Review Freo burn the dirty birds by 35 points in Derby LIX

Have to admit imagine adding Reid to our midfield replacing a retiring fyfe. He would be Fyfe version2 but even more aggressive
Imagine that. Reid seeing the future is Freo and telling Don Pyke to GAGF and signs on with us.
Climate change and the ice caps melting would be so insignificant compared to biblical melt that West Coast and its fans would suffer.

Just to witness that would be soo delicious…

We had a few Eagles supporters around us, they seemed to be friends and family of members so presumably sitting in member's seats.
They were the good kind though, we had some good banter going.

Imagine that. Reid seeing the future is Freo and telling Don Pyke to GAGF and signs on with us.
Climate change and the ice caps melting would be so insignificant compared to biblical melt that West Coast and its fans would suffer.

Just to witness that would soo delicious…

He could get a sponsorship with Woodside

triggered GIF

Watching the game today on replay, there were quite a few late hits that they placed on our guys that weren’t exactly kosher. Considering how soft the AFL has been on fining pretty shtty non football acts (Butters, anyone) - it would be pretty filthy of the AFL to start now.
Oh absolutely but I couldn't care less of any of their blokes missed the next game.

It would be peak AFL to start doing that to an interstate team now when it's looking like 3/4 of the top 4 could be interstate teams however.

Loved the booing, last night was the most fun I'd had watching a derby in years. Nothing like a good pantomime villain to spice things up.

Serong is a jet - not sure why Culley was standing him for much of the second half, way too nimble and rightly put us to the sword.

Treacy and Waterman both up there for most improved players in the competition I reckon. Frederick continues to be widely underrated too imo.

Feels like it's any of yours, Sydney's or Brisbane's to win at this stage (and keep out of Victorian hands). Good luck for the rest of the season.
Was the best atmosphere game I’ve been to since the Dogs Prelim 2022

Crowd ( including myself) was genuinely on edge by half time hoping like hell we don’t let it slip away

Then the claw back
Then the biff and the booing

Was bloody awesome

Your lot were bloody loud up the North end which was unsettling but I think the booing helped pump up a lot of our geriatrics
Even my mum was doing the Freo chant in the 3rd and she NEVER does it unless the game is iced by 5 goals with 29 seconds to go , superstitiously broken after 30 years

This game was another great showing of JL's running game plan.

The Eagles tried to replicate their R6 success by throwing everything at us early to put scoreboard pressure on us.
In that R6 game, Freo started flat footed and looking tired, ending the game with our lowest AFL Tracker total kms for 2024, 260kms (8 less than WC). But even in that game, Freo ran the game out better than WC by outscoring them by 27 points in Q4.

In this R20 game, the total kms at the end of Q1, Freo 74km vs WC 76km. By half time 147kms vs 149km and by full time, 282kms vs 281kms. Total sprints were similar with WC showing much greater effort early in the game with Q1 Freo 60 vs WC 76, Q2 139 vs 150 and Full Time 246 vs 244.

JOM has been building all season. He’s calm, steadies the ship and is really classy. Does the unrewarded things a lot and has been a good fit for this team IMO.
JOM is a professional and you can't teach class.

He seems to be over his injuries and is moving well.

He has found his role in the team now and his experience is going to be critical in the finals.

Gobsmacked at these posts saying it wasn't a great performance. Like seriously GAGF. Expecting your team to just walk over other teams every week and anything less is unacceptable is just a shit opinion. Eagles came for a fight and they got it. Both teams played at finals intensity for 2.5 quarters, one team kept it up for an extra quarter, which was the difference in the end.
All AFL teams are capable of top level footy for a short while, what separates the teams isn't their best football but how long they can sustain it for.

We got the job done. Another tick in W column and we never know how the rest is going to unfold in front of us.

We don't want perfection right now, we want it in a months time. Just look at Sydney right now, the premiership isn't won in July. We're tracking quite nicely in the lead up to finals, showing improvement each week.

As others have noted loved the look on Sturts face when he got handed the trophy by Fyfe, then Clarke seemed super keen to hold it as they were walking away and grabbed it off Walker.
Yes it sums up the different players personalities right there.

It takes all sorts to make up a team but when they all want to play for each other you have a powerful force!

Jeremy Sharp totally owns that southern wing. Not only does he have elite endurance but he has phenomenal speed.
Jeremy and Jordan Clark are having an enormous impact on our games. I can’t recall two higher trade ins for Fremantle.
And the irony is they were both rejects at their former clubs.

