Game Day Changes, prematch discussion & GDT vs Gold Coast

I do understand what you are saying. I partially agree. That was the way the AFL, and 16 other clubs decided was the best way for expansion to work. We still had to have the foresight to pick those players, train them up (some as young as 16) and model them into AFL players. And if you think we are guaranteed a flag from here then you are more confident of my team then I am. We have a long way to go.
I certainly don't believe that there are any guarantees in footy. That said the list that your club has pieced together is a cracker and you are better positioned than any club not currently pushing for top four to set up for a flag push in the next 3-5 years. Whether or not that will come to fruition is indeed another factor, but the artificial manner in which your list was created will devalue any success comparative to clubs who achieve similar results in future without such direct assistance and that does not discount the hard work that has been put into development and coaching over the ensuing years because all clubs do that.

Your club are really coming on on field and I expect a stern test on Sunday. I'm pretty cagey about it tbh.

Gold Coast Suns vs the Gold Coast Kangaroos in the minds of the 'LOL NORF' hive.

For the record, if there was a Gold Coast Kangaroos, I would still be an AFL supporter without a club. Probably still focusing on my umpiring!

The feeling of getting behind something from scratch was/is amazing. The local team (Kangaroos) would have been good, but nothing short of 'Our own' team would have felt natural!

Thanks for turning down the offer :) :thumbsu:

I certainly don't believe that there are any guarantees in footy. That said the list that your club has pieced together is a cracker and you are better positioned than any club not currently pushing for top four to set up for a flag push in the next 3-5 years. Whether or not that will come to fruition is indeed another factor, but the artificial manner in which your list was created will devalue any success comparative to clubs who achieve similar results in future without such direct assistance and that does not discount the hard work that has been put into development and coaching over the ensuing years because all clubs do that.

We have to agree to disagree on the main part of that. However as I said, I do understand what you are saying, and can accept why people would see things from that point of view. But as someone who has been GC17/SUNS from day one I really do see it as a different picture and a lot harder than it looks from the outside. Keeping a fit culture which not only successfully develops but retains talent and encourages future kids to want to come to the club is a challenge. Only going to get harder with the salary cap squeeze due next year.

I hope you don't see me as trolling . . . I really am not. North seem to be the only club who like to 'debate' the integrity of my team and I just like to put my valid argument out there. I mean you no disrespect.

For the record, if there was a Gold Coast Kangaroos, I would still be an AFL supporter without a club. Probably still focusing on my umpiring!

The feeling of getting behind something from scratch was/is amazing. The local team (Kangaroos) would have been good, but nothing short of 'Our own' team would have felt natural!

Thanks for turning down the offer :) :thumbsu:
I wouldn't be supporting any team if it wasn't North Melbourne, personally. The shitfight aside, I'm grateful to the Suns for giving Daniel Harris a home for his final few years.

Good luck on the weekend, this is a scary game because of Ablett alone, I reckon.

Playing against the Gold Coast Suns for us is an instant moral victory for the faithful but we still want the four points.

That game last year haunts me still (I was there in the pouring rain) - one of the worst home and away experiences I have endured.

Form, talent & home ground advantage would indicate a solid North win.

Which is funny considering that I was at the North/Suns game in 2011 and had to sit through your literal fair weather supporters give us crap for 4 quarters.

Then fast forward to last year watching them leave mid way through the 4th with tails tucked firmly between legs.

Plastic club? Coming from the team that tried to move to the GC in the first place is a bit rich.

Plastic supporters? Last time I checked I was flesh and blood, I bleed just the same as anyone else, Other than the fact that along with the red it comes out gold and blue too.

But just because we aren't Victorian must mean we aren't worthy to play the game or support our team, right?

Sent from my GT-I9505 using Tapatalk

You are on the North board flog. It won't end well if you want to use Bay 13 terms on here.

We never tried to go to the Gold Coast - the AFL tried to force us up there. Thank-god we did not make the move.

The Suns will have a small period of success - no flags - then crash and become a basket case like the Lions.

Last edited by a moderator:
I wouldn't be supporting any team if it wasn't North Melbourne, personally. The shitfight aside, I'm grateful to the Suns for giving Daniel Harris a home for his final few years.

Good luck on the weekend, this is a scary game because of Ablett alone, I reckon.

