Preview 2024 National Draft Preview Thread

Question to our draft experts.
Assuming fos, Draper and Smith go top 3.
Would any of them have been top 5 in last years draft?
I'm pretty certain Reid Walter and Kerch would be well above anyone in this draft.
Not sure on bgz and watson
That's an intriguing question buttox, there will of course be different opinions and will be interesting hearing other peoples thoughts, but my mind says almost a dead heat between Finn and Jagga with Sid Draper just behind those two.

Question to our draft experts.
Assuming fos, Draper and Smith go top 3.
Would any of them have been top 5 in last years draft?
I'm pretty certain Reid Walter and Kerch would be well above anyone in this draft.
Not sure on bgz and watson
FOS and Draper have done very little this year to justify going that high

Smith has produced a lot this year but not as impactful as those you mentioned, his small frame a worry also for transitioning to afl

Smillie, Lalor and Langford have produced good years and are in that same rung. All big mids who can play a few different roles

Thanks again for this. Admittedly found these players much harder to split just on the vision and information available vs those at the top end of the draft. Found myself looking for deficiencies more than the traits they would bring to AFL level. Key takeaways for me:

• Shanahan - kicking goals at all levels a big tick from me, and probably my preference at our 2nd pick at this stage. Marks out in front on lead, capable at ground level, competitive and good physicality. Likely to go earlier?
  • Whitlock - AFL size and athletic profile, ability to accumulate, kick goals. Is physicality a question mark, and do they project to be KPP1 at AFL level, or more in the Lukosious mould? Clearly AFL level talent.
  • Gerreyn - Really physical and competitive, but perhaps a tad lumbering? If he can't outbody is opponent at AFL level, does he have the ability to create separation as a forward. Perhaps a tweener and better suited to a Ruck/Fwd role at AFL level.
  • Faull - Questions marks on him being an AFL level athlete. Looks to the eye he doesn't have the agility of some of the others in this list, but runs well in straight lines. Consistent goal kicker, though wouldn't reach for him at 22
  • O'Farrell - Like him alot, though seems to be slider? Athleticism is a tick with room for development, good ball user, natural leap. If he could slide to 3rd round or we could trade up late in second round that would be ideal. Wouldn't be disappointed if we reach for him at the 2nd round
  • Tom Sims - Can launch for the footy and looks to have a decent set of hands, though consistency the issue throughout the year. Would probably have him higher on my board given how his skill set could compliment what we have already.
  • Noah Mraz - Not enough information and vision available to form an opinion.

I watched a fair bit of Armstrong vision, and you can see why he has shot up the draft board. Getting our hands on him would be great.

Pick 2: Finn O'Sullivan
Pick 22: Joe Berry - We may need to slide up into the first to get our hands on him, but if he's there at pick 14-18 perhaps P22 and F2 would entice someone.
Pick 40: Harry O'Farrell
Is there a world where you take both Whitlock's?

Sent from my SM-G781B using BigFooty.com mobile app

GC need **** all to get Rioli. Pick 13 would do the deal to be honest
Where he was drafted (15) is about what he's worth, so pick 13 for Rioli is about right give or take a pick swap/4th rounder...

Pick 6 lol. 2 x 1st FAARKIN LOL!

On SM-G991B using BigFooty.com mobile app

Touche.

I think 2 for 6 and 13 would be a poor return. Hopefully the club share this view.

Bring 13 back to a top 10 selection and it changes things a little bit.

Statistically the top 3 are standouts in the long run. There's no reason this draft will break from the pattern when we all look back.

Statistically, the top 5 get a far longer run even after they've proven to be shite at their original clubs...

Cat Stephens the latest of these 'standouts' - 43 games with a top side, found out to be shithouse, then signs for 4 years with bottom side where he will be gifted games before being delisted...

Trainor is a trap imo.
Not key defender size. Will end up tall flanker at best.
He's 3-4 cms taller than Logue, and that's if he's stopped growing.

I rate him highly, but as an attacking kpd who can intercept. He attacks with his kicking and is good when the balls in dispute. Reckon he'll be the kpd type that does a lot of 1%s, chopping out the big backs with the odd run driving the ball i50.

Heaps to work with.

You watch something like this and its hard to disagree.

"Gerreyn, Like a big bird of prey", you haven't seen anything yet, your getting glimpses and while some of the other forwards look really good, the "GMan" as ROOStaR calls him, can be the next big thing along with Harry Armstrong. My preference on key forwards in this draft are:
(1) Harry Armstrong :glowingstar:
(2) Kayle Gerreyn :glowingstar:
(3) Jack Whitlock :whitecheck: :whitecheck:
(4) Jonty Faull :whitecheck:
(5) Jobe Shanahan :whitecheck:

Trainor is a trap imo.

