List Mgmt. 2024 Trade Thread - No.1

This is going to piss some off

MR: When you appointed Ross Lyon, you spoke of wanting a winning culture. Brett Ratten had a 34-34 win-loss record in his time, and Lyon is now 18-20. Does that record match the want of a winning culture?
AB: We were pretty clear when we appointed Ross that we were a long way off it as a football club, and that we weren’t on track to be competitive at the top end of the ladder.
MR: I thought you were quite bullish at the time.
AB: No, we made it very clear there was a risk we could go backwards before going forwards. We said we were a long way off it after the review. Ross came on board fully aware of the problems. I was entirely transparent with Ross, and he believed we were committed to the long-term future and committed to supporting him through the ups and downs, through the noise that happens when you’re not performing every week. We knew it wouldn’t be easy.

MR: Does it frustrate you when you hear and read that he is the alpha male and he gets whatever he wants, and that includes CEOs?
AB: I know it’s not true, that he’s the puppeteer and I’m the puppet. I don’t really care too much about it.
MR: You can keep denying it, but how do you get rid of that perception?
AB: Look, all the key people are committed and we won’t let the noise distract us. If on the way we cop some criticism, I cop some criticism, Ross cops some criticism, we’re up for that. We’d prefer to cop that than take short-term decisions, which aren’t right for the long-term future.
MR: Can you clarify if this story is true? That leading up to Ratten’s sacking, you went on Lindsay Fox’s boat for his birthday, and a bunch of old Saints people like Lindsay and Gerry Ryan said, ‘Hey, why don’t we get Ross Lyon to coach?’
AB: Do you honestly reckon I’d go on a boat with all these galahs and say a single word about what was happening at the St Kilda Football Club without it leaking out? I didn’t say a word to what was happening to anyone on that boat. It wasn’t discussed at all. It was such a sensitive issue. It was a brutally hard decision on Brett (Ratten); he’s a good person, and (it was) by far, the hardest decision I’ve made in my life.
MR: There’s another perception that the former cohort at St Kilda, which includes Nick Riewoldt, is very influential. True or not?
AB: I probably spoke to 120 people as part of the review to get to a really strong decision. To give too much weight to one or two people is completely false. And the boat story is completely rubbish.
0890215e04a0f36781199c98a6615fa635d2fb62.jpg

AFL: St Kilda Saints coach Ross Lyon unleashed on his team during the quarter time break following a lacklustre opening performance.
MR: Are you enjoying the role?
AB: I‘ve not enjoyed some of the decisions that have been made, but I’m enjoying the role. I take it very seriously.
MR: You’re a hands-on president?
AB: I’ve become hands-on and I am trying to do that without interfering in the jobs of others. But what you realise when you get involved is just how much it means to so many people. For so many supporters, it’s the most important thing in their lives.
MR: Is it the most important thing in your life?
AB: I’ve become pretty obsessed.
MR: So when you go to bed at night, do you think about your businesses or do you think about the Saints?
AB: I shouldn’t admit this because I’m running a business and I’ve also got investors in that business, but this (St Kilda) is the thing I’m obsessive about, because I know how important it is to so many people. Hands on? Probably, because what the pre-review period taught us is that the board to some extent was forced to rubber stamp decisions because we didn’t have enough information to make good decisions.
MR: Despite playing finals in 2023, did the coach declare that the team/list wasn’t as advanced as much as you may have thought it was?
AB: That we have gone a bit backwards this year is probably not how we anticipated things would unfold, but we knew there were gaps. If you look at the commentary last year from Ross, and from everyone involved at the club, no one was getting carried away with our form last year. No one was thinking we were closer than we were. We resisted the temptation to bring in older players and go down the free agency path, to go down the top-up path. The players we brought in were younger. This is no disrespect to Jade Gresham, but there’s no doubt if we kept Jade we would’ve been better this year. We effectively, by allowing Jade to leave because we didn’t want to match the salary, we got a draft pick that we turned into Lance Collard and we got salary cap space. That’s the sort of the decision that takes you backward before it goes forward.
A happy [PLAYERCARD]Rowan Marshall[/PLAYERCARD] and [PLAYERCARD]Jack Sinclair[/PLAYERCARD]. Picture: Michael Willson/AFL Photos

