List Mgmt. Draft Watch 2015

Ok, so I think there'd be a lot here on the Francis/Milera train for our 9/13 picks.

But while it might be a bit deflating, if:
  • neither Francis and Milera are available
  • assuming Academees go as expected
  • a brief survey of various list predictions have Weitering, Schache, Parish, Curnow, Weideman as almost certain lockins before our pick 9
accounts for live picks 1 to 7, that leaves:
  • Oliver, H.McKay, Mathieson
as possibly still available options for us but more likely are:
  • Ah Chee, Balic, Tucker, Bonner, Collins, Gresham,
  • Burton, Clarke, Hibberd, B.McKay, Skinner, Partington,
  • others?
TFCFKATP.jpg TFCFKATP.jpg
Poot-119-slot-machine-BANNER.gif Poot-119-slot-machine-BANNER.gif [0.6mb]
Poot-119-slot-machine.gif Poot-119-slot-machine.gif [0.4mb]
[leahshapiro.com] 6404-animated-gif-slot-machine - .gif [leahshapiro.com] 6404-animated-gif-slot-machine - .gif [0.3mb] KEEP
Home Depot 119.gif Home Depot 119.gif [0.9mb]

Pdub 01 [e2].gif Pdub 01 [e2].gif [0.9mb]
Pdub 01 [e].gif Pdub 01 [e].gif [1.0mb]
FB china.gif FB china.gif [1.0mb]
700685 zero throw.gif [1.0mb]
700689 angry ken.gif [0.6mb]

Potentially controversial, but I reckon McKay will be a flop. Yes he towers over the other 18 year olds but he looks soft. Tentative. Doesn't look to have the natural inclination to use his mass to out muscle his direct opponent let alone split a pack. In 5 years he may develop into a Jenkins type but that's not worth a first rounder in my book

IMO Anderson has no idea if he thinks firstly Francis and Milera will still both be there at pick 9, secondly just can't see Ogilvie taking Milera over Francis given Francis has far more strings to his bow and is more likely to eventually play midfield than Milera IMO.

I'm not sold on Milera at all, just don't ever see him as a midfielder at AFL level, if we feel we need a midfielder then we should be taking just that, a kid that has a PROVEN midfield pedigree.

I'm sitting here thinking the same thing RE Milera. The kid has some talent no doubt and a few strong points, but I think he is getting quite overhyped here. The whole Milera thing is just snowballing.

I will be ROPABLE if the club takes Milera over Francis. Francis is by far and wide the better player who even looks to have the higher ceiling. A 190cm+ midfielder is also something we've lacked. Not that it's a requirement to be successful, but it would be handy.

Francis all day everyday. I still refuse to believe this hype of Francis slipping to 9 because if he does we should be offering up sacrifices to the footy Gods basically. Nabbing Francis would be huge, and then we still have 13 to use, which I think we will use on Burton. If H McKay was still on the board I think we would take him, but doubt Carlton would let him slide twice, so I think we will select Burton. You just can't let a player of his talent slip by. Makes things interesting as I've said before in regards to how many 3rd tall types we have. If JJ goes down we could be in trouble, so I'd love for us to get our hands on H McKay considering next years tall stocks look a bit bleak at this stage.

Look I'm not saying Milera isn't a good footballer just that I believe he is a bit overhyped IMO, he played 11 SANFL games and from those 11 games he made the CDFC's best 6 on 1 occasion against Glenelg when he was B.O.G. kicking 5 goals on that occasion and his Championship games were nothing to write home about which I did see.

If Ogilvie rates him worthy of Pick 9 that's fine by me because he has been spot on of recent times and I'll be hoping he lives up to the hype, I'm just not seeing it personally that's all. We are all entitled to our opinion as you know how that old saying goes "Opinions are like a***holes, everyone's got one".

http://sanfl.com.au/league/results/

Was also in their best 3 in the semi final. Pretty handy for a 17 year old. Didn't get heaps of the ball during the Champs but was consistently good and his disposal efficiency was elite.

Not according to the SANFL site.
17 Disposals, 8 Kicks, 9 Handballs, 3 Goals.

Anyhow like I said if Ogilvie thinks he's pick 9 material I'm fine with that and I'll be hoping he lives up to the hype.....if it's a midfielder we want specifically I personally feel there are likely to be others available at Pick 9 more dominant and proven in the midfield than Milera.

Don't really see Pick 9 as a speculative pick if we are targeting a mid.

Central District
Goal Kickers: W. Milera 3, J. Potter 2, T. Schiller, P. Thomas, C. Edmead, S. Milne, K. Presbury
Best Players: P. Thomas, J. Hoskin, L. Habel, L. Barmby, K. Jenner, D. Haydon

Different match report to the one's I looked at.

