Changes v GWS

i agree its time to try things we cant go up or down on the ladder. Rest Schultz, Lobbe, Gray, Try Butcher at CHB, Shaw and Harvey up forward, Redden in the Ruck, Achee and Pittard on the ball. Moore and Krakour up forward.

C:\Users\John\AppData\Local\Temp\msohtml1\01\clip_image001.gif

Full Back - Butcher J Hombsch J Krakouer N

Half Back - Hartlett H Trengrove J Broadbent M

Center Line - Ebert B Gray R Mitchell K

Half Forward - Monfries A Westhoff J Wingard C

Full Forward - Gray S Schulz J Ryder P

Ist Ruck - Lobbe M Boak T White M
Interchange - Moore A AhChee B Young A
Substitute - Frampton B

I'd be very disappointed if we traded Redden and kept Lobbe. Redden has had an awful run with injuries (knee and shoulder) and is really showing signs that his confidence, fitness and tapwork is improving. I'd even be keen to see him play this week as the second ruckman but spend the majority of the game forward. Give Lobbe a taste of sanfl.

Been thinking about this for ages and i can't really guess who Hinkley has given stern words to, because I wouldn't drop any of players after poor games unless they have been given an ultimatum. Best I can come up with is:

Lobbe for Redden, I want to see if Redden compliments Ryder.
Schulz for Harvey, 50/50 on this. Either this week or next I'm not sure, tempted to give schulzy the AO game and a new contract offer before telling him to pack his bags for an extended off-season to freshen the body and mind.
Moore sub. (4 games left on contract/with us happy to play him to make sure)
Young for Ah Chee
O'Shea for Monfries

Krak is really really unlucky. interchangeable with Colquhoun really.

Impey Trengove Clurey
Broadbent Hombsch Pittard (Colquhoun)

Ebert Hartlett Wingard
Redden Boak Gray (Ah Chee, Gray, Moore (sub)

Monfries Westhoff White
Neade Ryder Schulz/Harvey

we start blooding next week, out comes anyone who plays bad after the whole squad was put on notice.

I've been genuinely disinterested in selections all year because it's been an absolute farce. This week there better be some ****ing decent changes. Bring in some young talent FFS

Krak and Ah Chee are absolute 'ins'. Both to start - NO Kermit jacket for either.

No more Moore - sorry mate. Toss up between the Hoon and Jake who drops out and it's time for Lobbe to sit at least this one out, if not for the season.

Warren Tredrea says

Ruthless honesty and hard work
Port must expose its youngsters to senior football to see if they can swim at AFL level.
Meanwhile winning must remain the absolute priority and games cannot be given away.
Monfries is a class AFL player and will return to the team but Krakouer, Amon and AhChee deserve more opportunities after solid SANFL form.
And while throwing William Frampton and Jesse Palmer into the AFL is premature, if a kid is performing, a birth certificate shouldn’t hold him back from playing at the top level.
Ruthless honesty and hard work

It's conflicting by Wazza. Winning is a priority or getting games into Frampton (which I would be in favour of) is a priority. If we give Palmer and Frampton a run and get rolled you wouldn't want people like Wazza giving the club Ken or the players a serve over the loss. A game here would help Palmer and Frampton get into our best 22 but we may gift the game to GWS doing it.

You can easily play a couple of kids and not gift the game away. We have so many players with minimal meaningful stats there's no way that a Harvey, Frampton or Palmer would be less effective than them.

For example if we played Palmer ahead of Colquhoun last week would the result have been any worse? If we played Frampton/Harvey instead of Lobbe?

That's the example that you go with, Ford? At 20 years old and after 16 career games, I don't think Old Man Colquhoun is really the best example to use.

I just grabbed the sub for convenience sake. Name whomever you want.

Personally I see the locked in portion of the lineup for this week being something like:

FF: Patrick Ryder, Jay Schulz, ------------
HF: Chad Wingard, Justin Westhoff, ------------
C: Brad Ebert, ------------, Hamish Hartlett
HB : Matthew Broadbent, Jackson Trengove, ------------
FB: Jasper Pittard, Jack Hombsch, ------------
R: Matthew Lobbe, Travis Boak, Robbie Gray
INT: ------------ ------------ ------------ ------------

These are core 22 players and I doubt there'll be any dropped.

Add to this Clurey who is almost certainly a lock based on form, then....

That gives us 8 spots up for debate between:

Likely:
Matt White
Sam Gray
Jake Neade
Angus Monfries
Cam O'Shea
Jarman Impey
Kane Mitchell
Brendon Ah Chee
Aaron Young
Andrew Moore
Sam Colquhoun
Tom Jonas
Karl Amon
Nathan Krakouer
Jesse Palmer

Unlikely to get a game (In order of most to least likely):
Darcy Byrne-Jones
Mitch Harvey
Mason Shaw

No Chance:
Sam Russell (to be delisted)
Tom Logan (to be delisted)
Johann Wagner (Not ready to add any value in an AFL side, likely to be delisted)
John Butcher (to be delisted)
Paul Stewart (hopefully he isn't contracted and can be delisted)
Dougal Howard (Not ready to add any value in an AFL side)
Jarrad Redden (Not beating SANFL opposition yet let alone AFL, hopefully gets 1 more year)
William Frampton (Not ready to add any value in an AFL side)
Kane Cornes (to be delisted)

Personally I'm picking:
Jake Neade, Sam Colquhoun, Jarman Impey, Brendon Ah Chee, Aaron Young, Andrew Moore, Nathan Krakouer, Karl Amon

But I reckon we will probably go:

FF: Patrick Ryder, Jay Schulz, Angus Monfries
HF: Chad Wingard, Justin Westhoff, Matt White
C: Kane Mitchell, Brad Ebert , Hamish Hartlett
HB : Matthew Broadbent, Jackson Trengove, Cam O'Shea
FB: Jasper Pittard, Jack Hombsch, Tom Clurey
R: Matthew Lobbe, Travis Boak, Robbie Gray
INT: Brendon Ah Chee, Jake Neade, Sam Gray, Nathan Krakouer

EMG: Impey, Colquhoun, Moore,

You can easily play a couple of kids and not gift the game away. We have so many players with minimal meaningful stats there's no way that a Harvey, Frampton or Palmer would be less effective than them.

For example if we played Palmer ahead of Colquhoun last week would the result have been any worse? If we played Frampton/Harvey instead of Lobbe?
YEEEESSSS!!!!

Changes v GWS