A happy Rowan Marshall and Jack Sinclair. Picture: Michael Willson/AFL Photos
MR:Criticism this year has centred on game style. What do you say to supporters – and to the media – who describe it as rubbish football?
AB: I don’t really listen to what anyone says. Mostly, people are pretty positive. I get the occasional abuse if you have a bad loss. For most part, fans know we’re not taking shortcuts and the more sensible fans are pretty pleased with the direction.
MR: Do you like the style of football?
AB: We scored 106 points against Brisbane last week, we moved the ball fine. I think we’re No.1 for moving the ball from defence to attack. We’re breaking down in actual scoring, but unsurprisingly we’re moving the ball better when our midfielders, who we had been missing, came back.
MR: What was your reaction to suggestions this week that clubs were aware that Rowan Marshall might be gettable?
AB: If that was the reality, I would be concerned, and you’d prefer rumours not be out there when they are false. I have checked on the Rowan Marshall one. The answer is he’s fine. To be clear, I had a long conversation with Rowan – there was a function at my place on the Gold Coast after the game last week – and he looked like a very happy guy to me.
MR: Did you personally ask him this week?
AB: I did not speak to him personally this week; it’s not the sort of thing to bother the player with. But I believe it to be not true.
MR: Do you believe St Kilda is a destination club for free agents?
AB: It’s hard for us because they tend to go to the clubs who are in the window, which is self-reinforcing because they tend to go to clubs at the top (of the ladder), and they stay (there). So free agency continues to be an instrument of continuing unequalisation. But we’ll do our best.
MR: Do you think it should be “free”?
AB: I don’t. Richmond, for example, get Tom Lynch when they’ve won the flag. The reason for that is the (AFL) Players’ Association wants it. But it’s hard to argue that it’s fair.
It’s a testing time for St Kilda fans. Picture: Quinn Rooney/Getty Images

MR: It’s testing times for St Kilda supporters. Can you say anything to them other than be patient?
AB: I’m a hardcore fan. The only reason I got involved is because I was impatient and I got convinced I could help a little bit. I completely understand the impatience. Our choice now is to try not to rush, to try to be as good as we can be this year, knowing that won’t get us in the top four. Or we can try to do this properly and cop the noise, and cop the criticism. I think the fans would prefer us to get there a bit later and get there more seriously than just dribble into the eight. Anyone can dribble into the eight and fall out the next year. That’s easy, we’ve done that twice. Now we’re trying to get into the top four and be competitive seriously.
MR: Have you spoken to Brett Ratten?
AB: We started off OK afterwards, but I completely understand Brett’s perspective. Brett doesn’t like me very much. I’ve got great regard for Brett, we had nice exchanges after our decision, but I’ve tried without response more recently.
MR: Have you spoken to Simon Lethlean recently?
AB: I’ve not spoken to Simon, either.
MR: What’s your vision of St Kilda in, say, four years?
AB: I don’t want to put a timeline on it, but I’d be really disappointed if you don’t see us a hell of a lot more competitive by then. Top four, top six. We don’t want to make predictions for next year because we’re really focused on the process. Results will take care of themselves.
MR: It doesn’t have to be said, but it’s a big game on Sunday.
AB: I think this is the fourth time this year we’ve met a side that’s had the media on its back all week. That’s OK, you want to prepare yourself for big games.
MR: You speak calmly and rationally, but do you get tense at the footy?
AB: I’m hopeless. I can barely function. I used to be fine, but now I care so much I have so little control. I need a padded cell with a one-way glass. If I can control myself I sit with people from the president’s dinner, if I find myself going astray I just wander off on my own somewhere. My wife can’t stand it, my kids can’t stand it. I’m a lot more relatable to the hardcore fans. But with most people, it’s just embarrassing.

Wilkie and Webster out??

Howard is a bang average player. Let’s not build him up to be more then the body of evidence from 2020-24.

There is no dispute of what Battle is.
He is also playing a third tall back role and struggles when asked to play as a genuine key back.

You can replace the above a lot easier. Which is why people are split on the entire scenario of Battl v Band 1 pick
Dougal was very good 2020 and 2021.

I think it shows a clubs desire when they haven’t got a deal infront of a player at round 15.

