List Mgmt. 2024 Trade & List Management Thread - Part II

Only that balta would be a free agent next year so won't require any capital at all!

But so is LDU. Not suggesting that he's at risk of leaving under free agency, but should that happen, North would have to seriously review any inbound free agent to avoid losing the compensation.

I'd be hoping that LDU signs up a mutually beneficial deal with North ASAP.

But so is LDU. Not suggesting that he's at risk of leaving under free agency, but should that happen, North would have to seriously review any inbound free agent to avoid losing the compensation.

I'm more hoping LDU signs before pre season so can silence the talk and focus on the season ahead... hopefully another good trade and draft period will prove to him we can get out of this mess

Well that’s a bit of a self fulfilling prophecy isn’t it. If we don’t spend it to bring in experience then yes, our F1 will be valued highly bc we’ll still be bottom four.

If we spend it and bring ppl in then we may actually move up.
Sorry, I didn't mean to suggest we were going to suck again next year, just that future picks are almost always valued lower than current ones - and this year more so than most. So if you have a current pick you can trade, you'll get better value for it. Especially this year when pick 2 isn't that great for us, as we have greater needs than more high-end mids.

With Joe Richards looking almost certain to go to Port, we really need to be prioritising either Berry or Hannaford in the draft.

Konstanty could yet be good, but his record at the swans is a bit of a worry.

Owies is certainly better than our current options, but he’s not that pacy, defensive pressure option we really need.

So Hannaford or Berry really is a need.

EFA.

We need to bring in two of these guys.

1 KPF, 2 smalls, a project ruck and a meat and potatoes inside mid.

Split picks and move future picks to make it happen.
We’ve got Goad as a project ruck.

If we want a meat and potatoes mid, we should just get Kennedy for a third rounder and steak knives.

Tauru, Armstrong, Hannaford, Stevens

Houston/Daniel, Parker, Kennedy, Darling, Konstanty/Owies

From the options available, that’s my dream.

jesus wink GIF

Clearance Is pending from the Bethlehem Biblemen. Has had a great year and led the competition with 1000 conversions a week. Apparently an excellent clubman and does some amazing tricks with water in bottles 😎
We might have to rest him for Good Friday. Could get ugly otherwise.

Luke McDonald: Welcome to the leadership group Harry!

Harry Sheezel: Who are you talking to right now? Who is it you think you see? Do you know how many Brownlow votes I get a year? I mean, even if I told you, you wouldn't believe it.

Do you know what would happen if I suddenly decided to stop playing for this team? We lose to the Dogs by 96 and to the Hawks by 124. Demolitions! This team ceases to exist without me. No, you clearly don't know who you're talking to, so let me clue you in.

I am not in leadership group, Luke. I am the leadership group. Caleb Daniel wants to come down to Arden street for a coffee and you think I can help with your recruiting pitch? No. I am the one who recruits.
Awesome post above. Harry is the one who knocks - for those Breaking Bad fans 😎
Walter White GIF by Breaking Bad

With Joe Richards looking almost certain to go to Port, we really need to be prioritising either Berry or Hannaford in the draft.

Konstanty could yet be good, but his record at the swans is a bit of a worry.

Owies is certainly better than our current options, but he’s not that pacy, defensive pressure option we really need.

So Hannaford or Berry really is a need.
I'm not so keen on either Konstanty or Owies. Neither of their current clubs rate them, I'm not sure why we should either. Konstanty is only going okay in the VFL but not pushing for a senior spot. Owies doesn't play like a small forward, he is a poor man's Paul Curtis.

The only thing that will die out in 12 months is the belief that you can play talls and mediums inside f50 and be successful.

Small pressure fwds that kick goals are here to stay, and i suspect defences will get shorter and quicker over time also

On SM-G991B using BigFooty.com mobile app
Small forwards were important 10 years ago when we were playing finals too. LT and Boomer are perfect examples.

But if teams load up on them then oppositions load up on small defenders then medium and tall forwards will become dominant again. The game evolves thru cycles not in straight lines.

He was not before he was drafted. He was rated as a Watson type small forward

No one predicted that Harry would be Harry
A couple of posters on here did. Not in terms of "this guy will be the best ever" but more in terms of " this guy has loads of potential, his ceiling is the sky if he can make it work".

Perhaps us being linked with Caleb Daniel in the last 24 hours means were not confident on getting Houston, nor should we be to be honest. I'd say its highly likely that we don't end up with either. Given the relative cost of both players, i'd probably side with Daniel as the preferred option over Houston given our trading history with port and the fact a F1 pick will be involved. Getting in 3 premiership players (Darling, Parker, Daniel) from 3 different programs, while maintaining our strong draft hand and flexibility to trade in the future would be a good result.

I'm not so keen on either Konstanty or Owies. Neither of their current clubs rate them, I'm not sure why we should either. Konstanty is only going okay in the VFL but not pushing for a senior spot. Owies doesn't play like a small forward, he is a poor man's Paul Curtis.
Yeah. I’m willing to entertain a hypothesis that konstanty’s development is being stymied by papleys automatic selection. But his stats haven’t been impressive.
In any case, either him or owies would be an improvement on Harvey, so for a late pick I don’t reckon it’s a bad idea.

