List Mgmt. 2024 Trade Thread - No.1

Who’s to say we won’t improve if Battle chooses to go?

A few examples:

Ryan Griffen
Brett Deledio
Brodie Grundy

Now I’m not saying we will win the flag next year, but I don’t see why we can’t improve.
It won't be losing battle that makes us improve if we improve.

Griffin , was 28. Tom Boyd sure as hell wasn't what got the Bulldogs INTO the finals.
Noah Balta contributed to Richmond's GF season, but he wasn't a huge part of it. Coleman-Jones certainly not. ( Netted from Deledio ).
Collingwood's cap was maxed and ditching Grundy let them get others in. Not at all relevant to us.

If lightning hits your house, then you win the lottery. its not the lightning that did it.

Griffin , was 28. Tom Boyd sure as hell wasn't what got the Bulldogs INTO the finals.
Noah Balta contributed to Richmond's GF season, but he wasn't a huge part of it. Coleman-Jones certainly not. ( Netted from Deledio ).
Collingwood's cap was maxed and ditching Grundy let them get others in. Not at all relevant to us.

If lightning hits your house, then you win the lottery. its not the lightning that did it.
Letting Deledio and Vickery go in 2016 allowed the facilitation of Prestia Caddy and Nankervis and the drafting of Bolton.

Port traded Wingard at his highest value. Haven’t won a flag but allowed the drafting of Rozee Butters & Duursma that off season

Melbourne traded Jesse Hogan at his highest career value and landed Steven May & Kolodjashnij

Freo have traded stars for the best part of a decade and built up a list as good as any with their youth.

So how do we get lightning to hit our house?

Asking for a friend..............

Found this on Facebook

Agree with he is a huge risk, but have anyone thought WHY we have to scrape the barrel for talent?
Brisbane beat smashed us and are flag favourites but get the best mid in the draft in Ashcroft for chump change.
Bulldogs beat us destroyed us earlier this year are second flag favourites but got JUH for free and get a bunch of Darcy's for bugger all in picks
Premiers Collingwood got two Daicos and Moore for chump picks.
Northern clubs get all the NGA's they want for free, we miss out on McKenzie.
North destroy their list on purpose and get multiple free dps.
WHAT DO WE GET? SFA and we have to look at TT or Clayton Oliver or get rid of Battle for an extra pick or talent like King or Rohan for two.
How do you feel as a Saints fan to know the AFL purposely allows the favoured clubs to get this top ten players for 2nd and third round picks AND also keep their first rounder?
They want us just to exist for TV rights. Kane and Dillon won't change this rort, they are allowing this to happen again this year.

So we are forced to look at Thomas or Oliver as we don't get free players like these other clubs.

On SM-S908E using BigFooty.com mobile

Been given no handouts? Do Mitch Owens and Winhager play Badminton do they?

Holy **** we do not need Tarryn Thomas.

Everything about the idea is toxic

Been given no handouts? Do Mitch Owens and Winhager play Badminton do they?
1. Owens was pick 33, Windhager pick 47. We did not play finals in 2021. The Bulldogs received pick 1 in a year they played finals (might have done better but we eliminated you) and pick 2 in a year where you played in a Grand Final (except for the last 40 minutes).

2. Go away from our board.

Letting Deledio and Vickery go in 2016 allowed the facilitation of Prestia Caddy and Nankervis and the drafting of Bolton.

Port traded Wingard at his highest value. Haven’t won a flag but allowed the drafting of Rozee Butters & Duursma that off season

Melbourne traded Jesse Hogan at his highest career value and landed Steven May & Kolodjashnij

Freo have traded stars for the best part of a decade and built up a list as good as any with their youth.

Vickery was solid potato and should have been let go.

So you are saying they were capped out and couldn't have got players in without getting rid of Deledio. Sure , but that's not the situation at StKilda.

Port got Duursma with the Hawks pick. They did a pick swap ( 1 place up on their original pick ) to get Rozee.
The Butters pick was from North for Pittard and Polec. I doubt we can find a team that gullible this year.