I hope Brad Scott enters the game with the same mindset. The Ablett Alone mindset is what won us a lot of games in 2012. Failure to pay attention to our other up and coming mids (Jaeger, Prestia, Bennell) will result in another upset win to the SUNS.

North Melbourne are better than that though

I think around the ground we will beat you at stoppages and clearances. We are leading the AFL in contested possessions and pretty much most areas of the physical game. Something which has surprised a few considering out of GWS and ourselves we were the 'flashy' team and GWS were supposedly the 'Strength'

But unless we pick up on our main negative areas, being ranked in the bottom 3 for disposal efficiency, clangers and rebounds against we don't really stand a chance.

It's got all the hallmarks of a great game, and wouldn't Spitta snr coming back be a good touch if it was to happen!

We have to agree to disagree on the main part of that. However as I said, I do understand what you are saying, and can accept why people would see things from that point of view. But as someone who has been GC17/SUNS from day one I really do see it as a different picture and a lot harder than it looks from the outside. Keeping a fit culture which not only successfully develops but retains talent and encourages future kids to want to come to the club is a challenge. Only going to get harder with the salary cap squeeze due next year.

I hope you don't see me as trolling . . . I really am not. North seem to be the only club who like to 'debate' the integrity of my team and I just like to put my valid argument out there. I mean you no disrespect.
Your all good mate. Post away.

You are on the North board flog. It won't end well if you want to use Bay 13 terms on here.

We never tried to go to the Gold Coast - the AFL tried to force us up there. Thank-god we did not make the move.

The Suns will have a small period of success - no flags - then crash and become a basket case like the Lions.

Is there any reason other than obvious hatred for our team that you come to this conclusion.

How can you predict a small period of success with no flags accurately. Surely it is we are gonna suck or be contenders?

Why will we crash. We are based in one of the more desirable places for youngens to live in Australia. Our stadium deal (probably one of the best in Australia) will set us up financially for the distant future. Our drafting/trading so far has all signs pointing toward an 'A+' spread in our list age which should a period of dominance come, it will remain for quite some time.

Is there any reason other than obvious hatred for our team that you come to this conclusion.

How can you predict a small period of success with no flags accurately. Surely it is we are gonna suck or be contenders?

Why will we crash. We are based in one of the more desirable places for youngens to live in Australia. Our stadium deal (probably one of the best in Australia) will set us up financially for the distant future. Our drafting/trading so far has all signs pointing toward an 'A+' spread in our list age which should a period of dominance come, it will remain for quite some time.

Bris won 3 flags in the early 2000 and now are in huge trouble. Losing players, small membership base, terrible crowds, they can only fill a quarter of their corporate boxes even after huge discounts.

Suns are new and shiny but will quickly fade up there. It is still a rugby dominated state. They will face the same problems as the Lions in ten years. Once the initial hand out of players fade back to normal recruiting the Suns will struggle to retain players, attract players, and the QLD public will lose interest.

I don't hate the Suns - I just don't have any repsect for a club handed everything. You will not have worked for any success.

I hope Brad Scott enters the game with the same mindset. The Ablett Alone mindset is what won us a lot of games in 2012. Failure to pay attention to our other up and coming mids (Jaeger, Prestia, Bennell) will result in another upset win to the SUNS.

North Melbourne are better than that though

I think around the ground we will beat you at stoppages and clearances. We are leading the AFL in contested possessions and pretty much most areas of the physical game. Something which has surprised a few considering out of GWS and ourselves we were the 'flashy' team and GWS were supposedly the 'Strength'

But unless we pick up on our main negative areas, being ranked in the bottom 3 for disposal efficiency, clangers and rebounds against we don't really stand a chance.

It's got all the hallmarks of a great game, and wouldn't Spitta snr coming back be a good touch if it was to happen!
You guys have been really impressive with the hard stuff this year, whilst we have dropped off a bit. Not sure if that is by design or because we have been missing Wells, Swallow and Ziebell for different lengths of time, but we have been going alright regardless. Your F50 entries are going to have to be clean and efficient otherwise we will likely stifle your forward line big time as we have in all games this year except he Pies game.

