5th Test Border Gavaskar Trophy January 3-7 1000hrs @ the SCG

Who will win?

Definitely not - by today's standards. We were the ugly Aussies - hostile, intimidating, arrogant and obnoxious really. With a bizarre sense that our line was the one true line and then would get uppity if other countries had a different line.

I don't think we're an ugly team anymore though. India on the other hand is heading in that direction.

We are not, the only comeback at the moment from opposition fans is 'sandpaper'

Lara was amazing. Had to be my favourite overseas player to watch

How the hell he could whip a ball through any part of the field with that back lift of his still has me in aura of him.

We were very lucky to see him; VVS; Sachin; Ponting et al during that era.
Did a tour of Lords years ago and part of it was through the visitor’s rooms. We all got asked to take a seat and the guide then went and told us which famous players used that seat/locker. You could not wipe the grin off my face when I found out I was in Lara’s favourite spot.

Growing up in the early 90s I “barracked” for the West Indies, mostly because of Lara, but also Ambrose and Hooper. This was at a time when I was too young to understand you didn’t just pick a team to follow. I guess now with the advent of franchise cricket, I could be considered a visionary 😅🤦‍♂️

Warne pretty famously did with Marlon Samuels, albeit it wasn’t a test match.

You can’t just grab someone’s shirt and start yelling at them in the face either.

Not really sure what it matters one way or the other
I was there the night Warne went Samuels, with three young kids essentially to see the great Warne. It marked the guaranteed end of him because he’d never had to resort to that type of stuff before, plenty of verbal and mental stuff but never that.

The same with Kohli.

You've lost the plot on this one.

Konstas said something along the lines of: "he's not ready mate" And you're outraged, but think that instead of shoulder bumping him Kohli should have abused him and told him to shut up, when he didn't say anything, except with the bat. And as a result of Konstass nothing comment, the best bowler in the world stepped away from his plan of getting through his over quickly to try to put him in his place with a bit of posturing. It's not Konstas's fault that Uzzy played back to a half volley and made it a dangerous ball.

Konstass sins were playing some unconventional shots to the new ball, being chatty at short leg and saying he's not ready. And you're lining him up ...

A 19 year old unsettled the best bowler in the world in his first innings in test cricket and then played up to the crowd and the Indian cricket team wanted to go him for it. There really wasn't anything more to it than that.
Like I've said , he was being a smartass, Border Ponting and Mark Waugh said it was none of his business. Do you respect their opinion?

Yes very unpleasant, not one shoulder charge on a 19 y.o. Mcgrath should have known better but Sarwan sledged his wife who was battling breast cancer.
Virat Kohli went out of his way to physically assault a kid in his first test because he hit a couple of fours and sixes.
Physical assault you reckon? There was nothing in it mate. It was unwarranted but Kohli wanted to stick a firecracker up the young upstarts behind.

Yes very unpleasant, not one shoulder charge on a 19 y.o. Mcgrath should have known better but Sarwan sledged his wife who was battling breast cancer.
Virat Kohli went out of his way to physically assault a kid in his first test because he hit a couple of fours and sixes.
Ok but don't tell me Australia has no history of sledging and intimidation.

I was there the night Warne went Samuels, with three young kids essentially to see the great Warne. It marked the guaranteed end of him because he’d never had to resort to that type of stuff before, plenty of verbal and mental stuff but never that.

The same with Kohli.
Yeah that was appalling from Warne. That stuff belongs in an AFL game not cricket.

You need to earn your stripes before you start acting like a clown imo.
Is that how you justify acting like a clown? Being an ill informed contrarian for a long innings isn't really "earning your stripes" though, so perhaps it's actually time you pull your head in.

The same with Kohli.

I said something similar to the mate I was watching Boxing Day with.

I fully understand why someone would want to get in Konstas’ face and put the wind up him. 19, on debut, he had India on the back foot.

But you shadow him between overs and tell him he doesn’t belong out there and laugh at him when he plays and misses and tell him how stupid he looks.

You joke to the bloke next to you how he’s the next Prithvi Shaw and go ‘where the f**k is he now?’ And then say ‘probably playing club cricket with Karun Nair somewhere’. You bully him without bullying him. A bit like Gayle did when he shadowed whoever it was in that T20 game years ago.

He just made it look like he was out of control and had no idea how to handle a situation that in reality was less than an hour old

Definitely not - by today's standards. We were the ugly Aussies - hostile, intimidating, arrogant and obnoxious really. With a bizarre sense that our line was the one true line and then would get uppity if other countries had a different line.

I don't think we're an ugly team anymore though. India on the other hand is heading in that direction.

Tend to agree. Warner was probably the last link to that and even he was probably dependent on losing his temper to get to that point.

Like I've said , he was being a smartass, Border Ponting and Mark Waugh said it was none of his business. Do you respect their opinion?

