List Mgmt. 2024 Trade Thread - No.1

Makes you despair
I think you said in another thread the best mindset is to accept the current schema is corrupt and quite frankly a total joke, laugh at it, find enjoyment where possible, but certainly don't fork out big dollars to them each year. It's the only way. Constantly being low-key abused by these pricks is not good for the psyche!

The problem with this idea is we’ll stay where we are right now - trying to “add players” 1 draft pick at a time ….probably picks in the late teens/twenties after all the freebies
It doesn’t mean you sell the farm to fast track talent acquisition…but it may mean you sell off a few prized paddocks to get access to the elite end of the talent pool
That includes FA if there is a deal needing top picks for an LDU…
Right now we are 7-15 side
Not gonna win flags treading water adding 1 top kick a year
Gotta give to get ….just make sure the “give” is from a part of the field you have some cover in …

If you lose an A grade player to turn into picks, the issue is that you need to replace that output and bring in a kid who probably takes 4 years to show how good they are. The free agent compo is another equalisation method that encourages the opposite. Sides at the bottom are encouraged to gamble on letting players walk for a gamble on a high end pick.

On replacing Battle's output, there might be a player like Schoenmaker that could walk in tomorrow. But you could also destroy Ari's career throwing him in unsupported and he goes backwards. Having him come in and able to play less accountable footy builds confidence and skills.

Also need a good draft to get into. It's pointless to get another Clark and Coffield just because they were high picks. You can't build a list with just draft picks now but selling guys you then need to replace is pointless too. Ideally you keep trying to find Henry, Dow even Bonner types. If you get a few hits in those top ups, you get to fill in the holes without using draft capital.

Carlton, Geelong, Collingwood etc all used top ups to make their list better.

In my opinion anybody who thinks Stengle is the answer is asking the wrong questions.
Seriously he would be no good in our set up.

I reckon you'd be insane to base it off one game. His game is exactly what we are missing. He's an upgrade on Gresham and what we hoped he'd be. A lack of small forwards cost us game sth year and we struggle to kick goals against the tide.

Lyon's surge games needs guys that score and he's that while still offering a pressure game. He's not the missing piece but he is a missing piece.

If you lose an A grade player to turn into picks, the issue is that you need to replace that output and bring in a kid who probably takes 4 years to show how good they are. The free agent compo is another equalisation method that encourages the opposite. Sides at the bottom are encouraged to gamble on letting players walk for a gamble on a high end pick.

On replacing Battle's output, there might be a player like Schoenmaker that could walk in tomorrow. But you could also destroy Ari's career throwing him in unsupported and he goes backwards. Having him come in and able to play less accountable footy builds confidence and skills.

Also need a good draft to get into. It's pointless to get another Clark and Coffield just because they were high picks. You can't build a list with just draft picks now but selling guys you then need to replace is pointless too. Ideally you keep trying to find Henry, Dow even Bonner types. If you get a few hits in those top ups, you get to fill in the holes without using draft capital.

Whoever would take Battle role would be playing alongside Wilkie and (hopefully) Howard. You cant get much more supported than having 2 senior key defenders alongside you plus other senior players like Sinclair, Webster/Stocker, Nas will be over 50 games in.

I reckon you'd be insane to base it off one game. His game is exactly what we are missing. He's an upgrade on Gresham and what we hoped he'd be. A lack of small forwards cost us game sth year and we struggle to kick goals against the tide.

Lyon's surge games needs guys that score and he's that while still offering a pressure game. He's not the missing piece but he is a missing piece.
We obviously need elite midfielders, but we also need to improve the forward line. Stengle would absolutely do that. I think a forward line of Stengle, Higgins and Butler would actually cause headaches.

In terms of the elite mids we just have to keep hoping the kids come through, a bit like what has happened to Sydney this year. But it would be foolish not to keep improving other areas of the ground while we wait.

If it comes down to choosing between Stengle and a top 5-7 draft pick (if Battle leaves), I reckon we'd be crazy not to keep the extra draft pick.
I don’t think it will come to that. Nobody is going to pay Battle that much money, he’s not band 1 compo good. If he was a key defender maybe but if he was a key defender we’d keep him no matter what.

If it comes down to choosing between Stengle and a top 5-7 draft pick (if Battle leaves), I reckon we'd be crazy not to keep the extra draft pick.
that would be a true shake of the head moment,dont think it will happen,but if somehow battle became stengle,well that would be so saints and another nail in my see a flag before i die coffin

only blessing being im pretty much convinced i wont anyway,hence while other guys express horror at getting 2 picks in the top 5 or 6,i like it,because as a saints fan thats as good as it gets,those 20 or so days in november(trade period and draft),winning pre season flags and brownlows back in the day and wins over the likes of pies bombers and any win in adelaide,making and winning the odd final,that is our shangri la/holy grail

in saying that and we seperate the names battle and stengle & stengle gets to us,i will say welcome to moorabbin and hope for the best

I don’t think it will come to that. Nobody is going to pay Battle that much money, he’s not band 1 compo good. If he was a key defender maybe but if he was a key defender we’d keep him no matter what.
Battle is a better player than Ben McKay, so it's not completely out of the question.

Obviously, as it's the Saints, we will get reamed by the AFL.

Nothing you can do if Battle leaves for the same offer we have on the table or less….

But considering that the point of this process is to maximise his next deal and our offer was reported at 800.

You have to consider he very well might. There is more than enough interest.

Makes you despair

I'm not a betting man, but I'd bet my left nut that the schedule is dictated between the TV rights holders and betting agencies whilst the AFL operates at the PR facilitator to cover and rake in the money. Corruption is top to bottom in that festering organisation.

Now you are talking. It's obvious we are topping up for a big tilt.

Glad to see you on board.