Shark Tank Wow GIF by ABC Network

"Gerreyn, Like a big bird of prey", you haven't seen anything yet, your getting glimpses and while some of the other forwards look really good, the "GMan" as ROOStaR calls him, can be the next big thing along with Harry Armstrong. My preference on key forwards in this draft are:
(5) Jobe Shanahan:whitecheck:
Watched a little bit of this man child, he's huge and he's happy to use it, he's athletic AF for his size and appears to have great footy smarts. Been a little hampered by the terrible perth weather over the last few months. We should be doing all we can to get this kid at North.

(5) Jobe Shanahan:whitecheck:
We have to get the GMan now!

If we managed to split and get 6 and 13 who would your prefer with pick 6 if both Trainor and Armstrong were available? Or somebody else, Reid, Hotton etc? Happy to use 13 (which will likely be 15) on GMan? We'd still have pick 22 (probably pick 25) which will get us quality in a draft this deep.

Just on his kicking which looks elite to me, he's not only a thumping kick, but has touch as well even off 1 step and can deliver 40m spear passes.

The kid is a beast. Super agile for his size, huge leap and a thumping kick.
Kayle Gerreyn | 10/05/2006 | 199cm / 99kg | 56cm SVJ | 79cm RVJ | 3.226 20m | 8.567 agility | 20.02 yo-yo
🤷🏼‍♂️

You think Colby's a starting CBA player? Hope you're right as he has the wheels but more winger IMO

He’s barely played in the middle yet.

The modern game is moving away rapidly from the Cunners style of contested mid.

Clubs value a loose ball contested poss mid levels above the old school hard ball get contested mids

What you ideally want is both, Wardlaw is an example of someone that wins a big proportion of both, LDU also.

Look at Daicos, he’s very much in the Colby mode physically, yet he’s one of the best clearance and contested ball winners in the comp, it’s because he’s the loose ball king of the AFL. Pace and agility and IQ are so important.

Another point of note, loose balls are often statistically “cleaner” possessions, under less direct physical pressure, they result in higher DE% and a higher kick ratio than a mid shoveling out a handball in a contested situation.

Colby had huge clearance and contested possession numbers as a midfielder at u18 level. It’s quite possible he’s going to be our #1 clearance and contested possession midfielder in the near future, because he’s easily our best loose ball prospect on the list.

He’s barely played in the middle yet.

The modern game is moving away rapidly from the Cunners style of contested mid.

Clubs value a loose ball contested poss mid levels above the old school hard ball get contested mids

What you ideally want is both, Wardlaw is an example of someone that wins a big proportion of both, LDU also.

Look at Daicos, he’s very much in the Colby mode physically, yet he’s one of the best clearance and contested ball winners in the comp, it’s because he’s the loose ball king of the AFL. Pace and agility and IQ are so important.

Another point of note, loose balls are often statistically “cleaner” possessions, under less direct physical pressure, they result in higher DE% and a higher kick ratio than a mid shoveling out a handball in a contested situation.

Colby had huge clearance and contested possession numbers as a midfielder at u18 level. It’s quite possible he’s going to be our #1 clearance and contested possession midfielder in the near future, because he’s easily our best loose ball prospect on the list.
Not fully disagreeing but everyone needs to be able to do a bit of everything in a modern CBA set up.

Nobody specifically has an extractor and a receiver and they only play those roles. At least the good teams anyway.

poorta are a really great example with their CBA setups. Watching them the other week, Butters was their starting sweeper but at points in time they would have Butters stream forward to the open side of the circle for the ground ball get, while JHF who was the usual hit-to swung around to sweep the back of the stoppage.

Colby needs to be competent enough physically to do that when the time calls for it.

If you go in with really set roles, such as Colby receiver, Wardlaw defensive and LDU hit-to, you'll start well but get smashed after half time.

We went through this world of pain because we needed access to elite players and now we want to trade away pick 2 to go back to the picks we got when we were middling?

Keep pick 2.
Not against keeping pick 2, but on the other hand we’ve been drafting ‘best available’ for the past 6 drafts and they’ve all been midfielders.

Would be nice to draft for positional needs for once, like a couple of KPP and a gun SF..

If there’s ever a year to throw the dice at splitting pick 2 and grabbing some gun bigs early in the draft then this is it.