2024 Draft Thread.

🎯 Draft Period, November 20–21
  • Round 1 of the National Draft: Wednesday, November 20
  • Round 2–end of the National Draft: Thursday, November 21
  • Rookie Promotions: Thursday, November 21, after the National Draft
  • Delisted Free Agency Period (3): Thursday, November 21, after the National Draft
  • List Lodgement 3*: Friday, November 22, 10am (optional; required for those participating in the PSD)
  • Pre-Season Draft: Friday, November 22, 3pm
  • Rookie Draft: Friday, November 22, 3.20pm

I know he was injured all year but he wasn't that great when he did play. I still think he's probably a gun but still not an absolute certainty to be a star. I'm not moving up for a gamble. He's probably the next Wardlaw but guys that couldn't show what they can do in their draft year are always a gamble. Some guys have a knack for finding bizarre ways to be injured and he's had a bit of that this year.

To me the thing you want is lots of chances in the top 10 of this draft. Not a higher pick. It's probably not as clear cut as most years. The player you move up for might still be there at your first natural pick.
No chance FOS is available at 7 or 8

Very dissimilar to Wardlaw. Wardlaw’s problems were soft tissue - FOS is contact so less likely to re-occur

His VFL games showed that he is still probably the most damaging impact per possession player in the pool. Not many concerns about him from my end

No chance FOS is available at 7 or 8

Very dissimilar to Wardlaw. Wardlaw’s problems were soft tissue - FOS is contact so less likely to re-occur

His VFL games showed that he is still probably the most damaging impact per possession player in the pool. Not many concerns about him from my end

FOS probably won't but others will be. We don't know who we would take. You are assuming a lot there. I'd be taking our two natural picks to the draft. Worst case we get insane offers for one of them when there is someone other clubs want still on the table. To me our picks are in a great range

I agree don’t move we are in the sweet spot.

Someone will slide. You look at some rankings and they have Reid top five. The rankings are all over the place. There is no clear standout and plenty of quality on offer, I agree we are in a sweet spot and the only way I'd move the picks is for ridiculous overs

They want quality picks not ass end draft generated picks.
I've got no idea what North want I was just pointing out that the don't have to trade pick 2 to satisfy AFL drafting rules.

They already had decent 2nd round picks in 22 & 25 and choose to trade them for experienced players.

As to "ass end picks", Arie says hello.

I've got no idea what North want I was just pointing out that the don't have to trade pick 2 to satisfy AFL drafting rules.

They already had decent 2nd round picks in 22 & 25 and choose to trade them for experienced players.

As to "ass end picks", Arie says hello.
Arie was a top 30 kid who’s issues got in his way and needed someone to punt.

No club goes into a draft with the plan of hanging around for one of those.

We hold the whip hand for any pick trade with North, so it should be equitable or overs for us. Assume if they are speaking with us, then they can't strike a deal with Richmond.

If we end up with P2 , I think we are poised to make out well with Richmond with our Pick 7 for their pick 10 & 18.

Helps them get P7 and ahead of Melbourne for the pick of the talls!!

they would have 1,6, 7 and 11 we could have 2,10 & 18.

P10 gets us ahead of West Coast if we want to take Allan.......FOS (or Draper, Smith etc), Allan, and a tall

No.

Some clubs have a desire to shift some of their picks into next years first round.

Richmond is one. (18 onwards apparently)

Giants and Swans both open.

Freo would consider the offer.

As it stands North can trade 2 down but no one is paying 2 top 10 picks for it because of the quality of this draft.

Only 3 clubs can facilitate a deal and only 2 of those clubs have an F1.

I think Richmond is in the box seat for it. But if they are genuine about keeping p6. We can get a deal done and our future first would make better sense and value for north to use to trade back into this draft targeting the above clubs.

If I was in charge and I could get what I wanted…

P8 + F1 for P2 + F2 and we draft FOS at #2.

Hold pick 7 until we are on the clock. If we can take Smillie or Jagga we draft them.

If they aren’t on the board and it’s only Murphy Reid. Trade down.

Would Richmond do 10 + 18 for 7 + our F2?

If so, draft Bo Allan/Trainor and the opposite type of player - which is likely a mid at 18. Might even get lucky and Trainor slides here.
Love the strategy but this is Stkilda. We don’t take risks, creative trading or do things like pick 2.
It’s just not us,our history is testament to it🤔🤭

Arie was a top 30 kid who’s issues got in his way and needed someone to punt.

No club goes into a draft with the plan of hanging around for one of those.

This draft could genuinely have players taken in the 60s that play AFL footy. It reminds me heaps of 2017 with a bit less obvious front end but depth all the way through it. 2017 Dylan Moore, Zerk-Thatcher, Xerri,Switkowski, Guelfi and Meek all went outside pick 60. Jack Payne and Gryan Miers went in the late 50s.

