Autopsy AFL 2024 Round 13 - Saints v Suns Sat June 8th 7:30pm AEST (Marvel)

Who will win and by how much?

• Saints by a goal or less

Votes: 3 10.3%
  • Suns by a goal or less

Votes: 4 13.8%
  • Saints by 7 - 20

Votes: 5 17.2%
  • Suns by 7 - 20

Votes: 14 48.3%
  • Saints by a lot

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • Suns by a lot

Votes: 2 6.9%
  • Draw

Votes: 1 3.4%

mate it ruins the best part the last few minutes where players should decide.

The decisions they are making lately to let a team win a horribly ticky touch and soft. No feel.

Just pay a decision if it is obvious. Otherwise **** off your your whistle and your shit decision that makes the whole outcome so anti climatic.

I'm starting to get more nervous in the last minute about phantom umpire whistle than the outcome.
I don't really agree.

The last 5 minutes should umpires the exact same way they've umpired all day.

'Letting it go' sounds good in theory, but blatant non-calls are just as bad.

I do agree though that weirdly technical or soft ones right at the end are infuriating if they're seemingly out of nowhere compared to how the game is usually umpired.

As bad as the free was, they did just hit up a Saints player on 50 as the free was being called, with an open forward line to kick in to or almost close enough to have a shot
That's the real conspiracy here. It's right under our noses!
Th umpire saw St Kilda streaming forward and tried to f**k it up by giving King a set shot that he's usually likely to miss.

30 seconds after Swallow Butler got a free after blatantly dropping the ball inside 50. Should've been HTB against instead gifted a goal. Square up on the Swallow call so can't use that one fella.
Butler also kicked the second of the night from a “high contact” off the ball free against Mac that was probably worse than the king one.

Take those two away and we’ve got 5 goals for the night total.

Prime time footy that.

So be it, at least the teams would be deciding the games and not the umpires

It sounds good in theory, but supporters would absolutely hate it in practice as a legal time-wasting opportunity that teams would invariably take to make frivolous challenges in tight games. For every King decision getting overturned, there'd probably be five instances where a team making a furious comeback has its momentum completely frozen, now that the team in the lead has the option to do the equivalent of calling a time out. Doesn't exactly sound like a ratings winner to me.

Like how we thought score reviews could only be a good thing, until the start of this year, when it seemed like two out of every three scores was getting reviewed and then people put two and two together and noticed the big sponsor attached to the score reviews and wondered whether it was about making the game better, or making a quid.

I don't really agree.

The last 5 minutes should umpires the exact same way they've umpired all day.

'Letting it go' sounds good in theory, but blatant non-calls are just as bad.

I do agree though that weirdly technical or soft ones right at the end are infuriating if they're seemingly out of nowhere compared to how the game is usually umpired.
The technical ones get paid because there's no interpretation requried.

The 'tug of the jumper' holding the man free kick doesn't usually stop the forward being able to run at the ball. And quite often is a sign the defender has lost that battle and the forward has created distance. But they pay that.
Compare to a defender wrapping his arms around a forward and inhibited his ability to jump or put his arms up - the umps are trying to assess if it's 'enough' holding to warrant a free kick cos it happens in every contest.

It's why the front on contact gets paid almost automatically now. I hate that rule more than any other rule cos it means a defender isn't actually allowed to defend. They often get called even if the defender hits the ball perfectly but just makes some glancing incidental contact with the forwards arms.

What's crazy about the Max King one is it was miles off the ball and Max wasn't even facing the footy when it was called. If that's the kind of thing that gets rewarded it's going to get A LOT HARDER to umpire. But in the umpires favour - no key forward is actively trying to restrict the defender - if the two players are charging towards the ball there's a 99% chance it's because the defender is preventing that from happening.

Gee what a wonderful game that was. Footy is indeed better today than it was in the 90s. Anyone who thinks differently clearly doesn’t appreciate the magnificent display last night.

Is that ok mods?

since 2021 there have been 5 matches with less than 100 total points scored:
  • Richmond 22-62 St Kilda
  • St Kilda 42-43 Port Adelaide
  • North 34-64 St Kilda
  • Melbourne 45-47 GWS
  • St Kilda 51-48 Gold Coast

see the pattern here?

The technical ones get paid because there's no interpretation requried.

