Preview Pre season 2012/13 starts....now!!!

TMAC is a pretty serious nugget

Otten, Jenkins, Jaensch I think, not sure, not sure, Nutta, Atkins I think, not sure, Sloane, not sure, Hartigan - who is a big lad and I will say has an AFL ready body. Bit behind in the running stakes though, they had him doing extra work on that today and for a while by the looks.

crows4.jpg

VB, not sure, Crouch, not going to bother with the obscured ones, Dowdell, Lyons, Vince, Rutten, Pig dog, Thommo obscured - can still see a gun poking out tho, Wrighty in front of him, Porps, not sure, Ellis Yoleman and Kerridge. Its interesting to compare the builds of say Crouch and Lyons who dont look that far apart. Dowdell is a fair size and looks in good condition, didnt see him at all around the footy though so cant tell how good he is at that part. Aiden Riley does well in the contests considering his arms and legs. Kerridge has solid arms shoulders and thighs.
crows5.jpg

Kerridge, Mackay i think, Pizza Boy, Brown
crows6.jpg

TMac, Hartigan, Sloane, unknown,Dowdell,VB, Luke Thommo I think, Mackay perhaps
crows7.jpg

Any chance we can stick Hartigan and Dowdell in the goalsquare together against GWS, just for a laugh?

Most, if not all of the lads look like they've sized up. Sando's mission of being the hardest hitting/most physical team in the comp well and truly on track you'd think. Great stuff.

Crouch looks like an action figure.

Unfortuneately bigfooty is squishing down some of the wider photos up so they arent as easy to look at as I expected, well, first time, least I'll know for now on.
Laird, Smack - who has one of the worst running styles you'll see - I thought we would have had a running coach work with him on that - anyway - least this year he doesnt have the coaches running with him encouraging him - thats reserved for graham and some other tall player - osborn perhaps, Tex I think, Danger, Johnstone - who's upper body is ok, skinny legs though, stayed after training to work with tex on body on body marking, tex marked 2, johnstone should have had one but tex knocked it out at the end, tex gave away a free on one and the other two were nil all draws, Otten - he's the other way around from Johnstone, skinny arms but solid legs, Jenkins, Jaensch I think, Mackay, Tom Lynch I think, Atkins I think and Nutta.
crows8.jpg

Rutten - who is the most solid of all the crows, unsuprisingly, if he's been slimming down the last couple of years, I would have at to have seen him at his peak, Thommo, Riley, not sure, Wright, Yolmen, Porps, Lyons, Kerridge i think
crows9.jpg

Pizza boy cracked a joke, Curly doesnt think its funny, Brown thinks to himself "Curly's gonna smash you for that Pizza boy", Porps laughs at the booga he just picked out of his nose and Lyons and Kerridge are the normal ones of the group!
crows10.jpg

Key positioner size comparo
Like I said B4 LJ's arms are ok, legs are skinny as, Smack is a reasonable build, comparable to tex, Otten's arms arent even as big as Mackay's lol! Jenkins a fair size and looking in frickin superb nick, stayed back after training to work with Clarke and Bicks on his ruckwork.

crows11.jpg

More key position size comparison. Lynch, Curly, Kerridge I think, Talia's getting to be a decent build, Otten, Johnston and Sauce.
crows12.jpg

Brown and some unknown, anyone know who he is?
crows13.jpg

Dowdell, Hartigan - obscured but still big enough to stick out either side of tex! - he's not bigger than tex, not far smaller though and a good height too. Rutten, the biggest of all, Mackay and Lynch.
crows14.jpg

That's it for the photos.

Great work with the photos Carmo. Very much appreciated. :thumbsu:

Loved your picture commentary on the one starting with "Pizza boy cracked a joke ..... etc!!" Did make me laugh!! :D

Looking forward now to your write-up.

I must confess ive never been to a crows training before, so I dont have a good benchmark to comment on this player looks to be going well etc etc.

First I must say I admire people who do these reports and know who the players are, I had so much trouble at the start, took the first hour just to start to work out who was who!

Various items of note:
Shaw and Martin ran laps away from the group.

Jaensch looks like he could do with some extra fitness, I believe his surgery has put him behind and its noticeable that he's behind the midfielders, still looks to be really putting in tho.

Angus Graham def needs some fitness work, lagged behind in the running. The extra running group seemed to be Siggins, Hartigan, Stiffy (though beagle 2 reckons this is the best he's seen him at the start of a season for a while), Smack, Graham.

I cant believe what a roadshow they have out there. Do they really need all those staff??? Having never seen a training before, I did not expect a cast like that. You cant convince me that they're all needed and that there isnt ways things could be done more cost effectively.

There's friggin heaps of look alikes in our squad. Especially amongst some of the talls, especially with caps on, with the hats on you have trouble telling Lynch, from Smack, from Osborne etc.

Crouch looks good in the exercises, didnt stand out as much in the scratchy, was tagging danger though.

Jenkins, Hendo looked good in the scratch match. The bibs seemed to be using Johnstone as an avenue to goal a lot. Tex scored a lot in the scratchy. Sloane got plenty of it. Aiden Riley did well, got plenty of it, coach seemed to look after him a bit as well with frees for effort and hard earned's, think we might have a bit of a pet. He did one shocker of a kick though, turnover cost his team a goal I reckon!

Pets is not as good a distance runner as I would have thought, not slow, obviously, but endurance is not as good as I thought it would be for a small player. Orval also was pretty slow, still he iced up and went off early so that may be the reason.

Wright, Callinan and Riley seemed to be doing extra running work.

Crazy variety of exercises! I was flat out trying to make sense of them too!

O yer, sorry Vader, but Tambo was leading a lot of the running, looked good in the drills, was being used as a focal out of the forward line in one of them. Think we might see a bit more of him yet.

