Autopsy Round 1 2019: Hawks defeats the Crows

That was a brilliant win. yes, I know we own them at Adelaide Oval but they've got a great midfield and we played them on their own deck.

JOM is an absolute beast. A top shelf goal kicking midfielder. Love watching him play. 24 touches, 2 goals, 5 tackles. Beast.

The pressure we put on the crows in the first 10 minutes was a shock. Didn't think we'd be able to sustain it for very long but we kept at it. At half time I didn't think we'd put enough on the scoreboard.

Scrimshaw is a great find. He's a really good player. Kane Cornes will want a double investigation soon.

The backline performed incredibly. Betts, Walker, Lynch and Jenkins basically disappeared for four quarters.

So many good performances it's hard to pick out what was most pleasing. Will need to rewatch to get a better sense of Nash's game because I didn't notice him much.
I was the same with Nash LP but Clarko seemed really happy with him after the game

Puopolo, Nash and Breust had 10 tackles inside 50 between them. That's more than 4 out of the 11 teams to have played so far this round and as many as Richmond. The Hawks have the most tackles, tackles inside 50 and intercept possessions of any team so far and the second most one percenters.

The pressure the boys were putting on was insane. It doesn't matter too much if the opposition get more disposals if you can pressure them and force them to kick the ball to the wrong areas.

That was a brilliant win. yes, I know we own them at Adelaide Oval but they've got a great midfield and we played them on their own deck.

JOM is an absolute beast. A top shelf goal kicking midfielder. Love watching him play. 24 touches, 2 goals, 5 tackles. Beast.

The pressure we put on the crows in the first 10 minutes was a shock. Didn't think we'd be able to sustain it for very long but we kept at it. At half time I didn't think we'd put enough on the scoreboard.

Scrimshaw is a great find. He's a really good player. Kane Cornes will want a double investigation soon.

The backline performed incredibly. Betts, Walker, Lynch and Jenkins basically disappeared for four quarters.

So many good performances it's hard to pick out what was most pleasing. Will need to rewatch to get a better sense of Nash's game because I didn't notice him much.
3 goal assists says a fair bit about Nash's game
Half his touches were part of scoring chains, out a fair bit of pressure on too.

He's really playing as a small at the moment, hands are very clean

Wow. Just watched "The round so far" on the afl website. Kane Cornes has weighed into the betts vs bruest debate. He says at around 4:10 in the video regarding Charlie Cameron: I reckon this guy has the potential to go past Eddie Betts and even be the equal of Luke Bruest.

So there you have it.

So a great win! The underdog Hawks prove why you can't EVER write them off. O'Meara, Sicily, Worpel, Sheils, Stratton and James Cousins were all elite as the Hawks (12:15:87) Defeated the "flag favourites" the Crows (7:13:55)

The win was really emphasised by a strong 3rd term where if the kicking had been straight the game would have been over. A quiet Hawk debut for Jack Scrimshaw but he'll find his feet.

Some silky kicking from Nash, Gunston and Smith were also highlights. The marking (particularly intercept) was incredible with Stratton, Sicily and especially Impey showing what they're worth. The sealer was a banger from the 50 from Jaeger O'Meara which Rough let go over his head.

UP THE MIGHTY HAWKERS!!!
Stats;
Touches; Worpel (27) Sicily (26)
Handballs; McEvoy (12) Roughead (11)
Kicks; Sicily (22) O'Meara (18)
Tackles; Morrison (6) Cousins (6)
Marks; Sicily (10) McEvoy (8)
Goals; McEvoy (2) Cousins (2) O'Meara (2) Worpel (2)

I'm still baffled as to why we were the underdogs, all you folks watched our last season , you know it was hard work, that got us to where we were, and some kids that hit the spot, of course we finished where we probably all knew we would, we lost finals but we finished in the top 4.

We get ragged by everybody on BF, about trading and recruiting, Yet we win our first up in an away game against the Crows who I thought last year fell further into a hole, they may come back but they looked rattled and we pressured them like hardened old warriors, endeavour and need for success, that's how Hawthorn runs.
I actually thought we would win that match , and I saw some woeful use of rules that nearly killed both teams! That was the only down side for me. But it always is.

I think that the Crows winning, that would have been the upset!

Look at our off season 18/19 and look at 2017 disappointing but it was the part of the journey we go through at Hawthorn, 2017 led to 2018 a bit better but not good enough , then 2019 is here, only one win, but they were "HAWTHORN players in style and courage" you know what I mean , then there's Wyngard, Scully and Tom later on or next year , we don't need our main man in the stats stakes to come back too quick.
And look whats waiting in the background.
Crook recruiting??????????????????? WHAT?

