Votes: 17 7.6%
  • Jack Higgins

Votes: 21 9.4%
  • Brandon Ellis

Votes: 26 11.7%

Struggling to identify a role for him. If he’s not going to run and carry he’s a liability.
Still think he deserves a few games to gather the belief.

I don't care for all the banter as it usually turns to ****-headedry very quickly.

We did have injuries last year, a couple of significant ones, but none as significant as Richmond losing Rance. Houli is also a pretty big loss. It'll take a few weeks for Richmond to adapt to playing without Rance who I'd easily rate as one of the top 3 defenders in the comp despite what all the opposition flogs say about him (they'd have him at their club in an instant if they could). Jack f'ing up his wrist so early in the game obviously had a big impact as well. He's one of my favorite players so it really sucked to see him go down like that early in the game.

I always enjoy our matches, especially in the last few years as I love the way Richmond play and it always forces us to play a similar style and it's great to watch.

I thought the whole first round was way too over-umpired so tonight was more refreshing as they let more go, but the umps missed 2 very blatant throws from Sidebottom (one or both of them were in Richmond's forward half which probably would've resulted in a goal to Richmond if payed) and I think it was Treloar who got away with an obvious one in the last qtr.

I've enjoyed watching Richmond games the last few years and was cheering like a madman for you guys in 2017, especially in the finals. My Mum's a big Richmond supporter and goes to most games with her partner. I went to a few Richmond family days when I was a kid and have much love for the Tigers. My Mum's got a photo with Benny Gale displayed very proudly in her living room (He's easily a foot and a half taller than her. She's like a school girl when she see's him down in the rooms after the game!)

Pay no attention to all the sh*t-talking from opposition flogs. You guys will bounce back. I can't see you guys missing the 8. You'll go back to the old drawing board and rebound. I'm sure there's some kids in the 2's you guys have been looking forward to seeing given a chance.

All the best for the year. Hope we have many more good games in the future and that we both get one back on Meth-Coast this year!
Cheers mate.
Too good for us last night

I come in peace.

You guys obviously know your list better than me but I think you may be right. Looks very much like us in 2010. Players like Dawes, Blair, Wellingham, Macaffer, Leigh Brown peaked for a six to twelve month period but it was not sustainable.

We all dream of a dynasty when we win a flag but they are rare. Hawks were just phenomenal.
Na disagree. Think our team is better now than 2017 the gameplan needs an overhaul though. Thank God it’s only round 2.

Let's make a bit of a statement next week. Prestia and his lazy, bs lack of pressure, shit kicking and slowness out.....Ross in.

Send a message to the group.
Dusty deserves to go before Prestia.

This round 2 game in almost a complete replica of last years round 2 game.

Played the previous years runners up
Played like shit
Was still in the game till early in the last despite playing like shit
Both margins blew out late
Massively one sided free kick count
Coughed up goals to opposition on a silver platter through silly turnovers
This board melted hard and got it all out of their system.

What does the future hold, who knows but we all remember how the season panned out for both teams last year.

Edit: lost the possession count by 140+ as well

Just trying to be positive after the debacle last night, but didn't we start in a similar way last season?

Spluttered to a win against Carlton in round 1 then got touched up by Adelaide round 2.
yeh but we didnt have rance out for the season and jack out for 8 weeks

This round 2 game in almost a complete replica of last years round 2 game.

Played the previous years runners up
Played like shit
Was still in the game till early in the last despite playing like shit
Both margins blew out late
Massively one sided free kick count
Coughed up goals to opposition on a silver platter through silly turnovers
This board melted hard and got it all out of their system.

What does the future hold, who knows but we all remember how the season panned out for both teams last year.
need rance and jack to make top 4. we're stuffed this season

this isnt as silly as it sounds was saying this all day today. then not playn balta cmon. riewoldt ruck? castagna not ready? short playn forward? ellis? thought markov wasnt to bad but played forward too. i think we learnt somthn from last year. we will be alright. trolling is a good word for what happened tonight.
My thoughts exactly.

Adam Kingsley is our new midfield coach isn't he.
From what I've seen this year, I'm less than impressed. We look like a bottom 4 midfield.
We rarely look like winning it out of the centre and when we do it's often from a mistake from the opposition.
It looks very vanilla or even worse.

Good news is we played terribly but were within 2 goals at 3/4 time. Collingwood are OK but very beatable if you go hard at them. We played at 20%. IMO we had 20 players that failed completely.

Bad news is our depth is look very ordinary.

Weller is a unskilled role player with big limitations. His decision making is atrocious. He works hard but just lacks the skill required. I can see why he was delisted by a crap side.
Markov - needs delisting. Enough opportunities had. Next
Ellis plays like a coward. I'm sure he's not, but that's exactly how he plays - anyone that says otherwise is watching a different game. That kind of cowardness on the football field cannot be tolerated. It can spread through the team, killing all confidence.

The three amigos need to be put on notice. None of them are cutting it, or even anywhere close to it. Castagna has been singled out but for me Butler is the problem. He continues to make dumb decision after dumb decision. Is he working hard enough? - hell no. He'd be the first of the 3 I'd be tapping on the shoulder and saying - you're letting the team down badly.

We really can't afford to have passengers.

Looking like it's going to be a rough start to the season. Plenty of time to get it right though. Just can't fall too far behind in the win/loss before we get our shit together. I wouldn't expect it to change in a week.

