Autopsy Autopsy vs St Kilda - the Cam Zurhaar Almost Special

One of our better games all season. Our effort and intent was clear from the first bounce. We made the Saints work for that victory.
More of that next week thanks.

Also, umps, next time do better.

Pass: LDU, Goldy, Sheez, Jack, Mahony, Shiels, Logue, Larkey

Never again: Taylor, Scott, Lazzaro.

Cunners is absolutely fried.

McKay can only play solo as a KPD.

**** Jack Higgins and his absolute Tiprat performance.

Luke McDonald. GTFO.

Larkey is not a #1 forward. I don’t know why the club got carried away with the few cheap ones he’d bob up with every now and again, then see fit to trade away or delist any support he had. He’s at best a second tall. Which is fine. Even when he’s on song, he’ll kick 4 or 5 occasionally and thanks to his straight kicking he’ll look really good.
We keep going through this guy and wondering why we struggle to kick a score.

What else?
Logue, Goldy, LDU, Ziebell, Sheezel all really good.

Saints (Lyon) footy makes everything look bad. So in that bog of eternal stench of a soup that we witnessed, I don’t feel as horrible as usual. It looked like we tried a lot harder. Maybe it was just a more accountable style that doesn’t lead to blowouts.

• A jet to help LDU
  • A forward to tandem with Larkey
  • Everyone to tackle and try like Cam did today, including he himself more than once a month

….and we be clubbin.

Awful. Effort was better and structure better, but still only 45 tackles to 75 Stkilda. Thats not good enough for a team that chases tail all day.

That game was actually there for the taking. This Stkilda mob are a reasonable 7th-10th side but in reality nothing special. They also played more like a 12th-16th side today but we failed to take advantage.

On SM-G970F using BigFooty.com mobile app

I know it must be hard coming in as sub but Lazzaro looks like he is running in quicksand.

The 2 Curtis’s very much frustrate me.

The game unfortunately has gone past Cunners.

Mahoney had a good game but really doesn’t bring what we need

Goldy turned back to clock.

Logue is not a forward, but McKay can’t play with him in defence.

When is LDU going to rip a whole game apart as we all know he can

Zurhaar could have won the game off his own boot tonight.

Perez an almost player, does something great then follows it up with something horrid.

Much better than the last three weeks, which was good to see - felt like we played it similarly to the win against Fremantle in R2, difference being that St. Kilda are performing much better than them. Obviously an ugly and frustrating watch at times, but good to see clear signs of an almost-functioning system coming together, and a defence that was far more rarely opened up in the manner we've become accustomed to seeing. When it comes to dragging ourselves up from years of abysmally poor performances, this is the kind of competitive-but-still-off-the-pace game that shows things are on the right track - particularly after bringing in a few younger players who acquitted themselves well (Bergman, Mahony, Drury on debut - Perez to an extent also but I'm still not fully sold on him).

Forward entries still an issue - too Larkey-conscious, especially since even at his best Larkey struggles with the extra attention of being the #1 target, and as usual we lacked quality crumbing. Clearances weren't as much of a strength as we tend to rely on them being either. But overall, positive signs for a developing side, which is nice to be able to say after three weeks of very little.

Drury already an upgrade on Turner and thought Mahoney actually looked AFL standard today.

Lazarro has to already have a line through him you would think? Came on as a fresh player and couldn’t even have any impact. You can see the bloke tries but has no AFL attributes and runs around like a headless chook. Just another blown draft pick.

I thought for patches of that game we had control, but either couldn’t score or butchered that last kick. Our crumbing is deplorable, we seem to never be at the fall of the ball.

So we found out the Logue and McKay doesn’t work. McKay looked as good as he has for a while. But what do we do with Logue and him? Logue isn’t a forward.

Sorry to say but Cunners looks done. Been a massive warrior but doesn’t have the legs anymore to play with the pace of the game. Looks as if he is warming a spot until Phillips and Wardlaw are ready to go.

We had a crack, but so much work to be done with our cleanliness around the ball and making smart decisions going forward.

For a team up near the top of the ladder, I don’t think St Kilda are really that good of a side that we are miles off.

I'm very glass-half-full about today:
  • Intensity and effort almost all day
  • System didn't look broken
  • Dropped experience and looked better
  • A significant amount of quality youth out of the team: Philips, Comben, Goater, Wardlaw, George, Thomas
  • Cunnington contributing nothing: Already operating in a post-Cunnington era.
I can enjoy watching footy like that. Not like the past few.

Effort was much better, although not where it needs to be.

Playing the kids was better - they gave more and it felt more worthwhile.

Zurhaar, so close to being really good tonight.

Terrible game but I’m walking away much happier than I’ve been for a while.

Cunners gets 1 more game. Smacks the Cry Baby and then retires.
Thought about that. Problem is I don’t think he could catch him, and do you really want to retire on the back of belting a little sook?

Id prefer Zurhaar belt him to be honest, don’t care about the suspension.

Autopsy Autopsy vs St Kilda - the Cam Zurhaar Almost Special