What was wrong with Scrimshaw, Mirra is back , Jack will improve his kicking and Roughy has the monkey off his back, Bruest still a problem for opposition. See Poppy chase down a CROW defender AND WRECK THAT CROWS BREAK OUT, POPPY ON THE PROWL , THE POCKET BATTLESHIP. OUR BLEND OF OLD AND MIDDLE AND NEW KIDS IS A GOOD ONE, I NEVER GO OVER THE TOP , BUT IF OUR ALREADY BLOODED NEW RECRUITS CAN'T KEEP HEALTHY , WELL I THINK WE HAVE A GOOD SEASON AHEAD WITH A TALENTED PACK OF POSITION CHALLENGERS.
WE GOT A GUN IN SICILY, Bloody caps! Frawley unseen , my son says that's because he did his JOB! Strats skipper as he said I won the toss, it is never easy but we have the start. The whole team. Who have I forgotten ? old timers disease.
Mc Evoy wow, every one standing up Impey , O'Meara, Henderson a ripper , the Pol at Wor wow.

No it was no upset , it was an expected win.

Got to get the Dogs next week but we'll have our howlers too. But its the nature of our game doo't dooo.... doo't dooo , and we'll be like the devil to other sides.. Sydney came right back at the Doggies could have been different. Pleased to meet you!!!!!!!!!

I was ok with JOM running through 50 and having a shot. Did miss that one but put 2 away as well. I hate how many forward forays we've blown over the years when we've been streaming towards goal then fluff a short chip pass. Back yourselves and slam them home.

Edit: proviso being that someone isn't wide open and in a better position. But give the pass to a 50/50, 60/40 a miss.... especially if lacing them out isn't your thing.

Let’s have a few shots from 50 out at Etihad.

Agree to disagree mate, I just think he loves a cheap goal and doesn't put in a whole lot of effort anywhere else.

I would take a Chad Wingard or Luke Breust before him any day of the week.

Hell mate I would have taken Boomer Harvey over him as well.

Each to their own and think we're both grown up enough to allow each other an opinion.

I did like the goal at the mcg where Eddie ran on watching the flight of the ball on the big screen. Very sharp

Saw the replay this morning after missing the game yesterday. Really great overall effort, even players who had minimum stats still contributed with work rate, pressure, 1%ers etc - can't ask for more than that. Next week will be interesting as the doggies must've played reasonably well last night

Went for peep at the Adelaide board and it’s harsh. On page 1 saw this. Loved the Don Pyke pants pulled down but......enjoy

“It all started when we selected David Mackay. A stupid, idiotic, disgusting selection that immediately threw up red flags. Did we learn from last year? Obviously not judging from that one decision before the game even started. Can't move forward when we have pathetic decision making like that.

It looked like our players had done everything but play football over the off season. Horrendous skills. Destroyed in the air. Destroyed on the ground. Mutilated in the forward line. Annihilated by a severely undermanned Hawthorn midfield. An absolutely pathetic performance. The players should be ashamed.

Don Pyke had his pants pulled down. His pants were then taken off and thrown in the river. It was like he was coaching with his penis exposed to the players and that's all the players could think about throughout the match. He needs to take ownership, put his pants back on and learn. If I hear excuses like "we just needed to execute better" I might vomit.

Douglas is shit. Mackay is shit. Jacobs is cooked. Walker is cooked. Lynch is soft. Jenkins sucks. Betts is finished. Knight did nothing. Murphy did nothing. Milera was awful. Laird was bad. Kelly tried but he just sucks. Gibbs was useless.

And then Doedee does his ACL. Well **** me the signs aren't good”

I get the impression this fan was not overly impressed with the Crows game?

It is probably the funniest post I have ever read on Bigfooty. I literally had tears in my eyes from laughing so much especially the bit on Pyke; "It was like he was coaching with his penis exposed to the players and that's all the players could think about throughout the match."

I'm still baffled as to why we were the underdogs, all you folks watched our last season , you know it was hard work, that got us to where we were, and some kids that hit the spot, of course we finished where we probably all knew we would, we lost finals but we finished in the top 4.

We get ragged by everybody on BF, about trading and recruiting, Yet we win our first up in an away game against the Crows who I thought last year fell further into a hole, they may come back but they looked rattled and we pressured them like hardened old warriors, endeavour and need for success, that's how Hawthorn runs.
I actually thought we would win that match , and I saw some woeful use of rules that nearly killed both teams! That was the only down side for me. But it always is.

I think that the Crows winning, that would have been the upset!

Look at our off season 18/19 and look at 2017 disappointing but it was the part of the journey we go through at Hawthorn, 2017 led to 2018 a bit better but not good enough , then 2019 is here, only one win, but they were "HAWTHORN players in style and courage" you know what I mean , then there's Wyngard, Scully and Tom later on or next year , we don't need our main man in the stats stakes to come back too quick.
And look whats waiting in the background.
Crook recruiting??????????????????? WHAT?

