AFLW 2024 - Round 10 - Chat, game threads, injury lists, team lineups and more.
Well Cuzz I just checked and we've NEVER had a George.
Wardlaw actually looks very (prime) Shuey in the highlights I can find. Better mark though.
Is there a game on tomorrow that some draftees will feature in?
Is the game on AFL app or a live YouTube stream available for anyone to watch?
Are jumper numbers allocated so we can get an idea of who to watch that may be around at our picks?
Who do you have ahead of him for consideration at 20?In regards to Ginbey I really rate how how he has come on in the second half of the year. He also possesses the right size, speed, strength and agility profile that everyone wants. He is late to being a mid at the level, so his footy IQ is lower than I want but because of that there is potential improvement. His kicking is a really worry to me and he is just a Tier below.
Other huge positives. He's an absolute hard bastard, hard worker and will get the best out of himself. But I always worry about big strong guys as juniors, particularly without really strong numbers. If he's there at 20 he's on my list of draftable players but I have a fair few ahead of him.
I feel like you need to trade 23 for pick 10 somehow.Robertson, 5, 15, 20, 23 and 25 plus Ports future R2
Have teams been announced for the game?
And you wonder why we despise the whole Northern Academy rort.
Preferential treatment from Head Office.
Like most things that the vAFL do, they act too late and then they swing too far in any reactionary moves to manipulate the competition.
You guys bleat ad nauseam that you are at a competitive disadvantage, when it’s actually the reverse that’s true.
The bull s**t thats been sprouted that you need assistance because your Club suffer disproportionately from the go home factor.
When the reality is, by way of your Club as an example, you poach:
Neale
Daniher
Ah Chee
Fort
Now - Dunkley
And yet you have the audacity to still cry “woe are we” with the threat of being raided due to the go home factor.
When in reality that situation is LONG gone and your Club, has now become a destination Club.
And you are in fact the raiders.
It’s akin to those who drive a one year old BMW X5, live in and own property in Peppermint Grove, asking Centrelink for financial assistance because the home budget is tight.
Point 1. I know. And I keep saying on our board that we should rort it for as long as we can, and am p!ssed off our club doesn't put anywhere near the amount of money in to our academy, that the other three do.
Point 2. GC and GWS need their academies, as their exodus shows.
Point 3. You forgot Cameron. I wouldn't add Fort to the list of players we poached. He was part of the ruck merry-go-round last year, and was barely played by Geelong. The one game he played last year, was against us, and he comfortably beat McInerney. Plus he's a Brisbane boy, and grew up as a kid during our three peat, playing auskick on the Gabba during halftime.
The AFL asked the northern clubs to set up the academies, so they didn’t have to fund something similar themselves.Just on the academies and bidding the AFL could fix this pretty easily.
Academies are fine as they develop local talent however the uneven nature of the bidding system across clubs is the issue.
Fix
Simply have a formula that every club abides by.
If you miss finals for say min 2 years out of 3 then you have the right to match under pick 40 bids.
If you make finals for 2 years out of 3 then you lose bidding rights under pick 40.
This will assist rebuilding clubs but the assistance is reduced once you make finals 2 out of 3 years.
Unfortunately AFL House doesnt like transparency nor fairness to all clubs.
At this stage trade back.
Sheezel is the obvious choice. I've spent the past 4 weeks in Melbourne and I think he requests a trade end of first year if we draft him. So there's that.
If Wardlaw can test at the combine at full force then Wardlaw. As of now i'd take the risk.
Safest pick is Busslinger followed by Clark. I just don't see Clark projecting into becoming an elite player however he will get every inch out of his talent. Maybe a Mitch Duncan level player imo. Busslinger isn't a need.
On talent I still have it Wardlaw, Sheezel, Keeler on pure talent but I wouldn't pick keeler before our third pick unless every single one of the potential mids i'm interested in are gone.
Tsatas is a second touch player who struggles with kicking under pressure and at speed. Gets a * load of the ball though and makes good decisions. A faster, less accurate Jack Macrae. Off my list
Cadman including OOF stats and shorts that didn't make the distance / rushed kicked at under 50% at goal this year. Off the list even if there at 20. In contested situations his ball drop to his foot and field kicking isn't great. To me he's more the big bodied contested mid and great mark who can kick goals but thats a big ******* risk with his disposal. If we had Paul Salmon in the goal square sure.
I like back injuries (particularly if you've seen him try to bend down and reach for the ball since) in juniors about as much as people liked Aids in the 80's. I'm worried about Philippou.
Hewett is too laconic for my tastes and I don't see the hardness to break a tag. His best is unreal but he's almost as much of a tease as Keeler.
Making the assumption that Wardlaw's hamstrings aren't ok.
Mackenzie. Needs more consistency but unlike Hewett I can see that competitive edge. (we'll see how he goes this weekend, if he plays a full game like he played the first half last weekend I'd take him at pick 2 without any of the above reservations)
I think there will be offers. Particularly if AFL grant North and end of first round pick and north get logue through to the PSD. 2 and 38 for 3 and 23 has probably already been discussed depending on who is taken at pick 1.
Talk i've heard is that Davey due to lack of similar players will be bid on before pick 23.
Reading your player assessments makes me want to trade out of the 2022 draft entirely.
Appreciate your knowledge, but my goodness you're a glass half empty kind of guy.
Just on the academies and bidding the AFL could fix this pretty easily.
Academies are fine as they develop local talent however the uneven nature of the bidding system across clubs is the issue.
Fix
Simply have a formula that every club abides by.
If you miss finals for say min 2 years out of 3 then you have the right to match under pick 40 bids.
If you make finals for 2 years out of 3 then you lose bidding rights under pick 40.
This will assist rebuilding clubs but the assistance is reduced once you make finals 2 out of 3 years.
Unfortunately AFL House doesnt like transparency nor fairness to all clubs.
I suggest the half empty is that of what is available at pick 2.Reading your player assessments makes me want to trade out of the 2022 draft entirely.
Appreciate your knowledge, but my goodness you're a glass half empty kind of guy.
Don't like it.
The AFL is all about equalisation, lets put everyone on an even playing field and leave it at that. Otherwise too much chance of one club getting an elite kid because it happens to coincide with their down period of the cycle, while another misses out because their elite kid happens to come at the wrong time.
- If a player is in an academy, the club has dibs on them. Regardless of where they're bid on.
- Cap how many players each club can have in their academy in each age group.
- Only allow players nominated for the academy prior to a certain age to be admitted (e.g. <15 yrs old).
- Make academy eligibility meet certain background criteria, such as not Australian born, public school educated, rural communities, etc.
The benefits are that:
- If nominated at a certain age, we can assume clubs will actually put development into these kids where talent is identified.
- Specific eligibility criteria can ensure development goes into kids that otherwise wouldn't have the opportunity to pursue their AFL dream. Not into rich kids in elite private schools where strong development programs already exist.
- Putting a sensible cap on each age group removes the possibility of 1. AFL clubs just nominating a shitload of kids and hedging their bets rather than genuinely identifying and developing talent; and 2. ensures all clubs have a finite amount of kids to concentrate on and actually develop.
- Everyone operating under the same bidding rules means everyone can reap the benefits of the development they put into the kids.
Well that isnt equalisation.
Just like top teams attract the top free agents. Again, not equalisation.
Your getting pretty complicated there.
Simple is best, when you are ou of finals for a couple of years you get better access and others cant steal your academy players. When you are succeeding playing finals your access to top line academy talent is reduced and the bottom clubs get access via the draft.
Really cant see the issue with that at all. Especially with the three year rolling average.
It actually equalises the access to top end talent.