3 Izak Rankine (ADEL)
3 Reilly O'Brien (ADEL)
1 Darcy Wilson (STK)
1 Josh Worrell (ADEL)

Coaches votes. Looks like a split of:
Dawson/Soligo/Rankine/Rachele/Worrell
Dawson/Soligo/ROB/Rachele/Wilson

With the 3 and 1 votes interchangeable

I reckon Peatling is the faster decision maker. Berry usually seems about 1/2 a step off the pace in terms of ball handling and making decisions. That should mean the gap between Peatling and Berry will grow in games played against better sides at a higher pace/intensity

Peatling gets possessions by extracting the ball with pace and agility and finding an exit to dispose of it.

Berry gets possession by trying to brute-force his way through the contest and emerge on the other side of it.

They're different kinds of players. Both useful in their own right, but not the same.

Curtin is more Bontempelli/Jordan Dawson than he is a key defender imo. Absolutely stoked we have him. Looks like he will spend time forward and on the bench with brief spurts in the middle (if yesterday is anything to go by). Wouldn't be surprised to see him have games where he gets 15 and a couple of goals followed by much quieter games. Hopefully in time he is forcing his way into the midfield full-time.
If this is true, it's good that we're following the AFC tradition with midfielders we recruit by playing them in no-mans land at half forward where they don't get the ball.

Love it, generates proven results as per the last 5+ years.

If this is true, it's good that we're following the AFC tradition with midfielders we recruit by playing them in no-mans land at half forward where they don't get the ball.

Love it, generates proven results as per the last 5+ years.
Whether Curtin is going to be a midfielder or not (and I don't think we know yet), I don't think it would do him any favours to play him full time in the midfield at this point. Nor would it help the team win games which is something we should be trying to do this year. We've got plenty of good options through the middle. The occasional CBA sure, but picking him as a midfeidler would be silly.

If he's going to find his way at AFL level this year it's going to be something like half-forward or a rebounding half-back, which he certainly has the skills to do. It's not like asking Sam Berry to play forward pocket or Matt Crouch to play wing.

We all know what the good was but geez, heart in mouth stuff when Keane and Murray have ball in hand looking to switch play and kick across goals or into the middle. turnovers will be frustrating by those two this year... so expect a few Kyle Hartigan moments.

Does this flog Kornes ever give up on this crap, he can't tell anyone this is anything other than a personal vendetta.

I love that Kane is talking about "difficult conversations" and "doing what is best for the club" regarding the end of a career. The lack of self-awareness with ex-footy players is pretty staggering sometimes.

10 Jordan Dawson (ADEL)
8 Jake Soligo (ADEL)
4 Joshua Rachele (ADEL)
3 Izak Rankine (ADEL)
3 Reilly O'Brien (ADEL)
1 Darcy Wilson (STK)
1 Josh Worrell (ADEL)

The lack of NWM is astounding? Not a single vote from either coach?

A coach rating O'Brien but not Rankine is also a bit questionable

10 Jordan Dawson (ADEL)
8 Jake Soligo (ADEL)
4 Joshua Rachele (ADEL)
3 Izak Rankine (ADEL)
3 Reilly O'Brien (ADEL)
1 Darcy Wilson (STK)
1 Josh Worrell (ADEL)

Crikey, I liked O'Brien's game more than most but I wouldn't have him anywhere near the coaches votes, let alone 3rd best. Strange call, especially with the same coach not even mentioning Rankine.

Nicks gave Reilly's game a big rap in his presser so he would definitely have given him votes.

I suspect you're right.

Like I say, I thought he was good. But so were most of his teammates, and some were exceptional.
Didn't Gerard Healey mention he'd had 30 plus hit outs and 11 hit outs to advantage in that number at one point in the 3rd quarter...and we did win the Centre clearances 20 - 11 with Crouch the best of our mids with 5 and Rankine with 3.

The lack of NWM is astounding? Not a single vote from either coach?

A coach rating O'Brien but not Rankine is also a bit questionable
I don’t mind ROB getting votes, but yeah Rankine not getting any from one coach is strange

If it was up to me I wouldn’t have given any Saints player votes (not to say NWM and Wilson weren’t good, our guys were just better)

I'd like to say the pre game stuff was the best we've had in years.

Loved the Sax man on the roof and have Sandstorm before the bounce was fantastic that will go off at a night game!

Even the song that played as we ran out was much better than bloody seven nation army that's tired old and over used.

Was an enjoyable day at the footy yesterday. We haven't had a lot of those the last few years, so I'm gonna be happy about it.

Good:
  • Dawson just roaming around, clunking marks, hitting targets. Does that for 22 games and the gold jacket is his again, and another AA jacket.
  • Rankine had a quiet game by his standards and yet had nearly 30 and 2. Just shows the levels this guy could go to.
  • Soli was great. He wasn't as clean as he usually is, for me. But still a great game.
  • Rachele playing the exact game we want from him. 20+ and 2 goals (should have been 4, his 2 misses were poor) More please, Rash
  • Worrell was just a wall back there. His 3 defensive efforts in a row in the 3rd were superb
  • Making hay while the sun shined. The wind yesterday was pretty bad. Easily a 5-6 goal breeze to the hill end, and we cashed in during the 1st and 3rd. Broke even in the 2nd and 4th against the wind which is all you can really ask for.

Bad:
  • Ross Lyon ball is horrible. It has always been horrible. Please let it stop.
  • Umpiring was a bit bizarre. Some real head scratchers.

Nicks gave Reilly's game a big rap in his presser so he would definitely have given him votes.
Ruckwork was dominant imo giving our midfielders 1st use.

Marking was cement hands again... may as well just punch.

Cost us a few goals though with turnovers/dropped marks.

Good outweighed the bad, but could he learn to live within his limitations.

Review R1: The Good, Bad and Ugly vs. St Kilda

Write your reply...