In: Colledge Lycett McGinnity Lucas

Butler McGovern Sheppard
Hurn Schofield Wellingham
Masten Priddis Gaff
LeCras McInnes Cripps
Hill Kennedy Sinclair

R: Naitanui Selwood Shuey

I: Nelson Duggan Colledge Bennell Lycett McGinnity Lucas

With the first three to make the 21, Bennell the sub, the last three to play for East Perth.

Hutchings to have a week off. Ellis to play for East Perth. Darling and Rosa to also miss

On Colledge:

He's played a total of two senior games before, in rounds 3 and 4 against St Kilda and Geelong.

vs. St Kilda: 8D, 1M, 4T, 1B
vs. Geelong: 11D, 1M, 4T

In the Geelong game he had 84% time on ground. No score assists or contested marks, and only 3 of the disposals were contested.

Not totally against giving him another shot but (1) I doubt he'll be any better than McGinnity or Lucas, and (2) he certainly isn't at all like Yeo, he's much less contested.

Would personally go Hutchings in for Yeo and Ellis for Bennell if available.

On Colledge:

He's played a total of two senior games before, in rounds 3 and 4 against St Kilda and Geelong.

vs. St Kilda: 8D, 1M, 4T, 1B
vs. Geelong: 11D, 1M, 4T

In the Geelong game he had 84% time on ground. No score assists or contested marks, and only 3 of the disposals were contested.

Not totally against giving him another shot but (1) I doubt he'll be any better than McGinnity or Lucas, and (2) he certainly isn't at all like Yeo, he's much less contested.

Would personally go Hutchings in for Yeo and Ellis for Bennell if available.

You mean the day we only kicked four goals, got belted by 12+ goals and they had over 100 more possessions than us? 16 players had 16 or less possessions that day...only four of our plays had over 20. From memory he was playing on a forward flank. I hardly think that that is a fair representation on what he could offer.

Geelongs talls worry me think they could really stretch us with Clark Hawkins Stanley even taylor or lonergan can be thrown forward with blicavs also a tough match up when resting forward big ask but I would bring in barrass as a third genuine tall defender to keep our structures similar to what they have been and save us having to pinch a forward to go back in defence would also bring in hutch if he's right to give u that bit of inside grunt that we'll miss without yeo
Out:yeo,bennell
In:barrass hutch

Geelongs talls worry me think they could really stretch us with Clark Hawkins Stanley even taylor or lonergan can be thrown forward with blicavs also a tough match up when resting forward big ask but I would bring in barrass as a third genuine tall defender to keep our structures similar to what they have been and save us having to pinch a forward to go back in defence would also bring in hutch if he's right to give u that bit of inside grunt that we'll miss without yeo
Out:yeo,bennell
In:barrass hutch
Im a pessimist at the best of times, But this really could be a game that smashes as back to earth and makes as finally start to be depressed for not having Mckenzie and Brown !

Anyone know what the go is with Hutchings? Why was he left out last Saturday, etc

Have seen both back and hamstring tightness listed as the reason, so some sort of back-related hamstring issue is my guess.

Thanks to Suma Magic, I pinched his team and made some changes

Out: Yeo
In: Colledge Barrass Lycett Lucas

Butler McGovern Sheppard
Masten Priddis Gaff
LeCras McInnes Cripps
Hill Kennedy Sinclair

I: Barrass Duggan Colledge Lucas Nelson Bennell Lycett

With the first three to make the 21, Lucas the sub, the last three to play for East Perth if not required as late changes.

Barrass in as cover for the taller Geelong forwards, Lucas in as a flexible sub option (come at me haters). Alternatively Bennell could stay in as sub I guess.

Nelson misses out after getting a late reprieve the last two weeks in a row, pretty much to fit Barrass in as a third tall.

Im a pessimist at the best of times, But this really could be a game that smashes as back to earth and makes as finally start to be depressed for not having Mckenzie and Brown !