Perhaps us being linked with Caleb Daniel in the last 24 hours means were not confident on getting Houston, nor should we be to be honest. I'd say its highly likely that we don't end up with either. Given the relative cost of both players, i'd probably side with Daniel as the preferred option over Houston given our trading history with port and the fact a F1 pick will be involved. Getting in 3 premiership players (Darling, Parker, Daniel) from 3 different programs, while maintaining our strong draft hand and flexibility to trade in the future would be a good result.
Daniel was one I was always surprised seeing left on the outer. Was a key piece in their success.
Yes he's a bit older, but not sure he was left out due to him dropping off significantly - looked more to be a case of them not being able to fit him in after shifting some players around.

Either way, he's not going to cost us much now. Could do worse as a fall back to not getting Houston.

Let's see what happens

Hawthorn got found out when finals pressure was applied

And that was against a shit truck side Port a lade

Brisbane have Daniher and an elite midfield

Their small fwd is Cameron

Rayner is a mid

Sydney has an elite midfield

Maybe I was bought up in 80s 90s full forwards Locket Dunstall Ablett Carey McKernan Lloyd i could name another 20 etc etc

Its easier to negate short players

Coaches will work them out
Brisbane have Lohman, Ah Chee, Bailey and even Cam Rayner who plays mid and forward in that space between small and medium forward ala Paul Curtis. They also play Berry off the HFF as a taller medium forward (who can play in the middkle as well) who can play like Zurhaar, Ford and ideally ZD.

Really what's more important is a functioning forward line and effective transition inside 50. We don't have either of those things right now so players like RJH or PC don't have the opportunity to show what they can do at ground level the way they would if we could keep the ball inside 50 for longer periods and stop if rebounding straight back out.

Unpopular but I'd cop it. He's a very good player.

Turns up to preseason training over weight. Doesn't work hard defensively. The exact player we don't need. We already have a like for like with Zurhaar.

Wants two years but Brady will sign him for 3.

Got found out? They lost by 3 points, and their smalls accounted for about 80% of their scores???

Brisbane has about 5-7 small fwds. Rayner isn't a midfielders arseh*le.

Sydney has an elite team almost all over the park due to the leg ups the AFL afforded them and still do.

Coaches will slowly engage smaller defences imo. We will end up with teams full of 190cm athletes with a few kpp on lists and a heap of smalls.

On SM-G991B using BigFooty.com mobile app
People have been saying this since the late 90s.

(And to a certain degree its already happened.)

8 weeks is a long time in football.

Jiye and Luke are the 10-14 ranked player on our list being forced to play the 3-8 ranked which they are not

Once the Harry George Colby Zane this year's first plus next years top 4 pick get 2 years under their belt with LDU Larkey Curtis etc

Then Luke and Jiye can shine at the optimal level.

It's been extremely harsh on them over the last 4 years to perform at a level they are not capable of

But we do need them

In two years they will be the 16-20 bracket

We need them

Can anyone confirm if this is ChairmanZia's alt account?

Flog McClure said that North aren't fighting hard to get LDU to sign. I assume (hope) that's because we know he's staying.

On SM-S901E using BigFooty.com mobile app

Love Houston. Reckon he is a dead set gun. But I just don’t know if now is the right time to bring this type of gun in and use an early draft pick. If we had come off a 9 win season, and looked like the next step for us is finals, different story.

I know next to nothing about list building, but I’m trying to use Melb 2013-2020 as my guide. To me we are very similar. Horrid losing culture, and half the side are dead set bush footballers.

Through that period, Melbourne built through the draft, but added mature (some would say ‘past it’) footballers such as Vince, Jeff Garlett, Jordan Lewis, etc, that didn’t cost a crazy amount in draft capital, but Melb probably would of had to overpay in coin to come. Similar to us with Darling, Parker and co.

The big swings of Lever and May (which cost heavy draft capital and coin) didn’t come until they had already come 9th, and those guys they had brought in from the draft, were hitting their sweet spot. We aren’t there yet.

I want to come back to Victoria but only if my current employer is looked after

I call bullshit on this bloke

I've not seen this said anywhere about Houston, chop, but I'm not sure it's like CCJ. This is probably a little different though, if Carlton are refusing to hand over their first pick this year (which is bordering unders) in lieu of their F1 which could be late teens, I'd get some annoyance as he's worth more than that.

From our angle it's all media driven. A couple of weeks back the Herald Sun guys on Fox Footy put up a trade scenario where we split the F1 into this years first round, get a couple of picks 10 up and then send one off for Houston. That is a more than palatable deal. Since then they've gotten lazy and King Ralph has just started leaning on the F1 which 1) incites North and Blues fans for different reasons and 2) gets Port people up and about. They can paint a story that Houston is desperate to get to Carlton (just wait, there'll be photos of him in a blues guernsey as a 5yo popping up) and Desperate Debbie Norf are waiting with pick 1 and 2mil a year to pounce if stubborn Carlton don't work it out.

As a famed stickied posts says, "don't make me tap the sign".