On SM-S908E using BigFooty.com mobile app

The problem is that we don’t have control on the Battle situation.

But if there was one spot in the team where you would feel confident we could lose someone of Battles quality and manage with what we have. It is in fact Battle.

Obviously I’m going to be blinded to a degree as I have been a huge Arie fan since the lead up to the draft. But without the off-field issues his presented as a late first. He would be the same in this draft - maybe earlier.

We shouldn’t worry about how he will develop. There is plenty of experience in that area of the ground.

Sharman and Hastie also present as options aswell.

You would imagine we are looking to find the next Dow and Henry. It wouldn’t surprise me if we did shop that Adelaide pick for a similar talent to those - if we got the compo pick we wanted in the event Battle leaves.

The problem is that we don’t have control on the Battle situation.

But if there was one spot in the team where you would feel confident we could lose someone of Battles quality and manage with what we have. It is in fact Battle.

Obviously I’m going to be blinded to a degree as I have been a huge Arie fan since the lead up to the draft. But without the off-field issues his presented as a late first. He would be the same in this draft - maybe earlier.

We shouldn’t worry about how he will develop. There is plenty of experience in that area of the ground.

Sharman and Hastie also present as options aswell.

You would imagine we are looking to find the next Dow and Henry. It wouldn’t surprise me if we did shop that Adelaide pick for a similar talent to those - if we got the compo pick we wanted in the event Battle leaves.
In a deep and even draft, I think it'd be silly for us to trade our 2nd rounder. Could be some gems in that range this year

You can’t have both draft capital and bringing in talents like Henry.

This year also represents some late academy and FS options for us.

So if you could double your top picks + have enough later picks to roll the dice. Your second becomes an option

Having read the thousands of arguments to keep or let Battle walk (I.e not paying him enough to retain him), I’m convinced that we do need to role the dice and let him go. I have some confidence that SOS can do what’s needed to trigger band 1 compo. I also think it’s a very rare opportunity for us to a) potentially get access to band 1 compo and b) finish low enough to really maximise the outcome on multiple top 6 picks. The conservative approach would suggest we hold Battle who’s a proven performer and a strong cultural driver but given our previous list management failings it’s time to gamble and look to finally address our pedestrian midfield issues. It really seems the only way we can get our hands on elite midfielders, while plugging holes in the backline seems a much more achievable task.

Stengle is a decent player, he would make us better, but as we all know what we really need is more quality in our inside midfield. Without that we are going no where.

If Stengle was not decided on going before last night, he will be off now for the Cats are now falling off that aging list cliff that we all thought they would years ago. But did not and actually went older and grabbed a flag in the process. So congrats to them in grabbing another flag, but they too will now be in rebuild mode, and will not be a force in 2025.

Stengle will be off. In many years this could have seen him join us as I am quite sure that our club is now attractive to indigenous players as our club has been truly outstanding in making the Saints a great environment for indigenous players.

But Battle being potentially a Band 1 FA in a year we finish low enough to grab a decent mid with that compo pick is not something I want to lose in order to acquire Stengle.

So Stengle to me would only make sense if he was but one of a number of quality FA's to be gained.

Stengle for Battle, and to lose our chance of that extra mid is not a wise move.

In terms of the elite mids we just have to keep hoping the kids come through, a bit like what has happened to Sydney this year.

Personally I see that as a low % play. I think some of our youth show signs of being ok support mids, guys that can be part of our midfield, but as yet no player is showing signs of being an out and out gun mid. Maybe Pou will come back a physical beast in 2025 and be that players, but then again he easily may never get to that higher level.

I like Garcia, but gun?

Windy looks a talent. But again not a gun.

Owens. Legion are the play as a mid posts, but as yet underwhelming when he has been in the midfield.

Crouch made our midfield better, but that knee is rumoured to be chronic. Steele looks to have gone down a notch. So that is our other issue as not only do we lack quality, but our two best mids are not what they were.

But it would be foolish not to keep improving other areas of the ground while we wait.

And yes we have to look at improving all over the ground, but unless we can boost the quality of our inside mids all that will count for naught. It is exceptionally difficult to be a To 4 Team without one or two quality mids. And some teams now have more than 2. We currently have zero.

Topping up with solid players in their mid twenties, whilst continuing to use first round draft picks/play youth. How is that a bad strategy? Trying to get Sanders (which was purely speculation) a highly regarded 19-20yo MID, probably better than anything available in this upcoming draft, is something to get upset about?

It’s hard to blame after the last 12 years but we appear to have completely lost the plot.

I'm sure SOS can effectively manage the situation to maximise the outcome. I'm also sure Dalrymple can effectively use whatever picks are available. The big question is whether the AFL will elect to farrk us on the compensation to punish us for agitating over inequity.
SOS needs to lever the McKay deal to force the leages hand, but they've already stated they'll make it harder, giving them an out.
Fascinating stuff.

I'm not a betting man, but I'd bet my left nut that the schedule is dictated between the TV rights holders and betting agencies whilst the AFL operates at the PR facilitator to cover and rake in the money. Corruption is top to bottom in that festering organisation.

Been watching The Boys on Prime TV this week (copped the spicy cough so have been in bed for 3 days straight).

The parallels between the organisation that manages the superheroes gone bad in the show & the AFL are ridiculous.

Everything is stage managed. Zero left to chance.

We’ve almost crossed the bridge where true competitive sport is dead & its nothing but an entertainment product for the masses.

The even sadder thing is that I am starting to see the exact same modus operandi of the AFL in junior footy organisations. Rigged fixtures, unaccountable administrators, self promoting flogs looking at their next gig jn the industry instead of nurturing the game & the kids playing it.

I’ve always laughed at Australian soccer & how horribly mismanaged it is… for the 1st time ever I see how much trouble our own code is in.