Mmm? He's nothing like Fyfe, he's more like Dustin Martin with better aerial but slightly worse ground ball.
I agree he's more Dusty than Fyfe. In another way too. He seems to be a 'big game player', eg he seems to have really turned it on in the two Derbies compared to his other games in the year. People often speak about being a BGP as a positive thing. And it is. But it is also negative. It suggests an underlying attitude that can't properly get itself going without external motivation. While it's great to lift for a special occasion, if the gap between your regular and big-game output is large it suggests a significant weakness to me.

Harley is amazing in a multitude of ways. I hope he goes OK. At another club.

Solid win.
passion.
Pos
Someone needs to GIF Serong spinning through traffic. Pornhub worthy material. Him and Brayshaw brought us back into the contest when we looked down and out.

I liked Frederick today after a poor couple of weeks, apart from kicking straight he presented a lot better.

Emmett had little of it but made the most of it. Did get a goal late from a flop that Walters would've been proud of.

Neg
Chapman shit his dacks and got tunnel vision when an Eagle came within 5 metres of him. Half a dozen hospital handpasses, often when there was a wide open handpass the other side of him. I still think he's better than Hughes though.

Jackson's ruck work was ordinary and he needs marking lessons from Treacy.

Young I thought had a pretty average game, although he was on Harley tagging duty for a bit of it.

Hopefully Johnson comes back next week and that's the last we see of Aish at centre bounce. He wasn't great either.
That’s inappropriate mate and it’s not even the vent thread.

Yeah I just love the fact the winning the last couple of months has looked quite different in different weeks. Last night couldn’t have been any different to the Melbourne game.

We’re not going to be able to play pure freo football every week, but to have different things thrown at you, and keep backing it up in consecutive weeks just screams growth and top 4 quality. Let’s keep it going
👍

Good teams find a way to win and adapt when things are changed up.

I think we have learnt a lot from those close losses and the draw.

JOM is a professional and you can't teach class.

He seems to be over his injuries and is moving well.

He has found his role in the team now and his experience is going to be critical in the finals.
I confess I had little faith in Jom , early part of the season he seemed too slow and a bit of a momentum killer. Credit to him though he has steadily improved and at times has shown his class.

We don't want perfection right now, we want it in a months time. Just look at Sydney right now, the premiership isn't won in July. We're tracking quite nicely in the lead up to finals, showing improvement each week.
Totally this. I think we're the only team in the top 8 not to have had a big 5+ game winning streak. We haven't played our best consistently for multiple games. If (and I know that's a big word) we can get our run at the right time, we can win the flag. Just need a bit of luck. But we're doing a lot right.

The most annoying thing. I’m in block 128 and all around me last night there were eagles fans and the booing was incessant. Half the time I don’t think they even know what they are booing.
If it’s not booing Fred its ball which comes out as baaaaaaaaaall.

It is moronic.

I agree he's more Dusty than Fyfe. In another way too. He seems to be a 'big game player', eg he seems to have really turned it on in the two Derbies compared to his other games in the year. People often speak about being a BGP as a positive thing. And it is. But it is also negative. It suggests an underlying attitude that can't properly get itself going without external motivation. While it's great to lift for a special occasion, if the gap between your regular and big-game output is large it suggests a significant weakness to me.

Harley is amazing in a multitude of ways. I hope he goes OK. At another club.

In the comfort of Perth Stadium Reid has averaged 20.9 Disposals per game and kicked 6 goals (from 9 games).
Away from Perth, it's 15.8 disposals and 1 goal (from 6 games).
When playing away, he is not as protected by the home crowd advantage and simply cannot get away with half of the cheap shots he wants to dish out.

The kids got skills and I was enjoying watching some of those on display early season, but I now just see an entitled dirty player who is not good for current day AFL. If you had 36 Reids play a game of football (the way he played Saturday night) it would be unwatchable and the AFL industry would either stop it or face collapse within 10 years. He needs to quickly change his ways and just let his skills do his talking. And sadly it appears that West Coast are only going to encourage his ill-disciplined manners.
The first question I will offer to any West Coast supporters who raise the topic of Reid will be ... is that how you want your sons and daughters to play junior football is it ... scrapping and dishing out off the ball crap all day? Is that what you want your sons and daughters have to deal with when the opposition team have several wanting to play just like Harley?

Review Freo burn the dirty birds by 35 points in Derby LIX