Bris won 3 flags in the early 2000 and now are in huge trouble. Losing players, small membership base, terrible crowds, they can only fill a quarter of their corporate boxes even after huge discounts.

Suns are new and shiny but will quickly fade up there. It is still a rugby dominated state. They will face the same problems as the Lions in ten years. Once the initial hand out of players fade back to normal recruiting the Suns will struggle to retain players, attract players, and the QLD public will lose interest.

I don't hate the Suns - I just don't have any repsect for a club handed everything. You will not have worked for any success.

The situation between the Gold Coast SUNS and Brisbane Bears/Lions are vastly different. The only comparison that can be made is the fact we are from the same state. But times are changing up here and with every passing season the AFL is taking the publics interest just a little bit more.

Junior participation now compared to when I was a kid is 1000's% higher. Yes, Queensland is very fickle with the teams they support (only sing when they're winning) and that will always be the case, but you only have to look at Brisbane who are a basketcase as you said, and have not won a game in Australia this year yet still have record memberships in 2014. I think it is their highest year since the threepeat? AFL in QLD is on the rise, and the AFLs competence and intelligence in attracting an audience will ensure that it continues to grow.

I think I have stated my arguments and agreed with some of the oppositions arguments to your bottom point so I will not keep going around in circles. But if you really looked into in deeper than the surface you might find that once you throw in all the variables doing things the way we have done them has not been as easy as it looks from the outside :thumbsu:

Which is funny considering that I was at the North/Suns game in 2011 and had to sit through your literal fair weather supporters give us crap for 4 quarters.

Then fast forward to last year watching them leave mid way through the 4th with tails tucked firmly between legs.

I was there and stayed till the final siren. Why exactly would we have our tails tucked firmly between our legs?

We came out strong in the first and slightly failed to capitalise (That LT miss still annoys me) and then the drizzle and rain started. After that the North boys were fumbling the ball like a piece of soap. 5 metre handballs were apparently hard to handle. Missing Ziebell in those conditions didn't help either. Cunnington battled well and Goldy had 59 hit outs (4 to advantage) but we were generally running around trying to tackle Ablett (unsuccessfully), Prestia and Harbrow. Cunners, Swallow and Adams all had 10+ tackles from memory. I was hoping at 3 quarter time Brad Scott would send someone over to Ablett to inform him of the conditions as he seemed unaware.

Great win for the Suns but not sure why North supporters would be ashamed by the loss. Frustrated yes!

Fair weather?????????????? We were 3-7 and North supporters travelled to the GC and they're fair weather?

You guys have been really impressive with the hard stuff this year, whilst we have dropped off a bit. Not sure if that is by design or because we have been missing Wells, Swallow and Ziebell for different lengths of time, but we have been going alright regardless. Your F50 entries are going to have to be clean and efficient otherwise we will likely stifle your forward line big time as we have in all games this year except he Pies game.

I guess time will tell. So hard to gauge where we are at this year.

We beat Richmond and were the better team for the day

Our loss to Fremantle was an anomaly due to the crazy weather. I'd love to have another crack at them now

Brisbane is Brisbane. You rock up on the day and beat them by 8+ goals. Any team who even wants to consider finals does that.

Hawthorn we were as good as any team could possibly be in a 99 point loss. As an ex umpy, i'm never quick to pull out the blame card for that, but it was as bad as I had ever seen it that day. We were matching it with Hawthorn and even beating them in the physical areas in the first half before the umpiring (ridiculous amount of scoring opportunities come direct from questionable free kicks) our turnovers and Hawthorns elite ability to capitalise on them wore us down. We dropped our heads (almost expected of an immature young side) and the real damage which was done in the second half was not a true indicator of where we stand as a team.

Melbourne and GWS, we were truckloads better on the day than the scoreboard dictated. Should have probably been 8goals and 12 goals respectively if not for our inexcusable lack of ability to dispose of the ball with any authority. But I also think that is something which could be a relatively easy fix and it is my opinion that when the SUNS get it right, look out AFL!

The Kangaroos this week is the first real benchmark of 2014 and win, lose or draw I can say i'm excited to find out where we really stand as a team :)

I was there and stayed till the final siren. Why exactly would we have our tails tucked firmly between our legs?

