Carlton versus Geelong: rnd 21, Etihad Stadium Fri 15/8 @ 7.50PM EST

20.jpg

No doubt you were hurt by injuries but look at the scoring shots in the 2nd half Cats bad kicking for goal kept you in it.
Our bad kicking for goal was worse then Geelong's we missed 3-4 set shots from 20-30m out, they missed a handful of shots on the run from outside 50, Apples and pears.

Carlton had it won and injuries stopped us before the umpires finished it off, its as simple as that.

Would have been far more palatable to lose under those circumstances than what eventuated. I actually feel kinda sick, not because we lost a close one, but because the game is so compromised. That the ump 50m away gave the free so long after the contest is just inexplicable. You buy your membership, you back your club, the players train all year, play a hard game from both teams, and one **** wit ump steps in and spoils the show. Puts me off my footy.

To happen twice v one team too yuck

Was a free kick. Form arm in the lower back and other arm on his shoulder..Soft or not it was there...We can't have it both ways and complain when Menzel doesn't get the kick because the umpire puts the whistle away, and then complain when they pay it..

Was an odd game, Geelong really misses Bartel and Johnson..

I get you're using your humour but I don't get it.
Honestly, why do you think Hawthorn supporters would be so bothered by this? Because you're a game ahead now? Even though you've played an extra game? And you have a far inferior percentage?
just chill mate, nobody takes the ladder seriously after Friday night game. :rolleyes:

And tonight you saw why the Lions boy's club left the door open for Docherty. He couln't play our last second win gameplan properly.

Had a good game. People live in goldfish bowls.

Speaks a bit about your opinion then I guess.

Blaming umpires is making excuses for a team that wasn't good enough. The classic last braincell approach to a 2 hour game of football. Carlton had 26 free kicks to our 20, how many more did they need to get over the line?

Pathetic opinion, pathetic.

They didn't need anymore, just you to have 1 less

Tells the story of the game - Carlton had a chance to win, but decided to play overly defensive, chip-kicking garbage.

Seriously, if you're a Carlton supporter, there are a few things you should be questioning, and umpiring shouldn't be the first on that list. For instance, why were they so afraid to take the game on?
Good chance most players were stuffed after having one player on the bench for a lot of the game which severely hampered rotations.

I stand by that you guys are pretenders this year. Nothing to fear there. I'm praying for a game in the finals between our teams. Make it at Simmonds Stadium too if you like.
Last week had a severe effect it seems.

Gee, imagine if Geelong lose a close final due to poor umpiring. BF will implode, meanwhile Cats fans will take it graciously.
Just disappointing to see the umpires influence results.

There is no shame saying "We could have played better and were lucky to get the win tonight" ya know.

Same team or neutral not sure why any supporter would want to see matches by decided by free kicks that are debatable at best.

Tells the story of the game - Carlton had a chance to win, but decided to play overly defensive, chip-kicking garbage.

Seriously, if you're a Carlton supporter, there are a few things you should be questioning, and umpiring shouldn't be the first on that list. For instance, why were they so afraid to take the game on?

Pretty much.

The umpire's decision to give Christensen a free kick was a disgraceful decision and were I a Carlton supporter, I'd be up in arms.

But then I'd settle down and think about the way Carlton played whenever it hit the front. The players seemed to retreat into their shells and let Geelong back into the game. Needed to have faith in themselves that they could keep playing in the way they did that put them in front.

If you approach the game thinking that the umpiring is going to be competent, then you're bound to be disappointed. Better to focus on the things that you can control, like hitting teammates and taking chances in front of goal.

Just...******* lol...seriously you're a demented parody

You Freo clowns were complaining about the umpires when we flogged you by 10 goals and have been sooking ever since.

Yet you call me an umpire sook, hypocritical much?

Channel 7 are weak as.

It must be in the television contract that you can't overly criticise the umps.

Close ... they call it "AFL Accreditation" - lose that and you lose your career.

Think of that next time one of the blokes in the boys club dribbles total shit about how the GC or Giants "are building something special". These blokes look down the camera with a straight face and talk about how exciting these soulless, manufactured, corporates entities will be at some point in the future after being flogged by 10 goals for the last 3 years.

they weren't afraid, they had no legs because they had only one on the bench for whole second half.

Would have been far more palatable to lose under those circumstances than what eventuated. I actually feel kinda sick, not because we lost a close one, but because the game is so compromised. That the ump 50m away gave the free so long after the contest is just inexplicable. You buy your membership, you back your club, the players train all year, play a hard game from both teams, and one **** wit ump steps in and spoils the show. Puts me off my footy.
How did you feel when the umpire 50m away paid the free to Murphy 20m out right in front in the third?
Or in the first when Menzel channelled his inner Lindsay Thomas?