Yep Hogan into May was a decent return. ( Why even mention Kolodjashnij ?)

Vickery was solid potato and should have been let go.

So you are saying they were capped out and couldn't have got players in without getting rid of Deledio. Sure , but that's not the situation at StKilda.

Port got Duursma with the Hawks pick. They did a pick swap ( 1 place up on their original pick ) to get Rozee.
The Butters pick was from North for Pittard and Polec. I doubt we can find a team that gullible this year.

Yep Hogan into May was a decent return. ( Why even mention Kolodjashnij ?)
No. I’m not saying anything about salary caps and purely talking that clubs trade players to acquire players or draft assets to build into contending teams.

You don’t need to hold every player to get to where you want to go.

As I’ve mentioned and has been supported by the likes of Twomey.

All that senior core of Membrey Ross Howard are all on the table.

Battle at band 1 exceeds his market value.

The question is how ballsy are we if the above go. Do we consider another senior player which would point to Steele as Wilkie Marshall and Sinclair are indispensable in comparison.

Nothing wrong at all with the above.

No. I’m not saying anything about salary caps and purely talking that clubs trade players to acquire players or draft assets to build into contending teams.

You don’t need to hold every player to get to where you want to go.

As I’ve mentioned and has been supported by the likes of Twomey.

All that senior core of Membrey Ross Howard are all on the table.

Battle at band 1 exceeds his market value.

The question is how ballsy are we if the above go. Do we consider another senior player which would point to Steele as Wilkie Marshall and Sinclair are indispensable in comparison.

Nothing wrong at all with the above.

Nothing wrong except that we will probably become a bottom side for 5 to 10 years but other than that. We should time that to hit the skids just as Tassie take all the talent out. Other sides are over paying to get players in knowing what's coming. We are trying to go against the current if we have a mass turn over.

There is brave and there is stupid. We tend to get bored by doing sensible and gamble on very low pay-off high risk things. SOS built up GWS and Carlton by being bottom sides.

Not sure he's the best list manager for what we want to be honest. GWS never got off bottom spot until he left. Carlton spent 8 years in the bottom 8 most of them in last spot or bottom 4 while he was there.

Both sides wasted mountains of talent before coming good.

Nothing wrong except that we will probably become a bottom side for 5 to 10 years but other than that. We should time that to hit the skids just as Tassie take all the talent out. Other sides are over paying to get players in knowing what's coming. We are trying to go against the current if we have a mass turn over.

There is brave and there is stupid. We tend to get bored by doing sensible and gamble on very low pay-off high risk things. SOS built up GWS and Carlton by being bottom sides.

Not sure he's the best list manager for what we want to be honest. GWS never got off bottom spot until he left. Carlton spent 8 years in the bottom 8 most of them in last spot or bottom 4 while he was there.

Both sides wasted mountains of talent before coming good.
SOS built up Carlton by allowing players to leave for first round picks and bundling picks into higher picks.

The GWS strategy was purely money ball on players they didn’t want.

His strategy has paid off with Curnow Walsh Weitering McKay.

I'm very excited about the new deal, based on him giving one good game every 15 games, the new deal should see him deliver as much as 4 to 6 good games over the term of this next contract.

I'm a big fan and hoping he can take Max's spot in the forward line and Max get moved into the head of rehabilitation position.

Found this on Facebook

Agree with he is a huge risk, but have anyone thought WHY we have to scrape the barrel for talent?
Brisbane beat smashed us and are flag favourites but get the best mid in the draft in Ashcroft for chump change.
Bulldogs beat us destroyed us earlier this year are second flag favourites but got JUH for free and get a bunch of Darcy's for bugger all in picks
Premiers Collingwood got two Daicos and Moore for chump picks.
Northern clubs get all the NGA's they want for free, we miss out on McKenzie.
North destroy their list on purpose and get multiple free dps.
WHAT DO WE GET? SFA and we have to look at TT or Clayton Oliver or get rid of Battle for an extra pick or talent like King or Rohan for two.
How do you feel as a Saints fan to know the AFL purposely allows the favoured clubs to get this top ten players for 2nd and third round picks AND also keep their first rounder?
They want us just to exist for TV rights. Kane and Dillon won't change this rort, they are allowing this to happen again this year.