The 'tug of the jumper' holding the man free kick doesn't usually stop the forward being able to run at the ball. And quite often is a sign the defender has lost that battle and the forward has created distance. But they pay that.
Compare to a defender wrapping his arms around a forward and inhibited his ability to jump or put his arms up - the umps are trying to assess if it's 'enough' holding to warrant a free kick cos it happens in every contest.

It's why the front on contact gets paid almost automatically now. I hate that rule more than any other rule cos it means a defender isn't actually allowed to defend. They often get called even if the defender hits the ball perfectly but just makes some glancing incidental contact with the forwards arms.

What's crazy about the Max King one is it was miles off the ball and Max wasn't even facing the footy when it was called. If that's the kind of thing that gets rewarded it's going to get A LOT HARDER to umpire. But in the umpires favour - no key forward is actively trying to restrict the defender - if the two players are charging towards the ball there's a 99% chance it's because the defender is preventing that from happening.
To be honest, I tried to watch the replay of the King one as I only saw about 20 minutes of last night's game - and I couldn't see shit on the replay. I'm not sure if there's other footage that you guys have seen, but from the stuff I saw it was impossible to tell WTF was going on in that contest, let alone determine if the umpire was correct or not.

Couldn't a human on the ground have a better view of the situation? So don't we just accept that Mac Andrews put his arms around Max King at the moment that the umpire looked at the contest. Hence the free kick and also the ump didn't give a 50 for dissent so be thankful that the ump was lenient on Mac.

Spoken like someone who didn't watch the full match! It was horrible for a fair chunk, Rossy football at it's finest.
Then why watch? If you don't enjoy it, it seems like you watched so you could come on bigfooty and pot Saints, did you not have anything better to do?

If it was sportstainment tue wouldn't GCS have won, like when Hogan used to come back from the dead to win.
Haha.

Of what I saw last night, two things stood out..

St Kilda were getting called for 'not 15m' on heaps of their kicks. Seemed weirdly red hot on it.

And secondly, the commentators were barracking hard for Gold Coast! I was laughing out loud almost at times. Felt like I was at the game sitting in the Gold Coast cheer squad.

It then seemed apparent, that the Saints are clearly the AFL's heel! They've become the team that everyone is hoping gets bashed.

This morning I was reading a few things about the games yesterday, and I saw some of Lyon's press conference comments. That man is the perfect heel! Plays the part to perfection!!

I'm getting Bobby The Brain Heenan vibes from him.

Couldn't a human on the ground have a better view of the situation? So don't we just accept that Mac Andrews put his arms around Max King at the moment that the umpire looked at the contest. Hence the free kick and also the ump didn't give a 50 for dissent so be thankful that the ump was lenient on Mac.
Well yeah, that's what I'm assuming. I certainly couldn't categorically deduce anything from the footage I saw.

Everyone wants to say the King free decided the game forgetting the fact that Henry had marked it on the 50 line.

Also go and look at the free given for Swallow for a goal in the 3rd. Nothing there and should have been Windhagers for being taken high.
Don't mention Rowell being able to throw the ball at least three times which then saw the ball going in their f50.

The problem for the sainters is they have like 2 young talented guys. A number of old spuds and a number of in their prime spuds. You need to attract some talent to the club. If only mcclugage hadn’t turned down stk 1.3m a year offer for checks notes brisbanes 975k offer.

donald trump lol GIF by NowThis
Clearly you are delusional, how many spots above us are you on the ladder although you played in the grand final last year, acting superior although you are nearly as bad as the Saints. How many did you kick in the first quarter on Friday, something like 2.6.

What's crazy about the Max King one is it was miles off the ball and Max wasn't even facing the footy when it was called.
Isn't that worse because Mac didn't need to do it, He was only concerned about holding on and not playing football, his number one objective was to restrict Max from playing the game, so it's a right call.

Clearly you are delusional, how many spots above us are you on the ladder although you played in the grand final last year, acting superior although you are nearly as bad as the Saints. How many did you kick in the first quarter on Friday, something like 2.6.

Poor old sainters. We are having a down year, the saints have had a down 15 years. One day the saints will come marching in. Maybe not anytime soon. But one day.

Down year? Aren't your best 10 players all over 28? That's called the start of a decline. And nothing to show for all the hand outs the AFL have given you.

I couldn’t name 10 saints players, but it’d be good to know when the mighty sainters might start contending. Once the saints get some decent defenders, mids and forward I reckon you’ll be on the up. So hopefully by the end of the decade ey.

Autopsy AFL 2024 Round 13 - Saints v Suns Sat June 8th 7:30pm AEST (Marvel)