List Mgmt. 2024 Trade Thread - No.1

Threads been great.

But i know one thing
If i was offered 800k and then the team i loved as a kid and all my family love, offered me 100k more....i wouldn't even clean out my locker, i would just buy new stuff at the new joint.
On fire.....yet again PC !!!!!!!!

Silver medal......gold is awfully close.

No, I’m not suggesting that he is or isn’t but I can’t catagorically say either way and nor can you.

You speak like an authority on most stuff in spite of really having no more insight than anyone else on here but you just flat out don’t know anything about this.

You stating he absolutely isn’t disgruntled is as dumb as anyone saying he is, we all have no ****ing idea.
Christ.

The fact it’s even a forum topic created by a bloke who has also created *Ross Lyon: Man on a Plank:”

Says it all.

So, based off the experiences and conversations I’ve had with people who work at the club. Who make decisions.

I’m pretty confident that it’s dumb and anyone who even allows a minuscule of their brain power to consider it as any form of truth - is stupid too.

Would be massively surprised if Norf don't make a huge offer for him TBH.
was thinking that myself on my morning walk,i reckon north are a battle,smooth moving good user off half back hunter clark,a big defender to take the gorillas(butts type)and a luke parker setting standard mid/leader away from saying"screw this poor me tanking stuff,lets go"and it wouldnt be so hard for them to get all that

of course we could get LDU and set them back a little from that

So last season was magic now.

Some people really will go to every possible length to cup his sack.
Honestly man, why are you a mod? Just be a regular poster and be toxic, as against being a mod. Your posts are often disrespectful at best, and I'm not talking about any directed at me, just a general observation.

Im not a mod on the saints board so here i am just a regular poster.

Funny you seem me being disrespectful but none of the shit thrown my way is.

Last season was "magic" now, ffs.

Christ.

The fact it’s even a forum topic created by a bloke who has also created *Ross Lyon: Man on a Plank:”

Says it all.

So, based off the experiences and conversations I’ve had with people who work at the club. Who make decisions.

I’m pretty confident that it’s dumb and anyone who even allows a minuscule of their brain power to consider it as any form of truth - is stupid too.
All of whom know Josh intimately.

Stav, im not saying he is digruntled, i dont think he is but you, speaking as an authority on his internal feeling and motivations shows miniscule use of brain power, you couldnt possible know how he feels about it and if you took your blinkers off youd see, objectively, the way this is playing out might not make him feel great about the club. Doesnt mean hes "right" i agree with you that the way the saints have dealt with it is perfectly acceptable, that doesnt mean he HAS to feel good about it though.

Funny think with feelings, they often dont align with facts.

We've got a history of holding on too long to players until they have zero value.

Could have set ourselves up by now if we were braver with a few of the following:

Armitage
Steven
Ross
Bruce
Membrey
Billings
Clark
Howard

Gresham the exception

Like me and all the shit in my garage that I should sell or dump but I hold onto it because "we'll need it one of these days"
Absolutely, players aren’t trading cards and we’re not collectors. They all get old, some get injured, some don’t live up to expectations and some exceed them. If we just sit on an at best middle of the table list all that will happen is we’ll stagnate and eventually end up in a full rebuild.

We've got a history of holding on too long to players until they have zero value.

Could have set ourselves up by now if we were braver with a few of the following:

Armitage
Steven
Ross
Bruce
Membrey
Billings
Clark
Howard

Gresham the exception

Like me and all the shit in my garage that I should sell or dump but I hold onto it because "we'll need it one of these days"

Going back further, weren’t there rumours of GWS offering ridiculous overs for peak Sam Fisher as they were coming into the competition?

Stav, im not saying he is digruntled, i dont think he is but you, speaking as an authority on his internal feeling and motivations shows miniscule use of brain power, you couldnt possible know how he feels about it and if you took your blinkers off youd see, objectively, the way this is playing out might not make him feel great about the club. Doesnt mean hes "right" i agree with you that the way the saints have dealt with it is perfectly acceptable, that doesnt mean he HAS to feel good about it though.

This entire premise was based off a post effectively saying - well if he won’t re-sign. He must be unhappy.

The fact it’s even a consideration when it’s never been mentioned or implied by anyone for any of our players under this regime is wild.

That is the point. If there was any basis. I’d sit there and be open minded about it and what it could mean.

