. Looks more of a GOP type. I'd rather take the 2 later picks and gamble on Wilson or Windsor and Demattia or something. If we get mid table there is no guarantees the player we want is there still and then you are looking at KPs which I don't think should be spending up big on.
Look, who really knows? Possibly they are working on something in addition to this to get further up?
And if we cant get to 4 or close, then we've still got the back to back 12 and 13 to use on those picks you mentioned. Gives us an extra first rounder. Either way, Gresh appears to want to go, so we have to get the best deal for him.

I'm the opposite. Absolute Lyon fan but his list management has never been good at either club. What he wants doesn't always leave lists in a better places. He'll dilute the talent for soldiers that do his bidding.

I think you are right Gringo. Ross Lyon this year has shown this year he hasn’t changed and learned from his mistakes.

Same old coach he was when he left Fremantle and coached St Kilda. Difficult towards the media, doesn’t back his assistant coaches ect ect

When will he ever change…

View attachment 1810194View attachment 1810195

Questions the recruitment team needs to factor in:

1. Does he have leadership qualities?
  2. Will he fit in with the group?
  3. Will he be a mentor to our youth?
  4. Does he have the qualities that the coach requires?
  5. Why is he leaving Essendon?
  6. What are the risks of getting him into our group?
All recruiting needs to do a risk analysis, too many times we have taken players on talent alone then only to find out later that they did not add to the group dynamic positively.

I understand that he may be offered as a carrot to get Gresham and the ability to maybe increase our draft hand.

If he satisfies all the above questions positively then we would be mad to not include him in the deal.

You forgot the most important question
7. Does his recruitment facilitate the ability to get a band 1compo pick, which would be pick 13 to enable us to trade down and get a top quality mid?
If the answer is yes, you would do it.

Sometimes risks can outweigh the perceived gains.

He was in their leadership group for a couple of years but other than that I don't know a lot about him other than the media stuff which went around after the Luke Parker incident.

At the time I wished the Essendon players had of stuck up for him, I would hope our boys would do that if needed to.

He's on decent but not huge coin.

How much does Dylan Shiel get paid?

The reports all are about $800,000 per year.

The former Giants star's future is suddenly unsettled despite being in the middle of a monster six-year deal, reported to be worth around $4.8 million. It has now been reported at least one club is monitoring Shiel's situation at Essendon — five months before the 2022 AFL Trade Period. 23 May 2022

Though it may not be he same amount per year though. If front end loaded may be less in his last year.

Ignoring the money the big question is,
does Essendon want Shiel on their list in 2024, or would they prefer him gone?

If they want him gone, then the deal would attractive to them.
If they want to keep him, the deal is a lot less attractive to them.

If the Dons get Gresham playing HF/Mid, would they have a spot for Shiel?

Righto here’s the simple equation for anyone who doesn’t like the prospect of moving on Gresh for a first rounder.

The club isn’t trying to “pinch” a flag next year. We’re trying to stack a core of players before tasmania hit the competition and we’re ****ed in the arse by the league handing them every pick under the sun despite us underperforming. Sound familiar?

If we want to middle for another decade then let’s hang onto Gresh, Howard, Billings and Co. We might push for bottom half of the 8 next year. Yippee!

Gotta be bold to get out of this hole and ahead of the Tassie rort in 2-3 years

And if you turn Gresham into Hunter Clark or Coffield or Gresham or even Howard. You put 5 years of development into standing still. Churning through players has hardly moved us forward. Freaking out about what’s happening in years time is jumping at shadows. Just build a competitive list and don’t worry about anything else. We need high end not bulk turnover.

Shiel isn’t the Gresh replacement. Pick 13 is.
Don’t worry if Shiel can or can’t kick better then Gresh.
5 years time compare pick 13 to Gresh that’s the play.
In 5 years time, we're probbaly either shopping around a decent player taken with pick 13 to get back into the draft or we've delisted him. Ross, Hill, Wood, Crouch, Membrey, Sinclair, Masrhall, Steele and Wilkie well and truly retired.

That's the common pattern so far with plenty of data points.

You forgot the most important question
7. Does his recruitment facilitate the ability to get a band 1compo pick, which would be pick 13 to enable us to trade down and get a top quality mid?
If the answer is yes, you would do it.
Exactly. Bottom line question. Would you swap Gresh for a McKercher, Sanders or other top quality mid? With Shiel thrown in for a year as a packet of chips and cap room for the 2024 free agency market.

essendon board starting to believe the shiel stuff,also think wines is unhappy,wouldnt be surprised,those kids have rocketed past him at port,anyway they seem more agreeable re shiel,though some idiots still see pick 13 as going to them and at least one even more complete idiot sees our 12 going to them & we running with 13(seems fair for st.kilda)

You guys are just excited by new toys and don't see beyond a few slight of hand card tricks. You are sitting there dribbling while they clean out your pockets. They've ****ed up most s**t they've touched for years and are running out of tricks. Just need to keep it simple and not try to be the winners of the trade period. You were the same lot that were masturbating over winning the Hill and Howard trades.
I suffered ED for a week after the Hill trade 😭
And I had 3 hot chicks on the go at same time.
I retrospect maybe that's why I ended up with 2 a week later🤣

essendon board starting to believe the shiel stuff,also think wines is unhappy,wouldnt be surprised,those kids have rocketed past him at port,anyway they seem more agreeable re shiel,though some idiots still see pick 13 as going to them and at least one even more complete idiot sees our 12 going to them & we running with 13(seems fair for st.kilda)

Rumours about Wines have been round for a few days. He's played out of his best spot this year for JHF.

I suffered ED for a week after the Hill trade 😭
And I had 3 hot chicks on the go at same time.
I retrospect maybe that's why I ended up with 2 a week later🤣
Weeping and flaccidness demonstrates that you are a true man, with real bodily functions and malfunctions.
Bless you my son.