Autopsy Roast & Toast vs GWS and Changes for R3 vs St Kilda

Best vs Giants

Cumberland and Balta in the forwardline will result in some long range goals. He has a long left leg, pinged one today that easily went 60
This is a bloke we hung out to dry in no mans land at the end of last season without a contract. Anyone with half a clue could see he was extremely talented. That was truly baffling player management.

Magnificent post mate. 👍💪

Cheers mate, was a very enjoyable match report to write. :thumbsu:

Was easy to overlook our ruck strength R1 where Nank and soldo where clearly underdone given their interrupted prep , going forward it will be a strength of ours .

Cameron said in an interview through the week that they were very strongly considering Preuss because our rucks were so big and strong, I reckon the GWS match committee would sit down in review and conclude that they royally buggered up that decision.

Probably our best win since we beat Port in Adelaide in 2019 given the outs we had and how everyone had written us off after last week. The pleasing thing about today was for the most part it was the younger guys stepping up as well as guys playing in new roles to fill the void when we needed it, plus some older guys rebounding after poor performances.

My best 5 reflect the above

5. Cotchin - yep I asked the question about him during the week and he responded in the way you want to see him respond. 18 disposals 8 tackles 10 contested possessions and 4 clearances. With a young midfield lining up today they needed a leader to set the tone and he did that because he was scrapping for the footy at the bottom of packs and was setting teammates up into space with his creative hands. This is how I want to see Cotchin play week to week if he is to hold his spot.

4. Rioli - was lambasted by some last week for a poor game, but he was excellent today playing the Houli role perfectly. 21 disposals 8 intercept possessions 7 contested possessions 4 rebound 50s and hard gut running to provide a link up option when we were coming out of D50. If he can continue to provide that sort of play coming off HB the move could be a very successful one.

3. Ralphsmith - when we needed a spark early I thought Hugo was the one who provided it with his willingness to take the game on through the middle of the ground when we had open space to run into. 19 disposals at 90% efficiency is a pretty handy game for a kid still finding his feet at the level. Should be played in the 22 as often as possible for the 2022 season.

2. Balta - as some would know I've been against the move of Balta to the forward line, but today has gone a fair way to changing my mind. The reason is that Balta today was the secondary target to Lynch as a result of Jack not being there to draw the footy to him. What I hope happens when Jack returns is that we don't go back to Balta being the 3rd wheel up forward and keep using him as the main/secondary focal point and start using Jack as the 3rd tall.

1. Nankervis - second game as captain and the first as the sole captain on the ground and I loved the way Nank set the tone for the team with his attack at the contest and the opponent showing the rest of the team what was expected.

I also liked the games of Dow Pickett Broad Short & Gibcus. The first and last in that group are another 2 I'd love to see play as many games as possible in 2022 as I feel we'll be better placed in 2023 with a few of our unproven kids starting to become proven talents.

As for changes for next week, being Maddies Match Jack will come back in unless he has a setback in recovery from his thumb, maybe Dusty comes back in as well with the likelihood Grimes also returns it will be interesting to see the changes. At this stage I'd expect Dow Miller and Aarts to be the 3 outs.

Probably our best win since we beat Port in Adelaide in 2019 given the outs we had and how everyone had written us off after last week. The pleasing thing about today was for the most part it was the younger guys stepping up as well as guys playing in new roles to fill the void when we needed it, plus some older guys rebounding after poor performances.

My best 5 reflect the above

5. Cotchin - yep I asked the question about him during the week and he responded in the way you want to see him respond. 18 disposals 8 tackles 10 contested possessions and 4 clearances. With a young midfield lining up today they needed a leader to set the tone and he did that because he was scrapping for the footy at the bottom of packs and was setting teammates up into space with his creative hands. This is how I want to see Cotchin play week to week if he is to hold his spot.

4. Rioli - was lambasted by some last week for a poor game, but he was excellent today playing the Houli role perfectly. 21 disposals 8 intercept possessions 7 contested possessions 4 rebound 50s and hard gut running to provide a link up option when we were coming out of D50. If he can continue to provide that sort of play coming off HB the move could be a very successful one.

3. Ralphsmith - when we needed a spark early I thought Hugo was the one who provided it with his willingness to take the game on through the middle of the ground when we had open space to run into. 19 disposals at 90% efficiency is a pretty handy game for a kid still finding his feet at the level. Should be played in the 22 as often as possible for the 2022 season.

2. Balta - as some would know I've been against the move of Balta to the forward line, but today has gone a fair way to changing my mind. The reason is that Balta today was the secondary target to Lynch as a result of Jack not being there to draw the footy to him. What I hope happens when Jack returns is that we don't go back to Balta being the 3rd wheel up forward and keep using him as the main/secondary focal point and start using Jack as the 3rd tall.

1. Nankervis - second game as captain and the first as the sole captain on the ground and I loved the way Nank set the tone for the team with his attack at the contest and the opponent showing the rest of the team what was expected.

I also liked the games of Dow Pickett Broad Short & Gibcus. The first and last in that group are another 2 I'd love to see play as many games as possible in 2022 as I feel we'll be better placed in 2023 with a few of our unproven kids starting to become proven talents.

As for changes for next week, being Maddies Match Jack will come back in unless he has a setback in recovery from his thumb, maybe Dusty comes back in as well with the likelihood Grimes also returns it will be interesting to see the changes. At this stage I'd expect Dow Miller and Aarts to be the 3 outs.
Shame if Dow is out thought he looked really good for3q he was on , pics of him in room doesn’t look like knee too bad

Good win today, but still like to see Tom Green in the yellow and black next year

So much good to talk about.

GWS one young ruck – dumb

Rioli great game in his new role

Ralphsmith excellent

Pickett and Parker nice and hard. Two great games. Loved that late spoil from Marlion. Desperation and effort.

Cotchin absolutely brilliant game. BOG I reckon.

Bolton so important, Ivan getting there. Good game

Dow looked comfortable at this level, hope he’s ok and Miller did his job.

Aarts’s 10 minutes didn’t help his prospects.

And Broad was excellent as well.
Great kick by Gibcus and how did Aarts drop the mark confirms my thoughts he is a good vfl player not up to AFL standard