Autopsy Round 1 2019: Hawks defeats the Crows

Is this a distance statistic, a friend of mine gained a few meters on his walking the streets , round counting up the gas bills from the neighbourhood meters? Long Day.
But what does this mean is it the distance they run in a game , well footy is running, but its getting the ball that is the real thing and giving it to a teammate, with delivery properly performed, and kicking straight at goals when the chance arrives, and stopping the meters run by other teams, with extreme but legal pressure. Not that easy, with the way the umps work it these days, stopping the game all the time and turning the ball over, the umps I mean yes not the players the umps , speed bumping the ground , for everyone, spoils the spectacle some times , don't you think?
Why do they count the distances, is this to see if they can get into the olympics 100 m dash!?
It’s metres gained with the ball.

It only counts metres gained toward your scoring end (ie. Sideways and diagonal kicks don’t gain much, if any forward distance). Accounts for the distance gained either through run and carry, and disposal.

Not sure if backwards kicks deduct from the tally of this stat or if they count as zero.

What did everyone think of Scrimshaw?

I felt he went missing for large periods but when he was in the play I reckon he showed good signs. A couple of clean pickups off the deck at pace were quite impressive given his size. Seemed to gel with the rest of the backline too.
Agreed.

And whilst there were parts of the game when he was unsighted (went missing etc.), I didn’t feel like his opponent got ‘off the chain’ & made him pay.

He only had 70% Time on Ground so we can account for approx. 35 mins of not seeing him & he managed 5x tackles, which is a good sign.

I was happy with his game. Would like those 11x possessions to increase to 20ish, but simply spending more time on the field should see a small increase. Also, I’m not sure what his role was. If he chased Tom Lynch around all day & helped keep him quiet then I’m pretty happy with his contribution.

It’s metres gained with the ball.

It only counts metres gained toward your scoring end (ie. Sideways and diagonal kicks don’t gain much, if any forward distance). Accounts for the distance gained either through run and carry, and disposal.

Not sure if backwards kicks deduct from the tally of this stat or if they count as zero.
At least one player had negative metres gained on the weekend & a few players had almost as many possessions as they did metres gained so I’ve a feeling that backward disposals may detract from the total.

What did everyone think of Scrimshaw?

I felt he went missing for large periods but when he was in the play I reckon he showed good signs. A couple of clean pickups off the deck at pace were quite impressive given his size. Seemed to gel with the rest of the backline too.

His opponent didn't kick goals, so I have no worries with him going "missing".

He's not a mid, but could easily play that role

Is this a distance statistic, a friend of mine gained a few meters on his walking the streets , round counting up the gas bills from the neighbourhood meters? Long Day.
But what does this mean is it the distance they run in a game , well footy is running, but its getting the ball that is the real thing and giving it to a teammate, with delivery properly performed, and kicking straight at goals when the chance arrives, and stopping the meters run by other teams, with extreme but legal pressure. Not that easy, with the way the umps work it these days, stopping the game all the time and turning the ball over, the umps I mean yes not the players the umps , speed bumping the ground , for everyone, spoils the spectacle some times , don't you think?
Why do they count the distances, is this to see if they can get into the olympics 100 m dash!?
It is a maligned stat but look at it deeply and you can see why players like Sicily dominate it. From his point of disposal to the next disposal. Unfortunately if its kicked straight to the opposition it still counts as a gain which is a bit silly. Kick or handball backwards to a player in a better position and meters are taken away.

Basically, a good player with elite disposal (Sicily) can dominate a stat like this as he kicks it long and rarely turns it over.

After sitting through many years of pain at footy park (Aami stadium), I can only endorse the past 4 games v Adelaide at the oval.

My son was stoked, we sat with mates and their kids (all Adelaide) and he was chuffed. I may have been ecstatic too.

How people are leaving Impey out of their best stuns me.
He was BOG for me. Every time a strong mark was needed he took it, and he was undersized
most of the time. Worpel, Sicily,JOM and McEvoy next best. Liked Hendo,Scrimshaw & Cousins also.
1.7 from Gunston & Roughy means we have more fire power to come this weekend.

What this game has shown and many in the past as well is that individuals do not win you games of football, its players playing as part of a team (to instruction and a plan).