Think that's about it.

Great work with the photos Carmo. Very much appreciated. :thumbsu:

Loved your picture commentary on the one starting with "Pizza boy cracked a joke ..... etc!!" Did make me laugh!! :D

Looking forward now to your write-up.

Cheers Macca, hope you like the write up but sorry I couldnt add much more as I havent been before. If anyone has any questions I'll check back later tonight and answer any I find.

Cornsey and Rowey are back on the job this afternoon and they have just interviewed the big Sauce, Sam Jacobs.

Sauce said training structure much the same as last year but more intense and a little harder.

When asked what youngsters had impressed him, he responded with Ellis-Yolmen and Grigg. Rowey said that Ellis-Yolmen reminded him of a young Goodes (we can only hope). Crouch was doing his thing and coming on nicely and virtually had a full AFL body already - the advantage of being here for a year before the other draftees.

Rowey said that Graham was gunning for Sauce's spot and how did he feel about that - same every year, always someone gunning for your spot. Sauce will just do his thing.

Would you like to do against Port what Geelong and North Melbourne are doing against each other with match simulation each week? Sauce not too sure about that as there were both advantages and disadvantages in doing that

New fitness staff had them doing boxing Tuesday and Friday, plus wrestling and tackling.

Is training more along game simulation now - yes but about 2 weeks later than last year.

Does he think throwing up at stoppages instead of bouncing will have an effect - yes because less time for him and mids to get there.

Rowey asked whether Sando look tired after his honeymoon. Nah up and about, says Sauce. Rowey then says that the reason he asked was because he was knackered after his own honeymoon. Pointless stuff really.

Who did the coaching in Sando's absence. Obvious answer given - the assistant coaches Bicks Bailey and Campo

They mentioned that Mackay was now engaged and that it was a romantic proposal. Apparently he left a message in a bottle, but Sauce wouldn't elaborate on that other than that it was romantic. Anone know anything here?

Cornesy wished Sauce a repeat of last year's form with more common sense from the AA selectors at the end of the interview.

After Sauce had gone Cornesy said that Sauce had played 60 games now which was about the mark where ruckmen come into their prime, which augurs well for Sauce in the coming season.

I must confess ive never been to a crows training before, so I dont have a good benchmark to comment on this player looks to be going well etc etc.

First I must say I admire people who do these reports and know who the players are, I had so much trouble at the start, took the first hour just to start to work out who was who!

Various items of note:
Shaw and Martin ran laps away from the group.

Jaensch looks like he could do with some extra fitness, I believe his surgery has put him behind and its noticeable that he's behind the midfielders, still looks to be really putting in tho.

Angus Graham def needs some fitness work, lagged behind in the running. The extra running group seemed to be Siggins, Hartigan, Stiffy (though beagle 2 reckons this is the best he's seen him at the start of a season for a while), Smack, Graham.

I cant believe what a roadshow they have out there. Do they really need all those staff??? Having never seen a training before, I did not expect a cast like that. You cant convince me that they're all needed and that there isnt ways things could be done more cost effectively.

There's friggin heaps of look alikes in our squad. Especially amongst some of the talls, especially with caps on, with the hats on you have trouble telling Lynch, from Smack, from Osborne etc.

Crouch looks good in the exercises, didnt stand out as much in the scratchy, was tagging danger though.

Jenkins, Hendo looked good in the scratch match. The bibs seemed to be using Johnstone as an avenue to goal a lot. Tex scored a lot in the scratchy. Sloane got plenty of it. Aiden Riley did well, got plenty of it, coach seemed to look after him a bit as well with frees for effort and hard earned's, think we might have a bit of a pet. He did one shocker of a kick though, turnover cost his team a goal I reckon!

Pets is not as good a distance runner as I would have thought, not slow, obviously, but endurance is not as good as I thought it would be for a small player. Orval also was pretty slow, still he iced up and went off early so that may be the reason.

Wright, Callinan and Riley seemed to be doing extra running work.

Crazy variety of exercises! I was flat out trying to make sense of them too!

O yer, sorry Vader, but Tambo was leading a lot of the running, looked good in the drills, was being used as a focal out of the forward line in one of them. Think we might see a bit more of him yet.

Think that's about it.

Think Pets might be a bit behind the eight ball with his fitness with the off season sugery and all.

Otten - he's the other way around from Johnstone, skinny arms but solid legs,

I find this strange, as surely when he hurt his knee, he would've been restricted to upperbody work. :confused:
However, I can understand him wanting to strengthen his legs to avoid re-injury.

Must say, this thread is starting to kick some goals :thumbsu:

Thanks to all contributors, photographers, 5aa paraphrasers.

First time I've felt any pang of interest in the fortunes of the club since you know what

Cheers all for the encouragement.

Stripple, that would be right, wasnt taking it into account, given that he's prolly still a bit behind porps and jaensch who also had surgery but its not as bad as I thought then.

Footypie, I find it strange that people can be built like that at all, I always thought if you were heavy up top, you were heavy down the bottom, if you were skinny it was top and bottom, but there was few out there today that had the differences. Perhaps its part of a plan, but as an example, Doughty went a lot better when he built his legs up, which he did after recognising that part of his body was undersized, so you'd think the players and the club would work on building up all parts evenly, we'll I'd think it anyway!!

One other thing I forgot to mention, I thought looking at Rory Laird on tv in SANFL that he might be a bit tentative and reserved person, but he is confident and cruises around like he fits in and in the drills and scratchies he looked right at home.

Another one I remembered, Douglas was being encouraged a bit by the coaches to take the game on in the scratchy and a fair bit of ball seemed to go through him, so I think he's definitely in favour.

Preview Pre season 2012/13 starts....now!!!