BigFooty Official 2024 Bigfooty Phantom Draft - Early Edition

1. Richmond - Sid Draper (South Adelaide, Midfielder)
  2. North - Finn O'Sullivan 9 Oakleigh Chargers, Midfielder)
  3. Brisbane Lions - Levi Ashcroft *F/S match (Used Pick 15 and 53) (Sandringham Dragons, Midfielder/ Small Forward)
  4. Gold Coast Suns - Leonardo Lombard *Academy match (used Pick 9) (Midfielder/ Small Forward)
  5. West Coast - Tobie Travaglia (Bendigo Pioneers, General Defender/ Midfielder)
  6. Saints - Jagga Smith (Oakleigh Chargers, Midfielder)
  7. Adelaide - Sam Lalor (GWV Rebels, Midfielder/ General Forward)
  8. Hawthorn - Josh Smillie (Eastern Ranges, Midfielder)
  9. Fremantle - Luke Trainor (Sandringham Dragons, Tall Defender)
  10. Gold Coast - Xavier Lindsay (Gippsland Power, Midfielder/ General Defender)
  11. Fremantle - Murphy Reid (Sandringham Dragons, Midfielder/ Small Forward)
  12. Melbourne - Christian Moraes (Eastern Ranges, Midfielder)
  13. GWS - Matt Whitlock (Murray Bushrangers, Tall Utility)
  14. Essendon - Bo Allan (Peel Thunder, Midfielder/ General Defender)
  15. Fremantle - Joe Berry (Murray Bushrangers, Small Forward)
  16. Geelong - Harvey Langford (Dandenong Stingrays, Midfielder)
  17. Carlton - Hamish Davis (Claremont, General Forward/ Midfielder)
  18. Sydney - Taj Hotton (Sandringham Dragons, Midfielder/ Small Forward)
  19. Sydney - Alex Dodson (Sturt, Ruck)
  20. Gold Coast - Alixzander Tauru (Gippsland Power, Tall Defender)
  21. Richmond - Harry Armstrong (Sandringham Dragons, Tall Forward)
  22. North - Isaac Kako (Calder Cannons, Small Forward/ Midfielder)
  23. West Coast - Cooper Hynes (Dandenong Stingrays, Midfielder/ General Forward)
  24. Fremantle - Tom Gross (Oakleigh Chargers, Midfielder/ General Forward)
  25. GWS - Jack Whitlock (Murray Bushrangers, Tall Forward)
  26. Collingwood - Jobe Shanahan (Bendigo Pioneers, Tall Utility)
  27. Hawthorn - Harry O'Farrell (Calder Cannons, Tall Defender)
  28. Brisbane - Sam Marshall *Academy match (used whatever picks they had left) (Sandringham Dragons, Midfielder)
  29. Carlton - Ben Camporeale *F/S match (used Pick 37) (Glenelg, Midfielder)
  30. Gold Coast - Harrison Oliver (Sandringham Dragons, General Defender)
  31. Western Bulldogs - Angus Clarke (Glenelg, General Defender)
  32. Adelaide - Tyler Welsh *F/S Match (Used Pick 33) (WWT Eagles, Tall Forward)
  33. Port Adelaide - Jesse Dattoli (Northern Knights, Small Forward/ Midfielder)
  34. Saints - Noah Mraz (Dandenong Stingrays, Tall Defender)
  35. Essendon - Jasper Alger (Oakleigh Chargers, Small Forward)
  36. Richmond - Harry Charlson (GWV Rebels, General Defender)
  37. Gold Coast - Kayle Gerryn (West Perth, Tall Forward/ Ruck)
  38. Geelong - Kade Herbert (WWT Eagles, Midfielder)
  39. Melbourne - Archer Day-Wicks (Bendigo Pioneers, General Forward/ Midfielder)
  40. Richmond - Thomas Sims (Northern Knights, Tall Forward/ Ruck)
  41. North Melbourne - Jonty Faull (GWV Rebels, Tall Forward)
  42. West Coast Eagles - Malakai Champion *NGA Match (Subiaco, Small Forward)
  43. Richmond - Benny Barrett (South Adelaide, Small Forward/ Midfielder)
  44. Sydney - Joel Cochran *Academy Match (Used Pick 56) (Tall Defender)
  45. Melbourne - Lachie Jacques (Geelong Falcons, General Defender)
  46. Adelaide - Zak Johnson (Northern Knights, Midfielder)
  47. GWS - Logan Smith *Academy Match (Used Pick 53) (Ruck)
  48. St Kilda - Adrian Cole *NGA Match (Used Pick 54) (Sandringham Dragons, Tall Defender)
  49. Collingwood - Lennox Hofman (Sandringham Dragons, General Defender)
  50. Collingwood - Luke Urquhart (East Fremantle, Midfielder)
  51. Carlton - Lucas Camporaele *F/S Match (Used an assortment of late picks) (Glenelg, Midfielder)
  52. Western Bulldogs - Patrick Retschko (Oakleigh Chargers, General Defender/ Midfielder)
  53. Melbourne - Charlie Nicholls (Central Districts, Tall Utility)
  54. Port Adelaide - Will Hayes (Claremont, Small Forward/ Midfielder)
  55. Gold Coast - Josh Dolan (Sandringham Dragons, Small Forward/ Midfielder)
  56. Richmond - Zane Cochrane (Oakleigh Chargers, Midfielder)
  57. Geelong - Charlie West (WWT Eagles, Tall Forward)
  58. Saints - Hugh Boxshall (Claremont, Midfielder)