What was wrong with Scrimshaw, Mirra is back , Jack will improve his kicking and Roughy has the monkey off his back, Bruest still a problem for opposition. See Poppy chase down a CROW defender AND WRECK THAT CROWS BREAK OUT, POPPY ON THE PROWL , THE POCKET BATTLESHIP. OUR BLEND OF OLD AND MIDDLE AND NEW KIDS IS A GOOD ONE, I NEVER GO OVER THE TOP , BUT IF OUR ALREADY BLOODED NEW RECRUITS CAN'T KEEP HEALTHY , WELL I THINK WE HAVE A GOOD SEASON AHEAD WITH A TALENTED PACK OF POSITION CHALLENGERS.
WE GOT A GUN IN SICILY, Bloody caps! Frawley unseen , my son says that's because he did his JOB! Strats skipper as he said I won the toss, it is never easy but we have the start. The whole team. Who have I forgotten ? old timers disease.
Mc Evoy wow, every one standing up Impey , O'Meara, Henderson a ripper , the Pol at Wor wow.

No it was no upset , it was an expected win.

Got to get the Dogs next week but we'll have our howlers too. But its the nature of our game doo't dooo.... doo't dooo , and we'll be like the devil to other sides.. Sydney came right back at the Doggies could have been different. Pleased to meet you!!!!!!!!!
Likewise people ruling us out as a final contender. Baffling.

McEvoy took 5 contested marks yesterday.

He owned the crows in the air.

Talk about good backline structures

Imply 13 intercepts
Stratton 9 intercepts
Sicily 8 intercepts
Hardwick 8 intercepts
Mirra 8 intercepts
Scrimshaw 8 interreceipts
Frawley 5 intercepts

Did anyone read the Herald Sun today on the game? The journalist could only find five best players for Hawks but six for the Crows? WTF? Could he/she not have sneaked McEvoy in there or Hardwick even Frawley?

Ridiculous!

Did anyone read the Herald Sun today on the game? The journalist could only find five best players for Hawks but six for the Crows? WTF? Could he/she not have sneaked McEvoy in there or Hardwick even Frawley?

Ridiculous!
I don't read the HUN so no

No chance. Point out to me one of our supporters that doesn't rate him or like him. The guy is only about footy. Glorious to watch. Team player. Fair player. Champion. Well spoken.

Not going to name and shame. It's been done to death on our own board. No point starting it all off again. But I can assure you, as I already have :), that he most certainly has his detractors on out board and I have a non Big Footy Hawk mate who flat out detests him. As well as a few non Hawk mates.

Maybe I need new mates :rolleyes::tearsofjoy:

The Hill at the AO is the best standing room in the country. Surprised and thrilled by our lads performance. Was just deadlocked out of my apartment for 2 hours as I returned home, but not even that could take the smile off my face.
Agree with you here fantastic place to watch the footy in one of the best arenas to view all sport,

I’m still in shock. Could not see how we could possibly overcome their midfield. Funnily enough their mids racked up huge possessions but were largely ineffective. Worpel, ill say it again - easily the most promising homegrown pure midfielder we have drafted since Shane Crawford- don’t include Hodgey as he played everywhere. Is thriving on the extra responsibility since tmitch went down and looks to be a future captain in waiting.

Agree on Frawley, best game I have seen him play in a long time. Benny McEvoy, you freakin STAR! Thank F...k that St Kilda has no idea when it comes to list management- you just don’t trade out a young ruckman with leadership qualities, great character and great hands ever... cousins - our recruitment team is absolutely taking the pi$$ out of drafting - no 46 in the rookie draft. He will probably never become an a grader but could easily become a solid B + - kicks goals too. Love what I saw In Scrimshaw. Feel a lot better now in trading out our first rounder/ Burton and second round pick for Wingard. Calling it now - he will become a superior player to Burton

If you knew nothing about draft history, in yesterday’s game you would swear that Harry M, Sicily, Hardwick, Worpel, Breust we’re taking in the first round....

Sam Mitchell- gave so much as a player and doing the same as a coach, massive massive coup in getting him back earlier from West Coast

Napoleon dynamite - you currently have no peer as a coach - genius. Love this club and we still have Howe, Wingard, Scully and just maybe a fit Agra this Birchall to come back....

I may have mentioned it before but our best drafting coup in the off-season was Sam Mitchell - he'll get the absolute most out of every midfielder he coaches.

Henderson was excellent yesterday. I can't see him being dropped.
Yep I agree. Once Scully, Wingard and hopefully Birch come in I think he’ll eventually come off the bench wherever he is needed. If Birch doesn’t come back over an extended period then depending on matchups he might play off a HBF.

I was the same with Nash LP but Clarko seemed really happy with him after the game
His pressure to keep their defenders shaky was what he done great. As mentioned earlier Nash and Breust didn’t trouble the scoreboard much but their pressure led to turnovers from their defence being under pressure and then goals then scored by others.

Autopsy Round 1 2019: Hawks defeats the Crows