Love the strategy but this is Stkilda. We don’t take risks, creative trading or do things like pick 2.
It’s just not us,our history is testament to it🤔🤭

Moving up for a targeted player makes sense but this draft is standout because it's an even one. Not because there is a few stand out players at the front end. I'm usually keen to get up the front end but this one isn't it to me.

This draft could genuinely have players taken in the 60s that play AFL footy. It reminds me heaps of 2017 with a bit less obvious front end but depth all the way through it. 2017 Dylan Moore, Zerk-Thatcher, Xerri,Switkowski, Guelfi and Meek all went outside pick 60. Jack Payne and Gryan Miers went in the late 50s.
I understand that.

But it also wasn’t my point.

No club goes into a draft thinking they will strike gold at p 58

what player would you compare bo Allen to in the AFL ? from highlights I keep going back to will Brodie I don’t see superstar potential may be wrong who knows

No.

Some clubs have a desire to shift some of their picks into next years first round.

Richmond is one. (18 onwards apparently)

Giants and Swans both open.

Freo would consider the offer.

As it stands North can trade 2 down but no one is paying 2 top 10 picks for it because of the quality of this draft.

Only 3 clubs can facilitate a deal and only 2 of those clubs have an F1.

I think Richmond is in the box seat for it. But if they are genuine about keeping p6. We can get a deal done and our future first would make better sense and value for north to use to trade back into this draft targeting the above clubs.

If I was in charge and I could get what I wanted…

P8 + F1 for P2 + F2 and we draft FOS at #2.

Hold pick 7 until we are on the clock. If we can take Smillie or Jagga we draft them.

If they aren’t on the board and it’s only Murphy Reid. Trade down.

Would Richmond do 10 + 18 for 7 + our F2?

If so, draft Bo Allan/Trainor and the opposite type of player - which is likely a mid at 18. Might even get lucky and Trainor slides here.
I am hearing you here Stav

If we move up to pick 2 for pick 8 + F1 and a F2 back (from North)

We have 2 & 7 ..... FOS at 2

Then with pick 7 it will all depends who slides and and the way I see it .... how badly do we want Bo Allen over the slider?

If its Bo Allen all the way and we know that Richmond are keen on the slider and Melbourne aren't interested in Bo then we could drop back to 10 .... Tigers get 7 and get the slider .... Melbourne whoever at pick 9

We get Bo at 10 and the extra Tiger pick ... 18?

We lose our F1 but gain a F2 + FOS + Allen + pick 18 ... and we also have our pick 32

Could come down to our preference between the slider .... Jagga / Smillie / Langford / Reid ...... and our love for big Bo

If Jagga slides and Tigers really want him after getting Lalor & Smillie then we could hold them over a barrel .... our at least demand their pick 10 & 18

I am starting to like Bo Allen's profile .....reckon he has plenty of scope to develop further

And at pick 2 .... FOS is just pure class

Really warming to the idea of Bo Allan.
Kinda been outside the convo of the top 8 mids, possibly because Twomey doesn’t have him in his top 10? Possibly because he’s in perth under the radar?

But bloody good prospect.
RMC has him ranked 5th.

Hopefully whoever scouts WA for Dalrymple has put him up.

He looks like a Lyon player. He has never rated one position inside ball magnets like other coaches. Most sides can really only carry one pure bull anyway these days. If you can't defend, run and spread to provide options you don't get games these days. Unless you are absolutely elite.

Allan looks like a nice mover and worst case he takes Battle's spot.
I love his attack on the man, he loves the physicality ,just reminds me a lot of Newcombe at Hawthorn

Hopefully whoever scouts WA for Dalrymple has put him up.
I’m reliably told Dalrymple actually puts his own ass into gear and gets out to each state and the family visits.

Doesn’t leave a lot to chance and others form what I’m told.

He is also big on personality.

what player would you compare bo Allen to in the AFL ? from highlights I keep going back to will Brodie I don’t see superstar potential may be wrong who knows

He's quick and tall. Maybe bits of Will Day, he's quick and hits the ball moving like some real guns too.

I have a really bad feeling that Carlton win is going to come back to bite us in the ass reaaaaaaal hard.
Unless we get a deal done for 2

Out
Generational mids

In
Decent bits and pieces.
Rubbish. Maybe read this thread. Bits and pieces .
Also can't stand this loser attitude about wanting to lose games.
One flag in a 150 years and we have people still with this culture.

On SM-S908E using BigFooty.com mobile app

Extremely Hypothetical here

Trade 8 + F1 to NM for 2 and F2

2- FOS
7- Smillie/Jagga/Reid

Trade NM F2 (20), our F2 (25) and 32 this year for a pick between 13-16 (this has a draft points value of an additional pick 13-15 to the other club which can hopefully get the deal done)

Take either Trainor, Bo Allan, or a slider at the pick

Still gives us three first round picks over 2 years, but taking them all in a "super draft" compared to a compromised draft next year where our first after bids could be around 10-15 and our second closer to 30.

2024 Draft Thread.