Final Team for Sunday

Based on my observations last week against Freo, Russell should have been dropped, he was woeful and no amount of 'sugar coating' or people who 'wrongly' point to stats can change my opinion, it's got nothing to do with a so called perceived agenda/vendetta against Russell (frankly I reckon posters who sprout that crap have a chip on their shoulder)

Frankly I think Fisher or Browne would have been more handy players to have on Sunday in the side against Collingwood in terms of team 'structure' ...
But of course, we all know being 'critical' of Jordan Russell around these parts is like shooting Bambi ... You just don't do it !!!! :D

As someone who has bagged Russell in the past I'm happy to say he is improving this year. His last few games haven't been his best for the year though. Also the biggest problem I have with him atm is that he goes to ground to easily. Once you lose your feet and don't win the ball you basically hand over possession. This has happened numerous amount of times over the past few weeks.

If the Russell baggers were thinking straight, they would aim higher than a Russell to criticise the players who are supposed to be stars and leaders at the Carlton Football Club.

The important thing is that you make yourself feel better after a loss by bagging a player who is expendable and can't wear the blame for the past six years. The likes of Stevens, Fevola, Houlihan and Scotland can continue to do what they've done since 2003 and just bludge.

It's a tough call to criticise the bottom six players in a team and ignore the bigger names...

TG you need to realise that the 4 players you list there (with the exception of houla) are indispensable... fevola while difficult how do you drop a bloke who is top 5 of the coleman medal for the last 6-7 years? How do you drop a bloke like stevens who while tends to play one way often has sublime skills and without him a lot of Fevola's goals wouldnt have occured. Additionally Stevens can actually kick a goal (often by kicking over the man on the mark)...

Scotland is a "rock" in the back line. Often enough puts his body on the line to contest a ball, is equally good on both sides of his body and often hits up targets.

Russell has no specific role (in fact everyone claims he is doing his role... what is his role?!) in the side in which he cant be replaced. I mean it is difficult to replace Fevola as there is virtually no one on our list who could kick 100 goals in a year. Russell has many players who can replace him... He floats through games doing one or two good things and then un does them by some horrible skills or kicking into the man on the mark or something.

yeh and the public transport system seemed to cope alot more back then, than now.

The lack of transport is compounded by the fact that a lot of houses in the area dont have garages or carports (as that's how they built them back in the day and people are using their lane access at rear for alfresco's etc...

Also the surrounding parks are home to some local footy clubs and they also clog the streets, not to mention people visiting the cemetery.

There is heaps of public transport there people just need to learn to use it... but I think with lack of parking around the G and the dome means a lot more people are more fond of PT these days

Of course someone like Brad Fisher would bring a lot more to the team structure right now then someone like Jordy, however too many of the JR fans have their heads up their clackers that they can't seem to grasp this basic fact.

FWIW I'm tipping Russell to play an dead set shocker on Sunday, which hopefully will increase his chances of being dropped next week.

Of course someone like Brad Fisher would bring a lot more to the team structure right now then someone like Jordy, however too many of the JR fans have their heads up their clackers that they can't seem to grasp this basic fact.

FWIW I'm tipping Russell to play an dead set shocker on Sunday, which hopefully will increase his chances of being dropped next week.

Really?

Would Brad Fisher come in to our team and perform as a defensive forward?

Would he come in and kick a whole lot more accurately than JR?

Would he come in and put in even an ounce of defensive pressure? Lay 1 tackle? 1 shepherd?

If matched up on a damaging opposition defender would he do anything to curb their influence on a game?

Come on CP, wake up. I love Fisher but the fact is that his defensive pressure is practically non-existant and in today's football we can't afford to carry a player like that unless he is dominant in another area, which is not the case with Fisher.

Fisher is being kept out of the side by Wiggins and until Wiggins stops providing defensive pressure that would be 10 times as effective as Fisher, he won't be replaced in the senior team by Fisher.

If we dropped JR we would be dropping our best defensively-minded half forward and we would leave ourselves wide open to get absolutely annihilated by teams running out of their back half with absolutely no pressure placed on them. We would get killed and we cannot afford to let that happen.

By the way, and I don't particularly have the inclination to get into a serious argument with you about this, your desire to see someone, a Carlton football player nonetheless, to fail, is absolutely pathetic. No true Carlton supporter would want to see a player representing their beloved football club fail just so that the 'supporter' can say "I TOLD YOU SO!" and inflate his own ego. Just stop wishing that any of our players fail, because it really shows your true colours, and they certainly aren't showing as Navy Blue and white. More like black and white hoops......

Cloke out... ABout time :)
Wiggins - on notice - playes like you can't afford to play 3 bad games in a row.
Russell I am absloutely staggered that you are still in th eside. Please do something please for the love of god I am begging you don't think Doooo.
Stevens- Marshmallow man /lazy sheep dog -How do you want to be remembered when your time is up at Carlton?
Fev - Mistery wrapped in a riddle. Saviour or Cancer?

Cloke gone- first step in getting rid of the dead wood.
Next step-
Fisher in for Wiggins
Then-
Russell out for just about anyone. Try Browne.

Once all this happens I'm a verrrrry happy supporter. :)

would of loved to see fisher and houlihan come in this week ahead of austin and joseph i reckon those two inclusions would of really put pressure on the coll backline along with fev, betts, wiggins and yarran.

Love every1's confidence.. but in todays Herald Sun, a scaring fact emerged... any team that played St Kilda the previous week... that team has gone on to win the next match!!! which in this case is collingwood coming off a spanking from StKilda, and if all facts go right... o noes!!!
but i recon we should dominate with them having no key position forwards. CARVE THEM UP BLUES!!!

Final Team for Sunday