It’s crap. It’s a big footy creation and there is no basis bar someone’s head canon as to why Battle may not sign on.

That is why i am completely dismissive of it.

That is not irrational or me acting like I know more or making something up. It’s absolutely baseless and utter crap. So why is anyone giving that any time.

Look at freo now? An inconsistent, middling side… don’t know if that’s our aspiration.

Last year people thought the list was pretty good, now all of a sudden it needs regenerating. I’m more concerned with the way we’re playing than the state or the list, Nas, Phillipou, Owens, Wilson, Windy is a decent base to add talent to, we shouldn’t be flogging off gun 25 year olds for more magic beans.

Collingwood, Geelong and Richmond haven't had the best lists but they had good systems and lots of battle hardened older guys with a few exciting youth players pushing from underneath. All went the top up route with existing talent when they were close while using high picks and canny drafting to still get kids in.

We are doing it all over the shop. We are going a heavy youth path because we did it backwards under Lethlean. We were chasing older players before we'd made the cake to ice.

The danger is that most of our best players are 27 or over and apart from Battle, King and Snags we have nothing of note in the middle bracket. If all the youth fire we probably see their best in 5 or 6 years when they are the core the old guys are gone.

We stay on this track and we are possibly 10 years off top 4 and that's if we get an above average hit rate with our kids. Battle is the only mid career player that is actually playing at potential and probably becomes a more consistent version in his last 6 years of good footy.

If we want to go heavy youth as the build we probably have to accept we need sustained down period and just write off the next 5 years.

Our best youth are Owens, Windhager, Wilson, Pou, Garcia, Schoenmaker, Keeler etc. None are looking like star quality yet. To me Wilson looks the most likely to be a gun at this point. Owens could be anything but there is a bit more doubt after this season.

To me getting a guy like LDU and chasing some under-utilised fringe players is more likely to get a hard jump than a few years of bottoming out and we still need to be getting as many high picks as we can either by buying FRDPs for cap space or other means. We need to get a really clear creative plan in place or this could be a very long dark road.

Im not a mod on the saints board so here i am just a regular poster.

Funny you seem me being disrespectful but none of the shit thrown my way is.

Last season was "magic" now, ffs.

You're not a mod here? News to me. No idea what you're on about with the magic comment, certainly not an adjective I've used. I'd suggest you remind yourself we're all on the same team here. Your posting style is pretty abrasive tbh, and if posters are having a crack at you, you might have a long wonder why.

Christ.

Says it all.

The club needs to be handed over to a more competent set of administrators if we are guaranteeing Lyon a job with no KPIs or measures of success.

He should be under scrutiny at every point and we need a clear cut and run point if he starts taking us off the rails. His gloss is wearing very thing right now. He's either going to make or break the club. If he looks like another Pelican or Trout we need to lance the boil early this time.

was thinking that myself on my morning walk,i reckon north are a battle,smooth moving good user off half back hunter clark,a big defender to take the gorillas(butts type)and a luke parker setting standard mid/leader away from saying"screw this poor me tanking stuff,lets go"and it wouldnt be so hard for them to get all that

of course we could get LDU and set them back a little from that
Reckon Parker would be the perfect mentor for our young mids TBH.

Haven’t caught up so apologies if it’s been covered.

Let’s say we’ve offered Battle 6 x $800 and Hawks have offered him 6 x $900. Josh tells us he loves the club and will stay if we match 6 x $900. Hawks offer only nets us end of first round pick. ( Could end up a mid 20’s pick)

What do we do?
well on top of

season opener carlton vs richmond
good friday north vs carlton
easter monday geelong vs hawthorn
anzac eve melbourne vs richmond
anzac day collingwood vs essendon
independance day(when we grow a set of balls)collingwood vs melbourne

us getting f all marquee fixtures,the first thing i would be doing is to tell the afl to stick their"equalisation"joke up their axx,

then we will do as we always do,lick our wounds,take whoever at pick 28 and read 10 pages of comments here regarding battle band 2 vs the pick 28 we just delisted in 2028,while Josh recieves player of the finals at the hawks,while we beat home tassie into 18th place and discuss at length who we will take at pick 15 after all the nt tassie,f/s and nga picks ahead of season 2029 & the impending change next season to those rules,just as riewoldt jr # 1 is making headlines in his under age comp

We let Gresham go for an END of first round pick, I think it’s almost delusional to think that if Battle going gets us a top 5 pick that we won’t take it. The midfield needs to be fixed and with a pick right after ours we get two chances to fix it.

