Review Positives & Negatives vs Collingwood

I havent read every post so not if this has been mentioned but I was very impressed with Gaffs composure throughout the whole game.
He kept a cool head and his disposal was good. Great effort for a first year player considering the amount of pressure out there.

Positives
- Our defense was awesome all game. Glass has to be the AA full back.
- Gaff was so calm under pressure.
- When the margin got out to 27 points the old WCE would have stopped and we would have lost by 10 goals. But the blokes kept fighting.
- Lynch was a big reason why we got withing 8 points in the last term. He just kept presenting.
- Mastern really looks like he has turned the corner.
- NicNat was our best today. He ruck work and clearance work was superb. He will be the best player in the comp in 2 years.

Negatives
- Shuey looked lost and slow. Pace of the game was too fast for him. Will be better next week.
- Kerr was a massive lose, could have been the difference.
- LeCras is out of sorts and has been for a number of weeks. Perhaps he has an injury??

I don't recall seeing a lot of Schofield yesterday apart from a couple of runs towards the end of the game - what role? who was he on etc?

Would have liked to see him run the ball out to create more space and put pressure back onto the Pies.

Not a knock on him - just didn't seem to see a lot of him. Maybe I was ball watching too much.

Trying to find the positives within the negatives. As upsetting as a loss is, we had so many players play their first finals game and they'll be better for long run, great learning experience.

Positives
- Don't think I have ever seen a West Coast defence as strong and full of character and heart as we saw yesterday. Simply outstanding.

- Gaff, Shuey, Scott Selwood, Masten all young midfielders in their first final. Gaff didn't seem to be phased, Shuey at times looked dangerous but was caught a few times, Scott Selwood has shown that his offensive side of his game potentially can be as ruthless as his defensive side of the game with another pre-season and most importantly in finals while Masten took another step forward. They all got a feeling and some experience playing finals footy and this is invaluable for the team as we go forward. Not bothered about Shuey anymore, massive learning experience and probably did him more good than harm.

- Guess there isn't any questions about whether "The Panther" will unleash in finals or not. WOW.

- We really gave Collingwood a measure on equal terms. Collingwood had 2 key players out, we had 2 key players out. We're not far off, at all. Woosha saying we'll challenge for a premiership in 2012 cannot be more accurate.

Negatives
- LeCras needs a pre-season, looked out of sorts and unfit.

- As stated Kerr's loss played an instrumental part on the result of the game however Collingwood lacked both Thomas and Reid so the impact may well have been nullified.

- Coaching: The call to start Scott Selwood on Swan. As good as Swan was, he was by no means the match winner who was unquestionably Pendlebury in that second quarter. Should have started Scott on Pendlebury who has a weaker tank than Swan, is slower than Swan and is taggable unlike Swan. Not mentioning that 20 Pendlebury possessions are worth 40 of Swans.

We're the better for it. At least one more final, probably two. Our array of youngsters get the experience, feeling and understanding of what finals is like which in the long run will be priceless. Bright, very bright future coming up.

positives ;

we took it up them and had opportunities to win

backline was superb and worth mentioning ASelwood defence to prevent Didak goaling was inspirational and nearly KO`ed the goal post.

Teamwork Darling /Masten to get Lecca a fantastic dribbly goal shot was great

good experience for younsters Gaff,Masten,Shuey,Darling ,Natanui and Ebert playing a MCG final

You trolling? Where did you hear this?

He does put a lot of pressure on himself he would have been absolutely gutted by his game no doubt. Hopefully it inspires him to step up a gear.

Definite troll

On Shuey, What I was happy to see was that by the 4th qrt, he had learnt to look around and have better awareness. That kick to Darling, as soon as he got the ball, he made sure he checked who was around him. Good on him for still wanting to take the game on. He will be fine for next week. I think we still forget he has only played 29 games.