Rookie Draft
1. Richmond - Cody Angove (Claremont, Small Forward)
2. North Melbourne - Evan Bradley (North Adelaide, Small Forward)
3. West Coast Eagles - Evan Smith (Swan Districts, Ruck)
4. St Kilda - Luca Grego (Western Jets, General Defender/ Midfielder)
5. Adelaide - Rhys Unwin (Greater Western Victoria Rebels, Small Forward/ Midfielder)[Pick courtesy of Mutineer]
6. Gold Coast Suns - Jack Ough (Greater Western Victoria Rebels, Midfielder/ Tall Defender)
7. Melbourne - Damon Hollow (Calder Cannons, Midfielder/ Small Forward)
8. Collingwood - Josh Murphy (Murray Bushrangers, General Forward)
9. Hawthorn - Cooper Bell (GWS Academy, Tall Defender)
10. Essendon - Ned Bowman (Norwood, General Forward)
11. Carlton - Xavier Ivisic (Geelong Falcons, Midfielder)
12. Western Bulldogs - Jaxon Artemis (South Fremantle, General Defender/ Midfielder)

Last edited by a moderator:
Is there away to stretch this out a bit further so it would cover potential rookie picks?

It's a surpisingly deep draft with plenty still on the table.

Reckon you need to start again as everything after the Kako pick (22) is wrong given Essendon can now match the bid and north would have to pick again.
Fair enough.I just want to see the thread continue and observe which other players are in contention.

I'm waiting for someone to call out the name Hugh Boxshall (CL/WA). I thought some of the things he did in the championships were elite. That Jonathon Brown style mark is almost a draftable moment on it's own.

But all in all, I'm really enjoying the thread. Amazing knowledge here at BF.

Fair enough.I just want to see the thread continue and observe which other players are in contention.

I'm waiting for someone to call out the name Hugh Boxshall (CL/WA). I thought some of the things he did in the championships were elite. That Jonathon Brown style mark is almost a draftable moment on it's own.

But all in all, I'm really enjoying the thread. Amazing knowledge here at BF.
A reminder it's the early one. I think the guys jump into a quick rookie draft for the "official" BF phantom draft after trade period.

Don't forget the usual following year mock draft round 1 only edition.

Pick 54 - Will Hayes

One that really caught my eye at the Champs, the WA small forward has a lot to like and with the right development could end up a dangerous high half forward at the next level. What he brings; high level running power, really elite top end kicking, vision, creativity. Like with most small forwards at U18's level, he'll need to add some more consistency to his game to make it at AFL level, particularly in games where his side doesn't have a heap of footy in the forward half, but I like what he's brought at his best enough to take him

Pick 55 - Josh Dolan

**** there's a lot of good small forwards in this crop. A player with elite endurance, ability to turn on a dime and hit targets under pressure, and an innate ability to find the goals, Dolan is another that offers a lot when on song. For the rest of the season, I'm hoping to see him impact more regularly in the defensive phase of the game, with his pressure work not too bad but rarely resulting in tackles

Pick 54 - Will Hayes

One that really caught my eye at the Champs, the WA small forward has a lot to like and with the right development could end up a dangerous high half forward at the next level. What he brings; high level running power, really elite top end kicking, vision, creativity. Like with most small forwards at U18's level, he'll need to add some more consistency to his game to make it at AFL level, particularly in games where his side doesn't have a heap of footy in the forward half, but I like what he's brought at his best enough to take him
Likes from ModernArtillery AND eDPS ? Now THAT'S a good selection

Richmond - Zane Cochrane - 187cm MID

Zane is a big mid with power and drive through the stoppages. Showing his two way running, and with a lift in the second half of the season and big games during the carnivals for oakleigh while the state reps were away he earned a call up to Collingwoods VFL team and used the ball well. Helps out defensively, more often than not he makes the right decision with the ball and has agility and vision in the contest. Helps out on the inside and on the outside, I think he has a really big upside for a late pick here and a need for another mid.

Next up Thunderstruck for Geelong

He's a jet is Benny Barrett, being from SA I see a lot of his and the SA prospects. Probably makes me bias, but atlas, he's one that really excites me.

Also if you had some time over the weekend while we are waiting for picks, hear from Benny Barrett himself on my podcast, 'From the Stands.'

Let us know what you all think, any feedback is greatly appreciated.

Come join the 'From the Stands' forum: https://www.bigfooty.com/forum/threads/from-the-stands-podcast.1379575/#post-84166441

He's a jet is Benny Barrett, being from SA I see a lot of his and the SA prospects. Probably makes me bias, but atlas, he's one that really excites me.

Also if you had some time over the weekend while we are waiting for picks, hear from Benny Barrett himself on my podcast, 'From the Stands.'

Come join the 'From the Stands' forum: https://www.bigfooty.com/forum/threads/from-the-stands-podcast.1379575/#post-84166441

I follow the SA kids a bit. I enjoyed the podcast with Benny, cheers. I like Benny too, exciting to watch. He was once described to me as a fart in a bottle. I don’t know what that means but somehow it’s accurate.

Pick 58 - Saints -Hugh Boxshall 187cm

This kid reminds me a little of Starcevich from the lions, kind of a brute of a player that plays taller than he looks. He has shown glimpse of AFL talent at champs level but has really shown some solid numbers at under 18's level here in perth playing for a very strong Claremont side. I love his inside grunt work to go with his aerial ability.
I have a feeling he may start his career across the HBF and work his way either midfield or forward of center.

Pick 58 - Saints -Hugh Boxshall 187cm

This kid reminds me a little of Starcevich from the lions, kind of a brute of a player that plays taller than he looks. He has shown glimpse of AFL talent at champs level but has really shown some solid numbers at under 18's level here in perth playing for a very strong Claremont side. I love his inside grunt work to go with his aerial ability.
I have a feeling he may start his career across the HBF and work his way either midfield or forward of center.
Yes! The Saints have a ripper there.

BigFooty Official 2024 Bigfooty Phantom Draft - Early Edition