Votes: 17 7.6%
  • Jack Higgins

Votes: 21 9.4%
  • Brandon Ellis

Votes: 26 11.7%

Even after our recent success, I wanted to leave shortly before half time. Sure the umpiring was completely bias, but we looked tired and disinterested. Would not chase, could not tackle, and when we did, we were penalized. The new rules have killed our gameplan. I left not angry with the result, but angry at the incompetence of our Match committee and coaching box. Colonwood have copied and dismantled our gameplan completely. Twice, in three games.

The incompetence of NOT selecting a second ruck. That's inexcusable. To throw the Coleman medalist into the ruck as a spectator for when Cox was in the ruck was comical decision making. A mockery of a gameplan, and now Jack is certain to miss games with his injury.

Outcoached, players with pea hearts and typical [1] Colonwood umpiring bias. [2] Bruise free footy at it's best. Disgraceful effort all round. "No Rance no Richmond" - our backline were overworked from a lazy and impotent midfield.

Balta second ruck, Moore to cover Jack and Garth to cover Grimes.

Changes ;

Out - Jack (hand), Butler, Markov, Weller, Grimes(suspended)
In - Balta, Moore, Bolton, Garth, Baker

[1] Just came into the office and had one of the Pies supporters complain to me about the umpiring, how the decisions were going Richmond's way... FMD.

[2] Dustin Martin - bruise free. Something is up.

How many tackles?
The Hawthorn game plan this time beats us. Last time it was contested possies.

Tiges obviously have a lot of work to do however the inability to respond to adversity is a worry. Tiges are in danger of becoming a one trick pony just like the Dogs.

Reality is likely only 3-4 omissions, I fully expect Coll to assume flag fav shortly . With a full squad they are a real chance , that doesn’t mean every ****en opponent we play is kitted up like them
That said and done we need to freshen the side up and Have some faith in the likes of baker , Moore and perhaps Ross too . Turn the side over , if butler and george have 2 tackles between them then what time are they playing

Get to work tigers

Out: Riewoldt (inj), Grimes (susp), Weller, Markov, Ellis
In: Moore, Balta, Bolton, Houli, Ross

What I would love to see.

Collingwood beat us again using the same tactics. Even with losses we somehow make the finals. Our game starts to look good and we end up in a prelim against these farquars...

On the day of the game it is raining nonstop. Pies chip tactic comes undone mightily.

Richmond go on to win the flag.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Out - Jack Weller Butler Markov Ellis (Grimes)
In - Houli Townsend Caddy Balta Ross (Garthwaite)

Grimes/Garth Astbury Vlastin
Houli Broad Short
Lambo Martin McIntosh
Higgins Caddy Rioli
Townsend Lynch Castagna
Nank Edwards COTCH
Prestia Graham Ross Balta

We miss towner and caddy big time. The best period we have played for was the last few rounds and finals of 17 because we put on huge pressure but Caddy and Townsend were very hard at it. Especially up front. Miss the towner role of putting a lot of physical pressure on the oppo best intercepter/rebounder

Presuming Jack is out, I'd like to see us line like this next week.

B: Grimes Astbury Vlastuin
HB: Short Balta Broad
C: Edwards Cotchin McIntosh
HF: Higgins Lynch Lambert
F: Martin CCJ Rioli
R: Nankervis Graham Prestia
IC: Ross Butler Markov Castagna

Use the opportunity to see how some kids go. Ross has been on the fringes of the side so bring him in. Put Balta at CHB and tell him to atrack the ball whenever he can. Play CCJ up forward and can also play ruck, with Nank resting forward. Gets us back to the structure that we'd be training all summer for.
There's no way Hardwick will change our team up and start playing kids, he is too stubborn. He will make 1 or 2 forced changes this week and thats it.

Wouldnt be suprised if he didnt pick Balta again. Ross might be the only one he might give a game too considering how bad our midfield is at present.

On SM-G935F using BigFooty.com mobile app

Miss the towner role of putting a lot of physical pressure on the oppo best intercepter/rebounder
Yep. Shame our match committee don't feel the same.

After reading this thread, I guess it’s safe to say:

All our players are now shit.
Our season is over after round 2.
Our window is shut. (Even if there’s no such thing)
Lynch wasn’t worth the money.
Grimes and Titch are being incarcerated for assault.
Dimma needs to be sacked.
Jack has had his arm amputated.

I guess I’ll have to ECO and check back in before dunno let’s say 2050!

