Preview Changes: R22 vs Brisbane

G'day Crows fans,

Well i'm expecting a huge challenge in this match. Crows in a weird position in that they are well and truly underdogs for this and out of the 8, but if you win you will be strong favourites for the last 2 matches and that would almost guarantee finals. I think you will be absolutely primed for it.

Lions undefeated at the gabba this year so far - we have dropped at least one match every year so perhaps this is the one. Shorter break from Perth. Weirdly half the team flew back on the red-eye, the rest the next day. It looks like Coleman and McInerney will be back for some fresh legs. We don't have too many excuses as likely only Ashcroft missing from best 22.

Sounds like Rankine might play? Makes sense to take a bit of a gamble. Starcevich was good on him UNTIL the last game where he really hurt us, and starce is struggling a bit at the moment, so he would be a big inclusion. Keane looked pretty good in your backline. You don't really need any real gorillas as none of our key forwards play like that, who do you expect to get Daniher? i am trying to remember who got cameron last time, but from memory they did well

We were in pretty horrid form until about half way through the third quarter. Freo played well and we actually did well to turn things around from 17 points down. Perhaps it's a turning point. Or just a blip from our standard late season dip!

Anyway i think this could be a very good game. Expecting crows to have a fast start. Hoping we can keep in touch early.

Your side is far too good to not be playing finals which has me very worried about this match. I'm expecting Payne to get Walker, Andrews on RTH, Lester on Fogarty. One thing to note from last time, we had no Payne, with Gardiner playing and struggling a bit. Payne has seemed a tad proppy since his ankle but if he can contain Walker (and by that i mean 2-3 goals because that would be a big win), then it allows Andrews on RTH to zone off a bit and help out generally.

Anyway i won't bore you with any more of our tactics i just like to pop in and hear from other boards!

G'day Crows fans,

Well i'm expecting a huge challenge in this match. Crows in a weird position in that they are well and truly underdogs for this and out of the 8, but if you win you will be strong favourites for the last 2 matches and that would almost guarantee finals. I think you will be absolutely primed for it.

Lions undefeated at the gabba this year so far - we have dropped at least one match every year so perhaps this is the one. Shorter break from Perth. Weirdly half the team flew back on the red-eye, the rest the next day. It looks like Coleman and McInerney will be back for some fresh legs. We don't have too many excuses as likely only Ashcroft missing from best 22.

Sounds like Rankine might play? Makes sense to take a bit of a gamble. Starcevich was good on him UNTIL the last game where he really hurt us, and starce is struggling a bit at the moment, so he would be a big inclusion. Keane looked pretty good in your backline. You don't really need any real gorillas as none of our key forwards play like that, who do you expect to get Daniher? i am trying to remember who got cameron last time, but from memory they did well

We were in pretty horrid form until about half way through the third quarter. Freo played well and we actually did well to turn things around from 17 points down. Perhaps it's a turning point. Or just a blip from our standard late season dip!

Anyway i think this could be a very good game. Expecting crows to have a fast start. Hoping we can keep in touch early.

Your side is far too good to not be playing finals which has me very worried about this match. I'm expecting Payne to get Walker, Andrews on RTH, Lester on Fogarty. One thing to note from last time, we had no Payne, with Gardiner playing and struggling a bit. Payne has seemed a tad proppy since his ankle but if he can contain Walker (and by that i mean 2-3 goals because that would be a big win), then it allows Andrews on RTH to zone off a bit and help out generally.

Anyway i won't bore you with any more of our tactics i just like to pop in and hear from other boards!
Max took Charlie last time , max was really good but Charlie still kicked 4

I strongly suspect we will drop Josh - and I think it's the right call. He's been poor. He's barely touching the ball and when he gets it he tries to do too much. One or two games back at SANFL level might do him wonders.
Yep I love him and think he’s going to be one of our best players , if not the best but I watched back the game and his involvements were really poor , a bit slow with his decision making , a bit fumbly and a bit off in intensity

It’s a similar story to last year where he played all his best footy in first 2 months , being able to sustain it for longer part of the year is definitely his challenge next year

Part of me says pick him and hope he fights through it to his best and just carry him if he doesn’t

Statistically in top 3 years of his career.

Kicking at 75% and 4th in comp for Ave metres gained at 537 ytd

By comparison 2017 was 6th for metres gained at 493m and kicked at 70%

One poor game against Dogs and two quieter ones early in year

Reckon he is one that everyone remembers his one or two poor kicks in a game as he is a senior play and not necessarily all of the good kicks he has pulled off

Interesting stats !

Yep

Yep that;s right - i think charlie got some pretty late ones.
Charlie got lucky twice - ball bounced off peoples legs right into his arms.

I don't think he beat Max one on one at all in that game. Thought Max actually played really well.

G'day Crows fans,

Max played on Charlie last time around.

