Autopsy Cats lose by 8 points to Pies.

I don't normally make a habit of watching the red play on loses.
But watched last night .
The turn overs in the last and Neale miss were costly inc parf what ever that was.

Quiet a few times we should of been out but muffed up chances .

They play on the edge sragg and almost give. Away frees just not enough to give frees.
They also like to give it out , up sook it once doesn't go their way..

What’s even worse, 8 of his 13 possessions were in the 3rd quarter
He's just such a burst player at this point in time. Depending on how you look at it, it's a good thing or a bad thing.

Can't remember the exact game, but earlier in the year he had 20 something touches in the first half, and then about 5 for the rest of the game. If he could just hold it together for even just 3 quarters he'd be one of the best players in the comp.

Max is still young, both in age and understanding of the game, but he'll get there. His play is spasmodically brilliant, but over another couple of pre-seasons he'll learn running patterns and structure, rather than relying on his immense genetic talent.

If he could just give us 25 a week, and 3-5 moments of brilliance in those touches (breaking the lines etc) that will be enough.

In my mind, he's the antithesis of Tom Atkins who we all know and love. Tom needs to work 10% harder than everybody else to impact the contest, whether that be during the week in his preparation, or on game day.

Max doesn't, he's got talent that other players simply don't. A committed pre-season or two and further learning will suffice, hopefully our leaders can point him in the right direction.

Him and Ollie are the type of guys who are going to win us finals with one blistering quarter of footy. They're just so gifted.

It'll be worth the wait I reckon, imagine these guys when they're 25+

We've got more cups ready to be engraved, we'll just have to be patient until our kids are ready.

They can also confirm the blatant push in the back non-call which resulted in a Coll goal among the other howlers gifting them goals.

They get away with things and also don't quiet do enough for the umps to notice

Congrats to the Pies on overcoming adversity with the loss of Darcy Moore against a full strength Cats side that had everything to play for.

It was a win for the ages by a brave, plucky Pies absolutely decimated by injury who pummelled the older, more experienced, and 110% full-strength reigning premiers... and even more impressively, the Pies had to pull a win out of the hat on the Cats' home ground!

He's just such a burst player at this point in time. Depending on how you look at it, it's a good thing or a bad thing.

Can't remember the exact game, but earlier in the year he had 20 something touches in the first half, and then about 5 for the rest of the game. If he could just hold it together for even just 3 quarters he'd be one of the best players in the comp.

Max is still young, both in age and understanding of the game, but he'll get there. His play is spasmodically brilliant, but over another couple of pre-seasons he'll learn running patterns and structure, rather than relying on his immense genetic talent.

If he could just give us 25 a week, and 3-5 moments of brilliance in those touches (breaking the lines etc) that will be enough.

In my mind, he's the antithesis of Tom Atkins who we all know and love. Tom needs to work 10% harder than everybody else to impact the contest, whether that be during the week in his preparation, or on game day.

Max doesn't, he's got talent that other players simply don't. A committed pre-season or two and further learning will suffice, hopefully our leaders can point him in the right direction.

Him and Ollie are the type of guys who are going to win us finals with one blistering quarter of footy. They're just so gifted.

It'll be worth the wait I reckon, imagine these guys when they're 25+

We've got more cups ready to be engraved, we'll just have to be patient until our kids are ready.
Good summary.

I think part of the issue as well is that other teams have quite a bit of work into Max, and that also applies to SDK. They flew under the radar to some extent last year.

It's up to Max, with the help of the coaches, to work his way through this and find a way to play well despite the best efforts of the opposition.

Thought I was in Bay 13 for a minute.

Can't say I've seen any level headed Geelong supporter thinking Collingwood overrated with the worst midfield in the comp.

Must have been some drongos talking up our midfield, which has essentially been our achilles in 23.

Lastly, if 8 points down to the flag favs is insipid, boy oh boy wowee.

Aside from Huddo, name one commentator who doesn't barrack against us every time we step out onto the field. Richo at least doesn't try to get our blokes rubbed out like those chumps Brian Taylor and Jon Ralph.

Taylor and that fake Brayshaw were Collingwood cheerleaders last night and usually barrack against us regardless of who we play.

And the centre bounce that wasn't called back that resulted in a coll goal ?

That would be just another blatant injustice they fail to consider, and of course deal with that at their weekly umpire counter lunch.
You have to wonder what the litmus test is for a public review: is it the TV commentators volume of outrage added to the Pie ferals screaming? A few frame by frame replays? A a bit of twitter tosh from Tom Browne? or the Collywobble FC official complaint.
Maybe we don't whinge loud enough because we know its' futile and irrelevant to the result.

Thread reopened

REMINDER - Don't engage with trolls

Report the posts in question, and this includes troll reactions as those can also be dealt with, AND then move on ignoring them

When there's engagement it just encourages them to keep going and makes things a shit load harder to clean up

Put the trash in the bin, got it.

Did Scott have anything worthwhile to say in his presser?

