2024 Draft Thread.

🎯 Draft Period, November 20–21
  • Round 1 of the National Draft: Wednesday, November 20
  • Round 2–end of the National Draft: Thursday, November 21
  • Rookie Promotions: Thursday, November 21, after the National Draft
  • Delisted Free Agency Period (3): Thursday, November 21, after the National Draft
  • List Lodgement 3*: Friday, November 22, 10am (optional; required for those participating in the PSD)
  • Pre-Season Draft: Friday, November 22, 3pm
  • Rookie Draft: Friday, November 22, 3.20pm

Yeah I don’t get the angst..the kid is a ripper as is Tauru, a kid that will excite supporters and get bums on seats!

Mike as good as they are (Travaglia/Tauru), the reality is we desparately need elite midfielders as a priority. In the majority centre clearance and midfield dominance are where games are won and lost. Other clubs know that this is why Melbourne and Carlton worked so hard to get the picks they did. If the club fail to deliver on that in some form, I believe this trade/draft period has been a distinct failure.

I havent lost faith that the club will work something out to address the above, but gees we are specialists at making life hard for ourselves.

The Crows should help a fellow South Australian team (us) out and take Langford at their pick.

I would be happy with a haul of Draper and 'Albino Whitfield' at pick seven and eight.

Plenty of water to go under the bridge over the next two days it seems. We will be linked to every player in the next 48 hours.
The crows haven’t been big on taking home grown talent for the sake of it. They’ll take best available and hope they can lure the best SA players home in the long run.

If the big 6 are gone id be just as happy to switch strategies and load up on best talls., we should just take Tauru and Armstrong.
Let McRae and Steele lead Hugo, Pou and Windy through the midfield and try and snag Reid or Hotton in the late teens with F1.
That may sound mental....but then again, I may have gone mental.
Join the club, mate.

Saints In: 2, 15, 56
Saints Out: 7, 8, 32
SAINTS PICKS BEFORE: 7, 8, 32, 47, 80, 88
SAINTS PICKS AFTER: 2, 15, 47, 56, 80, 89

GWS In: 8, 32
GWS Out: 15, 16, 56
GWS PICKS BEFORE: 15, 16, 21, 37, 56, 73
GWS PICKS AFTER: 8, 21, 32, 37, 73, 84

North In: 7, 16
North Out: 2
NORTH PICKS BEFORE: 2, 62, 76, 86
NORTH PICKS AFTER: 7, 16, 62, 76

I don't know. Probably short changes us. Banking on picks shifting in to certain rounds due to Academy, NGA, FS.

No I wouldn’t.

But I think pick 3 went cheaply and we could have done that by seemingly splitting 8
Carlton gave up picks 12 & 14 plus they’re second highest goal kicker in Durdin..wouldn’t necessarily call that cheap!
Pretty sure we offered pick 7 plus future first for #2, so our recruiting team haven’t been sitting on their hands but it’s tough to get a pick swap done in this deep draft

Carlton gave up picks 12 & 14 plus they’re second highest goal kicker in Durdin..wouldn’t necessarily call that cheap!
Pretty sure we offered pick 7 plus future first for #2, so our recruiting team haven’t been sitting on their hands but it’s tough to get a pick swap done in this deep draft
Durdin got the ass because of their cap space being so tight. Hence the leaking of the rumour that he wanted 600+k

I don’t get the angst. Even in the best drafts half of the top 10 will end up a GOP or below. Travaglia has something about him. If Dalrymple rates him that’s probably for a reason. As I’ve said, multiple position mids who can run will play a lot more footy for us than one position inside extractors. Inside mids change clubs a lot more than dynamic ones do.
The chances that all of the top 6 picks will be superstars is very slim so while it would be nice to have the option, it doesn't come with a guarantee.
I'm on board with a Tauru selection and just hope we don't get too clever with pick 8. Allan, Travaglia or Reid will do or a decent pick swap.
Nas, Poo, Wilson, Garcia, Owens and Windy all came with inferior draft picks.

Strangely Twomey has Murphy Reid as pick 6 in his POWER RANKINGS but he isn’t classed as one of those ‘top 6’ midfielders.

Has that been explained?

The only explanation is that the feedback form clubs, is that they are not that keen on him. Speed of ball movement is where the game is going, perhaps Murphy doesnt meet that trend.

Not to nitpick but it was 12, 14 + Owies (who was our third highest goal kicker for the year).

Mike as good as they are (Travaglia/Tauru), the reality is we desparately need elite midfielders as a priority. In the majority centre clearance and midfield dominance are where games are won and lost. Other clubs know that this is why Melbourne and Carlton worked so hard to get the picks they did. If the club fail to deliver on that in some form, I believe this trade/draft period has been a distinct failure.

I havent lost faith that the club will work something out to address the above, but gees we are specialists at making life hard for ourselves.
I agree 100% we need quality mids but if they’re no longer available at our picks we need to pick the best players left on our list.
I like both Travaglia and Tauru, as well as Bo Allan!
We’ve lost a few talls in this off season that need to be replaced..as well as another small forward I think we need..

That's actually pretty good.
Yeah he put together a very good midfield season in the talent league from everything I can see. I'd get the midfield concerns if he hadn't played there and it was a projection based on hope, but he has played a lot of midfield this year. Versatility can sometimes be an overrated concept, but I don't mind it with Travaglia. Whoever we draft won't be playing permanent midfield minutes in 2025 anyway.

Not to nitpick but it was 12, 14 + Owies (who was our third highest goal kicker for the year).
Yeah but hadn’t he already been delisted and they could have got him for nothing anyway?

I agree 100% we need quality mids but if they’re no longer available at our picks we need to pick the best players left on our list.
I like both Travaglia and Tauru, as well as Bo Allan!
We’ve lost a few talls in this off season that need to be replaced..as well as another small forward I think we need..

The entire club have rightfully said they want and are targetting midfielders. If they fail to deliver on that, then its been an adjective failure in my view.

We had options before this and again at the draft so we may still have a chance to grab the midfielder we crave.

They displayed last year they made some very shrewd moves come draft night/s lets hope they can do the same this year.

2024 Draft Thread.