That’s just ominous for the relationship
Yeah at this stage we’re probably letting him look around. Whether he finds anything that’s worthwhile for all parties is another question. If we let him go for something like a late third rounder I’ll be disappointed, although the draft is relatively deep

Maybe the Dogs make a play if they miss out on Barrass and pair him with Jones at CHB

I think the only issue one can take with anything Bassat said in that interview is that reality doesn't necessarily reflect it.

But IMO he's being honest and pretty accurate in his appraisal.

Having said that, I'm inpatient too. But I think a better way to describe it is that the club no longer deserves my patience. Meaningless I know, but I'd be happy to wait for a guaranteed result, and that's the problem.

I didn’t say he was easy to replace. I said Howard was bang average.

I said replacing a third tall defender is a lot easier to replace and ultimately if the club moves Howard on - which is a fair assumption at this point. They would have to replace him.

Lyon has 2 more seasons. He won’t go before that point.

So if we are bottom 4 and he's culled the list hard and set to keep on the same path we won't move him on? That is insanely irresponsible. If we are left with a worse list and aren't playing finals we should make sure that no-one from the current board is allowed anywhere near the club again.

I think the only issue one can take with anything Bassat said in that interview is that reality doesn't necessarily reflect it.

But IMO he's being honest and pretty accurate in his appraisal.

Having said that, I'm inpatient too. But I think a better way to describe it is that the club no longer deserves my patience. Meaningless I know, but I'd be happy to wait for a guaranteed result, and that's the problem.
What does reality not reflect?

I think he spoke very well from a grounded position and understands the pain frustration at the entire situation. Including that we may not be much better next year - even if they want to and try to.

So if we are bottom 4 and he's culled the list hard and set to keep on the same path we won't move him on? That is insanely irresponsible. If we are left with a worse list and aren't playing finals we should make sure that no-one from the current board is allowed anywhere near the club again.
Read the interview.

it will piss you off. Just backs the argument of whose against you lately.

Posting this here because Ross gives some journos a whack over the Marshall rumours and then takes down the whole Academy system.

Thats one of RTB stronger pressers for criticising the AFL. Everything he said was balanced and reasonable, but the AFL are not going to delete the academies they have become too important to the development zones eg QLD & NSW. Our club would be better off asking for a bite of the pie with respect to the northern zones.

Typical St Kilda administration now we want change, but as a club we were asleep at the wheel when the AFL were dishing out academy zones! We did ourselves a major disservice and again missed the boat at being at the fore front of recruiting opportunities - deja vu.

Gringo, from the day Ross was appointed, the plan has always been to hit the draft in 2023 and 2024, then build on that foundation via free agency from 2025 onward. The plan was always to refresh the list to its core at the end of this season, so it shouldn’t be a surprise to anyone if we lose some quality. Next year, the improvement will come from the young core; Nas Windy Owens Pou Wilson Arie Caminiti Keeler Heath Henry Dow King etc., before we top up with FAs and genuine star power - not some mid tier B graders

Mate you need to take a break - you are arguing for the sake of it lately....

What does reality not reflect?

I think he spoke very well from a grounded position and understands the pain frustration at the entire situation. Including that we may not be much better next year - even if they want to and try to.

I think there may be some points in there that some may contest about things such as progress. I didn't have any issues.

Yeah - fair enough.

Ultimately he gave direction. He answered a shit load of the argument on here in the last month.

Almost as if Robbo read big footy summarised it and interviewed him.

He was also good last year and his form after his first game back this year was good too.

The narrative that he's not a good defender isn't really backed up by anything except a desire for draft picks.
We wouldn’t get a great pick for him. So how do you come to that conclusion?

He has all the attributes but not a footballers brain.

This is going to piss some off

MR: When you appointed Ross Lyon, you spoke of wanting a winning culture. Brett Ratten had a 34-34 win-loss record in his time, and Lyon is now 18-20. Does that record match the want of a winning culture?
AB: We were pretty clear when we appointed Ross that we were a long way off it as a football club, and that we weren’t on track to be competitive at the top end of the ladder.
MR: I thought you were quite bullish at the time.
AB: No, we made it very clear there was a risk we could go backwards before going forwards. We said we were a long way off it after the review. Ross came on board fully aware of the problems. I was entirely transparent with Ross, and he believed we were committed to the long-term future and committed to supporting him through the ups and downs, through the noise that happens when you’re not performing every week. We knew it wouldn’t be easy.