Lives up to the line in our song. One for all and All for one

He was BOG for me. Every time a strong mark was needed he took it, and he was undersized
most of the time. Worpel, Sicily,JOM and McEvoy next best. Liked Hendo,Scrimshaw & Cousins also.
Yeah Impey looked bloody sharp.

His opponent didn't kick goals, so I have no worries with him going "missing".

He's not a mid, but could easily play that role
You raise a good point there. I guess I just had expectations that he'd be playing a bit more of an attacking role. But maybe that wasn't part of his job on Saturday with Sicily driving a lot of the attack.

He surprised many, I think because he drifts in and out of games is the reason we forget about him. For example he got about 4 possesions in the first 5 minutes and then wasn't noticed for long periods of time. He has certainly improved in the off-season!

ADELAIDE v HAWTHORN
10 James Worpel (HAW)
6 James Sicily (HAW)
6 Rory Sloane (ADEL)
4 Ben McEvoy (HAW)
2 Jaeger O'Meara (HAW)
1 Jarman Impey (HAW)
1 Matt Crouch (ADEL)

So, one coach rated Big Boy's game, the other not so much. Any takers for whom was whom? :moustache:

Ha, good pickup. O'Meara also wasn't in one.

It seems one coach has gone: 5 - Worpel, 4- McEvoy 3 - Sicily, 2 - Sloan and 1- Impey or Crouch.

The other : 5 - Worpel, 4 - Sloan, 3 - Sicily , 2 - O'Meara and 1 - Impey or Crouch.

My guess is Clarko was the first with likely Impey getting the one.

Belated post.

Was at a charity function I could not skip, so missed the game live.

Incredibly happy with that first game. Like the "evenness" of the team at this early stage of year. Its nice to have names like Birchall, Wingard, and Scully as potential inclusions over next couple of months.

Go Hawks.

What struck me was all of a sudden he was clunking everything, all the more impressive in a round where players on all teams were fumbling everything

It is a maligned stat but look at it deeply and you can see why players like Sicily dominate it. From his point of disposal to the next disposal. Unfortunately if its kicked straight to the opposition it still counts as a gain which is a bit silly. Kick or handball backwards to a player in a better position and meters are taken away.

Basically, a good player with elite disposal (Sicily) can dominate a stat like this as he kicks it long and rarely turns it over.
The better stat is secondary metres gained. How good a position do they put their team mate in to move it on. Tom Mitchell for example is HUGE in this stat, because he put whomever he'd handballed to in a great position to send it down field into the forward 50.

What struck me was all of a sudden he was clunking everything, all the more impressive in a round where players on all teams were fumbling everything
Worpel got all ten coaches' votes, so yeah did well. Impey got 1 vote with O'Meara McEvoy and Sicily ahead of impey, so people putting him 5th or 6th is actually more likely than you think.

What this game has shown and many in the past as well is that individuals do not win you games of football, its players playing as part of a team (to instruction and a plan).

Lives up to the line in our song. One for all and All for one
Individuals are the old way. Now it’s more about holy trinity’s. ;)

How good was my man Sicily by the way?

Gonna be a big, big, big year for the Blonde Prince of Glenferrie........

Yes, BUT some of his disposal was arrogant and blatantly dumb. He is a magnificent and damaging kick, one of the best in the comp if not the best. BUT fiddly arse non percentage disposal was, I am told the centrepiece of his appraisal today.

That was a great result. Particularly as no one in HeraldSun tipped Hawks. How could all the experts be wrong. In the end a comfortable game...
I tipped the Hawks. We love beating them at home. Great confidence booster for the young ones in the team too!

ADELAIDE v HAWTHORN
10 James Worpel (HAW)
6 James Sicily (HAW)
6 Rory Sloane (ADEL)
4 Ben McEvoy (HAW)
2 Jaeger O'Meara (HAW)
1 Jarman Impey (HAW)
1 Matt Crouch (ADEL)

How does that add up to 5; 4; 3; 2 and 1 for voting? Numbers don’t work do they?

30 votes in total, it works.

One coach would have likely voted:
5 - Worpel
4 - Big Boy
3 - Sloane
2 - Sicily
1 - Impey / Crouch

And the other:
5 - Worpel
4 - Sicily
3 - Sloane
2 - Jaeger
1 - Impey / Crouch

Or maybe Sicily got both 3's and Sloane the 4 and a 2.

Autopsy Round 1 2019: Hawks defeats the Crows