Preview Pre season 2012/13 starts....now!!!

Anyone been to the Footy Tragic website they have a pretty good write up on us Id post a link but I get server errors everytime i try.

Just had a read then and it was quite insightful. Judging by that, we should absolutely be one of the favourites next year and should be able to cover the loss of KT. Seemed to suggest are backline is well placed for the future once Rutten, Reilly and Johncock move on, but I'm not so sure. I good read none the less.

And I also tried posting the link without success.

No, it was definitely Dangerfield. Mackay might also have suffered a serious injury, but Dangerfield did too. He tried to/was asked to jump into full training right away, injured himself, carried the injury back to Victoria, then trained poorly by himself (presumably he didn't know what he was doing and never asked) and was still suffering from the injury at the start of the next preseason. You might recall that there were question marks over whether he would even be playing in round 1 2009 because the coaches were so disappointed in how he'd presented (of course these went right out the window when he was picked in the NAB Cup and looked great). At the time they didn't realise he was still carrying an injury from a year ago because he hadn't spoken up about it.

Meanwhile at one point in the 08/09 preseason, along with Dangerfield the entire draft class of 2008 was injured, and the club underwent a review out of which they decided to start easing new draftees in a bit slower.

Sam Kerridge was just on 5aa. Adter the usual welcomes etc, the boys (Bones and Wildy) mentioned that he had won the Mark Bickley award in 2012, which is presented to the Crows' best first or second-year player for their on and off-field record. to Sam said that while he was pleased with that, but that its all about the team not the individual.

He sounds a bit ockerish - perhaps because he's a country boy - when he speaks, but he speaks from the heart. He's moved in with Danger now and and that apart from things about footy he hoped to learn a few cooking tips.

He said that you try to tag along blokes like Thommo to pick up little bits and pieces to improve his game.

Homesickness? Nah - a bit tough at the start but you just have to throw yourself into it and he no longer is.

Who is outstanding at training? His initial answer was everybody but eventally broke it down to Grigg and Stiggins. Was asked about Jenkins and said that he was cruising.

Knows that its a tough midfield to break into but said that he's throwing a bit of Danger , a bit of Thommo and a bit of Sloane into his game and thinks that will stand him in good stead.

Been doing match simulation for a couple of weeks now - everyone fit and up and about. Internal trials just around the corner.

2nd year pre-season definitely easy than first. You know whats coming so you're mentally and physically prepared for whats coming.

Asked who wins in arm wrestle of him with Paddy - Paddy.

Had a quiet start to last year at Sturt but got better and better as the year went on and wants to take that form forward into 2013. Agreed with the boys that it would make Crows SANFL players lives easier if they were all in a Crows reserve side together.

While the interview was happening, Paddy texted in to the boys and said to ask him how Sam's new girlfriend is going - which embarrassed him a bit and he declined to answer. :)

Prompted the boys to say that Paddy organises everything, organises the fishing, always on 5aa, on the brekky show, he might as well run the joint. :)

Very impressed with the lad. Open forthright and honest and talks as if he'll do anything to succeed. Let's hope that he does. :thumbsu:

Good write up Macca, thanks for that.

Of the few times I've been to training this pre-season, Sam has really stood out in voice and leadership. For a second year player, he's very vocal out on the track, gee-ing up the boys and such. For example, in the tug of war game, he was in a team with Truck, Gus and Lyons, and it was Sam who was the voice of the group, yelling out encouragement and the like. He's impressed me quite a bit.

I think Grigg might surprise a few new year. Has the talent it's just putting it together. I hope the penny's dropped for him this year. Also is a left footer which will come in handy.

Reckon he and Atkins will competing for the same role. Us drafting Atkins might've put a firecracker up Mitch. Is Bassett still with Norwood? Will be shocked if he doesn't play seniors for Norwood a lot more next year. I really hope he makes the most of this opportunity.

