No Oppo Supporters Double-Death-Riding Carlton 2019 Edition - Currently Pick 1 and 19

What month will Bolton be sacked?

• April

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • May

Votes: 1 3.6%
  • June

Votes: 3 10.7%
  • July

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • August

• September

• He won't get the sack this year

Votes: 22 78.6%

I hadn't heard that ? .....does sound like a torn miniscus though ...can twist the wrong way at home & do it ...but it's keyhole surgery
Hence the ?

I'm not sure just thought he had ongoing issues all year and played in pain

Certified insane thought process. We're not the Carlton pity board.

We're the Adelaide board and we want pick 1.

Some people may like to hide behind a veneer of faux sportsmanly care. As if sportsmanship has a place in the AFL. But even that lot who won't post it publicly are jizzing that this takes us closer to pick 1

I know I am. The truth will set you free.
I hope all “other teams” have a horrible run in 2019. Although I do not wish injuries on anyone at the same time.

What exactly is the nature of Talia's injury anyway? You don't just randomly pull off a kneecap and root around in there for the fun of it.

What is the issue?

Have no idea but I’d hazard a guess of meniscus tear with arthroscopic surgery. I had one and walked half a K to the post office and back as soon as I got home and was back on the roof in a week. Hopefully it’s as benign as my experience.

I know I am. The truth will set you free.
I hope all “other teams” have a horrible run in 2019. Although I do not wish injuries on anyone at the same time.
Like they were all crying for Argentina when Smith did his knee. Or Walker in 2013.

Bad for them. Good for us. Doch will still earn 800k doing swimming exercises. Fact is his body probably isn't built for the modern game. Sucks for him but the 800k will soften the blow.

All of us who are honest thought "boom yeah pick 1 come on down baby"

Have no idea but I’d hazard a guess of meniscus tear with arthroscopic surgery. I had one and walked half a K to the post office and back as soon as I got home and was back on the roof in a week. Hopefully it’s as benign as my experience.
Same here ....but then i hear of others with different reactions to surgery, who are off their feet for a couple of weeks

If you weren't implying that Gallucci is a better prospect than SPS, by stating stats from round 23, I would really like to know what you were trying to highlight

You are either some sort of troll, bias or have no understanding regarding drafting whatsoever. Never have I suggested that SOS is sh1t, nor a messiah, he is just a damn sight better than the morons we employed in the past.

Just a heads up, the main priority of drafting is ensuring that you have no busts, selecting the best player is a bonus. Just like Brodie Smith was a great selection, although guys like Isaac Smith, Jack Darling, Luke Parker may be considered better players, yet none of that really matters.

Then you cherry pick, players like Marchbank, Pickett, Ahern, etc, all guys that have suffered ongoing injuries, yet add no balance, by mentioning Conigilio, Haynes, Thomlinson, Greene, Adams, Smith, Kelly, Whitfield, Lobb, Williams, etc etc

I would really be interested to know how much junior football you watch, to determine the merits of a player like Stocker, or the quality of next year's draftees

Who said that either club overvalued next year's pick? Making it up again, based on your own perceptions? Have you thought that maybe both clubs, thought that the Crows may not have the rise that you or your club predicts?

Again, try adding some balance to your analysis
If we had the same draw this year, we would have made the finals despite the huge amount of injuries to key players. We would have made it this year with a tough draw if we had between Fremantle away (lost by 3 points) and Port Power (lost by 5 points within 40 seconds). So if we don't at least make the 8 this year with a soft draw...….

Like they were all crying for Argentina when Smith did his knee. Or Walker in 2013.

Bad for them. Good for us. Doch will still earn 800k doing swimming exercises. Fact is his body probably isn't built for the modern game. Sucks for him but the 800k will soften the blow.

All of us who are honest thought "boom yeah pick 1 come on down baby"
I never wish an injury on anyone, so no that wasn't my first thought. Theyll still finish above the Suns anyway.

Same here ....but then i hear of others with different reactions to surgery, who are off their feet for a couple of weeks

Meh, I had that done a couple of years back and was off my feet for seven to 10 days.

Hang on, did I say feet, well I meant tree because they gave me some pretty strong Endone and then said " don't drink alcohol with this"...and I thought "Ok I will then". Think I watched about 5 or so days straight of the footy channel on Fox, reckon my heart was doing about 32 beats a minute, just a lot of good old fashioned fun.