MR: Does it frustrate you when you hear and read that he is the alpha male and he gets whatever he wants, and that includes CEOs?
AB: I know it’s not true, that he’s the puppeteer and I’m the puppet. I don’t really care too much about it.
MR: You can keep denying it, but how do you get rid of that perception?
AB: Look, all the key people are committed and we won’t let the noise distract us. If on the way we cop some criticism, I cop some criticism, Ross cops some criticism, we’re up for that. We’d prefer to cop that than take short-term decisions, which aren’t right for the long-term future.
MR: Can you clarify if this story is true? That leading up to Ratten’s sacking, you went on Lindsay Fox’s boat for his birthday, and a bunch of old Saints people like Lindsay and Gerry Ryan said, ‘Hey, why don’t we get Ross Lyon to coach?’
AB: Do you honestly reckon I’d go on a boat with all these galahs and say a single word about what was happening at the St Kilda Football Club without it leaking out? I didn’t say a word to what was happening to anyone on that boat. It wasn’t discussed at all. It was such a sensitive issue. It was a brutally hard decision on Brett (Ratten); he’s a good person, and (it was) by far, the hardest decision I’ve made in my life.
MR: There’s another perception that the former cohort at St Kilda, which includes Nick Riewoldt, is very influential. True or not?
AB: I probably spoke to 120 people as part of the review to get to a really strong decision. To give too much weight to one or two people is completely false. And the boat story is completely rubbish.
0890215e04a0f36781199c98a6615fa635d2fb62.jpg

AFL: St Kilda Saints coach Ross Lyon unleashed on his team during the quarter time break following a lacklustre opening performance.
MR: Are you enjoying the role?
AB: I‘ve not enjoyed some of the decisions that have been made, but I’m enjoying the role. I take it very seriously.
MR: You’re a hands-on president?
AB: I’ve become hands-on and I am trying to do that without interfering in the jobs of others. But what you realise when you get involved is just how much it means to so many people. For so many supporters, it’s the most important thing in their lives.
MR: Is it the most important thing in your life?
AB: I’ve become pretty obsessed.
MR: So when you go to bed at night, do you think about your businesses or do you think about the Saints?
AB: I shouldn’t admit this because I’m running a business and I’ve also got investors in that business, but this (St Kilda) is the thing I’m obsessive about, because I know how important it is to so many people. Hands on? Probably, because what the pre-review period taught us is that the board to some extent was forced to rubber stamp decisions because we didn’t have enough information to make good decisions.
MR: Despite playing finals in 2023, did the coach declare that the team/list wasn’t as advanced as much as you may have thought it was?
AB: That we have gone a bit backwards this year is probably not how we anticipated things would unfold, but we knew there were gaps. If you look at the commentary last year from Ross, and from everyone involved at the club, no one was getting carried away with our form last year. No one was thinking we were closer than we were. We resisted the temptation to bring in older players and go down the free agency path, to go down the top-up path. The players we brought in were younger. This is no disrespect to Jade Gresham, but there’s no doubt if we kept Jade we would’ve been better this year. We effectively, by allowing Jade to leave because we didn’t want to match the salary, we got a draft pick that we turned into Lance Collard and we got salary cap space. That’s the sort of the decision that takes you backward before it goes forward.