Ill say it again, Pendles and Swan get 80 possies between them and we are within 7 points with 5 mins to go!
In the last qtr after darling kicked his goal my mate was shouting we can beat these pricks, the pies supporters were just silent:D
Im telling ya if we could have won just a bit more clean ball around the stoppages we would have rolled them.
For me embers was a little dissapointing, with his big game experiance i had hoped he could punish the pies going forward of the ball, but goldie played well and embers did'nt really get going.
Kerr would have been a big difference in and around the contest.
On Lecca, he pushed up the ground on occasion to find some footy, just couldnt find any space all day as the pies pressure was outstanding, even the miracle from the boundry OBrian was diving to smother the kick and the ball just got past his outstreched hands.
All in all i was rapt, lots of improvement to come just a tad more composure when going forward and things could have been different.

Negative.

IIRC Wellingham kicked a few against us in teh H & A season. Kicked too many critical goals early yesterday. Thought he may have had a lock down yesterday from start. McGinnity when we next meet?

we looked slow out there yesterday - i have a theory that with players like kerr smith , rosa and mcginnity - who have pace - embers does ok - as he can take possession, give it off then block for the fast player (which he does well and rather crunchingly) - take out our legspeed and he doesnt have that good a game because he is slow as sh1t.

oh and yes we would have done better with kerr - but they would have done all right with daisy - i reckon if daisy would have played yesterday we would have been belted - kerr and daisy - well who knows.

Obrien Wellingham Pendles Swan Davis need to be stopped by us on GF day.

Smith to Wellingham? Who does Smith come in for as Waters won't be dropped.

Im telling ya if we could have won just a bit more clean ball around the stoppages we would have rolled them.

This. We need more midfield grunt. plain and simple

They got most of the clearances in in the 2nd & 3rd and we butchered it quite a few times on the rebound. Some of the link up work and disposal from half back was 2010ish.

Quite dissapointing not to pinch it, it will be tough from here. beating carlton to get a chance at geelong just to get another chance at the pies. Still, after the last few years its good to be playing good footy again and to be within a couple of kicks of the premiers.

Done a lot of thought about this game, and I'll simply say that in a way this is a blessing that we lost.

A decent chunk of the 22 we put out on that field had never played finals, so they wouldn't have experienced how fast paced it becomes, how much pressure is involved or the atmosphere. Yes we lost and that sucked, but it also helped expose the players to a finals game. And they have another game next week, which will only further the experience they will get, instead they would have gotten a break if they had won. I'm being realistic in saying we wouldn't be able to win a premiership this year, and so this loss was actually a huge win in which we are able to put even more finals game time into these players for next year.

So yes, it did suck that we lost, but it also is a great thing for our young players to be able to experience another finals game next week.

Just of Shuey, he definitely had a poor game, but I did enjoy the fact he kept trying to take the game on even after being run down multiple times. A fair few young players would've gone into their shell and started playing safe after it happened the first time. It was good to see him still have some confidence, even if he did take his performance to heart.

At the ground, the Shue was absolutely in the contest, so he was caught a couple of times. But he was caught having the courage to take the game on with limited options ahead. He was in our most dangerous group of players and was our No 1 attacking midfielder thus took all the heat. Check his stats. he had none of the luxury of outside soft posessions.

I have also now watched the replay and suspect a moronic comentary may sway opinions.

On Shuey, What I was happy to see was that by the 4th qrt, he had learnt to look around and have better awareness. That kick to Darling, as soon as he got the ball, he made sure he checked who was around him..
He still did a lot of very good things for someone that played "the worst, deer in headlights, out of his league" etc that some have posted.
Some of his earlier work was great and the redeeming tackle helped.

The pace lifted being a final but he was our only mid to take the game on through the guts. On the look around (and he looked both sides) makes it easier if your teammates are yelling "you're clear" etc..
Noise.. Pace.. Finals..

Our voice must have been lacking on a few occasions. Perhaps it was the 70k crowd noise also contributing to that.

