- Apr 25, 2013
- AFL Club
- Port Adelaide
Condolences to the family. Love and respect for Russell will forever continue and will never be forgotten.
AFLW 2024 - Round 10 - Chat, game threads, injury lists, team lineups and more.
I don’t think you could get further away from the ethos of Russell Ebert. He was a competitive beast but he also knew how to move on, get better and come back. Tredders said tonight on AA that one of the strongest memories of Russell was after some of their horror losses it was Ebert that would great them on Monday mornings telling them to get past it and front up again. He didn’t dwell.
He’d never see it being “failed” or let down. He wasn’t bitter and twisted, he was the opposite. And he stuck by his club.
The audacity...
They were great times.The bit when he rucks and just grabs it then runs to goal and sticks it through. The long hand pass from the boundary.
Great vids. How young is Bruce too!
I did shed some tears watching them.Our old mate werner sent me over a copy of this many years ago. Forgotten all about it until I saw your post. Will have to get it out and cry this arvo.
I was there too and I can actually see myself in that famous photo. A privilege to be in the same photo with the great man and our team on that memorable day.I remember standing in the crush of fans on Footy Park oval after we won the '77 grand final and Russell saying 'Taken us a bloody long time but by geez it's worth it'. Thank you Russell