List Mgmt. Contract, Trade & Draftee Discussion - 2022 Off Season Edition

Contract status of all players now fully updated

There are going to be some nervous players who are out of contract this year. Keys recently posted about 15 or so who’s contract is up.

The likes of Petruccelle Wstetman Witherden SPS etc better start delivering. By this time next year, I believe over half our list will have been drafted in the last 3 years
Good! We've been missing this for far too long

WEST COAST​

9: Reuben Ginbey (89cm, 82kg, Mid, East Perth. Junior club: Dunsborough)

14: Elijah Hewett (185cm, 84kg, Fwd/Mid, Swan Districts. Junior club: Caversham)

23: Harry Barnett (202cm, 96kg, Ruck, West Adelaide. Junior club: Goodwood)

29: Coby Burgiel (183cm, 80kg, Mid/Fwd, Gippsland Power. Junior club: Maffra)

58: Noah Long (178cm, 74kg, Fwd, Bendigo Pioneers. Junior club: Echuca)

SIMEON THOMAS-WILSON’S VERDICT: The Eagles have kick-started their rebuild strongly with four top-30 selections. Rueben Ginbey will quickly find a spot in the Eagles midfield while Elijah Hewett has plenty of upside although there were some behavioural issues that concerned clubs. They then started the second round by nabbing the best ruckman in the pool in Harry Barnett, while Coby Burgiel satisfies the need for speed at the Eagles.

Hey, * you Simeon you dumb campaigner

Gotta love that predraft, when there was a good chance Hewett might end up at a Victorian club, there was donuts on his rumoured behavioural issues

Now he’s at West Coast it gets a mention all of a sudden
I wonder if this is the journo who brought it up at pieman's press conference?

Memories of Kade Dittmar last year.

The melts when we don't draft a player like this, or the jubilant Masto scenes when we draft a Trew or that Tassie bloke a few years back, makes the rookie draft exciting for me.

The reactions are so over the top given the odds these days of a rookie making it I can't help but lol

The melts when we don't draft a player like this, or the jubilant Masto scenes when we draft a Trew or that Tassie bloke a few years back, makes the rookie draft exciting for me.

The reactions are so over the top given the odds these days of a rookie making it I can't help but lol
Haha

I believe I’ve been somewhat guilty of this in the past

What time the rookie draft again?
Beer o’clock

Not really - midday

PSD is first- the totally irrelevant one that is hardly ever used these days, then the RD about 20 minutes later

For our list the only glaring weakness is our smaller backman

We really lack young quick backman that can defend one on one and have good agility

Sam Petrevski
Alex Witherden
Luke Foley
Tom Cole
These 4 including Tom Cole i dont think will be on the list next year

Then add in
Jack Williams
Connor West
Greg Clark
Luke Edwards

That's potentially 8 of the list next year

Next year would like to see Simpson changes things up a bit

Callum Jamieson start using him as a key backman like Harry Edwards
Callum has impressed me when used there he is a lot quicker than Harry has good agility
and turning circle for a big boy with a good leap.

Look at playing Petch as a halfback

Play McGovern forward most of the season
That gives Edwards and Jamieson time in the back half

Have to agree that Jamieson is a shot at a KPD if he can bulk up.

He could be our Roberts-Thompson (only us old fella's probably remember him).

Got pantsed earlier this year when he had to play there, but we were a rabble so that was a shitty role to give to a inexperienced skinny ruckman.

Has good levels of desperation just like Harry, just not the headless chook WTF do I do Harry type and doesn't run on tram lines.

However, a big no to both Jamo and Harry running out together in the backline anytime soon.

I cant believe Szybkowski was not picked.

Early in the year he was touted as a late 1st rounder.

Did he go camping or something?

If we rookied him this draft is insane for us.

Its Gilbey, Broadbent or Szybkowski for our 1st rookie spot for mine.
I think Nth go with Mature ager Phillips, so pick any of them.

The knock is on his fitness and whether he will be able to cut it at AFL, but that said, put him in an AFL environment away from home, it should drive him to work his butt off to prove people wrong. I'd say he would be disappointed not being drafted (more likely than the other two)

Agree with the Fox Sports write up:

"Big ticks for the Eagles. Local WA products Ginbey and Hewett should be the cornerstone of the Eagles’ on-ball brigade in the future. Ginbey is incredibly strong at the coalface, while Hewett has the explosive power and frame that could have him in the Round 1 selection frame. The Eagles then went for needs at the start of the second round and got Barnett, who was clearly the best ruckman of the draft class. He’ll thrive learning from and working under Nic Naitanui. They went for Barnett over Burgiel with their first second-round pick, but the speedy and versatile Burgiel, who had been linked to the Eagles in recent days, was still available at Pick 29. Long was the second-last player taken on the night, but could prove to be a bargain buy for the Eagles. Elusive around goal, Long will complement the Eagles’ forward line superbly.

Grade: A"

Add this to Brissie, Geelong, Tigers and Carlton having strong post season trading/draft results which will significantly improve them all whilst Freo is in the window, happy times.

Just need to finish bottom 4 next year, plunder the draft and we are back baby!

With 2 spots left and Winder and Trew holding out to be retained as rookies. By adding Hewitt, Ginbey and you can add Long and Burgiel to the list we're really well covered for inside mids now, so I feel that we won't recontract Trew!
Winder more than likely as can play both mid and forward, but quite possibly not resigned through the rookie draft today and he'll join 2-3 as train ons over summer which has already been spoken about a little in the media with Joel Western being considered as a train on, and a little bit of discussion about Narkle possibly. So feel it could just be the one pick today and Gilbey is a very WCE pick.

Broadbent unlikely with Barnett taken.
Szybkowski whilst talented is another inside mid
Cleaver possibly as quite durable, can play half back and half forward
Hagan and Drury less likely with Long taken.

I must admit I was not happy at all when they traded pick 2 for what looked unders (still think it was unders to be fair when history will technically show ashcroft as pick 2...).
I'm with you, much would have preferred we kept pick 2 and drafted Ashcroft instead. :cute:

Essendon list boss Adrian Dodoro let FoxFooty in on a quick conversation he had with Mattaes Phillipou after the Bombers ultimately went with Elijah Tsatas.

Phillipou: ‘Elijah better be good’

😂❤️

this ****er has an ego bigger than Andrew Tate