List Mgmt. Contract, Trade and Draft Discussions - 2024 Post Season

Whose future picks would you have preferred?

Quick links

Trade period
In:
12, F1, F2, F3, 73, Baker, Owies, Graham*
Out: 3, 63, F4, Barrass, Darling

*Free agent

Done deals

• Jai Culley, Alex Witherden and Coby Burgiel delisted

• Zane Trew, Jamaine Jones and Jordyn Baker delisted

Last edited by a moderator:
I think I'd prefer we don't try & trade Hawks F1 into this draft, as usually in these scenarios you'd don't get equal value for future picks & I'd like to be in a position next year where we can take Rodriguez with our first & have a crack at Warner with our F1 (i.e. 2026 first) and Hawks' 2025 1st.
Happy to attempt a trade into second round though using our 2x future seconds & 2 x future thirds
I don't think theres any timeline where we take our 2025 first to the draft if Warner nominates us, we'd be lucky not to trade our 26 first and the hawks 25 first along with it based on our performance this trade period

I think you are a fraud. If I remember correctly you thought Harley Reid was not worth pick one, didn't have a tank was perhaps what you said. Lots of gullible people on big footy. If you are so close to it all you need to be sacked immediately, the recruitment department has ****ed up for the last 6 to 7 years. 2018 was a long time ago. The next time that we are truly in the "window" could be at least a decade away.

So I worked in a scouting capacity for WCE in 2021, In a consulting capacity for Carlton in 2022 (went really well), worked for Essendon in 2023 (was an absolute nightmare) and am working in my final days for WCE this year. Only one of those years was I directly on the clubs books and that was as a scout for the SW area of WA.

Brady Hough, Rhett Bazzo, (Both hottons), Lachie Cowan. Oh and my weakness is junior talent evaluation. So please for someone who runs an independent consultancy contracted to clubs, tell me what I should have done at a senior level to override Clarke and Mini, or Sheedy and David Barham?

I'm not even directly involved in whom the club drafts this year and you want to put shit on me for the past 6-7 years. **** off.

New here but my 2 cents worth. Not overly happy with the Baker trade thought we should have got something else back in the late 20s.

Though do think Baker and Graham will add a lot next year. Owies, unsure where he goes and think he will be in front of Long which I don’t see as beneficial to a rebuilding club. Hopefully he just gives pressure on Cripps, Long and Ryan to perform.

Overall not that happy with the trade period but carry on.

Main reason I am on here what to sound out our biggest issue and that is with our backline, very paper thin.

What options do we have?

One from left field, Oscar Allen to start at CHB next year with Edwards FB. This will allow McGovern to play the third tall.

Yes it robs us of a key position forward but I can’t see Waterman going backwards, Jack Williams was one of the highlights this year with his emergence and we have Archer Reid. From the small sample I have seen he seems a player.

I think Allen would provide a hardend and experienced body down back and will allow McGovern to play that third tall and direct Edwards and Allen.

It will also allow Allen to captain the team in a more prominent position.

Thoughts?

Owes will get a game all season long ahead of Noah long as a forward pocket.. why because he is a specialist forward pocket whereas Long is in undersized midfielder who was chucked in the forward pocket to try and learn it in one of Simpsons moves. He isn’t a long kick, a great kick at goal and in 20 odd games has kicked 9 goals in total… no way in the world he plays there ahead of Owies.

Well I've been pretty calm about my assessment of the whole trade let me indulge.

** you Clarke for ruining my draft day. I was looking forward to that day as much as Christmas. You ruined it ** you. Every single player getting picked before we pick I will spew and flip you the bird

With all that said everyone will get mad but pick 23 needs to go to Alex Dodson. We need a ruck in our system. Haters can hate on Clarke

Nearly fell out of my chair. They are conceding it may be the wrong move.

That's pretty big concession. Would have thought they would spread north Korean propaganda saying best deal of all time and happy clapper seals would swallow it.

Guess they can't hide the anger. Excellent
I’m not wasting pick 23 on a ruck who’ll take 4 years to get on the park

We’re better off chasing mwture age rucks over the next year or so

Owes will get a game all season long ahead of Noah long as a forward pocket.. why because he is a specialist forward pocket whereas Long is in undersized midfielder who was chucked in the forward pocket to try and learn it in one of Simpsons moves. He isn’t a long kick, a great kick at goal and in 20 odd games has kicked 9 goals in total… no way in the world he plays there ahead of Owies.

So what do we do with Noah Long ???

Surely with our huge stocks of small/medium forwards we try some in new roles next year.
Long was a mid I believe, throw him in the middle in the WAFL and see what happens? Hes pretty clean, with size the only real negative for him, but that can be worked on.
Would Brockmans skillset suit a running half back? I think it would. Hes got a decent kick on him too I believe

Leaves Ryan, Owies, Cripps and Dewar as the small/medium forwards fighting over likely 3 spots, with a midfield rotation probably to take that 7th forward spot. (3 talls, 3 medium/smalls and 1 mid rotation for 7 forwards)

So I worked in a scouting capacity for WCE in 2021, In a consulting capacity for Carlton in 2022 (went really well), worked for Essendon in 2023 (was an absolute nightmare) and am working in my final days for WCE this year. Only one of those years was I directly on the clubs books and that was as a scout for the SW area of WA.