Yes he is, Bassett has already identified Mitch as a replacement for Batsansis and that's before Chaica was picked up as well. So unless we get some new recruits there will be opportunities

I don't know what it is but he reminds me of Dustin Fletcher. If he can half as good as him, me and everyone else will be happy. Just check his highlights package on youtube.

That's exactly what I thought when I saw his highlights package - in the mould of Dustin Fletcher. :thumbsu:

He certainly looks promising IMO.

Need to see him body on body against AFL quality players. We all had high hopes for DT as he was always very reliable body on body and now is arguably one of the best in the comp based on form last year (assuming he only gets better from here). You could even tell that with Tex in his first few games - the right little nudges here and there against lesser opponents gave me every hope he was going to be able to compete like he did this season now his body has filled out (and how!)

I love the highlights of Siggins always looking to get involved once the ball is back in his teams hands. He uses the ball really well by foot and seems to have good awareness in a contest and good hands to get it to runners. Again - the key will be his ability to defend body on body against AFL quality players. We should get a glimpse if he plays this year - but obviously years away from having the body to be able to do it in a key post - even if he does have the ability.

Need to see him body on body against AFL quality players. We all had high hopes for DT as he was always very reliable body on body and now is arguably one of the best in the comp based on form last year (assuming he only gets better from here).
Hate when people call Talia DT, I spend the next few minutes saying to myself "dream team?" only to figure out it's Talia (guess it means I'm a little too fantasy football minded). :p

Harness Racing's feature race of the year, the SA Cup, was held at Globe Derby tonight - great race, largest crowd there for many a year.

4 Crows players were there - Reilly, Wright, Henderson and Doughty - to participate by driving in a pony race in between races. Natural horsemen these boys are not. :)

Apart from the time driving in their race, they spent the rest of the evening in the Committee room as guests on the table adjacent to the one that I was sitting at.

This gave me the opportunity to talk to the boys on and off for most of the night, and I have to say that as people they were really impressive, particularly Doughty and Henderson who I spoke to the most. Because I've been in harness racing for many years, I was volunteered to try and steer them into a winner, which I did with mixed success.

Naturally I couldn't resist asking the boys footy based questions at times, and without going overboard they were pretty open with their answers.

One question which was directed to all of them was which players who weren't regulars in 2012 will be regulars in 2013 in their opinion, and they were actually unanimous on this one. Just two - Jenkins and Crouch.

They all have massive wraps on Jenkins and they all believe he will kick around 40 goals this year. He's the 5th fastest player in the club even though he weighs 102kg which makes him both strong and mobile. Add to that his overhead marking and they were adamant that he will become a gun forward.

Because of this they all thought that we won't miss Tippett at all, and a couple of them actually believe that we will play better with Jenkins there than Tippett. Their reasoning on this is that Tippett wasn't a natural footballer and was re-active rather than pro-active and a bit slow with his thinking. On the other hand they believe that Jenkins is a much more instinctive footballer and believe he has a big future ahead of him.

When I aked them what they thought of Tippett as a person for leaving and doing it in the manner that he did, their was no animosity about him changing clubs, as that was understandable to them given the money he will be getting. However, their reaction to how he did it was a different question altogether, and there were some fairly unflattering things said about him. One thing they were adamant about is that he will cop a hard time from the players when we play against him both physically and verbally.

Crouch they said was a given to play most games this year, while other players will play odd games here and there as injuries occur, but that was about it in their opinion.

They said that different players had been tried on Doughty's HBF including Douglas. When I said that didn't seem a good idea as he'd almost certainly fall over at critical times, they went into hysterics. One of them said that Dougie did look at times as if he was on a skating rink, which cracked them all up again.

They are really confident about the year ahead and believe that with Sando at the helm and 20 odd games more under the belts of most players, we should be even better than last year.

All in all a pleasant evening made even more pleasant by the interaction with these 4 young men. :thumbsu:

Preview Pre season 2012/13 starts....now!!!