Universal Love RIP Russell Ebert. The greatest man!

Russell kicking a goal late in the second quarter of the 1981 grand final after receiving a 30m handball from Dave Granger then raising his hands knowing the Bays were done

I know this is about Russell but that handball from Granger was immense and perfectly placed just in front of Ebert.
Loved the stab kick from Ebert too. Like a short range missile.

I only just realised how strong the 1979 North Melbourne side he played in was.

Wish they won the flag that year now.
Russell played 25 games for North Melbourne, kicked 15 goals, polled 9 Brownlow Medal votes (3rd highest for North that year, behind Gary Dempsey and Ross Glendinning and ahead of North’s recognised VFL stars such as Malcolm Blight, Keith Greig, Stan Alves and Wayne Schimmelbusch), and accumulated 534 possessions for the season.
This post on the North board explains how good that North 1979 sides was compared to their previous 5 seasons and 2 premiership years. they were the 2nd best team behind Carlton that year but stuffed up in the PF, bad goal kicking and didn't make the GF. 9 hall of famers played for them that year and Russell was a good as any of them.

They were so deep Graham Cornes couldn’t crack the midfield and thus pulled up stumps and went home early (not for lack of ability — would win the Tassie Medal for player of the 1980 State Carnival the following year), and Kevin Bryant (B&F in East Perth’s 1978 premiership side) was something of a peripheral figure compared to the established megastars.

Had they been able to bottle and mainline team chemistry in the preseason, it’d take a disaster to stop that array of all-time talent from running the table.

This post is for RussellEbertHandball, as I had texted this to him earlier:

Russell Ebert had incarnated everything that is noble and right about the Port Adelaide Football Club.

An irreplaceable loss.

The telling point for me here is when the writer refers to Russell as one of his few heroes who has retained that status.

I think that sums it up perfectly. As kids and young adults, we can be quick to assign hero status to sportspeople and other entertainers who are great at what they do and provide us with happy moments and memories. It's only as we grow older, more mature and perhaps more objective and cynical that our view of what constitutes a hero changes and we (or at least some of us) realise that attributing hero status to such people is superficial and pointless if we don't take the time to examine their character to find out who they really are and what they've really done to make the world a better place. It's at that point we often realise that many people we've previously thought of as heroes are in fact no such thing and that to be called a hero is an honour that precious few are truly deserving of.

Russell Ebert was one of those precious few. He was my hero as a kid for what he achieved on the field but now in my later years he retains that status for me on account of his character, his conduct and all the good work he has done to improve the lives of others.

Once again, farewell Russell. A true hero and icon who will never be forgotten.

The tributes on twitter and the reaction from Port Adelaide fans and opposition clubs and fans alike has been phenomenal. I'm sad whenever a Port Adelaide footballer passes, but man this has hit close to home because I was him. In the back yard of my parents home, I was Russell Ebert. Been fighting back the tears all day. He was my hero and this very very sad news has just reaffirmed to me that deep down, he still is.

RIP legend.

I know this is about Russell but that handball from Granger was immense and perfectly placed just in front of Ebert.
My thinking has been for a few years now that Russell (and Barry Cable) should coach our AFLW team / development squad how to kick a dropkick and a stab kick. If you can master that on the run, you can master any kick. The men are too arrogant to try it and coaches to allow it to happen. You get players drafted who cant and wont use their left foot if they are a right footer and vice versa.

Kicking - both quality and distance is a big issue in the women's game so getting them to develop a skill the men can't / won't do wouldn't only improve their game, but it differentiates them in a marketing sense.

I was reminded of the extra distance you get from a dropkick two times in 2019, watching footage of Polly Farmer. First when NITV replayed the Nyoongar Footy Magic series, Polly was episode 1 and Barry Cable episode 2, both beautiful exponents of the droppie and stabbie, and then a few months later when Polly passed away and there was lots of repeated vision of his dropkicks.

Sometimes I watch our games and see our players running towards 50m arc and see them just bomb the ball aimlessly towards Charlie or our goals and think to myself, why can't he do a ****in stab pass chest high, so that they aren't bombing over or on top of our players' heads.

I reckon Russell was the last regular exponent of the dropkick and stab kick in the 3 big state leagues. I remember him doing a few in 1984 as I was able to get to a few games, but 1985 he missed games with injuries and I didn't get to watch much footy live that year due to my playing commitments. Doc Wheildon for Fitzroy doing a droppie from the goal square when his opponent was 10m away from him, around 1993-94 doesn't count as a regular exponent.

Moments frozen in time

Russell hoisting the 1977 premiership cup over his head

Russell kicking a goal late in the second quarter of the 1981 grand final after receiving a 30m handball from Dave Granger then raising his hands knowing the Bays were done

Russell soaring on the shoulders of the rucks in a boundary throw in against Sturt in the mid 1970s and winning the hitout

The overhead Hammer of Thor handball that bemused umpires and opponents alike

Russell running into goal from the pocket against Torrens at Thebarton feigning to handball the whole time them casually flicking the ball to boot for a goal

Russell arriving at the Channel 9 studios looking a bit dishevelled and with lipstick on his collar to accept the 1971 Magarey Medal

So many moments frozen in time to be relived and cherished
An other moment that I remember was when Russell was receiving the Mega
Moments frozen in time

Russell hoisting the 1977 premiership cup over his head

Russell soaring on the shoulders of the rucks in a boundary throw in against Sturt in the mid 1970s and winning the hitout

The overhead Hammer of Thor handball that bemused umpires and opponents alike

Russell running into goal from the pocket against Torrens at Thebarton feigning to handball the whole time them casually flicking the ball to boot for a goal

Russell arriving at the Channel 9 studios looking a bit dishevelled and with lipstick on his collar to accept the 1971 Magarey Medal

So many moments frozen in time to be relived and cherished
Whas the same night that Big Bob McLean slipped and fell to ground and Russell sat down next to him?