Collingwood were 0 -2 this time last year and they were looking like a bottom 4 side

Gonna be there next week. Looking forward to seeing who runs hard and who the passengers are. They had better not dish that garbage up again.

Our midfield got thrashed. Cotch looked to be trying at least.
Dusty dusty dusty. Just seems to have no hunger right now. Hope he is not suffering from depression of some sorts still. We didn’t capitalise on chances, especially early and in reality that was that and when it was finally out of reach we threw in the towel.
We played lazy. If they switched and then switched back they had space. Our zone was moving at a snails pace and too many gaps appeared. Theirs was far quicker to react and more efficient.
Morons in the media will go the no Rance no Richmond route but Rance wouldn’t have changed the result. No way. More passengers last night than those who turned up to play. Simple.

Side note: I doubt it would have altered the outcome but that umpiring needs answering for based on the numbers alone. That is insanity.

Roast: Dimma tonight, I thought we were very much out coached after quarter time. Yes there was no effort from players but not sure how we continued to structure up the same with no plan B.

This

Talk about just rolling over and accepting it - for long periods of time we were just chasing tail from one side to the other, until eventually Pies broke through.
Should have manned up, 22 on 22 all over and forced contests for a while.

Let's not even get started on non selection of proper tall to be 2nd ruck!

Even after our recent success, I wanted to leave shortly before half time. Sure the umpiring was completely bias, but we looked tired and disinterested. Would not chase, could not tackle, and when we did, we were penalized. The new rules have killed our gameplan. I left not angry with the result, but angry at the incompetence of our Match committee and coaching box. Colonwood have copied and dismantled our gameplan completely. Twice, in three games.

The incompetence of NOT selecting a second ruck. That's inexcusable. To throw the Coleman medalist into the ruck as a spectator for when Cox was in the ruck was comical decision making. A mockery of a gameplan, and now Jack is certain to miss games with his injury.

Outcoached, players with pea hearts and typical Colonwood umpiring bias. Bruise free footy at it's best. Disgraceful effort all round. "No Rance no Richmond" - our backline were overworked from a lazy and impotent midfield.

Balta second ruck, Moore to cover Jack and Garth to cover Grimes.

Changes ;

Out - Jack (hand), Butler, Markov, Weller, Grimes(suspended)
In - Balta, Moore, Bolton, Garth, Baker

WE lost because we were out-coached and they played very well a individuals and as a team.

Some very good players are horribly out of form, Dusty and Rioli especially are putrid right now.

People going BEllis I reckon are dead wrong. he played well defensively and mostly did well when in possession. But he was often playing a rescue role - that is, basically replacing Rance at times. BEllis isn't Rance's armpit. He's a cog in the machine.

Cotch was great. Nank was awesome. Lynch was fantastic - what a player to get for close to free!

This was a game when Balta would have been very useful. I understand playing Jack in the ruck. But it didn't work, and I reckon was never going to work.

We played a non-Richmond game. Not much pressure, fast run on play rarely done, we were neutral and non-aggressive.

The umps cost us about 5 goals all up. Terrible work. I usually support the umps, but this is so far beyond ridiculous.

We must surely improve. So many good players can't keep being poor. We must start to play our game style, because whatever this keepings off thing is we won't win games using it.

Our defence was put under so much pressure because of our midfielders lack of pressure. And when we had the ball we lacked composure and sh!t ourselves.
Changes- Out Ellis, Weller, Castagna, Riewoldt(inj).
In- Balta, Ross, Bolton, Houli.

Gidday team, just home at 3 am after watching both games [vfl-afl] and would like to underline what i saw in both. I see a rfc [all 44 players] that still play a [ROBOTIC ROLE] that the people on the selection squad seem to want? BUT- unless that ''specific'' spot opens up in the firsts no one goes 'up', fine that's our way [imo] My point since i joined 2.5 years ago, is that the players that i have watched through ''tac cup'' [coach], and join our list become trained to fill spots outside and away from what i see [IMO] as their natural ability and the reason they got drafted, and the 'way' they play is taken away from them and they seem to only get to 55% and struggle?? MY POINT- where is the say 'sheedy' type adaptability to play in different positions-well-gone?? 'can it help us'. I see time and time again in the vfl players stuck in positions all day learning their 'Role' and doing absolutely nothing [no ability or out of form] AND no changes made to try and revitalise them? Yesterday at punt road for instance Cholly plays forward most of the game and struggles-why no ruck time to find out- why no going to the backline for a qtr to find form- ITS A BLOODY PRACCY MATCH- Garth deep back all game- why- 'thats his role'- frigg me, we all know what he can do defensively- he needs fitness for crying out loud- give him a run on a wing to gain the ball handling and reading the ball drop skills to get him fit-ITS A BLOODY PRACCY MATCH- try all players in all sorts of positions and we might be surprised at different skills they may show!! and freshen them up mentaly , they are human and need somthing different from the same old-same old-PRACCY MATCH ONLY- why not give Moorey a run up back or through the centre to change his game up? the smalls can try it the talls can try it-Balta was played around the ground, thats good, why not others also is my gripe-This was a praccy match! The afl game was quite simple, super smashed 90% of the game out of the centre, the poor backline did quite well under huge unrelenting pressure and the Collingwood side were always 70% better than us, just a matter of time, after half time, and thats how the cards fell-no panic yet- but a change of the way we go about our footy MUST happen, Now. Cheers Team.

Autopsy Roast & Toast - Round 2 v Collingwood & changes for GWS Rd 3