Oppo Camp Non Geelong football (AFL) discussion 2024, Part 2

While the whinging from Saints is pathetic i do agree some clubs get more stuff from the AFL.

We see it every year with the draw and marque matches or certain clubs never traveling to Tassie, Alice, Darwin, KP etc
He is correct to a point in what he said, but it just looks pathetic. Make a speech to galvanize a playing group and staff, not just blame stuff.

While the whinging from Saints is pathetic i do agree some clubs get more stuff from the AFL.

We see it every year with the draw and marque matches or certain clubs never traveling to Tassie, Alice, Darwin, KP etc

The Saints have some legitimate reasons to complain. Mainly around getting shit fixturing, commercial agreements and being forced to host finals at the MCG when they almost never play there. If they were any good most of these problems like the fixturing and not getting games at the G would go away like they did from 2009-2011.

But Stkilda complaining about not getting access to talented draftees is laughable. They've had amongst the most early picks of any team this century. But they pissed a heap of them up against the wall.

They need to learn how to be a competent club not complain cause they've wasted the advantages the league has given them.

The Saints have some legitimate reasons to complain. Mainly around getting shit fixturing, commercial agreements and being forced to host finals at the MCG when they almost never play there. If they were any good most of these problems like the fixturing and not getting games at the G would go away like they did from 2009-2011.

But Stkilda complaining about not getting access to talented draftees is laughable. They've had amongst the most early picks of any team this century. But they pissed a heap of them up against the wall.

They need to learn how to be a competent club not complain cause they've wasted the advantages the league has given them.
Their current list made finals in 2023. Where did it go wrong in 2024?

Age wise they should be right in the peak of the premiership window. But they're full of bog average journeymen.

They weren't great last year and weren't terrible this year. Only 2 wins different. They're just a middle of the road side.

Harder draw, teams worked them out , Ross Gloss wore off etc

Looking at the Saints list they have a lot of B graders and some C graders which will in most years fail to see you do well even if you sometimes make finals

Heaps of players either had injuries like King, Howard, Phillipou, Henry and Clark.

Or you had guys who had shit seasons like King who wasn't really offering a lot before his injury, Brad Hill dropped off, Higgins was OK, Owens was worse off, Membrey was poor, Wood wasn't anywhere near last seasons output etc.

They lost Gresham, who was one of their better players and goal scorers last season.
They brought in Liam Henry and Paddy Dow who weren't anywhere near as good as they likely expected them to be.
And of all the kids they brought in, only one of them in Wilson had a good year despite opportunities for others.

So AC/DC want the G next year for round 1 which would force the AFL to host all Melb games at Marvel.

Wonder who will win.
AC/DC should play the weekend before. Suppose it depends upon whether AFL earns more $$$ from AC/DC or footy.

It’ll totally create issues

I went to Adelaide for our round 2 clash with the Crows, and while over there I did the rooftop walk of Adelaide Oval - more than 12 months on and you could still see the large section of the oval they had to replace following the Ed Sheeran concert in March 23 and the stage placement

We saw at the MCG how the turf didn’t look right following Ed Sheeran playing there, but it seemed to recover quicker than AO

It’ll be interested to see what happens, but thinking the MCG owners will go with who’ll make them more money
When Geelong played Sydney at Olympic Stadium in Homebush about 2012/13, Monster Trucks event the previous week + the turf was as rough as a paddock, long grass, bumpy + boggy. Was surprised there were no injuries.

I've always liked Zorko as a player

Did I miss something that he did??
He’s ‘allegedly’ a Casanova 😳
Was involved in a sledging scandal with Harrison Petty, ‘allegedly’ said he hoped Petty’s mother dies.

AC/DC should play the weekend before. Suppose it depends upon whether AFL earns more $$$ from AC/DC or footy.

Hopefully we're not scheduled to play at the MCG that week then. Remember the state of the ground last year when we played Collingwood at the G in Round 1 a week or so after another concert was played there (Ed Sheerhan IIRC)?

Yes, good point winty. AC/DC should play three or four weeks before? Is that enough time for turf to be ready for footy?

Oh look! AC/DC ruining footy grounds all over Australia 🤭

IMG_0706.jpeg

Oppo Camp Non Geelong football (AFL) discussion 2024, Part 2