Adam Kingsley is our new midfield coach isn't he.
From what I've seen this year, I'm less than impressed. We look like a bottom 4 midfield.
We rarely look like winning it out of the centre and when we do it's often from a mistake from the opposition.
It looks very vanilla or even worse.

Good news is we played terribly but were within 2 goals at 3/4 time. Collingwood are OK but very beatable if you go hard at them. We played at 20%. IMO we had 20 players that failed completely.

Bad news is our depth is look very ordinary.

Weller is a unskilled role player with big limitations. His decision making is atrocious. He works hard but just lacks the skill required. I can see why he was delisted by a crap side.
Markov - needs delisting. Enough opportunities had. Next
Ellis plays like a coward. I'm sure he's not, but that's exactly how he plays - anyone that says otherwise is watching a different game. That kind of cowardness on the football field cannot be tolerated. It can spread through the team, killing all confidence.

The three amigos need to be put on notice. None of them are cutting it, or even anywhere close to it. Castagna has been singled out but for me Butler is the problem. He continues to make dumb decision after dumb decision. Is he working hard enough? - hell no. He'd be the first of the 3 I'd be tapping on the shoulder and saying - you're letting the team down badly.

We really can't afford to have passengers.

Looking like it's going to be a rough start to the season. Plenty of time to get it right though. Just can't fall too far behind in the win/loss before we get our shit together. I wouldn't expect it to change in a week.

Collingwood were 0 -2 this time last year and they were looking like a bottom 4 side

Gonna be there next week. Looking forward to seeing who runs hard and who the passengers are. They had better not dish that garbage up again.
I'm heading up too mate. Will see you there.

WE lost because we were out-coached and they played very well a individuals and as a team.

Some very good players are horribly out of form, Dusty and Rioli especially are putrid right now.

People going BEllis I reckon are dead wrong. he played well defensively and mostly did well when in possession. But he was often playing a rescue role - that is, basically replacing Rance at times. BEllis isn't Rance's armpit. He's a cog in the machine.

Cotch was great. Nank was awesome. Lynch was fantastic - what a player to get for close to free!

This was a game when Balta would have been very useful. I understand playing Jack in the ruck. But it didn't work, and I reckon was never going to work.

We played a non-Richmond game. Not much pressure, fast run on play rarely done, we were neutral and non-aggressive.

The umps cost us about 5 goals all up. Terrible work. I usually support the umps, but this is so far beyond ridiculous.

We must surely improve. So many good players can't keep being poor. We must start to play our game style, because whatever this keepings off thing is we won't win games using it.
Yep. Spot on. When we are bad we are bad. There is no inbetween with the new Richmond. It is how they responed going forward. If they are not purring on July and August then we are in trouble. Looking at the fixture this week and next week alot times will be 1-2

There's no way Hardwick will change our team up and start playing kids, he is too stubborn. He will make 1 or 2 forced changes this week and thats it.

Wouldnt be suprised if he didnt pick Balta again. Ross might be the only one he might give a game too considering how bad our midfield is at present.

To be fair, why would he "play the kids?" We're 1-1

Ellis should go back to the VFL for a month or more.
I said last week he was awful in the VFL. Yes he got 40 but he was also the highest possie player for us last night.
His decision making is awful!!

Id do:
Garth for Grimes
Balta for Markov
Baker for Ellis
Moore/Townsend for Weller
Ellis should have gone to North like it was rumored. He would be their problem now, he is just decreasing his value each time he plays. Maybe Gold Coast will still be interested at years end.

After reading this thread, I guess it’s safe to say:

All our players are now shit.
Our season is over after round 2.
Our window is shut. (Even if there’s no such thing)
Lynch wasn’t worth the money.
Grimes and Titch are being incarcerated for assault.
Dimma needs to be sacked.
Jack has had his arm amputated.

I guess I’ll have to ECO and check back in before dunno let’s say 2050!

pretty much on the ball :)

Definitely missed an extra tall defensivly especially when trying to lock down our forward press

Don’t know how the pies managed to have 3 spares down back when chipping around but still managed to have open numbers down the wing and just easily cut us open the way they did

Just laziness on our Mids and forwards not manning up and zoneing too far back down the ground

Our defence Held up pretty well over all the dam was always going to burst due to the lack of support they had

Expecting at least 4 changes with Balta, Garthwaite, Ross and Moore all having a crack

Autopsy Roast & Toast - Round 2 v Collingwood & changes for GWS Rd 3