Positives:

Nic Nat showed how good he really is
Glass...should definitely be AA full back
Mackenzie, brilliant game
Can hold our heads high, took it up to the reigning premiers

Negatives

...didn't get the win
Shuey was pretty poor
Midfield got smashed, bad
Where art thou Kerr? :(
Coxy injured
Adam Selwood's slip :(

Positives

Naita
Masten/Gaff showing they are up to the level
Last quarter fightback
Backline keeping Collingwood to 12 goals
Mackenzie/Glass

Negatives

Bashing of Shuey by supporters/commentators
Collingwood crowds lack of knowledge about the game, constantly calling for ball etc
Getting smashed in clearances when we dominate the ruck
Allowing Pendles, Swan Davis etc to rack up massive possessions

Having watched the game live in very good seats it was pretty obvious that West Coast lacked run. Too many times we got the ball at half back or just on the defensive side of the wing and rather than move it quickly we took the second option of kicking it to a pack.

We were a midfielder short. Kerr would have made a huge difference and I even think had Ash Smiths' form not deteriorated so much in the final few games, combined with an hamstring injury, he too would have had an impact.

It was only in the last quarter when we started running the ball and looking for team-mates rather than kicking it long and hoping that we looked dangerous.

The reality is Collingwood were far better with their execution and dominated the stoppages and yet we almost won.

I really think that if Kerr is fit he is an obvious automatic inclusion and I would seriously contemplate Smith. I think Ebert will be the unlucky one and I am not sure who else. McGinnity should be in the 21.

Interesting selection ahead.

It was just a few poor decisions that let us down really. That MacKenzie handball to noone where Collingwood got their first goal, Selwood's slip, Nicoski's handball to Lecras who got immediately tackled (when we were down 7 in the 4th...).

We missed Kerry something fierce in a game like that. Needed his clearance work and class.

i thought it was very evident who has played finals and who hadnt. for example beau waters FEROCIOUS tackling and attack on the footy especially early on showed he has played on the big stage before, he knows how to channel those nerves into calculated hardness just turning up the angry meter those extra few notches. i know it sounds childish but waters hardness early on in the piece in finals will do wonders for the inexperienced youngsters such as gaff, scotty selwood, shuey, and the like who may be a bit tentative early in a final. kinda like woosha was to the young cousins, wirra, and the like the kind of guy that just makes you feel safe around him.

You could say the same about any home crowd, they all call ball, whether it is there or not.

Bingo. I spent a year in WA and went to every Eagles game. I'm sorry to say guys but you take the cake. :D

On another note, I don't understand the Shuey bashing. The kid took it on, failed at times, but is a jet and he'll win you a final one day by taking the game on like he did Sat. :thumbsu:

i thought it was very evident who has played finals and who hadnt. for example beau waters FEROCIOUS tackling and attack on the footy especially early on showed he has played on the big stage before, he knows how to channel those nerves into calculated hardness just turning up the angry meter those extra few notches. i know it sounds childish but waters hardness early on in the piece in finals will do wonders for the inexperienced youngsters such as gaff, scotty selwood, shuey, and the like who may be a bit tentative early in a final. kinda like woosha was to the young cousins, wirra, and the like the kind of guy that just makes you feel safe around him.
LOVED his hardness and attack on both the footy and the man, HATED his turnovers where kicks went straight to the opposition.

He is the vice captain, leads by example and would be starting 21 whenever he is fit... I just wish he was a little more reliable by foot. Adam Selwood also falls into this category (does 20 positive things each match, but then has 2-4 brain fades or skill errors that often directly result in goals). McGinnity was in this category in 2010 however has improved significantly in 2011.

Positive
Cox was gone 10 mins to go in the Second quarter. He was doing a tremendous job till then. We missed him and with him fit and firing we may of stolen the game.
Stolen because we had too many players in space simply bombing the ball(S Selwood)

If he is fit then we will beat Carlton if he's not we'll struggle

Review Positives & Negatives vs Collingwood