Brady Hough, Rhett Bazzo, (Both hottons), Lachie Cowan. Oh and my weakness is junior talent evaluation. So please for someone who runs an independent consultancy contracted to clubs, tell me what I should have done at a senior level to override Clarke and Mini, or Sheedy and David Barham?

I'm not even directly involved in whom the club drafts this year and you want to put shit on me for the past 6-7 years. **** off.

Worked as a scout for WCE in 2021? You've been talking like you're in their inner circle this year.
Worked as a scout but "my weakness is junior talent evaluation"?
You're not directly involved but you've been talking like you're in the room and privy to a lot of really specific conversations
Runs an independent consultancy contracted to clubs but only on the books for one year?

I think I'd prefer we don't try & trade Hawks F1 into this draft, as usually in these scenarios you'd don't get equal value for future picks & I'd like to be in a position next year where we can take Rodriguez with our first & have a crack at Warner with our F1 (i.e. 2026 first) and Hawks' 2025 1st.
Happy to attempt a trade into second round though using our 2x future seconds & 2 x future thirds
I agree. If Hawks miss the 8, we'll be trading a top 10 pick. We made a decision to trade out if this draft, so let's stick with it.

Worked as a scout for WCE in 2021? You've been talking like you're in their inner circle this year.
Worked a scout but "my weakness is junior talent evaluation"?
You're not directly involved but you've been talking like you're in the room and privy to a lot of really specific conversations
Runs an independent consultancy contracted to clubs but only on the books for one year?
God I hate you new guys coming on here and acting all Gangsta on a anonymous footy forum.

]][emoji[emoji6]][emoji6]" data-quote="Westend" data-source="post: 0" class="bbCodeBlock bbCodeBlock--expandable bbCodeBlock--quote js-expandWatch">
So what do we do with Noah Long ???

He has to play midfield because that’s what he is. A midfielder

VicBased said:
God I hate you new guys coming on here and acting all Gangsta on a anonymous footy forum.
He's clearly FOS. Probably does some research for them. Wouldn't have access to the information he claims he has. Some people like a higher being who knows more than them, even though deep down they know it's not real. But that's not for everyone. Some people don't like people passing off opinion as fact. Old Mate Philly is a fraud.

You are passing your own opinion as fact. Do you have facts?

They all blame the consultant, so convenient.

I still enjoy the idea that some posters think that Phil has spent years writing lengthy fake posts about the inner workings of club recruitment just for likes on an anonymous football forum. I suspect it's probably because they don't agree with what he's saying so he must be FOS.

He's quite clearly legit.

I think you are a fraud. If I remember correctly you thought Harley Reid was not worth pick one, didn't have a tank was perhaps what you said. Lots of gullible people on big footy. If you are so close to it all you need to be sacked immediately, the recruitment department has ****ed up for the last 6 to 7 years. 2018 was a long time ago. The next time that we are truly in the "window" could be at least a decade away.

R u ok?

We arent to trade Hawks future picks, they will be valued at top 4

Theres a very good chance they could slide

Our F1 is a known quantity and Swans will demand it next year for Warner, if we are confident of this happening, trade 2025 R1 now

Saints are the best options

F1 for 8 and their F2

Leaves us with Hawks 2025 R1 and 2026 WCE R1

Tigers 10 or 11 (if they don't trade up) and 24

We all agree on one thing we faired poorly in this draft so far. Lets hope we keep next year's draft picks and we don't do the same next year.

Forget Chad he will resign with Sydney and focus on getting some young talent in the door.
We are going to be an improved team next year with who we have brought in the door, but it will be short lived unless we find some top talent before Tassie arrive.

Has the draft been held already?

Come On What GIF by MOODMAN

Hard to disagree with any of that.

Schlong was indeed a mid but also had to cut his teeth as a small at U18 level though, due to their talent in the mid and him returning from injury, it wasn't just under Simpson. Even though we all know it was one of Simpsons favourite moves trying to turn mids into small forwards. Worsfold too actually.

Owies starts ahead of him every day of the week. Speciality goal sneak midget in his footy prime is a no brainer over what Schlong has produced and the fact he's coming back from injury.

Brockman I think could play further up the ground. Might get the prick involved more. Wing or HFF. Likewise Dewar. Don't expect either to be playing round 1 though.

Petch should legit be in the bin at this point, Rawlinson needs to do something substantial in the WAFL so not in the convo for mine.

You are passing your own opinion as fact. Do you have facts?
Yep. Old Mate Philly told on himself:

Only one of those years was I directly on the clubs books
for someone who runs an independent consultancy contracted to clubs
Oh and my weakness is junior talent evaluation
I'm not even directly involved in whom the club drafts this year

At least 10 years away.

Better just trade out Harley then. He is too old for our next premiership tilt.

Lol.

Bedwetters with NFI.

List Mgmt. Contract, Trade and Draft Discussions - 2024 Post Season