List Mgmt. 2023 Trade Thread - Part III

The embedded resources below are kept up to date by the trade board mods (as much as possible – we are human after all). Enjoy!

Courtesy of Lore

Last edited by a moderator:
Dunno.

I was just mentioning the most recent rumour.

You said there wasn’t - there was literally a massive one only a few months ago.

Whether it’s true or not 🤷‍♂️

That’s for Gubby and SOS and Ross to work out
I dont think i said there werent rumors (apologies if i did) i said there were no substantiated stories (Eg. DeGoey tearing up Bali or Smiths white powder).

I have no doubt he probably does gear, most players do. Hes either not doing it in excess or hes smart enough to keep it quiet.

Either way i agree on the last point. I just find it funny that alot of posters seem to know hes trouble and even though weve been crying out for a grade mids and he is one we need to stay away.

We only want the nice, clean cut, mids that never do anything other than train and watch tape.

Drug rumors...
Unhinged behavior...
Plays the pokies...

3C9A0B99-EB81-4EA4-AE6B-21FD3693ADA1-234x300.jpeg

But he can play footy... hmmm
**** ing pokies
Rained out yesterday played for 1st time in years **** I was angry at myself lol

For a player of the calibre of Oliver to be forced out, his off field issues must be consistently a club problem. Melbourne are not stupid they are not pushing Oliver out the door without sound reason. Why do we get so worked up at the idea of recruiting a player with obvious significant off field issues? We need to tread very carefully bringing in someone like him.

Theyre not pushing him out the door. FFS, this is peak trade week bullshit.

* ing pokies
Rained out yesterday played for 1st time in years * I was angry at myself lol

Walk away mate.

Absolute money vacuums. Wish we could delete them from existence.

Cornes said Saints and Cats make the most sense for Oliver.
I can’t see us giving up picks or anything close to what they would ask for, unless it ended up like a treloar situation which I just can’t see happening.

I have been aware of him since before he was drafted, in the GVL and what was the TAC cup. All I'll say he makes me more nervous than De Goey did and that's without making the headlines.
The makeup of our list could really use a character like this though. Old fashioned, ruthlessly competitive alpha pig bogans are in short supply these days at RSEA Park.

He is an awesome player and the Dees may trade him out so that says something. No one thinks a change of club will somehow fix whatever the issues are do they? How much of it is Melbourne realising he is not as essential as they thought he was? Brayshaw is also at risk of missing games so they might be down a few in the midfield from the Premiership year.

That's in the last 4 years as well.

Sacrificing our future on a desperate gamble on a bloke on a mill for 6 years with injury issues is Hanners MkII.

Lyon will look like an idiot as well.

'We want more first round picks to go to the draft'
' Gill said don't try to rebuild all at once'
'Year of exploration'
Quick let's through all that out the window, sacrifice our strategy and our future frdp's potential in an act of desperation for a bloke who won't have Brayshaw, Viney, Petracca Harmes and the rest to take the load off'.

Steele as a tagged showed how easily he can be shut down even with that Melbourne midfield around him.

Absolute fools gold. Some think we topped up in 2019 and sold our future, this will make 2019 look like the good old days of sensible trading.

On SM-S908E using BigFooty.com mobile app

We are in finals at the moment look to have the structure to go forward.

Our defiency is midfield. Plain and simple

Its pretty rare that a draft will become a star midfielder in the first 4 or so years.

I don’t see us being in a position to take the risk. If we were 12 months further down the line with some more elite young talent then yes, we’re ready. But I think we’re still a bit shallow to go all in on this one

I dont think i said there werent rumors (apologies if i did) i said there were no substantiated stories (Eg. DeGoey tearing up Bali or Smiths white powder).

I have no doubt he probably does gear, most players do. Hes either not doing it in excess or hes smart enough to keep it quiet.

Either way i agree on the last point. I just find it funny that alot of posters seem to know hes trouble and even though weve been crying out for a grade mids and he is one we need to stay away.

We only want the nice, clean cut, mids that never do anything other than train and watch tape.
_Maximus_12 just keeps reiterating exactly how I feel about this situation.

phantom13 i agree about the clean cut mids bullshit. I want guns who are trouble. I want amazing footballers.

But the cost v the path we are on scares the crap out of me. It’s like going to the casino and going all in on red.

What rep? Until this week there wasnt any stories about him. Again, not saying he doesnt but hes not getting caught is he?

