List Mgmt. 2024 Trade Thread - No.1

Full blown youth policy.

Suggest you review our games into u23s in the last 18 months vs the competition.

We got over 100 last year into Caminiti Pou Owens Windy NAS Byrnes.

Same group + collard Wilson Garcia Hastie and Henry.

I guarantee you that aligns with North and west coast etc. not the other end of the ladder.
Last five weeks we've only been younger and less experienced once - Melbourne.

With a decent injury list we are nowhere near picking the youngest side.

Cool story though, I'll add it to the pile. 😎
Screenshot 2024-06-12 at 6.39.10 pm.png Screenshot 2024-06-12 at 6.39.38 pm.png Screenshot 2024-06-12 at 6.39.59 pm.png Screenshot 2024-06-12 at 6.40.13 pm.png Screenshot 2024-06-12 at 6.40.37 pm.png

Attachments

• Screenshot 2024-06-12 at 6.40.49 pm.png
    Screenshot 2024-06-12 at 6.40.49 pm.png
    19.1 KB · Views: 31

Like it did last year?

This is the thing RIGHT here (and im not having a go at you specifically).

The list needs finishing and Ross assesed it last year and moved a few on and got a few in. This year is a regression and now that were here, we may as well properly bottom out and get a top 5 pick. Battle stays or goes, fine.

The bipolar nature of this board seems to be around whether the above is what were doing or if its a clean out rebuild and half the clowns say its not a full rebuild but then also say the list is complete shit. Well which one is it, cause if the list is pure shit then it is a full rebuild and if its not full rebuild then the list cant be complete shit.

We made finals last year and won a final in 2020, we have a sprinkling of AA players and some young emerging stars.

To me its clear the list isnt shit, its actually not bad, just needs some complimentary pieces, so maybe everyone saying all our recent results are not Ross but the list being pure trash need to figure out is Ross putting the final pieces together and maybe our current form (which might just be a development of the gameplan) isnt ALL on the players and their lack of execution (which also stacks up given some of our ball users Sincs, Nas etc).

Anyway, this has been such a pointless circle jerk.

Ill be CLEAR about what i think is happening.

Ross did his list assesment last year, hes clear on the issues and opportunities. Hes adressed them last off season and will again this season, lists are ever evolving BUT he liked most of what he saw and can see what is needed and is doing that.

This year is regression as we implement the new Rossball gamestyle (which i ****ing HATE but hopefully is not final state and i am most concerned about this specific item but Ross knows more about footy than i do so play on).

I hope anyone who bothers to read this rambling shit takes away that i am not Anti Ross, I hate Rossball but hes a very good tactical coach and i think he sees what i see with the list so all that "you just hate Ross" stuff can be canned now.

I think hes the right guy and i think he sees the value that weve got.
I'm confused. Do you you hate Ross or not?

As Bobby Browns my prerogative is currently playing;

Less critique on if phantom is a steel wool type operator or a sham wow and more about how many matrix moves we pulled previously v how many times we'll get shot now please.

I'm confused. Do you you hate Ross or not?
Absolutely not.

I ****ing hate Rossball cause it’s ugly as sin and I’m not in love with him unlike others but I reckon he’s the right guy for this job and has the right eye for us.

As Bobby Browns my prerogative is currently playing;

Less critique on if phantom is a steel wool type operator or a sham wow and more about how many matrix moves we pulled previously v how many times we'll get shot now please.
Happy to cop some flak.

It’s one of those situations where when everyone is worshipping at the temple of RTB anyone saying “he seems good but let’s just chill a bit” looks like a hater.

I hope this is a joke, because it would have been a putrid move to bring those two in. I am now more worried than I was earlier.

He hasn't had much choice but to play some younger guys this year, I doubt we'd have seen Garcia or Collard if Higgins and Butler were available more.

It's a relief to see Arie instead of Cordy this week… probably a good PR move given the state of our season.

Shiel would have been means to an end (band one compo for Gresh), Goldy has helped turn a nothing side into top 6 material and would have provided actual back up for our ONE AFL-ready ruckman throughout a punishing season.

I thought we were only comparable to West Coast and North?
Is there something wrong with you aswell?

“Suggest you review our games into u23s in the last 18 months vs the competition.

I guarantee you that aligns with North and west coast etc. not the other end of the ladder.”

Is there something wrong with you aswell?

“Suggest you review our games into u23s in the last 18 months vs the competition.

I guarantee you that aligns with North and west coast etc. not the other end of the ladder.”
Yeh failed to mention GWS and Freo on the age profile.

I’m pretty clear that our “youth policy” is driven by player availability and selection merit.

Hot tip. If you’re gonna pot someone for cherry picking stats it’s not a great idea to do it yourself.

Shiel would have been means to an end (band one compo for Gresh), Goldy has helped turn a nothing side into top 6 material and would have provided actual back up for our ONE AFL-ready ruckman throughout a punishing season.
Yep a million of our cap rooted for a couple of years for “back-up”

Or

We thought after making the finals last year that Shiel & Goldstein were going to give us a lift into the top 4.

It’s yuck either way and dumb to think that draft tampering for a boosted free agency compo was going to fly.

Yeh failed to mention GWS and Freo on the age profile.

I’m pretty clear that our “youth policy” is driven by player availability and selection merit.

Hot tip. If you’re gonna pot someone for cherry picking stats it’s not a great idea to do it yourself.
What stats did I cherry pick? 😂

“I guarantee you that aligns with North and west coast etc. not the other end of the ladder.”

It doesn’t align with the pies the lions the blues the Dons the power etc all at the top end where you would expect the contenders to sit.

Back to the trade thread now thanks

Go PM each other if you want to have your little arguments, no one wants to read it

Thanks
Speaking of trades - Luke Parker ? His body couldn't be that cooked could it ?
I reckon he's got a bit left in the tank and would be hell bent on proving he's still a player.
Dealing with the Swans makes me nervous though after recent trades.

I reckon he's got a bit left in the tank and would be hell bent on proving he's still a player.
I'd be surprised if he left Sydney unless told to by them.

Reeks of Hanners. But you never know. If he’s flirting with the VFL team rest of the year he gone for sure

Edit: I just saw Crouch is injured again. welcome Luke Parker

If he was fit ( can't have another Hanners), would be a great Paddy Ryder type leader for the kids for a year or two
A bit like Hodge to the Lions or Lewis to Melbourne.
Oozes professionalism and experience, is hard at the pill and could be invaluable.

But as I said he just can't be a superannuated injury bust like Hanners.

On SM-S908E using BigFooty.com mobile app

It’s mad that the swans are flying and haven’t had Mills & Parker this year… It would hopefully be a salary dump type of deal if we did entertain Parker, 32 is prime chronic injury window for a bash and crash mid.