List Mgmt. 2024 Trade Thread - No.1

Wow it's all happening.

To me, with Battle it feels like if the Hawks can't pony up more money/longer contract, he stays. Perhaps they feel like for his height/position they already have options. Reckon they might need some cash for Bailey Smith too.

Marshall well Clubs would be mad to not be sniffing around, but again I reckon he stays. And GAGF Geelong.

I saw Bruce got likes from ex teammates on his return from his knee rehab so he mustn't have made that bad an impression on them all. He seemed to be in a little clique with Lonie, Sincs, Newnes, Billings, Matress etc. There seemed to be some fracture in the friendship but they were all gone not long after that.
I think he made a bad impression on the adults.

Wow it's all happening.

To me, with Battle it feels like if the Hawks can't pony up more money/longer contract, he stays. Perhaps they feel like for his height/position they already have options. Reckon they might need some cash for Bailey Smith too.

Marshall well Clubs would be mad to not be sniffing around, but again I reckon he stays. And GAGF Geelong.

I get that it's not a Woolies where we can just pick players off shelves, but I'm not entirely sure why we'd not be looking at Smith ourselves.

We don't have a Clubcard? Dunno actually, but at a guess I'd think Smith wouldn't want to go from one 'small Club' to another, perhaps he's looking for something marquee.

He's a star but probably not what we need. He plays more running outside mid than an extractor which we need more of. Probably prefer to sink two first rounders into LDU or similar.

Crouch’s knee is shot unfortunately. Heard from someone close to him today that he won’t play again. Sad because he played his best footy for us in the last 12-24 months.
If that's the case, hopefully they can reach favourable terms and he can retire. Since it doesn't look like we can spend our war chest they can pay him out to the minimum value of 2025.

stavro#4 weren't we into Liam Duggan as a pre-agent last year? Or was that just an unsubstantiated rumour during trade week?

Isn't Brad contracted after hitting the trigger?

Well yes, but:

1/ His knee if it as bad as rumoured/speculated may not allow him to
2/ The club and/or could opt to pay him out

Having said that the lack of Crouch this season is one of the key reasons why we have won less games this season.

He has the talent and ability to play on next year that is for sure. He might just be short one serviceable knee. Personally I would like it they can get his knee good enough for him to play a whole season again. But, they may not be able to.

He's a good tap ruck but not much else IMO. Pretty much moving sideways from Campbell. I thought Campbell played a good game against the Lions. We won clearance against a better midfield and a lot was his tap work giving us an easier ride.

The danger with replacing Marshall is that he's our most competitive player and our only guy that sees to be able to tempo shift and power us up. It's also only a positive if to replace him with someone as good , ist doesn't end up costing more than we receive.

This draft is very average and not one you'd get too excited about having too much skin in. Clubs would be happy to trade out of high picks IMO.
I agree, but Pitt has a couple years more than Campbell and when he plays for the Blues as solo ruck, they play very well - obviously before TDK broke out. I remember hearing something late last year about how good Pitt is at giving his mids first use. He's 100% a decent AFL ruckman and if we can get him for cheap, we must consider it

Campbell is done next year, if not this year, and we're going to have to find some sort of cover anyways if Heath's development stalls and we can't find a young replacement.

The draft is average but beggers cant be choosers, we have a clear plan of action and this plan would've been developed by SOS etc knowing the standard of this draft - they chose to hit the draft this year only a year in advance where you'd have a decent idea how good it is. And its a midfielders draft, which suits our list profile to a tee. We are almost guaranteed one of Smith, Draper, Lalor. If a key tall jumps high and Battle leaves us with band 1, we'll get two of them