We came out strong in the first and slightly failed to capitalise (That LT miss still annoys me) and then the drizzle and rain started. After that the North boys were fumbling the ball like a piece of soap. 5 metre handballs were apparently hard to handle. Missing Ziebell in those conditions didn't help either. Cunnington battled well and Goldy had 59 hit outs (4 to advantage) but we were generally running around trying to tackle Ablett (unsuccessfully), Prestia and Harbrow. Cunners, Swallow and Adams all had 10+ tackles from memory. I was hoping at 3 quarter time Brad Scott would send someone over to Ablett to inform him of the conditions as he seemed unaware.

Great win for the Suns but not sure why North supporters would be ashamed by the loss. Frustrated yes!

Fair weather?????????????? We were 3-7 and North supporters travelled to the GC and they're fair weather?
To his credit there was bugger all North fans there. By far the lowest drawing of all the Vic crowds. Rain probably did not help that, but of all our wins I think the North fans were the quickest to get up and leave in the final quarter.

SUNS have been 0-15 and I have still followed them around the country :p

To his credit there was bugger all North fans there. By far the lowest drawing of all the Vic crowds. Rain probably did not help that, but of all our wins I think the North fans were the quickest to get up and leave in the final quarter.

SUNS have been 0-15 and I have still followed them around the country :p
It wasn't even raining it was this drizzly cr@p and apart from Ablett was a horrible game to watch. Then I was directed to the wrong bus and dropped off in Southport when I needed to get to PACfair. Not a great night :mad:

Wish I had the money and opportunity to follow North around too

That was more a crack at Melbournes weather being terrible compared to Gold Coast than you guys being poor fans, There definitely were some that packed up shop early.

Then I remembered that it was a miserable bloody day, I was soaking wet before the reserves had even finished from memory.

I didn't want to bring up the LT miss, That was almost as bad as Cameron kicking it OB into the second tier from a free kick.

The situation between the Gold Coast SUNS and Brisbane Bears/Lions are vastly different. The only comparison that can be made is the fact we are from the same state. But times are changing up here and with every passing season the AFL is taking the publics interest just a little bit more.

Junior participation now compared to when I was a kid is 1000's% higher. Yes, Queensland is very fickle with the teams they support (only sing when they're winning) and that will always be the case, but you only have to look at Brisbane who are a basketcase as you said, and have not won a game in Australia this year yet still have record memberships in 2014. I think it is their highest year since the threepeat? AFL in QLD is on the rise, and the AFLs competence and intelligence in attracting an audience will ensure that it continues to grow.

I think I have stated my arguments and agreed with some of the oppositions arguments to your bottom point so I will not keep going around in circles. But if you really looked into in deeper than the surface you might find that once you throw in all the variables doing things the way we have done them has not been as easy as it looks from the outside :thumbsu:

Record membership? They are over 7,500 behind their record membership and home game crowds are down over 12,500. That is massive.

That was more a crack at Melbournes weather being terrible compared to Gold Coast than you guys being poor fans, There definitely were some that packed up shop early.

Then I remembered that it was a miserable bloody day, I was soaking wet before the reserves had even finished from memory.

I didn't want to bring up the LT miss, That was almost as bad as Cameron kicking it OB into the second tier from a free kick.

Interesting that you mention cameron and LT having a poor moments. Those two would be by far and away your best forwards. hek youd probably name a grandstand after them.

4 goals to nothing up and LT put the curse on us.

As for this match I think it should be a great spectacle especially at Etihad. Both boasting very good midfields and some excitement machines on both sides.

I'm tipping Daw to kick 4 and Bastinac to get 40 possessions.

Record membership? They are over 7,500 behind their record membership and home game crowds are down over 12,500. That is massive.

Yep that was a mistake, I listened to someone without doing my own research. I apologise. But everything else stands true. It is no longer an exclusive NRL state

I teach in Brisbane and in the staffroom a bunch of us sit around and talk AFL (2 lions, a blue, a magpie, a Suns and me). The only staff member really big time into NRL is 70 and he has 50 TAB stubs in his shirt pocket.

Heaps of the kids are into AFL (Lions, Suns, Cats and Hawks seem to be the most popular) Monday morning they're all saying how good North etc.

QLD well at least the south east corner is becoming very much AFL/NRL mix. Head up north and it's GAYFL blah blah