The day after that bender, I went to work. That first conference call I sat in was no fun at all, people talking sales targets, what our focus should be and what the repercussions will be if we can't meet goals and all I could think was "I was watching my curtains breathe yesterday in perfect synch with the walls and now I have to listen to this shit, no wonder people drop out of society".

Just in their defence, I remember when people on this board lost it when we took a kid named Dangerfield at 10. There were no pick trades then of course, but
at that time
if we'd also swapped our first rounders the following year in a downgrade to get Dangerfield, the pitchforks would have been out and effigies burnt.

In hindsight the selection of Dangerfield, who wasn't widely rated as top 10 draftee was genius, as he turned out to be the best player taken in his draft class.

On the face of it the trade looks lopsided and we look like big winners. But if Stocker ends up being the best kid in this draft SOS and his team look like champions.

It's a massive "IF" for sure. But we'd see it far differently if Hamish rated Stocker 6 (which he clearly didn't).

I wrote somewhere else that this trade also shows how one club, who have had stacks of single figure draft picks, and another club where they are rare as hen's teeth, will value those picks differently. We've never had a top 3 pick but at Carlton it's just another regular year lol.

This was the pick trade of the night for me, and it's amazing how the swap where we picked up Carlton's round two pick for next to nothing has barely rated a mention. That was also fantastic business by the Crows.

It's obvious that some clubs came into the draft well prepped for pick trading and as a consequence reaped the benefits. Whilst all of the Crows Big Footy board were focussed on trading up for Luko or Rankine, which we no doubt tried to do, the club were well positioned to take advantage twice of minor trades down to improve our position next year.

In the analysis it was always going to be very difficult to get hold of the picks required for Luko or Rankine. Despite that I think that we came out number one on the night in relation to pick trades.

Very, very good bit of business by the club.

The danger comparison doesn’t really work

Danger wasn’t no.1 on our board, or even close.

We loved cale Morton, David Myers and Jarrod grant more

Danger is who we got, not who we wanted most

The main priority of drafting is to get the BEST AVAILABLE players who will contribute to win a flag.
Go revisit a few drafts and fine players that SOS has picked who have risen compared to Crows and Ogilvie.
Laird, Lever, Dangerfield Milera, Crouch, Gunston, Talia, McGovern, Cameron just to name a few.

Rating Kevin Rudd to Julia Gillard to Tony Abbott is a waste of space vs comparing them to the most successful prime ministers.
Because after 30 seconds you will lump them in the same box as crap. This is the same with SOS when compared to the best. Simple

P.S. you want to make excuses for SPS in round 23. He's been playing along side the clearance king in Cripps.
Playing on the outside of Cripps that day should have been a feast.

You still don't get it, drafting is not about getting the best player at every pick, it is about minimizing busts, but love the continued cherry picking. Talia you say, what about Fyfe in the same draft? Does it really matter, if you don't have a bust?

You are losing the plot by going down the road of politics, try and stay on football

All I am asking is why you would mention Gallucci's stats in one game over SPS, surely you can enlighten me without a deflection, as to your motive

Hence the ?

I'm not sure just thought he had ongoing issues all year and played in pain

And the year before and the one before that. We just wear them into the ground and are then stunned that they can't keep up with a hard running team on a warm day and dry deck at the MCG 26 weeks into the season.

The danger comparison doesn’t really work

Danger wasn’t no.1 on our board, or even close.

We loved cale Morton, David Myers and Jarrod grant more

Danger is who we got, not who we wanted most

No mate. Rendell in the period after the draft stated they rated Danger number 2 in the draft after Cotchin. I had this Rendell chat on a podcast that I revisited a few years after the 2007 draft and am 100% certain of the above.

You still don't get it, drafting is not about getting the best player at every pick, it is about minimizing busts, but love the continued cherry picking. Talia you say, what about Fyfe in the same draft? Does it really matter, if you don't have a bust?

You are losing the plot by going down the road of politics, try and stay on football

All I am asking is why you would mention Gallucci's stats in one game over SPS, surely you can enlighten me without a deflection, as to your motive
Why quote me only to repeat your repetitive ramblings?

Are you that far up yourself that you think we are interested in your opinion over and over and over again?

I don’t give a shit if you edited out my post, the issue remains the same, your repetitiveness when you know you are not going to change one opinion on here. You are Carlton’s equivalent of Peter Hore.

While you tee off, by playing the man?

Surely this or most other threads are about debating football?