Stop the presses. Cricketer being a smartarse on field. The only thing to actually stop the presses about it is that Mark Waugh and Ricky Ponting didn't approve of a cricketer being a smartarse onfield...

I respect their opinions, but Bumrah is a god - everyone loves him - if he's cracked the shits, the assumption is always going to be that it's the other guys fault.

But let's look at how this played out:

In his first innings Konstas played some audacious shots and took Bumrah down in his opening spell. The whole slips cordon where chirping hard to heap on the pressure - including Jaiswal. Kohli took it up a notch and bizarrely made the decision to bump into him.

After his innings, Konstas takes selfies with the crowd and gets crazy positivity from the crowd and both Australian and Indian cricket media. Then when fielding plays up to the crowd waving his hands upwards. At this stage he hasn't fielded at silly mid off and hasn't chirped at all - except for whatever he said when Kohli bumped into him.

Second innings, Bumrah bowls him through the gate with a ripper and celebrated the wicket by mimicing and taking the piss out of Konstas by waving his arms to the crowd. At this stage, it's pretty clear the Indian team can't stand him. But has he done anything wrong? India made a judgement call on some young kid playing some audacious shots, stuffing around with the crowd and receiving adulation and had him in their sights.

Then in India's second innings, Konstas is moved to silly mid off and starts chirping. They went to stump mic on the commentary and he wasn't saying anything that Labuschange and Carey weren't saying. Jaiswal, a young player who chirps both in the field and even chirped whilst batting, loses it at him and then plays a couple of stupid shots because he was trying to smash the ball into Konstas at silly mid off.

Final incident with Bumrah, Konstas says not much at all, Bumrah cracks the shit.

You can try to portray Konstas as having behaved badly - but he really didn't. India just took a dislike to him and I'd suggest it was for some pretty petty judgemental reasons.

Stop the presses. Cricketer being a smartarse on field. The only thing to actually stop the presses about it is that Mark Waugh and Ricky Ponting didn't approve of a cricketer being a smartarse onfield...

I respect their opinions, but Bumrah is a god - everyone loves him - if he's cracked the shits, the assumption is always going to be that it's the other guys fault.

In his first innings Konstas played some audacious shots and took Bumrah down in his opening spell. The whole slips cordon where chirping hard to heap on the pressure - including Jaiswal. Kohli took it up a notch and bizarrely made the decision to bump into him.

After his innings, Konstas takes selfies with the crowd and gets crazy positivity from the crowd and both Australian and Indian cricket media. Then when fielding plays up to the crowd waving his hands upwards. At this stage he hasn't fielded at silly mid off and hasn't chirped at all - except for whatever he said when Kohli bumped into him.

Second innings, Bumrah bowls him through the gate with a ripper and celebrated the wicket by mimicing and taking the piss out of Konstas by waving his arms to the crowd. At this stage, it's pretty clear the Indian team can't stand him. But has he done anything wrong? India made a judgement call on some young kid playing some audacious shots, stuffing around with the crowd and receiving adulation and had him in their sights.

Then in India's second innings, Konstas is moved to silly mid off and starts chirping. They went to stump mic on the commentary and he wasn't saying anything that Labuschange and Carey weren't saying. Jaiswal, a young player who chirps both in the field and even chirped whilst batting, loses it at him and then plays a couple of stupid shots because he was trying to smash the ball into Konstas at silly mid off.

Final incident with Bumrah, Konstas says not much at all, Bumrah cracks the shit.

You can try to portray Konstas as having behaved badly - but he really didn't. India just took a dislike to him and I'd suggest it was for some pretty petty judgemental reasons.
Bullies do what bullies do. Someone fronts them and it all goes to shit!

Let's see how it plays out for him especially if he plays overseas.
I wish him all the best, I just think he needs to pull his head in.

The only thing I could possibly critique Bumrah on in the time-wasting Konstas situation was that he was complaining about time wasting (and rightfully so) and then bit back to Konstas thus further wasting time and effectively doing Khawajas job for him.

Even then, that's minor as it probably wasn't in doubt anyway that another over wouldn't be bowled but it is something that a leader should be mindful of regardless and should perhaps pick his battles a little more wisely. It also would've been a far more impactful statement to give it back to Konstas after the wicket after having ignored him entirely during the incident.

Physical assault you reckon? There was nothing in it mate. It was unwarranted but Kohli wanted to stick a firecracker up the young upstarts behind.
Really bad take. It was very poor from Kohli. Do that in park cricket, and it has the potential to spark a brawl. Rightly, associations will take a very dim view of such unnecessary contact, and will hand out heavy sentences. Should have been at least a one match penalty.

5th Test Border Gavaskar Trophy January 3-7 1000hrs @ the SCG