Expect he will get the job again as did well last time.

Thanks for your informative post.

G'day Crows fans,

My 12 yr old lives in Brisbane. He said if Rankine doesn't get up, he can play 😃

Charlie got lucky twice - ball bounced off peoples legs right into his arms.

I don't think he beat Max one on one at all in that game. Thought Max actually played really well.
Yep that was my memory too albeit couldn't remember who!

Right here right now on current output you’d have to say Murphy is better than Rachele and it’s not really close

Long term Obvs completely different story

Just depends if looking for a win or to get games into Rachele for next year , he kind of needs to fight thru it and get his form back as same thing happened last year where his best form was all in first 2 months of season

Has to be fitness related and it makes sense given his 16-18 years where he barely played . A supreme talent so I’m not worried about him but find it interesting re best way to get him through
Based on the Gold Coast game yep, but I disagree on the rest. Murphy has equally had shit games, only recently 4 touches against Essendon and 7 against Collingwood.

Rach is on the left:

IMG_7127.png

Murphy gets way too much leeway for an average player with no upside. I’d back Rach to bounce back and Murphy is due for his customary run of poor games after a good one.

I’m not sure that’s the case, even with Rachele being out of form it still stacks up in basic stats.
Rachele has still kicked 17 goals vs 11 to Murphy (Rachele also has 13 more points)
Rachele ahead in marks inside 50 tackles inside 50, disposals in 1 less game.

Yep not much in the stats. The only difference being Murphy role in smothers and pressure acts would be substantially higher (eye test at least)
Possibly depends if Rankine is back who does pick up some of that

Regardless of what we think on here though - the coaches love what Murphy brings and I suspect he will be in anyway. More likely a shuffle sees Schoey or Nank drop out

Based on the Gold Coast game yep, but I disagree on the rest. Murphy has equally had s**t games, only recently 4 touches against Essendon and 7 against Collingwood.

Rach is on the left:

View attachment 1768097

Murphy gets way too much leeway for an average player with no upside. I’d back Rach to bounce back and Murphy is due for his customary run of poor games after a good one.
Yep agree Rachele was far better earlier in season , much more upside , could end up our best player etc etc

But on current form Murphy has him covered

It’s even hard to remember last time Rachele played well but it’s definitely before the bye ( similar to last year )

As I said in previous post I think I’d be happy enough to see him try and push thru it which would make it an improvement on last year if he could perform but also understand if they are picking to try win how he would be left out

DJ75 made some good points about it 👆.. I can see both sides to it

Who in the Lions forward line does he go too? I'm struggling to see a match up for him. If recent SANFL form is the consideration Will Hamill has to come into consideration too...and he's quicker than Parnell.
I thought about Hamill but he will definitely get knocked out in the first 15 minutes. Poor guy can never get going.

Maybe Cook as he plays more wing like Jones.

Yep agree Rachele was far better earlier in season , much more upside , could end up our best player etc etc

But on current form Murphy has him covered

It’s even hard to remember last time Rachele played well but it’s definitely before the bye ( similar to last year )

As I said in previous post I think I’d be happy enough to see him try and push thru it which would make it an improvement on last year if he could perform but also understand if they are picking to try win how he would be left out

DJ75 made some good points about it 👆.. I can see both sides to it
The minimum for a player has to be effort. I don't think Rachele has been good when it comes to effort. He's been picking and choosing.

Murphy meets the minimum requirement, because he gives 100% effort all the time. His ability is well below Rachele, but he at least meets the requirements.

Until Josh (whom I'm a huge fan of) meets the minimum, then I don't think he should be picked.

The minimum for a player has to be effort. I don't think Rachele has been good when it comes to effort. He's been picking and choosing.

Murphy meets the minimum requirement, because he gives 100% effort all the time. His ability is well below Rachele, but he at least meets the requirements.

Until Josh (whom I'm a huge fan of) meets the minimum, then I don't think he should be picked.
One thing I've noticed about Rachele is that when he is running he seems to take short little steps. Would like to see him stride out a bit more which would give him more pace. Maybe that's something from his soccer background. Not sure.

Definitely a soccer thing. Actually a huge advantage for guys that play in the middle.

Max has to take Charlie.

You need a small defender that can match Charlie with speed, but more importantly strength. Max also has the advantage with height. You need many things in your favour like this when playing Charlie because he's that good.

I shudder to think what might happen if we went with Parnell on Charlie.

Max has to take Charlie.

You need a small defender that can match Charlie with speed, but more importantly strength. Max also has the advantage with height. You need many things in your favour like this when playing Charlie because he's that good.

I shudder to think what might happen if we went with Parnell on Charlie.
That would be ugly. Parnell not strong enough. Max on Charlie. Bring Cook in for Jones.

Preview Changes: R22 vs Brisbane