MR:Criticism this year has centred on game style. What do you say to supporters – and to the media – who describe it as rubbish football?
AB: I don’t really listen to what anyone says. Mostly, people are pretty positive. I get the occasional abuse if you have a bad loss. For most part, fans know we’re not taking shortcuts and the more sensible fans are pretty pleased with the direction.
MR: Do you like the style of football?
AB: We scored 106 points against Brisbane last week, we moved the ball fine. I think we’re No.1 for moving the ball from defence to attack. We’re breaking down in actual scoring, but unsurprisingly we’re moving the ball better when our midfielders, who we had been missing, came back.
MR: What was your reaction to suggestions this week that clubs were aware that Rowan Marshall might be gettable?
AB: If that was the reality, I would be concerned, and you’d prefer rumours not be out there when they are false. I have checked on the Rowan Marshall one. The answer is he’s fine. To be clear, I had a long conversation with Rowan – there was a function at my place on the Gold Coast after the game last week – and he looked like a very happy guy to me.
MR: Did you personally ask him this week?
AB: I did not speak to him personally this week; it’s not the sort of thing to bother the player with. But I believe it to be not true.
MR: Do you believe St Kilda is a destination club for free agents?
AB: It’s hard for us because they tend to go to the clubs who are in the window, which is self-reinforcing because they tend to go to clubs at the top (of the ladder), and they stay (there). So free agency continues to be an instrument of continuing unequalisation. But we’ll do our best.
MR: Do you think it should be “free”?
AB: I don’t. Richmond, for example, get Tom Lynch when they’ve won the flag. The reason for that is the (AFL) Players’ Association wants it. But it’s hard to argue that it’s fair.
It’s a testing time for St Kilda fans. Picture: Quinn Rooney/Getty Images

MR: It’s testing times for St Kilda supporters. Can you say anything to them other than be patient?
AB: I’m a hardcore fan. The only reason I got involved is because I was impatient and I got convinced I could help a little bit. I completely understand the impatience. Our choice now is to try not to rush, to try to be as good as we can be this year, knowing that won’t get us in the top four. Or we can try to do this properly and cop the noise, and cop the criticism. I think the fans would prefer us to get there a bit later and get there more seriously than just dribble into the eight. Anyone can dribble into the eight and fall out the next year. That’s easy, we’ve done that twice. Now we’re trying to get into the top four and be competitive seriously.
MR: Have you spoken to Brett Ratten?
AB: We started off OK afterwards, but I completely understand Brett’s perspective. Brett doesn’t like me very much. I’ve got great regard for Brett, we had nice exchanges after our decision, but I’ve tried without response more recently.
MR: Have you spoken to Simon Lethlean recently?
AB: I’ve not spoken to Simon, either.
MR: What’s your vision of St Kilda in, say, four years?
AB: I don’t want to put a timeline on it, but I’d be really disappointed if you don’t see us a hell of a lot more competitive by then. Top four, top six. We don’t want to make predictions for next year because we’re really focused on the process. Results will take care of themselves.
MR: It doesn’t have to be said, but it’s a big game on Sunday.
AB: I think this is the fourth time this year we’ve met a side that’s had the media on its back all week. That’s OK, you want to prepare yourself for big games.
MR: You speak calmly and rationally, but do you get tense at the footy?
AB: I’m hopeless. I can barely function. I used to be fine, but now I care so much I have so little control. I need a padded cell with a one-way glass. If I can control myself I sit with people from the president’s dinner, if I find myself going astray I just wander off on my own somewhere. My wife can’t stand it, my kids can’t stand it. I’m a lot more relatable to the hardcore fans. But with most people, it’s just embarrassing.

We live and die by recruiting and list management then. He's let Lyon get a mate in as LM. Selling off your better players for picks is something that rarely works. We went from not getting any players from the national draft in 15 years to deciding to go all in on it.

North, Melbourne, Carlton and Brisbane all bottomed out and built up but not without years in the wilderness. If we start from now it might be another 10 plus years unless we nail every pick before Tassie come in. The danger is the cliff is going to come just as they come in.

I like Bassat because he's willing to spend but he seems like a limp dick cuck to Lyon. He's letting the him take us backwards with no timeline or KPIs. If that was a business that I had shares in I'd be crashing the board-meeting wanting blood.

The idea of a huge war chest but being uncompetitive and limited future is one we know well. No matter how much lipstick goes on a pig, it's a hard sell.

We live and die by recruiting and list management then. He's let Lyon get a mate in as LM. Selling off your better players for picks is something that rarely works. We went from not getting any players from the national draft in 15 years to deciding to go all in on it.

North, Melbourne, Carlton and Brisbane all bottomed out and built up but not without years in the wilderness. If we start from now it might be another 10 plus years unless we nail every pick before Tassie come in. The danger is the cliff is going to come just as they come in.

I like Bassat because he's willing to spend but he seems like a limp dick cuck to Lyon. He's letting the him take us backwards with no timeline or KPIs. If that was a business that I had shares in I'd be crashing the board-meeting wanting blood.