So we are forced to look at Thomas or Oliver as we don't get free players like these other clubs.

On SM-S908E using BigFooty.com mobile app

Facebook is a source of footy news somewhere between Tom Morris and a New York dumpster, but I really hope nobody is agreeing with all of the content. Some of the points are valid, but we hardly got JUH & Darcy for “free”. We had to decimate our draft hands 2 years in a row and were also impacted by Croft last year, needing to work around some trades.

The rage bait is better suited to the points like Norf being given handouts after destroying their own list, Naicos going pick 4 when he was number 1 by the length of Flemington straight or the inconsistencies of the academies.

Father-sons were worse at the time Geelong got Ablett Jr & Hawkins for basically free, but you can’t really blame clubs for having eligible players brought up with footy in their blood like the Bulldogs have & will have over the next few years.

All the best, but for the love of god I hope you don’t even entertain adding TT to your list

Quotes from Ross Lyon on St Kilda's 'interest' in Tarryn Thomas via SEN.

“With the Tarryn Thomas stuff, if I’m an AFL club I’m saying, ‘If you want a play AFL footy, that’s great, but go and prove to us that you can go and play at a lower level’,” Lyon said.

“Whether it's VFL or interstate - I don't care what level it is - for a year or two years go and put your head down and show that you've got contrition and own your actions.

“Only then would I take a lunch meeting with you. That's the way I would see that. I wouldn't consider Tarryn Thomas until I'd seen him get through a year or maybe two somewhere else.

“It's not about the money, playing at the top level and the thrill of being known as an AFL player.

“Go off the grid, get yourself right, show and demonstrate that you've learned from some of the horrendous mistakes you made.”

Source HERE.

EDIT: Has been correctly pointed out that it is Garry Lyon, not Ross.

Quotes from Ross Lyon on St Kilda's 'interest' in Tarryn Thomas via SEN.

“With the Tarryn Thomas stuff, if I’m an AFL club I’m saying, ‘If you want a play AFL footy, that’s great, but go and prove to us that you can go and play at a lower level’,” Lyon said.

“Whether it's VFL or interstate - I don't care what level it is - for a year or two years go and put your head down and show that you've got contrition and own your actions.

“Only then would I take a lunch meeting with you. That's the way I would see that. I wouldn't consider Tarryn Thomas until I'd seen him get through a year or maybe two somewhere else.

“It's not about the money, playing at the top level and the thrill of being known as an AFL player.

“Go off the grid, get yourself right, show and demonstrate that you've learned from some of the horrendous mistakes you made.”

Source HERE.
Quotes are from Garry Lyon.

Facebook is a source of footy news somewhere between Tom Morris and a New York dumpster, but I really hope nobody is agreeing with all of the content. Some of the points are valid, but we hardly got JUH & Darcy for “free”. We had to decimate our draft hands 2 years in a row and were also impacted by Croft last year, needing to work around some trades.

The rage bait is better suited to the points like Norf being given handouts after destroying their own list, Naicos going pick 4 when he was number 1 by the length of Flemington straight or the inconsistencies of the academies.

Father-sons were worse at the time Geelong got Ablett Jr & Hawkins for basically free, but you can’t really blame clubs for having eligible players brought up with footy in their blood like the Bulldogs have & will have over the next few years.

All the best, but for the love of god I hope you don’t even entertain adding TT to your list
If every year you could guarantee having a top 2 talent in the draft and the cost is decimating your draft hand… I think every club would do it 😂 😂

What sort of bullcrap argument is that.

“Oh NO! We can’t use a late first and a late second at the draft. What shall we do with the best or second best kid… 2 years in a row”

homer simpson GIF