2024 Draft Thread.

🎯 Draft Period, November 20–21
  • Round 1 of the National Draft: Wednesday, November 20
  • Round 2–end of the National Draft: Thursday, November 21
  • Rookie Promotions: Thursday, November 21, after the National Draft
  • Delisted Free Agency Period (3): Thursday, November 21, after the National Draft
  • List Lodgement 3*: Friday, November 22, 10am (optional; required for those participating in the PSD)
  • Pre-Season Draft: Friday, November 22, 3pm
  • Rookie Draft: Friday, November 22, 3.20pm

Hey gringo2011 they were waxing lyrical about your mate Gober on TR this afternoon. Saying @ 25 he should get a gig at AFL level.

Hope you caught it :D :D

No. He should though. He's been a standout for a few years.

He was pretty good at AFL level for a kid his age.
It wasn't his ability that stopped his career.

Not sure why no-one has gone near him since. On the surface he's no worse than Brad Crouch ( except he got busted on game day ).
Under the surface i have no clue.

Its been a while, is his mum still hot?

He was pretty good at AFL level for a kid his age.
It wasn't his ability that stopped his career.

Not sure why no-one has gone near him since. On the surface he's no worse than Brad Crouch ( except he got busted on game day ).
Under the surface i have no clue.

Its been a while, is his mum still hot?

No idea about his mum to be honest. He is massively over weight. I think they said he 138 kgs or something. Whoever takes him is going to need to work him back to fitness before they get anything back. He's the best ruck in the state leagues and would cost nothing.

I remember his all stars game still. He looked great and drifted forward and caused problems for the defence. Looked like a natural ruck forward. I'd take him for $200k a year over Lobb on $1 million x 3.

No idea about his mum to be honest. He is massively over weight. I think they said he 138 kgs or something. Whoever takes him is going to need to work him back to fitness before they get anything back. He's the best ruck in the state leagues and would cost nothing.

I remember his all stars game still. He looked great and drifted forward and caused problems for the defence. Looked like a natural ruck forward. I'd take him for $200k a year over Lobb on $1 million x 3.

Previously clubs were worried about his off field life and committment, but he has shown with his footy at South Port that he is a consistent high performer. You dont get that if he is burning the candle at both ends.

He might be a different cat, but you can see his team mates love playing with him. He would be a much better medium term prospect than Soldo given the trade costs and salary.

Lads mature at different rates he wasnt ready when he had his first chance, but I hate how clubs just put a line through players like this just because of past indiscretions.

Apologies if already covered. How many players are considered in the top tier and second tier of this draft?

3 to 4 in tier 1 another 4 to 5 in tier 1.5 and interchangeable with tier 1 depending on how different clubs rate people.

Probably 10 to 16 in tier 2 but not far below 1.5.
If we end up with Pick 7/8, does that still give us access to the 1.5 tier players or do we likely miss out on this group after FS/Academy picks?

Can't believe we haven't had a conversation with Parker & his management. And reckon he could play on for another 4 seasons at least.Crazy how clubs are just letting him walk quietly to Norf.

I've always loved Parker but he was pretty average on ball when he moved there on GF day. Up forward he's still a gun though. I think you probably take Macrae as an extractor. Parker would need to be as a leader and mentor and play mostly forward with runs on ball IMO.

To clarify, if there are 8 or 9 players in tier 1/1.5, how many of those players are attached to potential FS/Academy picks?
Well I'd say it looks like we'll get two of the Tier 1.5 guys with 7 and 8. Really though with live pick trading plus whatever's gonna happen with all the Tigers' players on the move, the draft order is probably gonna change dramatically so it's very hard to know how it'll unfold. Who knows, we may even split one of those picks if there are guys we dig a little later. So many moving parts, old mate Twomey must be getting a little nervous with his final Phantom not too far away. To me it's the trickiest draft to forecast for a number of years.

What do people take from the comments made last night from basset and Lyon regarding the compensation? I was pretty confident until basset launched at the afl had me thinking it’s more likely to be end of first round? Hopefully not but it’s sort of how I read into that.

It has been hinted as that being Bassatt's motivation in the media. I wonder if that's what also caused the angst against Battle, that he took Hawthorns lower offer and didn't bump them up to ensure we get a level 1 compensation. I would be pissed also if that is how it transpired, as it then looks like Battle has walked out and given the club both fingers. Something went on thats left the club pretty unhappy with the Battle camp.

It's St Kilda if any club can make a mess of things it's us, but even if we do get a level 2 compensation (although we will all be pissed) it won't be the end the world. As it stands it will be before the North compo picks so will be pick #19. Given the strength of the draft we still should be able to get a very good player at the pick. Remember last year we got Wilson at pick #18.

At this point I'm just going to wait until Friday to make any judgements.

It has been hinted as that being Bassatt's motivation in the media. I wonder if that's what also caused the angst against Battle, that he took Hawthorns lower offer and didn't bump them up to ensure we get a level 1 compensation. I would be pissed also if that is how it transpired, as it then looks like Battle has walked out and given the club both fingers. Something went on thats left the club pretty unhappy with the Battle camp.

It's St Kilda if any club can make a mess of things it's us, but even if we do get a level 2 compensation (although we will all be pissed) it won't be the end the world. As it stands it will be before the North compo picks so will be pick #19. Given the strength of the draft we still should be able to get a very good player at the pick. Remember last year we got Wilson at pick #18.
That’s how I read into it. The clubs filthy at him for leaving and we’ve found out it’s end of first round. For someone to finish top 3 in your bnf to get pick 19 probably somewhere in the 20s after bids etc is a bit of a kick in the gut. Darce was picked 14th in the open pool so to call him a pick 18 is a bit misleading but I rate the optimism

If we get 19. I hope we snag hynes

It's obviously still early but last year's trade and draft look good. Henry was an excellent pickup. And the deal to get a future second and still take Wilson was awesome. Wilson looks a brilliant draft pick. Jury still out on Dow, hopefully he can prove his worth. Other draftees it's still early days but it looks like a good crop.

But you're spot on, this year we need to nail it. If we get the pick 8 compo, this is our chance to really put something together. There'll be sliders and heaps of highly rated kids available at those picks. We have the chance to set ourselves up, particularly at the draft, which means we can start to target free agents next year on.

Dalrymple and SOS can't afford to **** this up.
That’s why I would be comfortable trading next years first for a first rounder this year . Focus on the gun free agent plus our second rounder next year. The more potential we can lock in this year the more appealing it’s gonna be to a free agent coming in .

Starting to feel like we will end up with 7. Reid and/or 8. Smilie.

1. J. Smith - Rich
2. H. Langford - Rich (Nth-P6+17)
3. S. Lalor - WC
4. S. Draper - Adel
5. F. O’Sullivan - Melb
6. H. Armstrong - Nth (Rich-P2), (GC-Rioli)
7. M. Reid - Stk
8. J. Smilie - Stk (B1-Battle)

• WC and Lalor is the best fit being a country lad and is probably that high or higher on most boards.
  • Adelaide left with little option but to take grumpy local lad. Would’ve loved to take Lalor.
  • I’m convinced Melbourne will go for the best available mid. They need some young quality in there. Already have two promising KPFs on the list.
  • Nth trade down and get their KPF and bank an extra pick in a great range for a KPD.
  • leaves stk with Reid at 7, Smilie at 8. Wouldn’t be upset but think it’s the least ideal scenario for us. Draper and Lalor seem the most suitable to me

2024 Draft Thread.