Autopsy Round 1 2019: Hawks defeats the Crows

Did anyone read the Herald Sun today on the game? The journalist could only find five best players for Hawks but six for the Crows? WTF? Could he/she not have sneaked McEvoy in there or Hardwick even Frawley?

Ridiculous![/QUOTE

Well what about last weeks 14 experts in the Sunday papers, one put us at 9th , and that was one of the Quartermain brothers I guess? No one even had them in a final eight at guess work tipping, true so one bloke out of 14 tipsters some AFL names there too, so 13 don't rate them, full stop.
Then Jason talks like he thinks we're useless, then, his colleagues call our win an upset? WHAT?

Tex and Betts didn't need showers after the game. Sicily and Stratts had already given them absolute baths.

Impey's best game ever I think. Would never have played like that at Port.

That was a win in the coaches box. Adelaide didn't fire a shot and Pyke could have had another 10 quarters and still not figured out a game style to combat what we did to them. Structure was great.

Would have been a 10 goal win with better goal kicking and decent umpiring.

Best

Stratton/Impey/Sicily and Big Boy

6-6-6 can EAD. Pressure still wins games. Adelaide won enough ball, Couldnt get any clean movement from forward of center. We're so organised Adelaide didnt adjust. Betts was okish but their other forwards need to give their game fee back to the fans.

Could be better
Scrimshaw could of disposed of it better, Not his fault, still treating him as a first year player. Gunston needs to go back and fix his kicking routine. He's gone from a dead eye dick in 2015, to getting progressively worse since late 2017

Shit
Mohr's knee in the VFL. hope the fella's alright.

Bring on the dogs and 2-0

Jeez.. if we took the Eddie Betts assassination job, out of this thread, we'd halve it. Not sure why the negatives on him. Think that Stratton and he have a lot of time for each other and played it out like classy competitors. Credit to both. Stratton had his number, again.

Don't feed the trolls. Must remind myself.

Who doesn't love Eddie, he is a dangerous small forward, I 'm sure Stratts and Eddie get along. Good people.

Best

Stratton/Impey/Sicily and Big Boy

6-6-6 can EAD. Pressure still wins games. Adelaide won enough ball, Couldnt get any clean movement from forward of center. We're so organised Adelaide didnt adjust. Betts was okish but their other forwards need to give their game fee back to the fans.

Could be better
Scrimshaw could of disposed of it better, Not his fault, still treating him as a first year player. Gunston needs to go back and fix his kicking routine. He's gone from a dead eye dick in 2015, to getting progressively worse since late 2017

Shit
Mohr's knee in the VFL. hope the fella's alright.

Bring on the dogs and 2-0

Yes Gunston 's kicking seems to have fallen of over time , he kicks rippers then he misses goals that should be normal for him to get. But it is right to say he needs to do something , he could have us further ahead at time and your right its been several years that his kicking has dropped off, but Roughy can miss on occasion too, its just that when Gunner or Bruest get the ball over time its always been "oh ripper look whose got it" Gunston is such a good player marking and being in position, but I reckon he is two goals short a game , compared to what he used to do, he could seal a match up out of the blue.

But I'm not complaining he is a "GUN" footballer and will get his kicking right, maybe he loses confidence at times?

Yep I agree. Once Scully, Wingard and hopefully Birch come in I think he’ll eventually come off the bench wherever he is needed. If Birch doesn’t come back over an extended period then depending on matchups he might play off a HBF.
Hendo can also play from HFF. Is a good set shot for goal & reliable out to 50m.

Just found it, 901 meters gained! I thought anything over 600 was very good so 901 is exceptional.
Just checked & C. Salem from Melbourne had 741; J Short (maybe?) had 697; Bontempelli & D. Martin both in the 640’s; Shuey had 677; &, Coniglio had 685.

So yeah, at 901, Sicily was taking the pi55...

drop cousins? best re-watch the game if you think that.....

the only blessing of the mitchell injury is that we can give some real opportunity to kids like cousins and worpel, even morrison i thought was good....the experience of being our first choice midfield will be priceless in the years to come....

I just read the first 3x pages of the Adelaide Autopsy (their board) & at first it was funny - that Scorpus is funny AF - but after 3x pages it was quite sad.

I don’t follow them at all but it reads like they’ve gone from bad (2018) to worse (now). I know we love a whinge after a loss, but I feel like we (try?) focus on mistakes etc., then point out how different decisions/actions will lead to us bouncing back the following week. They seem completely deflated after Round 1; calls for sackings from the CEO down etc. Reading some of their feedback, their 2019 is going to make 2018 feel like The Good Old Days...

Good:

Worpel
Sicily
Impey
Jaegar

Everyone played their role and the defence held up well under a lot of pressure.

Bad:

Roughy looked a bit slow and scratchy still.
Goal kicking generally.

(Edit: Umpiring a bit one sided but it was in Adelaide)

Ugly:
Impey's SC score (Edit: and Sicily's score)

Really Champion Data, you need to readjust your algorithms?

Next week:

Ins: Wingard (hopefully)
Out: Poppy (unlucky)

That Cousins smother and goal with Nash was top quality. Underrated is James.
Yes, it was a good performance by him & gives him a lot to build on. He's still young & will improve over the season.

Hendo can also play from HFF. Is a good set shot for goal & reliable out to 50m.

For Birch's hard work to get back, he deserves another crack, I've heard some say that he's cooked, well if he still thinks he has got the injury beaten then he has got to be given a shot.
Eve run off the bench for the year until his confidence builds, But Birch has been a Hawthorn secret a little, you ask about him then you hear he's hurt again or you hear someone say oh he's on the track getting match fit, then someone else comments.
As a big fan of this bloke I'd like to know exactly where he is at right now, health wise, if he's fit he's a first 22 without a doubt , with time of course to get back into shape , has he played at Box Hill yet?

My feelings for Birch run like this , he is a brain replacement in the Half Back for our General, we love Hodgey , he's finishing his career and we wish him well, but his name suited him
"The General" Birch looked that way last time I saw him play. I'd just like to know, if we're barking up a tree! Because you can't believe everything you hear?

Just found it, 901 meters gained! I thought anything over 600 was very good so 901 is exceptional.

Is this a distance statistic, a friend of mine gained a few meters on his walking the streets , round counting up the gas bills from the neighbourhood meters? Long Day.
But what does this mean is it the distance they run in a game , well footy is running, but its getting the ball that is the real thing and giving it to a teammate, with delivery properly performed, and kicking straight at goals when the chance arrives, and stopping the meters run by other teams, with extreme but legal pressure. Not that easy, with the way the umps work it these days, stopping the game all the time and turning the ball over, the umps I mean yes not the players the umps , speed bumping the ground , for everyone, spoils the spectacle some times , don't you think?
Why do they count the distances, is this to see if they can get into the olympics 100 m dash!?

What did everyone think of Scrimshaw?

I felt he went missing for large periods but when he was in the play I reckon he showed good signs. A couple of clean pickups off the deck at pace were quite impressive given his size. Seemed to gel with the rest of the backline too.

Autopsy Round 1 2019: Hawks defeats the Crows