MFC Fans Only Non-Dees Footy Chat 2022

Their list is actually quite bad, which is generally what happens when you win three flags.
Happens quickly too. Lose Butler, Higgins, CCJ and some depth. Martin and Riewoldt drop off. Prestias not fit ever. Feel like they've lost alot without McIntosh and Lambert.

All of a sudden you've got a very very average team.

Happens quickly too. Lose Butler, Higgins, CCJ and some depth. Martin and Riewoldt drop off. Prestias not fit ever. Feel like they've lost alot without McIntosh and Lambert.

All of a sudden you've got a very very average team.

Yeah people underrate how much losing depth hurts. I envy their position and if we go on to win two more I’d happily take pain for an extended period whilst we rebuilt the list.

I reckon teams these days are almost too afraid to rebuild. If I was a Richmond fan I’d be wanting the full bottom out from the club to rebuild the list whilst you’ve still got some quality experienced players.

Yeah people underrate how much losing depth hurts. I envy their position and if we go on to win two more I’d happily take pain for an extended period whilst we rebuilt the list.

I reckon teams these days are almost too afraid to rebuild. If I was a Richmond fan I’d be wanting the full bottom out from the club to rebuild the list whilst you’ve still got some quality experienced players.
It's a fine line. Rebuild too much and you lost the standards at the club because you have 18 year olds leading them. So you do need to keep a strong experienced spine and work around that. But if you asked them if they were happy to be here 5 years ago I reckon they'd stand that.

David King having another cry about how this should be a month, what I hate about this is the umpires won't pay HTB against danger if De Goeys spins him upright, plus Dangers so powerful that if you don't hold on with everything you have he will break away. So De Goey has to put everything into stopping him.

Anyone else see Danihers goal against north? Just casually blasts one from 60. Christ there could be a hell of a player if he could concentrate for a full game.

Accidentally coming upon a game 5-6 years ago where he was bombing goals from outside 50 is what turned me onto the sport.

In fairness, if I chose the bombers, none of you would even know me.

I would from the NFL board and would call you complete scum like I do the rest of the Bombers fans over there. ;)

Sorry mate, but you're positioning it as if Kennett didn't know Shannyn was indigenous?

Or are you saying that context shouldn't matter?
No mate you're saying he should have treated her differently because she's indigenous. Pretty sure that's the definition of racism

Pretty sure I've made the ya must have got 50% off those pants joke to someone wearing ripped pants before. So if it turns out they were homo sexual does that make me a bigot? Actually turns out they were Jewish so now I'm anti semetic.
Nvm they were white looking but half aboriginal so I'm half racist

Or maybe I dunno it's just a crap joke?

Agree with PG's comments. My reading of the article was that Rioli had issues with the club for a long time that had been dismissed or been swept under the rug, and the incident with Jeff at the airport just nudged him over the line. Especially since Hawthorn appeared to treat it just like all his other greivances, a half-hearted apology and an appeal to the Rioli's to just get over it.

I think many are focused too much on the airport incident in isolation and not considering everything else in the article which is much more damning.

I'm not making a strawman. The only part of that that makes it racist is because she's indigenous. The rest is a complete guess an people wanting him to be racist.

If there's other stories then so be it but that in itself is back engineering it to be racist just because she's indigenous
I'm only going to say this once, because I will no doubt get the same treatment as everyone else who attempts it.

Regardless of a person's intention, there are things that are clearly insensitive to first Australians. Rather than claim (rightly or wrongly) that "I didn't mean it that way", just apologise and try and do better.

I understand completely why people think this is okay. It springs from the exact same source as people at the football yelling at a player that they perceive as being soft or squibbing as being a "****ter" or "a big girls blouse" or a "princess" without any regard for the real likelihood that there are homosexuals within hearing. It comes from from the same source as people using the term 'r*ped' on bigfooty and this very board to describe how their team won by a good margin, without the slightest thought that there are without any doubt people extremely sensitive about these terms and for very good reason. It comes from the same place as people on bigfooty, and this board, calling another team "our bitch" without regard for the ugliness of the term, and how any number of people might find it repugnant or upsetting.

It is genuinely ugly and upsetting for many to read this stuff, me included. But people think it is okay because they were "only joking" or "I've always said stuff like that, and I don't see why I should change".

I have no doubt you and others will write off this post as me being "woke" or a "princess" or "can't take a joke" and frankly, I no longer care. There are far more men than women on BF, so the expectation is that if we can't take the heat we can get out of the kitchen or something along those lines. There are probably more heterosexuals on BF than homosexuals or people who identify as gender neutral etc - and they too get to put up with this stuff daily or get out of the kitchen, because we're all being woke and too sensitive, and are denying others their basic rights to freedom of speech which basically means saying anything, with no regard to how others might feel, that they feel like at the time. Anyone who says otherwise is a SJW or whatever shit term is the latest one.

As for the First Australian thing, you might read this which I think says it better than I have:

Pretty sure I've made the ya must have got 50% off those pants joke to someone wearing ripped pants before. So if it turns out they were homo sexual does that make me a bigot? Actually turns out they were Jewish so now I'm anti semetic.
Nvm they were white looking but half aboriginal so I'm half racist

Or maybe I dunno it's just a crap joke?
You're actually an idiot and as bad as the worst on here about this stuff

No mate you're saying he should have treated her differently because she's indigenous. Pretty sure that's the definition of racism
It's certainly the definition of sensitivity. And if you don't think indigenous people are entitled to ask for some, then I can't help further.

MFC Fans Only Non-Dees Footy Chat 2022