Review Cats defeat gallant Pies by 6 points to get into another PF

If we've learnt anything about the cats in finals it's that we're susceptible to high pressure
I learnt that after the first term the Cats actually applied more mistake-inducing pressure than Collingwood even though it doesn't fit the narrative. The Pies started racking up more turnovers.

One happily hands the other team an extra 15 tackles if they're getting an extra crucial 20 contested possessions. Geelong hunted the footy and man to a higher level after the shocking start.

From the kid who was cramping in the last quarter of his debut match to running 100m to get on the end of this passage and kick the winning goal - Holmes has come so far and yet is no where near the finished product

Love this kid; great trade on draft night to secure his selection

Absolute disgrace he didn't even make it into the squad for the 22 under 22 team.

Gee, Close hits the post from the top of the goalsquare two thirds through the 3rd. He kicks that and we go two goals clear and I reckon we run over them. Had all the running.

Then bam, bam Collingwood end up a goal in front by 3QT despite us having most of the play at that stage. I know Duncan's that term was on his left and under pressure but it was more gettable than Crisp's. Was bizarre to then be trailing by 2 goals when De Goey converted early in the last. But we maintained dominance in general play and went 4 goals to 1 from there.

Wow.

There's brief footage of Scott standing by the bench approx. 10 seconds from the final siren, and in the background you see Stanley with a cold stare / look in his eye that could kill as he watches Scott.

He certainly wasn't joyous about the pending win.

Do you have a link? Or screen grab?

I think the decision in Stanley will be the most interesting thing over the next 2 weeks.

He’s played well this year and I would stick with him, but I think there’s a chance they dump him for ceglar.

Ceglar played well against WC and Stanley sitting out the last 10 mins on the bench was reminiscent of the Sydney game where Hickey torched him and he got dropped for a few weeks.

Trouble is, our next game is once again 'playing after a bye'.

We don't traditionally do well in such games. Granted, we got it done against the Pies but I'm not sure another game like that will see us succeed again.

Hopefully, we've blown the cobwebs out, and CS finds the elusive key to having us switched on from the first bounce in a fortnight.
Will be fine!

It felt that way didn’t it. Had the momentum and we’re just starting to see it on the scoreboard.

If we've learnt anything about the cats in finals it's that we're susceptible to high pressure
i think that is entirely the opposite of what we have learnt. I think we saw yesterday the most intense high pressure game of the 2022 season infront of 91,000 screaming fans at the MCG and geelong came out ontop.

how you make the link that geelong is susceptive to pressure from that i am not sure. I can't think of a single team in the AFL who would have not been affected yesterday by that pressure and ultimately lost, and that includes melbourne sydney

Trouble is, our next game is once again 'playing after a bye'.

We don't traditionally do well in such games. Granted, we got it done against the Pies but I'm not sure another game like that will see us succeed again.

Hopefully, we've blown the cobwebs out, and CS finds the elusive key to having us switched on from the first bounce in a fortnight.

Might have been a worry had we coasted to victory, but the arm wrestle will hold us in really good stead I reckon. First close game in months and we still managed to get it done, against the team who apparently don't lose close games.

As bad/frustrating as the Close miss was, it's not as bad this miss which would have put Sydney in front

McRae wanting more HTB paid is interesting. His team plan often means second to the ball at stoppages, the Pies focus more on getting the second or third posession.

Not gonna happen in finals mate. Stop trying to influence the umpires

Should be happy enough they scrapped into 4th spot and got a home final.

I like to think the Ball sliding through to our advantage was us getting one back. The Blicavs slip, the Danger charge that bounced the other way led to Pie Goals. The bounces Holmes got running into goal in q2 were horrible. It finally went our way with that one. Also at the end when Danger bombed inside 50 the ball bounces away from Duncan just to add extra one.
That’s football isn’t it?

Too often we blame players or tactics - when a lot of the time - it’s just the ball doing random things.

Yep. And the other was Miers kicking into no man’s land in between two cats players when we were streaming forward.

Wow.

There's brief footage of Scott standing by the bench approx. 10 seconds from the final siren, and in the background you see Stanley with a cold stare / look in his eye that could kill as he watches Scott.

He certainly wasn't joyous about the pending win.
I didn’t think that. I thought he was listening in waiting for orders ready to go. He looked nervous. ZGuthrie was also there and I think Atkins went onto the field. It was probably our last rotation.

I wonder if CS was on ground level for that entire quarter.

I haven't rewatched yet but I was told by the missus that he had sprinted 80m straight to get to the fall of the ball. Very late in a game where he'd had 80% game time and had the most repeat sprints on ground and 4th for total sprints.

Reckon he was just gassed to the point the skills dropped. Still got it off.
Just sheer will. And if you look - he was trying to tackle Qayner at the very end too.

In one passage of play in the pocket, he had 4/5 attempts to lock the ball in. Tackles, smothers, diving in, finger tips on the ball. All in a 10 second piece of play.