You can stuff up one top 5 pick but surely you can’t miss on two in a row. Hit on both of them and we’re potentially set for the next decade.
Does anyone really think Battle and Gresham are comparable? Battle is a much better player and much more important to the team.
I only watched about 10 minutes of the Carlton/ Essendon game last week, but it was still long enough to see a couple of Gresham's classic inside 50 turnover hack kicks.

The club needs to be handed over to a more competent set of administrators if we are guaranteeing Lyon a job with no KPIs or measures of success.

He should be under scrutiny at every point and we need a clear cut and run point if he starts taking us off the rails. His gloss is wearing very thing right now. He's either going to make or break the club. If he looks like another Pelican or Trout we need to lance the boil early this time.
Completely disagree on this one Gringo. We need to back them all in, else we're forked. And remind me, since Lyon left last time, who were the successful admin or coaching panel we had on board? In fact, since GT or even Alves, what have we done, who have we intstalled successfully? Absolutely no one.

Ross Lyon and Seek.com guy are the best hope we have. Get used to it I'd say and back them in!

This entire premise was based off a post effectively saying - well if he won’t re-sign. He must be unhappy.

The fact it’s even a consideration when it’s never been mentioned or implied by anyone for any of our players under this regime is wild.

That is the point. If there was any basis. I’d sit there and be open minded about it and what it could mean.

It’s crap. It’s a big footy creation and there is no basis bar someone’s head canon as to why Battle may not sign on.

That is why i am completely dismissive of it.

That is not irrational or me acting like I know more or making something up. It’s absolutely baseless and utter crap. So why is anyone giving that any time.
Nah, youre off here.

You seem to think his decision to sign with us or others will be based on a singular thing and it absolutely wont.

Being dismissive of the multitude of inputs that would be going into this decision is dumb IMO.

If Hawthorn is making him feel the love and were not then it might be the difference, youre trying to speak as an authority on a persons feelings.

Again, i dont think he is, but its folly to categorically state that.

Does anyone really think Battle and Gresham are comparable? Battle is a much better player and much more important to the team.
I only watched about 10 minutes of the Carlton/ Essendon game last week, but it was still long enough to see a couple of Gresham's classic inside 50 turnover hack kicks.
Gresham is shit. Drug cheat fans have turned on him already.

I think it's probably a bit of an example of how the club is a bit stuck in the past. Lyon is a tough love operator but with a generation who are used to being coddled.

We shopped guys like Gresham and Howard around. Then expect them to come back and play like robots without any skin off them.

Lyon has told Steele some tough home truths but rather than inspire him it looks like it's burdened him.

If I've been shopped around and then told they'll have me back but only if the club doesn't get what they want, doesn't make the player feel good about themselves or the club.

You're not a mod here? News to me. No idea what you're on about with the magic comment, certainly not an adjective I've used. I'd suggest you remind yourself we're all on the same team here. Your posting style is pretty abrasive tbh, and if posters are having a crack at you, you might have a long wonder why.
Im a mod on a different board not here.

The issue with the "abrasive" style youre talking about is that we all do it. If you see my posting in other boards its not at all like this and it usually doesnt start like this here either.

Ive been ****ing slapped around for suggesting maybe the current woes are PARTIALLY coaching. Ive noted that our list was good enough to finish 6th last season but half the board now reckons its complete dogshit, wrapped in catshit. So naturally when people hammer you for being measured about ALL the issues you get punchy.

Go have a look at the magic interaction (you didnt state it, but its referenced in your first reply to me). Its a prime example.

I think it's probably a bit of an example of how the club is a bit stuck in the past. Lyon is a tough love operator but with a generation who are used to being coddled.

We shopped guys like Gresham and Howard around. Then expect them to come back and play like robots without any skin off them.

Lyon has told Steele some tough home truths but rather than inspire him it looks like it's burdened him.

If I've been shopped around and then told they'll have me back but only if the club doesn't get what they want, doesn't make the player feel good about themselves or the club.
Bang on.

Hawks are the sexy mistress, promising all sorts of unspeakable acts and were the dour chubby wife saying weve got a headache every night (doing my best Gringo analogy).

Jack Steele doesn't run our Club. He's an average to good midfielder at best. And if he has an attitude problem with the Senior Coach he should be moved on forthwith.