An other moment that I remember was when Russell was receiving the Mega

Whas the same night that Big Bob McLean slipped and fell to ground and Russell sat down next to him?

That was the 1980 Magarey Medal, when Russell won his unparalleled fourth Medal.

My thinking has been for a few years now that Russell (and Barry Cable) should coach our AFLW team / development squad how to kick a dropkick and a stab kick. If you can master that on the run, you can master any kick. The men are too arrogant to try it and coaches to allow it to happen. You get players drafted who cant and wont use their left foot if they are a right footer and vice versa.

Kicking - both quality and distance is a big issue in the women's game so getting them to develop a skill the men can't / won't do wouldn't only improve their game, but it differentiates them in a marketing sense.

I was reminded of the extra distance you get from a dropkick two times in 2019, watching footage of Polly Farmer. First when NITV replayed the Nyoongar Footy Magic series, Polly was episode 1 and Barry Cable episode 2, both beautiful exponents of the droppie and stabbie, and then a few months later when Polly passed away and there was lots of repeated vision of his dropkicks.

Sometimes I watch our games and see our players running towards 50m arc and see them just bomb the ball aimlessly towards Charlie or our goals and think to myself, why can't he do a fu**in stab pass chest heigh, so that they aren't bombing over or on top of our players' heads.

I reckon Russell was the last regular exponent of the dropkick and stab kick in the 3 big state leagues. I remember him doing a few in 1984 as I was able to get to a few games, but 1985 he missed games with injuries and I didn't get to watch much footy live that year due to my playing commitments. Doc Wheildon for Fitzroy doing a droppie from the goal square when his opponent was 10m away from him, around 1993-94 doesn't count as a regular exponent.
I seem to remember Gary McIntosh doing one as almost a novelty during a game.

Left handed handball too because David had broken his right hand earlier in the finals series.

I'm sad whenever a Port Adelaide footballer passes, but man this has hit close to home because I was him. In the back yard of my parents home, I was Russell Ebert. Been fighting back the tears all day. He was my hero and this very very sad news has just reaffirmed to me that deep down, he still is.

RIP legend.
I think this gets to the essence of why this has affected us so much, those of us who grew up during his career.

I seem to remember Gary McIntosh doing one as almost a novelty during a game.

Greg Phillips kicked a drop kick goal from the goal square in 1990 when Jack threw him forward to join the fun when Scott Hodges was on his 10 goal a game rampage.

Mike Coward has always had a great way with the written words and pretty good with the spoken words as well. From Rooch's article on the club website. Don't know when Mike wrote/said this, but its 100% accurate.

Former Advertiser sportswriter and famed broadcaster Mike Coward captures the essence of this exalted status in football by saying of Ebert: "It is problematic whether there has been a better player anywhere when the ball was on the ground. At pace and with his strong body arched, Russell’s balance, power and calibrated feints in and around packs, often with the ball in one hand, exemplified his greatness. Blessed with sure hands and a sixth sense of which he modestly made light, his courage complemented an exceptional creativeness by hand and foot."

Let's watch those highlights again.

Slightly off topic, but how good is the commentary of Ian 'Elbows" Aitken in a lot of those highlights? Just adds so much to the moment, compared to so much of the dribble spoken by current day commentators.

Russell was always ahead of his time. Played football in the 70's like the full time professionals of the 21st century do. Was the first player I saw who regularly could lift his arms over the tacklers arms and feed off a handball. There were a few others around the county at the time, but he was one of the pioneers of what is standard today. He played basketball in the Riverland for local and representative teams, so it came easy to him, along with having those big hands.

And he was the original FIFO footballer. Fly in Thursday arvo with the family, train, work Friday in the sports industry, play Saturday and fly home Sunday morning, and when he thought he wasn't delivering enough for north, he would add fly in Tuesday arvo, train and fly back home on the last flight and back to work on Wednesday morning. No wonder he was stuffed and said it was too much at the end of 1979.

Also the community stuff footballers do now, he started doing it 40 years ago, as after he won his 1980 Magarey Medal, someone from the Crippled Childrens Association (Novita now) asked him and Barrie Robran to help them out, it was no dramas for him (still had his businesses). It's why when Rob Snowdon asked him to help set up and run our community programs with a primary school principal who took 12 months off work (her name escapes me) he said yep I can do that, and threw himself into it like he did his football career.

This North supporter has cut the open Mike segment where he talks about his days at North. There was a great interview / podcast with SEN's Mark Fine in 2015 that no longer is up where he talks a lot about his North days and some stuff not covered by his Conversation with Cornsey. Alas that podcast has been taken down.

Richo at his presser today. At 8.25 is asked about naming something in recognition of Russell and Richo says haven't thought about that yet but part of the redevelopment of Alberton Oval precinct is to recognise legends of the club.

I reckon there’s a bit of Wally May in there.
yeah a couple of times, the Oh Ebert one handed mark against Centrals on the outer wing, and the That's a Greasy Ball comment against Glenelg after a big mark, is Wally May commenting.

When I was in high school, we had a Crippled Children's Association worker visit for a school assembly talk, would've been around 1978. He proudly and emotionally told us how Russell would come down once a week straight after training in his footy gear and spend time with the kids. No media, no publicity, no fanfare. Just something he did to make the kids feel special.

Universal Love RIP Russell Ebert. The greatest man!