Yeh again mate, not saying hes not racking blow every weekend, im saying hes not getting caught and even the "rumors" that are abound at the moment arent exactly substantial. Issues with the team, teammates not liking him, some personal issues.

All s**t weve heard about plenty of players, all s**t that got said about us pursuing DeGoey last year.

A grade talent that for whatever reason appears to be on the outs with his current club.

Im very happy for the club to do its due dillgence and make a call and if they dont pursue him, fine, if they do, ill be thrilled.

All you armchair experts claiming hes Tony Montana and Travis Bickle rolled into one are amusing to me.
Love it when an armchair experts labels others an armchair expert. You may think highly of yourself and that your opinion holds more weight than others on here, but you are just another arm chair expert champion.

The rumours have been growing for some time, they aren't new. They just seem to be growing more legs and I think the reason for that would be that people inside of Melbourne are more happy to share these little tiddly bits as they put him upfor trade.

I've actually never said that I categorically wouldn't trade for him. I'm just pointing out that there are clearly some very serious issues with him. You don't put him up otherwise.

So I'd hope that we are doing more than just a due diligence. We can't afford to lose another couple of top draft picks when we have said all along the plan is to hit the draft, only for it to blow up in our face like it has in the past.

_Maximus_12 just keeps reiterating exactly how I feel about this situation.

phantom13 i agree about the clean cut mids bullshit. I want guns who are trouble. I want amazing footballers.

But the cost v the path we are on scares the crap out of me. It’s like going to the casino and going all in on red.
Its literally the same shit many said about DeGoey last year and look how he went this year.

I cant see anyway we get him and i wouldnt want us to trade the farm for him either, its just dumb to get on your high horse about footballers over rumors when they get floated as trade bait. I couldnt care if he is Tony Montana if he wins us a flag I also trust the club will sort the bullshit from the truth and make a decision about whether and how hard we pursue him.

Love it when an armchair experts labels others an armchair expert. You may think highly of yourself and that your opinion holds more weight than others on here, but you are just another arm chair expert champion.

The rumours have been growing for some time, they aren't new. They just seem to be growing more legs and I think the reason for that would be that people inside of Melbourne are more happy to share these little tiddly bits as they put him upfor trade.

I've actually never said that I categorically wouldn't trade for him. I'm just pointing out that there are clearly some very serious issues with him. You don't put him up otherwise.

So I'd hope that we are doing more than just a due diligence. We can't afford to lose another couple of top draft picks when we have said all along the plan is to hit the draft, only for it to blow up in our face like it has in the past.
The bolded is the difference here mate.

Im backing the actual experts to do their work, youre assuming you know better than them based off rumors.

Carry on but i dont think im better or more informed than anyone, least of all actual experts.

Brisbane went from where we are to regular finals with Neale. You find a way to make it happen if it’s possible. We have zero true elite players at the moment and having one frees the shackles others have on them. They go up around him. Steele all of a sudden doesn’t have a minder. Crouch is playing on a spud. You can roll kids through with out a minder.
It wasn't Neale alone though.

They had a great bunch of kids that were ready to take the next step. They just timed the Neale trade perfectly to compliment those kids.

Its literally the same s**t many said about DeGoey last year and look how he went this year.

I cant see anyway we get him and i wouldnt want us to trade the farm for him either, its just dumb to get on your high horse about footballers over rumors when they get floated as trade bait. I couldnt care if he is Tony Montana if he wins us a flag I also trust the club will sort the bullshit from the truth and make a decision about whether and how hard we pursue him.

The difference is De Goey was a free agent, we didnt have to sell the farm to trade him in.

If Oliver wasnt up for trade Melbourne and his manager would be screaming from the roof tops today to quell the media.

Its literally the same s**t many said about DeGoey last year and look how he went this year.

I agree.

But if the costs are 2 first rounders.

And we got an end of first round for Gresham.

Surely you put Clark & Howard on the table and sell these assets to build a big enough draft hand to achieve both goals?

The bolded is the difference here mate.

Im backing the actual experts to do their work, youre assuming you know better than them based off rumors.

Carry on but i dont think im better or more informed than anyone, least of all actual experts.
I haven't assumed I know better than any expert? When have I suggested that? 😂

Again, I have never said categorically that I wouldn't trade for him. Just pointing out that he clearly has some serious issues.

But if it did blow up in our face, would it be the first time the "actual experts" got it wrong?

So basically we just have to sit back and agree with everything the club does because they know best.

Shit down the forum lads.