I'm experiencing pre-Port game levels of anxiety. Yeo out and our second term against St Kilda are looming large in my thinking.

These raised expectations are hell on the nerves!

My guess at teams:

In: Colledge Lycett McGinnity Lucas

Butler McGovern Sheppard
Masten Priddis Gaff
LeCras McInnes Cripps
Hill Kennedy Sinclair

I: Nelson Duggan Colledge Bennell Lycett McGinnity Lucas

With the first three to make the 21, Bennell the sub, the last three to play for East Perth.

Hutchings to have a week off. Ellis to play for East Perth. Darling and Rosa to also miss
Not giving Barrass any love despite the fact that Geelong will play tall. Care to elaborate?

I'm experiencing pre-Port game levels of anxiety. Yeo out and our second term against St Kilda are looming large in my thinking.

These raised expectations are hell on the nerves!
I think it's worse than the Port game, We weren't favourites and were expected to lose playing away etc Geelong have had our measure for sometime and they still have alot of dangerous player's on there list, I can see Hawkins shrugging McGovern and Schoey aside very easily, Where's all the optimistic people around to tell us its ok haha

Thanks to Suma Magic, I pinched his team and made some changes

In: Colledge Barrass Lycett Lucas

Butler McGovern Sheppard
Masten Priddis Gaff
LeCras McInnes Cripps
Hill Kennedy Sinclair

I: Barrass Duggan Colledge Lucas Nelson Bennell Lycett

With the first three to make the 21, Lucas the sub, the last three to play for East Perth if not required as late changes.

Barrass in as cover for the taller Geelong forwards, Lucas in as a flexible sub option (come at me haters). Alternatively Bennell could stay in as sub I guess.

Nelson misses out after getting a late reprieve the last two weeks in a row, pretty much to fit Barrass in as a third tall.

I like the Barrass bit. Time to debut our 5th player for 2015.
However I would not want both Colledge and Lucas brought in the same week as it is a serious reduction in our ability to play the contested football. Would prefer Hutch.

I think it's worse than the Port game, We weren't favourites and were expected to lose playing away etc Geelong have had our measure for sometime and they still have alot of dangerous player's on there list, I can see Hawkins shrugging McGovern and Schoey aside very easily, Where's all the optimistic people around to tell us its ok haha

I'm also feeling like we must be right on tipping point with our depth. It could save Bennell this week from a deserved dropping to EP. I really don't want us to be at the point where poor performers get carried as what's below is underdone, injured or Kane Lucas.

No optimism here, as usual from me:D I reckon we'll go down by about 4 goals. Cats still have way more match winners than we do, and as per ususal, their quick players will test us.

Not giving Barrass any love despite the fact that Geelong will play tall. Care to elaborate?

- Stanley rucks most of the time.
- Blicavs plays a lot of midfield.
- Kersten can be handled by medium defenders.
- Clark and/or Hawkins would probably be too much for Barrass to handle in his first game.
- Going small has worked for us so far.

That's my rationale, but I'm not too fussed if Barrass comes in. He sounds promising.

I like the Barrass bit. Time to debut our 5th player for 2015.
However I would not want both Colledge and Lucas brought in the same week as it is a serious reduction in our ability to play the contested football. Would prefer Hutch.

I think that's tempered a bit by the fact Geelong aren't a great contested footy and clearance side. They tend to attack off halfback rather than from out of the middle. Also Lucas would only be coming on as the sub.

Having said all that I'd prefer Hutchings as well, I just have a feeling he'll be unavailable.

Can we turn Colledge into a tagger or is he too slow? By most reports he doesnt use it too well or find enough in contested situations. Maybe being led to the contest is a good way to do his apprenticeship? Has the flexibility to go forward and get a couple of snags..

Doubt its worth trialling on J. Selwood this weekend, if anything we need more offensive midfield firepower, just pondering out loud...

Preview Changes Vs Cats Round 9