The idea of a huge war chest but being uncompetitive and limited future is one we know well. No matter how much lipstick goes on a pig, it's a hard sell.
By the same token we built our last grand final sides via the draft.

The core of 04-05 was draft and trading.

So it’s very clear it can work and not that it won’t because it didn’t under a severely under funded football department

Read the interview.

it will piss you off. Just backs the argument of whose against you lately.

They are answerable to members. I honestly hope they **** up and fold the club this time. I'm not sure I can put another 10 years into this shit. We seem to be an entity that for what ever reason just can't make ourselves professional. There has been a couple of periods of hope but there is less and less people around that remember the good times. My kids are not that interested any more. My son had a fleeting reengagement last year but they just piss him off for being shit again now. I don't know an organisation that does less to try to keep members happy or engaged than this club.

By the same token we built our last grand final sides via the draft.

The core of 04-05 was draft and trading.

So it’s very clear it can work and not that it won’t because it didn’t under a severely under funded football department

In an era without academies and all the other draft concessions and priority picks for sides at the bottom. You can't draft your way out of trouble these days alone unless you've got years to wait. Brisbane arsed Neale and Cameron and then managed to grab Daniher and got out of it but it took a long time and plenty of heart ache in between. Even Carlton has managed to bring in heaps of players from other clubs. Clubs staying up for extended periods seem to have just as much if not more success.

We wouldn’t get a great pick for him. So how do you come to that conclusion?

He has all the attributes but not a footballers brain.

He won't, we''ll offer him up un-contracted, he'll want to move and we'll take what ever we can get and then spend more on some shit truck like Butts. We've all read this script before.

He was also good last year and his form after his first game back this year was good too.

The narrative that he's not a good defender isn't really backed up by anything except a desire for draft picks.

I think we get wooed by Dougal because we simply dont have any other real option to play the role. It will be interesting to see if the club give Caminiti a decent trial there, after Dougal is declared fit.

Dougal plays the occasional really solid game, but far too often he is seriously exposed when has to play man on man and doesn't have the support of a team mate to help with his opponent. I dont know why or if the club want him gone, but as long as they have a replacement plan I won't lose any sleep with trading him. He is the modern version of Zac Dawson and far too limited to have a positive influence in the modern game.

They are answerable to members. I honestly hope they **** up and fold the club this time. I'm not sure I can put another 10 years into this shit. We seem to be an entity that for what ever reason just can't make ourselves professional. There has been a couple of periods of hope but there is less and less people around that remember the good times. My kids are not that interested any more. My son had a fleeting reengagement last year but they just piss him off for being shit again now. I don't know an organisation that does less to try to keep members happy or engaged than this club.
so you want them to fold to appease you? what about the rest of us or is this just the universe according to Gringo?

Gringo, from the day Ross was appointed, the plan has always been to hit the draft in 2023 and 2024, then build on that foundation via free agency from 2025 onward. The plan was always to refresh the list to its core at the end of this season, so it shouldn’t be a surprise to anyone if we lose some quality. Next year, the improvement will come from the young core; Nas Windy Owens Pou Wilson Arie Caminiti Keeler Heath Henry Dow King etc., before we top up with FAs and genuine star power - not some mid tier B graders

We were sold it as while we remain competitive. If we move out depth and senior players next year, this season will look successful in all likelihood. We seem to have abandoned the bit where we rebuild on the fly and just got for crashing out.

We seem to have only two modes, gamble the house on black or gamble on it on red. There is never any systematic conservative build.

I think we get wooed by Dougal because we simply dont have any other real option to play the role. It will be interesting to see if the club give Caminiti a decent trial there, after Dougal is declared fit.

Dougal plays the occasional really solid game, but far too often he is seriously exposed when has to play man on man and doesn't have the support of a team mate to help with his opponent. I dont know why or if the club want him gone, but as long as they have a replacement plan I won't lose any sleep with trading him. He is the modern version of Zac Dawson and far too limited to have a positive influence in the modern game.
This is why I’m saying move him into CHB and find a genuine full back if Battle leaves. Then it relieves some pressure off him and lets him play the way he did in 2020