Best: Thomas, J. Schiller, Milera, Habel, Hoskin, T. Schiller, Goodrem, Potter.
Goals: Milera 3, Potter 2, T. Schiller, Edmead, Milne, Thomas, Presbury.

What I like about him is he has a point of difference. We already have strong tackling, ball winning mids. What we don't have is speedy mids with evasive skills and elite disposal. He has this.

pants off time if francis gets to 9. like, pants off for years time. i dont see the flight risk myself, i see him performing wherever he goes because he is a complete professional. think the flight risk tag on him is incredibly harsh for someone who is clearly so strong willed.

said it before, will say it again. the most talented player i've seen at westies since cooney. and he went alright. and i think he's better. he does everything well. he reads the play expertly, kicks well, is brave, has good hands, has size and a good burst of pace off the mark.

but, if it is true and he does slide, i can see crows ending up with both francis and milera. would be astonished if milera is a top 10 pick. but he will be a very fine footballer if he gets to a club that develops him properly and takes the time with him that his talent deserves. him rocketing up to even 5 is crazy talk in my eyes.

think there will be quite a few that fly under the radar. there's too much talent in the sa group not to be. plus maybe some mature agers from the sanfl who definitely deserve a go.

No different than most - Francis and Milera, in that order. To be honest, these two and Burton are the only ones that excite me this draft.

Both, however, may well be gone. If so, I like Burton, could be top 3 in the comp elite. H. McKay, Collins. Don't mind Balic either. Gresham and Clark could be very good but feel they probably shouldn't go that high. Ah Chee maybe.

Don't want Oliver, we have ball winners and he hasn't proved to be damaging. In fact he hasn't really been proved against top line opposition. Big kid bullied his way through the second half of the TAC year when a lot of the elites weren't around. Mathieson will be good but with M Crouch already, we can't afford another mid with terrible endurance and suspect kicking.

Shouldn't give up first round picks on half back flankers which pretty much rules out Tucker, Bonner and Hibberb.

Burton's leg break was bloody horrendous.

I wonder if our Medico's have done more extensive testing considering he lives in Adelaide. The testing done at the draft camp by other teams seemed fairly limited (tugging on the leg, squats, hops, plus medical records). I know the AFC were going to catch up with him in Adelaide rather than the draft camp so I hope they do get an edge. Also Liptak did the surgery.

I've given up on Milera, think he'll be gone. But Francis does seem like he might slide due to his family attachment. Really hope we get him. Could join that elite line of Riverland => Westies => AFC guns that has been trodden by the likes of Modra, Ricciuto and Edwards.

On a side note, I know westies was given to port for father-son purposes, but I really hope we get their riverland zone when the academy zones are drawn up. We have tradition with it with 3 of our top 10 players hailing from that zone.
Edwards wasn't from the Riverland.

pants off time if francis gets to 9. like, pants off for years time. i dont see the flight risk myself, i see him performing wherever he goes because he is a complete professional. think the flight risk tag on him is incredibly harsh for someone who is clearly so strong willed.

said it before, will say it again. the most talented player i've seen at westies since cooney. and he went alright. and i think he's better. he does everything well. he reads the play expertly, kicks well, is brave, has good hands, has size and a good burst of pace off the mark.

but, if it is true and he does slide, i can see crows ending up with both francis and milera. would be astonished if milera is a top 10 pick. but he will be a very fine footballer if he gets to a club that develops him properly and takes the time with him that his talent deserves. him rocketing up to even 5 is crazy talk in my eyes.

think there will be quite a few that fly under the radar. there's too much talent in the sa group not to be. plus maybe some mature agers from the sanfl who definitely deserve a go.
I think the flight risk stuff is bullshit. Not sure where it came from.

Francis and Milera are BOTH flight risks.

BIG flight risks.

They're the flightiest flight risks that have ever flighted during the flighting years.

I've got GOOD sources on this. Close to the families. Trust me. And tell every single person you know.

Brett Anderson did mention this last night. Said Milera was more of a flight risk than Francis! I don't know what to believe now.

I had a chat with somebody who would know (or is more or less paid to know these things lol) and posted about Milera on the Carlton board yesterday.

Francis and Milera are BOTH flight risks.

BIG flight risks.

They're the flightiest flight risks that have ever flighted during the flighting years.

I've got GOOD sources on this. Close to the families. Trust me. And tell every single person you know.

Did you work for WCE circa 2010?

As per one of my first posts regarding g the draft. Would love Francis if available (not just because my family knew his family), and Oliver. It sounds as if we also interviewed Tucker a couple of times (comes from Crouch boys territory).

List Mgmt. Draft Watch 2015