Post Game Takeaways | Round 22​

Chris Scott spoke to media post game on Friday night. Here are you key takeaways

Chris Scott on... Gary Rohan and Rhys Stanley​

He'll [Stanley] need to be assessed. He came off late and didn't go back on. He and Rohan are probably the two, I think the only two, that we'll need to keep an eye on.

[Rohan's] got a hip/groin issue, and hip/groin as well for Stanley.

Chris Scott... Patrick Dangerfield​

If you really simplify what you want to see from Pat, it is that breakaway speed and his strength in the contest, and I thought both of those things really stood out tonight.

I thought he was the player, when we were a little bit down, that looked like he could break the game open for us. He's had his issues this year, but he's kept fighting through but we need more from him than just grinding away, we want to see that breakaway speed and it was really exciting for us that it looked like he had that tonight which is really exciting for the next fortnight.

Chris Scott on... The season so far​

The reality for us is that we can't spend too much time reviewing what the season has been like but again, you can hold two thoughts in your head at the same time. We've got to look forward and that's what we want our players to do.

To your point, it does feel like we've had periods this year where we've got it back up and going, and some of the guys that have been sore and missed a lot of footy looked like they were close to playing their best footy and then something went wrong again. It has felt a little like two steps forward and two steps back, and in a tight comp that's not good enough.

Even tonight, I just think we didn't play well and could have won the game and some of the things that we're not doing are really easy to turn around, I don't think they're fundamental or chronic issues that are going to take a long pre-season to overcome and we do have some guys... I think Jeremy and Dangerfield were good examples tonight, we just haven't quite seen them in, even moving that way, for long enough this year, but they did tonight but they can next week and the week after and the week after.

I think we can play finals [with the football we're playing], but I think we can play better, no doubt about that. Two games to go, do I think we can win them? Yep.

Chris Scott on... Tom Hawkins​

He was pretty close. We made the call early that he wouldn't play so it wasn't a matter of pushing him to the line. We've got a slightly longer week this week, an eight-day break, so to be perfectly honest I'm a little bit out of the loop but my sense is he'll be thereabouts.

Chris Scott on... Cam Guthrie​

We're thinking through a few options with Cam.

I think it's likely that he'll play footy at some level (next week). It's been a long lay off but as we tend to do with guys that have had a lot of time out of the game, especially with a footy injury that didn't allow for much running early in the piece, he's trained for a little bit longer rather than getting back into games a bit quicker so that might give us the option to push him a little bit harder this week. The [sub] is one of the things we're thinking through but there are risks associated with that as well.

Put the trash in the bin, got it.

Did Scott have anything worthwhile to say in his presser?

Yes, depends though if you're hanging your hat on Cuthrie coming back to save us, he's probably not. Pleased Jez and Danger hit form, and those playing sore- didnt say who. Says not a complete system breakdown that needs a pre season to fix, basic errors. Says he thinks we win the next two and play finals. Tried to one up the reporter with the cynical old What do you want me to say????! :)

EDIT; okay got crossed above, Cats09 on it better than me - but I left my precis up

What a dreadful weekend this has been, all the results are not going our way either, i cannot Adam and Eve it that Essendon is above us on the ladder with 2 games to go! Crows are right on the Lions tail at the moment...
* Phew..the Lions won and the Cats remain 11th...whoop de doo!

For everything Sav does right he *s 4 things up, just can't afford that from your key defender at AFL Level.
One big (and admittedly costly) spilled mark. Not huge stats but was hard at it all night and did quite a few nice things. Still less than 20 games as a defender in side that is under pressure. Lots of hard views Bigfooty.

Shannon Byrnes did a few nice things with the water bottle too.

What a dreadful weekend this has been, all the results are not going our way either, i cannot Adam and Eve it that Essendon is above us on the ladder with 2 games to go! Crows are right on the Lions tail at the moment...

Yup, bottom 8 right now. Who would've thought it back in offseason?

We can still finish in the 8 if we win our last 2.

Hope you got to see the Mighty Matildas get up with a 7-6 penalty shootout win v France after over 2 hours of play.

Why ? - Geel lost by 8 pts to the No 1 side on the ladder ( 2 games clear plus %) - not 58 points

As BT ( and to be perfectly honest i allways havent minded him ) has mentioned over the years - only 1 team can win the Premiership every year - not 2 - not 3 - not 6 - but just one team every year

Cant get stuck into you too much Jack - because i do recall that thread title on the Main board - in the pre season of 2022 - being who will win that years Premiership - and there were 100 and 100s and 100s of posts on that topic - and they reviewed it at the end of the season - and there was One Single Post saying that the Mighty Cats would win the 2022 Premiership - and that post was from good old Jack Flash

I do that quite often. Taylor is unbearable. It might have been amusing when he was calling no consequence games years ago, but he doesn’t know enough about the rules, doesn’t have a great footy brain, lets personal bias & clear personal relationships enter his calls. He’s 60 plus, so that’s enough, time to give someone else a go who respects the game a bit more.
Hes good on radio. Different feel for some reason. Doesnt translate well to TV

Autopsy Cats lose by 8 points to Pies.