It was a mix of defence and mid. Three shocking errors in the last quarter - Smith, Kolo and Ratugolea - were the difference for me. Holmes and DK terrible. Close not much better. Miers and Stengle disappointing after qtr time. Tuohy a non event.So we are back to blaming our defence again for the loss? Cool
Could very well be. Remember we've already had a very promising career wrecked by a facial injury.Okay. But that was really bad. And I know he can be very good. Was borderline AA last year, that's why I'm so disappointed. Is he still affected by the face injury?
Who was that?Could very well be. Remember we've already had a very promising career wrecked by a facial injury.
This year has been far more like the NFL or NBA for mine, where the regular season almost doesn't matter.This year is honestly a year where they shouldnt award a flag as no one in the top 8 deserves it. It will be a bradbury year. Which us why id like us to sneak in and try and go on a run.
Who was that?
More then once he was caught trying to defend two attackers on his own, with no one in sight, I'd be frustrated too, he's legitimately our only saving grace down back he's also an A+ defender surrounded by Bs who can barely read a play, comes off his man to put pressure on the ball turns around and no one has the foresight to know what's going on, our defenders have no idea how to cover and when to go when fly when to sit back, only thing Scotty should be saying to him is good job.Like I’ve said in the match day thread it’s easy being a leader when things are going your way, but Stewart has this nasty habit of throwing blame around him when things are going wrong
Scott needs to have a chat with him imo
Right or wrong he’s a leader of the club , you have a quiet word after the game to vent your frustration…not attack those around you in the heat of the momentMore then once he was caught trying to defend two attackers on his own, with no one in sight, I'd be frustrated too, he's legitimately our only saving grace down back he's also an A+ defender surrounded by Bs who can barely read a play, comes off his man to put pressure on the ball turns around and no one has the foresight to know what's going on, our defenders have no idea how to cover and when to go when fly when to sit back, only thing Scotty should be saying to him is good job.
Who was that?
Anyone who knows football can see Bruhn will be a long time player for us. Agree with all of your points mate. I also like that he knows how to kick a goal or two. Being able to hit the scoreboard often separates the good midfielders from the elite.Don’t quite understand some of the negativity towards Bruhn. For a guy who only just turned 21 & joined a new team he’s doing pretty well. He’s probably the most skilful out of all our midfielders under 30, and doesn’t mind the contest or hard work. Has shown he can hit the scoreboard & use the ball well both sides. Outside of Atkins who played his heart out, none of our under 30 year olds got more than 20 disposals, Bruhn with 18.
By contrast Bowes is much more experienced and having much less of an impact.
I do that quite often. Taylor is unbearable. It might have been amusing when he was calling no consequence games years ago, but he doesn’t know enough about the rules, doesn’t have a great footy brain, lets personal bias & clear personal relationships enter his calls. He’s 60 plus, so that’s enough, time to give someone else a go who respects the game a bit more.I ended up muting it after half time.
The commentary is getting worse. It was diabolical last night.
more like a jumper grab without the punch, when I saw it my first thought was roid rage, then what a wuss to go aggro at such smaller playerUgh that's disappointing - I don't actually mind Maynard.
Surely being grabbed by the throat gets looked at?
Playfair or Burbury presumably, both had their jaws brokenWho was that?
That's how it sounded on 7 commentary. Had to ask myself if we were actually 1 of the 2 teams playing, such was the scarcity of comments about us.Congrats to the Pies on overcoming adversity with the loss of Darcy Moore against a full strength Cats side that had everything to play for.
His emotional reactions to things are likely why he is not the preferred captain.Like I’ve said in the match day thread it’s easy being a leader when things are going your way, but Stewart has this nasty habit of throwing blame around him when things are going wrong
Scott needs to have a chat with him imo
Last year's flag has made me a bit more sanguine about last night, i really wasn't expecting Geelong to be able to beat the Pies last night, and they did try pretty hard, the Pies are a fast side and just spread hither and yon, making space everywhere for free players to be.
Maybe a little bit of perspective is that for the first time since 2006, Pendlebury's first season and before any current Cat was at the club, we now have double-digits in the loss column before the end of the home and away season. Geelong lost a 10th game in the 2018 EF vs Melbourne, and we were 11-9-1 in 2015, due to the cancellation of the Adelaide match due to the death of their coach.
Reckon we can come back in 2024, there's positives with how disrupted our season has been, we're still a side that at worst is a finals competitor. I'm just hoping we finish with a positive ledger this season, and maybe we can make the 8 still.
But i'm still dirty on losing to Freo at home...Grrrr!!
Agree about the GF, neither team with HGA. But if Port can get it all together from this weekend on, would love to see them win it. Pies are very deserved though, great to watch, play for each other, hungry, fast, fit, excellent essential football skills.Excellent summation - and as you point out a recent flag does definitely soften any loss by a considerable margin
This season 2023 id love to be a Greek Geelong supporter - watch the 1st qtr of all games - like last night - all good - then id say to myself - time for my Siesta - my lie down - nap - and of course practise makes perfect - and youd time it to wake up just when the umpire was bouncing the ball to start the last qtr - and then you would miss those horrendous 2nd and 3rd qtr efforts from Geelong
Pre game i posted that i was concerned about 2 players Holmes and Kolo
Holmes they should call him the Magician - because does he do excellent dissappearing acts in crunch Geel games - but of course wiser heads on this forum are of the belief that he is going to be superstar
Kolo well he makes his normal mistakes - and last week it led to multiple Prt Ade goals - the normal crew come on and sugar coat/defend his mistakes of course
Well done to the Magpies on the win - hopefully it is a Coll v Melb GF - with each teams top players available etc - if so it will be a highly anticipated game
You just know how much other teams will be hating him for that call. To be honest, I kinda knew it was out too, but I was happy to laugh it off while the scum hissed and shriekedWell done, AFL